PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 02:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.8 / 100
1535 Pearl Street
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 546-0886
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
59 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Rockies Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

10) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

11) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

12) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

13) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

14) Walnut Brewery
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
HUGE selection of tasty beverages in a homey, bluegrass-friendly setting makes Mountain Sun the Boulder's best watering hole. All beers are worth a taste, but the Colorado Kind and the Tsunami Strong Ales are standouts. Though conservatives wouldn't think it from the hippy-dippy atmosphere, the kitchen is Boulder's cleanest too. Great staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I've been in Boulder for 5 years now and Mountain Sun is one of the very best things about the city. Considering what a great place Boulder is, that is the best compliment I can think of giving. Best beers and atmosphere in town. If you can, try to come in February, aka stout month, when the Sun adds excellent microbrewed stouts from around the country to their already incredible beer selection. Have enough stouts and it will feel like August outside when you leave.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Austin, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Been to both pubs. Although I think I had altitude working against me, I got pretty much S&*(Faced on 3 beers. Beers were really good and really potent. Had a great time at both spots, good place to grab a meal and some beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Justin, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The beer was great and oh my god, that burrito... sooo good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Becky Becky, Palmyra, NJ
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place Rules. I always have a good time here. I definitely like playing the games late at night after downing several of your delicious home brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Brett, Exeter, NH
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Food very good. Beer worth a stop. Oatmeal Stout had good body. Our waiter from Dickenson,ND knew his beer! Bring Cash. For high priced Boulder this location has low cost.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite brew pub. Excellent service, atmosphere. A very laidback non-East Coast dining experience that is VERY Boulder might turn some off. Tables and tables of "all types" of people enjoying great beer while talking, reading, playing card or other games is what the Mt. Sun is about. The Food is good too.

Warning: They do not take Credit Cards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Mack Kenneth Mack, Boulder, CO
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Unfortunately this was my third brewpub of the evening and I still had to drive to a friend's house, so I was only able to try one beer. I chose the amber which was a great, hoppy beer - more like an IPA. I got a growler to go. The mason jar growlers look pretty cool, but they don't seem to hold a good seal - the beer was getting flat by the time I got it home. I guess I'll just have to trek back to Boulder again to try the other beers there. In my opinion, the amber was one of the best beers I tried in Boulder (and I tried quite a few).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The ratings I've assigned to Mountain Sun's offerings speak for themselves; they just do everything right! I was there on Friday evening (3/14) and the placed was packed. I waited at the bar for a table and had two superb pints - XXX Pale Ale and a Nitro IPA. I got a table and ordered a Colorado Kind and finished off with a Stout. I went for a soup/salad combination for dinner, which was well executed. The staff is both friendly and competant and they know their beer. It's a joy and a blessing to patronize a place like this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Pressured a friend of mine from the Boulder area to take me here on the strength of its pubcrawler reviews alone. The high praise was not misplaced - the pale ale was almost perfect - crisp, strongly well balanced (lots of hops on top of lots of malt) with just a hint of sweetness in the finish. Travellers beware, there seems to be something of a rebellion against corporate homogeny there in Boulder, and not unlike many other businesses in the area, the Mountain Sun does not accept credit cards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sean C. Kielty, Albany, NY
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
If you're looking for tons of hop and malt flavors, this is a must. The food is not especially noteworthy from what I could see, but food you can get anywhere (if you can't find a neat restaurant in Boulder, you have a real problem). Mountain Sun has concentrated on BREWING, and they've done very nicely, thank you. The Java Porter has a superb roasted coffee flavor. The XXX Pale was an excellent blend of malt and hops. Even their Quinn's Golden, perhaps their lightest offering, had ten times the flavor of the putrid American major domestics. Yonder Mountain Stout was smooth drinking brew, but not thin. Where else do you see a brewpub fill up early on a Thursday afternoon? Best of the Boulder micros, and perhaps Colorado as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Alamogordo, NM
(01/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You can tell who is a complete stick in the mud on this site, because they put words like -deadhead-, -hippie- and -phish type- in "quotes" in their reviews. Get a life! Anyway, I'll assert that these overly negative people are wrong, and that from the service to the beer, this place is the best spot in Colorado. The beer is especially excellent, and it is very inexpensive. Judgement makers be shunned!, because the Mountain Sun should be visited, and is freindly to ALL types of people (and I am not, by the way, a Deadhead or Phish Type). Anyway, if you're looking for a great beer in a great spot, go to the Sun and grab a Kind Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Boulder, CO
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Yes, this is kind of a "hippie place", but GREAT beer and good, wholesome, cheap food! They don't need any help building business here, they were full every night we went there, but I highly recommend this place if you enjoy distintive beer. Very nice, hoppy beers with personality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Tucson, AZ
(11/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The often think that the Kind ale is the single best beer I have ever had. Java Porter is also tops. Way better than average food for a pub, especially for vegetarians. tim

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim tim, Fort Collins, CO
(10/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Thanks for coming to the 9th Annual Hartford Drive Block Party yesterday. It is great to see someone in the business community show support for a neighborhood building activity. Alan Smith p.s. The beer was pretty darn good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Smith Alan Smith, Boulder, CO
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My favorite brewery in Colorado. The beer is excellent, but it is the creativity and selection that make it a must stop when I am in Boulder. Food is pretty good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Denver, CO
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Java Porter is unique and rates in my top 3 beers of all time. Visited the Denver area last year and after visiting approx 25 brew pubs, I ranked Mountain Sun #1 for beer. Not much to the atmosphere though. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Ober J. Ober, Glastonbury, CT
(04/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Awesome!
Wide selection of beer, all of which tastes very fresh. Usually have one of their beers on a nitrogen tap if that's your thing. Very hippy vibe (a good thing in my opinion, but possibly not in yours). Food is cheap, tasty bar food. Service is spotty, but worth it for the beer. Hopheads should give their Colorado Kind a go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Stafford Kevin Stafford, Denver, CO
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I was there last September 2001, it was crowded and busy but the wheat beer was great, good food and service. If you want to call this a "Boulder experience", then I guess I had it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Anchorage, AK
(03/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
non-exciting place, but friendly patrons and staff...good full spectrum of beers--java porter was like drinking a good strong cup of espresso! hippieish...didn't know anyone still used that term nor remembers hippies...brings back excellent memories...i think what they are trying to express is that laid back attitude...mostly college students. not your typical colorado brewpub decor with that wood, mountain lodge motif, but still pleasant and worth the visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
MUST STOP very unique tasting beers great crowd

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Trekker Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Worth dealing with the "eastern slope" traffic, and brown cloud layer, to get to. Kind Ale. Java Porter. Do not come to Colorado to taste beer and miss this experience. Helpful people. Nice t-shirts...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Morin Joel Morin, Aspen, CO
(12/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Good
Loved the Kind and the Java Porter. They had an awesome selection of beer and most of it was pretty good (excellently hopped brews). I was a little disappointed in the atmosphere; not because it was "hippiesh" (I liked that), but because it felt too "cafe-like." It didn't really have that brewpub feel (and you only see the equipment on your way to the bathroom). But anyway, we had pretty good service, and the beer makes up for any of the other discrepancies. Definitely worth a visit for that alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aubrey Aubrey, Richmond, VA
(06/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Coffee porter was excellent, as was their IPA. Also was able to get a small sampler served by an ex-brewer,now waiting tables who was accomodating.Surprisingly slow on a Saturday at noontime,but I would go again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Sawchuk Don Sawchuk, Canton, MI
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
This place is excellent... Most of the brews are top notch. Try the nitrogen conditioned coffee porter and any of their hoppy pale ale related brews (they have about 3) The service is great, but there's no bar to sit at!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Rehfuss Marc Rehfuss, Manhattan, KS
(04/26/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.368 seconds) 14:08:06 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS