PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 08:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.8 / 100
1535 Pearl Street
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 546-0886
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
59 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Rockies Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

10) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

11) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

12) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

13) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

14) Walnut Brewery
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great customer service and good beer selection. Server was very knowledgeable about all the beers and the staff was extremely friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Renden Joe Renden, Sparks, NV
(07/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is a really lively, fun and tasty place! I ordered a sampler plus a couple of additional tasters. Top of the bill for me was the Bourbon Stout followed closely by the Jave Porter and the FYIPA. The Brown was much more of a Brown Porter and really chocolatey. The Ginger beer had a very strong ginger spicin gthat I just loved but may be too intense for some. The Choclate Stout on nitro was was a rich and thick well crafted milk stout. The only beer that had a slight flaw was the Amber that was mared by a touch too much diacetyl.

The service was top notch, with multiple people grabbing plates or bringing beer. Friendly and beer knowledable is so important in a place like this!! The server new all the grains, hops and yeast used in their brews. Impressive!

The food is standard pub fair, was well made and very reasonably priced. Huge portions and an eclectic menu will provide more than enough choices.

All around a much visit in Boulder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Perez Dave Perez, Gainesville, FL
(04/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Great beer, friendly staff, central location right next to the Pearl St. Mall. If you're staying downtown (say, at the Boulderado), this is a good place to go.

Unfortunately, the dining area is small and fills up fast, and with no sound insulation it gets loud. The Mountain Sun is known locally as being something of a hippie bar (which you may or may not like, depending on your tastes - I don't really care). Most locals (I was a local for 12+ years) prefer the Mountain Sun's larger sibling on the south side of town, the Southern Sun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Bellingham, WA
(10/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
EVERYONE YOU ASK IN BOULDER SAY THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO FOR BEER. I WAS MORE IMPRESSED WITH THE FOOD; SPECIFICLY THE FRIES......OUTSTANDING. GREAT VARIETY IN BEER SELECTION.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Located in the downtown area with cute trendy shops all around. Hole in the wall building, family oriented with a rasta theme. The young staff were friendly and helpful and I think everyone who was working there that day said hello to me.

Turkey and pesto sandwich was really good. Most of the beers were quite hoppy, as the last reviewer stated, but I like that. The Triple X was hoppy like an IPA but not nearly as bitter. Annapurna Amber was a tad on the sweet side for my taste. I and IPA was a malty/hoppy tone which complimented each other but could really do some head damage after a few (strong!). Usuper Imperial Stout was quite smooth and tasty like a milk stout. Isodore Java Porter was creamy, smooth with a light chocolate and coffee flavor. FY IPA was maybe my favorite hoppy brew there, and seemed much like Racer 5 by Bear Republic.

I was disappointed to learn a week after my visit that they let the brewer go, which is a real shame and I have no idea what the quality of beers will be like at this place now. 10/7 12:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(11/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Located in the downtown area with cute trendy shops all around. Hole in the wall building, family oriented with a rasta theme. The young staff were friendly and helpful and I think everyone who was working there that day said hello to me.

Turkey and pesto sandwich was really good. Most of the beers were quite hoppy, as the last reviewer stated, but I like that. The Triple X was hoppy like an IPA but not nearly as bitter. Annapurna Amber was a tad on the sweet side for my taste. I and IPA was a malty/hoppy tone which complimented each other but could really do some head damage after a few (strong!). Usuper Imperial Stout was quite smooth and tasty like a milk stout. Isodore Java Porter was creamy, smooth with a light chocolate and coffee flavor. FY IPA was maybe my favorite hoppy brew there, and seemed much like Racer 5 by Bear Republic.

I was disappointed to learn a week after my visit that they let the brewer go, which is a real shame and I have no idea what the quality of beers will be like at this place now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I have been going to this pub since its inception. They have opened another south of town with very consistent results. SInce moving from Boulder I have been hard pressed to find similarly tasty, hoppy brew (and nachos that equal theirs). In my search for tasty, quality, hoppy stuff, a close second in quality, color and flavor in my opinion has been the Standing Stone Brewery in Ashland, Oregon.

At the Mountain Sun, I have to say I love the nachos. A small order is more like a "large medium." Their fearless use of black beans and fresh salsa has made me an addict.

Staff: their baseline service is decent but can be inconsistent in terms of how fast they round on you. On the other hand, they rotate the staff in all positions which gives the place more of a family business vibe.

Beer selection: they have very hoppy stuff. Problem is if you want a break from it it just wasn't there. But all the other stuff is amazing, so...

This might have changed, haven't been there in 2 years, but I'll be back next month, perhaps some maltier entries have been cooked up.

Fact is, because I don't visit Boulder frequently enough I'll probably crawl into a pitcher of the Kind and Triple X and be quite satisfied.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Menlo Park, CA
(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
Go for the beer and not the food. The FYIPA was great. The food and decor leave a lot to be desire. The prices were incredible - even before happy hour!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Christian, Philadelphia, PA
(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good
This place was really hoppin when I arrived. Seems to be a college kid and young family hangout. The flat walls make for a very loud room. Based on previous reviews I must have caught the beer at a bad time. There was really nothing noteable about the beer. But if you like that college/family feel hey, great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Reister Kenneth Reister, Olympia, WA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is my favorite Boulder brew pub... the Colorado Kind is a favorite but they have a lot of beers to choose from. The food is good and the servers are mellow and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lawrence Lawrence, Conifer, CO
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
This place is rapidly turning into my favorite Colorado Brewery.Huge selection of beers, sometimes the same beer served regular draft and nitro ( last visit they had the Kind and Java Porter both available both ways. While we were there, the Java ran out and was replaced with the Belgian Chocolate Stout. WOW, is that great. Smooth, rich, and very chocolatey. If you only have time for 1 brewery when in Boulder, this should be it. (no offense to Avery or Redfish)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from monkeyfish monkeyfish, Gyosum, CO
(12/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Had the COLORADO KIND ALE and the CLEVELAND BROWN ALE. Very tasty. The beer went great with the food. We had a catfish sandwich and a wrap of some sort. It's all good! A must stop in Boulder!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Milwaukee, WI
(12/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Stopped by for a quick pint back in August. Only had time to try the Java Porter, but found it to be excellent and left me wishing I had time for a few more. As far as atmosphere, it really wasn't what I was expecting based on reviews here & on other sites, I guess I was expecting to walk in and be transported back to the 60's. Didn't really find that to be the case the day I was there....no complaints, though. I hope to be back in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Allen, TX
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
NOTICE: Reviewer prior - Tom Madigan Kettering, OH - was absolutely ripped by the time he reached Mountain Sun. He does, however, give an accurate review. This was a huge surprise! I had never heard of Mountain Sun until this trip. Employees at Great Divide and Avery advised a visit to Mountain Sun. They were correct. I had a flavorful, medium bodied, dry IPA that was very good. Tom had a pale ale that was also very good. The food was good and the place is now on a must visit list for trips to Colorado.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Only had 1 beer, unfortunately, we were on a Boulder Brewpub crawl, but I did have one of the freshest, hoppiest, and tastiest pale ales that I've ever had. The food was delicious as well, this place is a must in Boulder, in fact, the best place in Boulder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A very ecclectic establishment that combines funky, hippy, family, laid back along with the ubiquitious self-absorbed yuppy; it serves some interesting beer styles especially IPAs and a very tasty porter. It could be a little bigger. A nice stop if in the Denver area. Nice little college town - if you enjoy left wing environmentalists who drive gas guzzling SUVs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My husband & I have been frequenting this place since we moved to Boulder 6 years ago. We can go once or twice a week and never get tired of it! Their beer is the BEST--and I drink a lot of beer. I personally enjoy all of their porters and stouts, but my favorite is still the Java Porter. $2 pints and $6 pitchers during happy hour is an unbelievable deal for the excellent quality of the beer. Plus, the food is wonderful. The nachos...words can't describe how yummy they are! And the burrito, and the quesadilla...! It's good stuff! Definitely the best beer in Boulder. The place is tiny, though, so get there early to avoid a long wait. And it's always noisy, so if you're looking for a quiet spot, this is not the place for you. If it's too packed, try the Southern Sun, which is in south Boulder but serves the same beer and food for the most part. Both are the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leah Leah, Boulder, CO
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
We stopped in for a few beers, but weren't wearing our tie-die. They have a huge selection for a micro! I had a sage brew (Tyrannosaurus Red), the IPA, and the Pils! ALL were fantastic. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to try the food. If you want to try something a little different definitely stop by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Definitely the best in Boulder. Excellent selection and quality. Java porter was out of this world. Incredible ginger beer and I hate ginger. The Scotch, brown and Imperial IPA were all exceptional. Great dead head hippie atmosphere too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Prager Darren Prager, San Francisco, CA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Definitely a must visit if in Boulder...or anywhere near. Not your typical micro. Quality brews...reminds me if you had your best brewing buddy open a place, this would be it. I sampled everything they had, and was pleased to impressed with all of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer and food were both very good. The place was packed. I would have liked to have had more time to try all the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
Spent a Friday night in Boulder to hit the brewpubs on and around Pearl Street. I tend to very much agree with P&J from Pitts. Great beer (best in town that I tried) and really good food but I believe overhyped as far as being the "best in Colorado". Was actually there twice in the same day (it was a long one) the first time the service was horrible (lunch) but the beer and the food was good enough to bring us back (midnight) where the service improved. It was the atmosphere that got me. It fell like a cafe in a small midwest town on mainstreet. Did not feel like a brewpub to me or a bar for that matter. Just a personal choice, but I do believe that earlier reviews created some false expectations for me. When in Boulder, go there for the beer and the food, but don't expect it to be the best ever, go to Phantom Canyon in the Springs for that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The selection was impressive and the Kind is a really good beer. Our food was good too, and we'll go back when we're in town; however, it is a little over-hyped on this site.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I run pub tours in the USA, UK and wine tours in France. I write about pubs. This is amongst the top pubs in the USA. The beer is some of the best in the World I don't know of many where ones can taste the same beer with CO2 or nitrouse. "Colorado Kind" is a classic. The staff are the best I know of. ALL do all jobs and all know the beers and food. If you don't visit, you don't like beer so why do you even bother reading this site? Got it? THIS IS THE TOPS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Bruce Geoff Bruce, Arvada, CO
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've visited the Boulder area twice, and both times, Mountain Sun has done the trick. Unpretentious crowds, terrific beer (great ales), great food portions for the price. What I like the most about it though is the natural "feelgood" that the place exhibits. The staff, while laid back and easy going is very professional and fair to all types of people. Every city should have one, if it could be staffed as well as the Boulder location. I'll keep coming back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Couts Josh Couts, Indianapolis, IN
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
HUGE selection of tasty beverages in a homey, bluegrass-friendly setting makes Mountain Sun the Boulder's best watering hole. All beers are worth a taste, but the Colorado Kind and the Tsunami Strong Ales are standouts. Though conservatives wouldn't think it from the hippy-dippy atmosphere, the kitchen is Boulder's cleanest too. Great staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I've been in Boulder for 5 years now and Mountain Sun is one of the very best things about the city. Considering what a great place Boulder is, that is the best compliment I can think of giving. Best beers and atmosphere in town. If you can, try to come in February, aka stout month, when the Sun adds excellent microbrewed stouts from around the country to their already incredible beer selection. Have enough stouts and it will feel like August outside when you leave.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Austin, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Been to both pubs. Although I think I had altitude working against me, I got pretty much S&*(Faced on 3 beers. Beers were really good and really potent. Had a great time at both spots, good place to grab a meal and some beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Justin, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The beer was great and oh my god, that burrito... sooo good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Becky Becky, Palmyra, NJ
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place Rules. I always have a good time here. I definitely like playing the games late at night after downing several of your delicious home brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Brett, Exeter, NH
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Food very good. Beer worth a stop. Oatmeal Stout had good body. Our waiter from Dickenson,ND knew his beer! Bring Cash. For high priced Boulder this location has low cost.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite brew pub. Excellent service, atmosphere. A very laidback non-East Coast dining experience that is VERY Boulder might turn some off. Tables and tables of "all types" of people enjoying great beer while talking, reading, playing card or other games is what the Mt. Sun is about. The Food is good too.

Warning: They do not take Credit Cards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Mack Kenneth Mack, Boulder, CO
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Unfortunately this was my third brewpub of the evening and I still had to drive to a friend's house, so I was only able to try one beer. I chose the amber which was a great, hoppy beer - more like an IPA. I got a growler to go. The mason jar growlers look pretty cool, but they don't seem to hold a good seal - the beer was getting flat by the time I got it home. I guess I'll just have to trek back to Boulder again to try the other beers there. In my opinion, the amber was one of the best beers I tried in Boulder (and I tried quite a few).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The ratings I've assigned to Mountain Sun's offerings speak for themselves; they just do everything right! I was there on Friday evening (3/14) and the placed was packed. I waited at the bar for a table and had two superb pints - XXX Pale Ale and a Nitro IPA. I got a table and ordered a Colorado Kind and finished off with a Stout. I went for a soup/salad combination for dinner, which was well executed. The staff is both friendly and competant and they know their beer. It's a joy and a blessing to patronize a place like this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Pressured a friend of mine from the Boulder area to take me here on the strength of its pubcrawler reviews alone. The high praise was not misplaced - the pale ale was almost perfect - crisp, strongly well balanced (lots of hops on top of lots of malt) with just a hint of sweetness in the finish. Travellers beware, there seems to be something of a rebellion against corporate homogeny there in Boulder, and not unlike many other businesses in the area, the Mountain Sun does not accept credit cards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sean C. Kielty, Albany, NY
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
If you're looking for tons of hop and malt flavors, this is a must. The food is not especially noteworthy from what I could see, but food you can get anywhere (if you can't find a neat restaurant in Boulder, you have a real problem). Mountain Sun has concentrated on BREWING, and they've done very nicely, thank you. The Java Porter has a superb roasted coffee flavor. The XXX Pale was an excellent blend of malt and hops. Even their Quinn's Golden, perhaps their lightest offering, had ten times the flavor of the putrid American major domestics. Yonder Mountain Stout was smooth drinking brew, but not thin. Where else do you see a brewpub fill up early on a Thursday afternoon? Best of the Boulder micros, and perhaps Colorado as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Alamogordo, NM
(01/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You can tell who is a complete stick in the mud on this site, because they put words like -deadhead-, -hippie- and -phish type- in "quotes" in their reviews. Get a life! Anyway, I'll assert that these overly negative people are wrong, and that from the service to the beer, this place is the best spot in Colorado. The beer is especially excellent, and it is very inexpensive. Judgement makers be shunned!, because the Mountain Sun should be visited, and is freindly to ALL types of people (and I am not, by the way, a Deadhead or Phish Type). Anyway, if you're looking for a great beer in a great spot, go to the Sun and grab a Kind Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Boulder, CO
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Yes, this is kind of a "hippie place", but GREAT beer and good, wholesome, cheap food! They don't need any help building business here, they were full every night we went there, but I highly recommend this place if you enjoy distintive beer. Very nice, hoppy beers with personality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Tucson, AZ
(11/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The often think that the Kind ale is the single best beer I have ever had. Java Porter is also tops. Way better than average food for a pub, especially for vegetarians. tim

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim tim, Fort Collins, CO
(10/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Thanks for coming to the 9th Annual Hartford Drive Block Party yesterday. It is great to see someone in the business community show support for a neighborhood building activity. Alan Smith p.s. The beer was pretty darn good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Smith Alan Smith, Boulder, CO
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My favorite brewery in Colorado. The beer is excellent, but it is the creativity and selection that make it a must stop when I am in Boulder. Food is pretty good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Denver, CO
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Java Porter is unique and rates in my top 3 beers of all time. Visited the Denver area last year and after visiting approx 25 brew pubs, I ranked Mountain Sun #1 for beer. Not much to the atmosphere though. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Ober J. Ober, Glastonbury, CT
(04/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Awesome!
Wide selection of beer, all of which tastes very fresh. Usually have one of their beers on a nitrogen tap if that's your thing. Very hippy vibe (a good thing in my opinion, but possibly not in yours). Food is cheap, tasty bar food. Service is spotty, but worth it for the beer. Hopheads should give their Colorado Kind a go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Stafford Kevin Stafford, Denver, CO
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I was there last September 2001, it was crowded and busy but the wheat beer was great, good food and service. If you want to call this a "Boulder experience", then I guess I had it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Anchorage, AK
(03/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
non-exciting place, but friendly patrons and staff...good full spectrum of beers--java porter was like drinking a good strong cup of espresso! hippieish...didn't know anyone still used that term nor remembers hippies...brings back excellent memories...i think what they are trying to express is that laid back attitude...mostly college students. not your typical colorado brewpub decor with that wood, mountain lodge motif, but still pleasant and worth the visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
MUST STOP very unique tasting beers great crowd

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Trekker Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Worth dealing with the "eastern slope" traffic, and brown cloud layer, to get to. Kind Ale. Java Porter. Do not come to Colorado to taste beer and miss this experience. Helpful people. Nice t-shirts...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Morin Joel Morin, Aspen, CO
(12/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Good
Loved the Kind and the Java Porter. They had an awesome selection of beer and most of it was pretty good (excellently hopped brews). I was a little disappointed in the atmosphere; not because it was "hippiesh" (I liked that), but because it felt too "cafe-like." It didn't really have that brewpub feel (and you only see the equipment on your way to the bathroom). But anyway, we had pretty good service, and the beer makes up for any of the other discrepancies. Definitely worth a visit for that alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aubrey Aubrey, Richmond, VA
(06/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Coffee porter was excellent, as was their IPA. Also was able to get a small sampler served by an ex-brewer,now waiting tables who was accomodating.Surprisingly slow on a Saturday at noontime,but I would go again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Sawchuk Don Sawchuk, Canton, MI
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
This place is excellent... Most of the brews are top notch. Try the nitrogen conditioned coffee porter and any of their hoppy pale ale related brews (they have about 3) The service is great, but there's no bar to sit at!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Rehfuss Marc Rehfuss, Manhattan, KS
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I returned here after a 4 year sojourn; I knew them when, quite bluntly, their beers could not be matched. It seems their brewmaster left (Alas, Jack, we hardly knew ye...), and well, the brews seemed to have slipped. The pushed Java porter was a nice surprise; overall, however...they once was better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St Paul, MN
(08/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just wanted to comment: I tried the 6 beer sampler. Every beer was the hoppiest and driest of its kind I've ever tasted. Fresh tasting beers, but I found the hops and extreme dryness combination inappropriate in an Amber, Stout, and Porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Keller Dave Keller, Silver Spring, MD
(03/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This place was a bit of a surprise for us. We had intended to have dinner at a better known brewpub in Boulder but a kitchen fire there sent us looking for another location. Mountain Sun was recommended and it was a great recommendation. Very laid back, kind of hippie like; but everyone in the place couldn't have been friendlier. The place looks more like a local pizza joint than a brewpub, even had a play area for little kids. The beer was all great! The recipes ran from traditional (an ESB that won a gold at GABF) to innovative - Lemongrass and Camomile. We liked it so much that we went there on our second night. We would go back again if we were in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LeRoy Strohl LeRoy Strohl, Fredericksburg, VA
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
A nice little joint with great beers. The Colorado Kind (IPA) Java porter, and Lemongrass beers were outstanding. Cheap, friendly, and comfy, my favorite place in Boulder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
As a craft brewer by trade I found the beer to be GREAT esp. the XXX pale ale. If you really like the "hop pucker" give it a try. Ruckus wheat was good made with lemon grass and chamomile. I enjoyed the traditional english low carbonation. The food was fresh with some non-typical types of food. I would reccommend this to anyone. I'LL BE BACK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MIke MIke, Gaylord, MI
(12/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Very "Boulder-like" experience. A favorite amongst the Deadhead, Phish wannabe types. It's worth the trip simply to check out the crowd. The beer brewed on premises is decent, although not awesome. They usually have a good selection of local "guest beers."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Douglas J. Cox Douglas J. Cox, Louisville, CO
(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Best salsa we have ever had. Beer was ok. Small and comfortable place. Would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin & Vicki Fire Kevin & Vicki Fire, Alfred, ME
(01/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Small pub with a sort of hippie atmosphere with flowers on the ceiling etc. They have six house brews plus a good selection of guest beers from around Colorado and the Pacific Northwest. The food is simple but good and the staff is friendly. Worth a look.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher McMath Christopher McMath, Boulder, COLOADO
(09/30/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.451 seconds) 08:33:00 54.196.62.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS