PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Horse Brass Pub - Portland, OR
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 05:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OR > Portland > Horse Brass Pub
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Horse Brass Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
4534 Southeast Belmont Street
Portland, OR 97215
United States
(503) 232-2202
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portland, OR
Beer Guide for Oregon

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(43 within 5 miles)
1) Mount Tabor Theatre and Pub
(1 mile)

2) Laurelwood Public House and Brewery
(2 miles)

3) Alameda Brewing Company
(2 miles)

4) Old Chicago
(2 miles)

5) McMenamins at Mall 205
(2 miles)

6) Parchman Farm
(2 miles)

7) Rose and Raindrop
(2 miles)

8) Roots Organic Brewing
(2 miles)

9) Lucky Labrador Brewing Company
(2 miles)

10) Burnside Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Yamhill Brewing Company
(2 miles)

12) Bridgeport Ale House
(2 miles)

13) Cascade Brewing Barrel House
(2 miles)

14) Green Dragon Bistro and Brewpub
(2 miles)

15) McMenamins Bagdad Theater and Pub
(2 miles)

16) Produce Row Cafe
(2 miles)

17) Natian Brewery
(2 miles)

18) Migration Brewing Company
(2 miles)

19) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(2 miles)

20) McMenamin's Broadway Pub
(2 miles)

21) Katie O'Briens
(2 miles)

22) Laurelthirst Public House
(2 miles)

23) McMenamins Barley Mill
(2 miles)

24) McMenamins on Broadway
(3 miles)

25) Columbia River Brewing Company was Laurelwood
(3 miles)

26) Oaks Bottom Public House
(3 miles)

27) Hair of the Dog Brewing Company
(3 miles)

28) Hopworks Urban Brewery
(3 miles)

29) Victory Bar
(3 miles)

30) Multnomah
(3 miles)

31) Hedge House
(3 miles)

32) Columbia River Brewing Company
(3 miles)

33) The Pub at the End of the Universe
(3 miles)

34) Skybox Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

35) Pix Patisserie
(3 miles)

36) Philadelphia's Steaks and Hoagies
(3 miles)

37) Clinton Street Brewing
(3 miles)

38) Old Chicago
(4 miles)

39) 5th Quadrant
(4 miles)

40) Alberta Street Public House
(5 miles)

41) McMenamins Kennedy School
(5 miles)

42) Mash Tun Brewpub
(5 miles)

43) Concordia Ale House
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Georgian House Bed & Brkfst
2) Century Garden Bed & Breakfast
3) Clinkerbrick House
4) Hostess House Bed & Breakfast
5) Irvington Inn
6) Kennedy School Bed & Breakfast
7) Knott Street Inn B & B
8) Lion & the Rose Bed & Brkfst
9) Portland Guest House
10) Portland's White House B & B
11) Sullivan's Gulch B & B
12) Three B's At Market
13) Tudor House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BANFIELD HOTEL
2) BEST VALUE INN & SUITES PDX
3) BEST WESTERN PONY SOLDIER INN
4) BRIDGESTREET LLOYD PLACE
5) COMFORT INN PORTLAND
6) Comfort Suites Portland Airprt
7) COUNTRY INN SUITES PORTLAND
8) DOUBLETREE PORTLAND-LLOYD CTR
9) ECONO LODGE AIRPORT INN
10) ECONO LODGE CONVENTION CENTER
11) ECONO LODGE EAST PORT
12) ECONO LODGE EXPO CENTER
13) ECONO LODGE HOLLYWOOD DISTRICT
14) EMBASSY STES PORTLAND APT
15) Evergreen Inn & Suites
16) FAIRFIELD PDX AIRPORT
17) Holiday Inn Portland Airport
18) Holiday Inn Portland-Downtown
19) HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL AIRPORT
20) Inn at the Convention Center
21) Jupiter Hotel
22) LA QUINTA INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
23) La Quinta Portland Conv Center
24) PORTLAND THRIFTLODGE
25) Quality Inn Portland Airport
26) RAMADA INN ROSE QUARTER
27) RAMADA INN SUITES PORTLAND ARP
28) Red Lion & Suites PDX Airport
29) RED LION HOTEL PORTLAND CONV
30) Residence Inn Portland Dwtn
31) SHERATON PORTLAND AIRPORT HTL
32) SHILO INN DTOWN-CONV CENTER
33) SHILO SUITES PORTLAND AIRPORT
34) Silver Cloud Inn PDX Airport
35) SPRINGHILL SUITES PDX AIRPORT
36) SUPER 8 PORTLAND OR
37) TRAVELODGE CONVENTION CENTER
38) TRAVELODGE PORTLAND AIRPORT
39) TRAVELODGE PORTLAND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abraham, Simon, Duplex
2) Albee, H. Russell, House
3) Ambruster, Frederick, Cottage
4) Armstrong, Alfred J. and Georgia A., House
5) Autzen, Thomas J., House
6) Bader, Louis J., House and Garden
7) Bagdad Theatre
8) Barber Block
9) Barnes, Frank C., House
10) Barnhart--Wright House
11) Bartman, Gustave, House
12) Bay E, West Ankeny Car Barns
13) Bell Station Store
14) Blake McFall Company Building
15) Bowman, F. E., Apartments
16) Brainard, William E., House
17) Bramhall, Jennie, House
18) Buckler-Henry House
19) Buehner, Philip, House
20) Burrell Heights Apartments
21) Chamberlain, George Earle, House
22) Clovelly Garden Apartments
23) Cobb, Samuel, House
24) Coleman--Scott House
25) Costello, James C. and Mary A., House
26) Crook, Charles, House
27) Crum, Virgil and Beulah, House
28) Deere, John, Plow Company Building
29) Del Rey Apartments
30) Dickson, Henry B., House
31) Doernbecher, Frank Silas, House
32) Douglas Building
33) Dupont, Edward D., House
34) East Portland Branch, Public Library of Multnomah County
35) Emerson Apartments
36) Eugenia Apartments
37) Farrer, Franklin W., House
38) Fenton, William D., House
39) First National Bank
40) Fisher, Thaddeus, House
41) Frances Building and Echo Theater
42) Francis, Clarence E., House
43) Frank, M. Lloyd, Estate
44) Freiwald, Gustav, House
45) Frigidaire Building
46) Gatehouse, Portland City Reservoir No. 2
47) Genoa Building
48) Gilliland, Lewis T., House
49) Gowanlock, Elizabeth B., House
50) Graham, Thomas, Building
51) Groat--Gates House
52) Hall--Chaney House
53) Hancock Street Fourplex
54) Haseltine, William A., House
55) Hawthorne, Rachel Louise, House
56) Hickey, James, House
57) Hines, Pierre Rossiter and Charlotte, House
58) Holden, William B., House
59) Hollywood Theatre
60) International Harvester Company Warehouse
61) Irvington Bowman Apartments
62) Irvington Tennis Club
63) Italian Gardeners and Ranchers Association Market Building
64) Jacobs-Wilson House
65) Jantzen Knitting Mills Company Building
66) Jensen Investment Company Building
67) Johnson, Charles E., Building
68) Jones, Clarence H., House
69) Keck, H.C., House--Mt. Olivet Parsonage
70) Kendall, Joseph, House
71) Kennedy, John D., Elementary School
72) Kerr, Albertina, Nursery
73) Knight, F. M., Building
74) Krouse, Nettie, Fourplex
75) Kuehle, Henry, Investment Property
76) Laurelhurst Manor Apartments
77) Lent, George P., Investment Properties
78) Leutgert, Henry C., Building
79) Lindquist Apartment House
80) Lytle, Robert F., House
81) Mann, Anna Lewis, Old People's Home
82) Martin, George W. and Hannah,--John B. and Minnie Hosford House
83) Miller, Claude Hayes, House
84) Miller, Henry B., House
85) Mizpah Presbytarian Church of East Portland
86) Mohle, Wilhelmina, House
87) Monastery of the Precious Blood
88) Munsell, William O., House
89) Murphy, Paul C., House
90) Nelson, Otto W. and Ida L., House
91) New Logus Block
92) Nicolai--Cake--Olson House
93) Northwestern Electric Company--Alberta Substation
94) Olsen and Weygandt Building
95) Olson, August, House
96) Olympic Cereal Mill
97) Oregon Portland Cement Building
98) Oregon State Bank Building
99) Oriental Apartments
100) Osborn Hotel
101) Page and Son Apartments
102) Parelius, Martin, Fourplex
103) Parkview Apartments
104) Piper, Charles, Building
105) Polhemus, James S., House
106) PORTLAND (Steam Tug)
107) Portland Fire Station No. 23
108) Portland Fire Station No. 7
109) Portland General Electric Company Station "L" Group
110) Portland Railway, Light and Power Sellwood Division Carbarn Office and Clubhouse
111) Poulsen, Johan, House
112) Povey, John E. G., House
113) Prince, Thomas, House
114) Raabe, Capt. George, House
115) Rae Selling Berry Garden and House
116) Raymond, Jessie M., House
117) Reinhart, Jacques and Amelia, House
118) Rockey, Dr. A. E. and Phila Jane, House
119) Roome--Stearns House
120) Salerno Apartments
121) Salmon, W. S., House
122) San Farlando Apartments
123) Santa Barbara Apartments
124) Scott, Leslie M., House
125) Senate Court Apartments
126) Sensel, Henry, Building
127) Sheffield, John and Sarah, House
128) Shindler, William, House
129) Shogren, Fred A., May, and Ann, House
130) Smith, Blaine, House
131) Spies--Robinson House
132) St. John's Episcopal Church
133) Stephens, James B., House
134) Tannler--Armstrong House
135) Thompson Court Apartments
136) Trinity Lutheran Church and School
137) Troy Laundry Building
138) Tunturi, Fred, House
139) Turner, Frederick, Fourplex
140) Van Vleet, Lewis and Elizabeth, House
141) Vetter, Herman, House
142) Wallace, John M., Fourplex
143) Webb, Alfred, Investment Properties
144) Wells--Guthrie House
145) West's Block
146) West, Nathaniel, Buildings
147) Wilson, Andrew P., House
148) Zimmerman--Rudeen House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 52nd Ave Sports Bar
2) A & L Sports Pub
3) A Pizza Scholls
4) Ah Fong Kitchen
5) Aj's Bar & Grill
6) Ambassador Restaurant & Lounge
7) American Dream Pizza
8) Angelos
9) Arby's
10) Arenitas Restaurant
11) Aunt Tillie's Deli
12) Bagdad Cafe & Theater
13) Bamboo House Phillipine Grill
14) Bar Of The God's
15) Bento Co Oriental Fast Food
16) Biddy Mc Graws Irish Pub
17) Bipartisan Cafe
18) Biscuits Cafe
19) Blackwell's Grub/Steak Grill
20) Blaze Jose's
21) Bread & Ink Cafe
22) Bridgeport Ale House
23) Brite Spot Restaurant
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) Burger King
27) Burgerville Usa
28) Cafe 2 By 2
29) Cafe Bevan
30) Caldera Restaurante
31) Cali Sandwiches
32) Campbell's Bar-B-Q
33) Candle Light Restaurant
34) Canton Grill
35) Carl's Jr Restaurant
36) Carrows Restaurant
37) Chabachaba Thai Restaurant
38) Chameleon Restaurant & Bar
39) Chicken Little Restaurant
40) Chin's Kitchen
41) China Express
42) China Max Restaurant
43) Chinese Village Restaurant
44) Common Grounds Coffee House
45) Compass Cafe & Caterers Ltd
46) Country Cooking
47) Country Cooking Restaurant
48) Cracker Box Deli
49) Cup & Saucer Cafe
50) Dairy Queen
51) Dat Chans
52) Devil's Food Catering
53) Diane's Restaurant
54) Dingo's Taco Bar
55) Domino's Pizza
56) Domino's Pizza
57) Dreams & Memories Public House
58) Driftwood Inn
59) Du's Grill
60) El Salvador Restaurant
61) El Tapatio Restaurant
62) El Vale
63) Eldorado Mexicn Grill Cantina
64) Elmer's Pancake & Steak House
65) Empire Room
66) Far East Kitchen
67) Farm House
68) Fife Restaurant
69) Flying Pie Pizzeria
70) Foxfire Teas
71) Freemont Ridge Inn
72) Fu Jin
73) Fusion Restaurant & Retail
74) Glisan Street Pub
75) Go Huiang Jip Restaurant
76) Gold Bowl Chinese Restaurant
77) Golden Star Restaurant
78) Great Wall Seafood Restaurant
79) Greater Trumps
80) Gustav's Bier Stube
81) Half Moon Catering
82) Hama Sushi
83) Hoho Restaurant
84) Hollyhurst Neighborhood Grill
85) Hollywood Burger Bar
86) Hollywood Inn
87) Home Plate
88) Horse Brass Pub
89) Hungry Hippo Restaurant
90) Hutch Tavern
91) Ichidai Restaurant
92) India Oven Authentic Cuisine
93) International House-Pancakes
94) Izzy's Italian Marketplace
95) Jack In The Box
96) Jack In The Box
97) Jin Wah Restaurant
98) Kb Steak House
99) Kfc
100) Kfc
101) Kfc
102) Kim Lan Restaurant
103) Kupie Cone Drive-In
104) Kwan Ying's Kitchen
105) La Casa De Rios
106) LA Prrilla
107) Legin Restaurant
108) Little Mexico
109) Loading Zone
110) Lucky Too Restaurant
111) M & M's Corner Cafe
112) Mama Maria's Restaurant & Lng
113) Maple Leaf Restaurant
114) Mar's On Hawthorne
115) Marco's Pizza & Subs
116) Mc Donald's
117) Mc Donald's
118) Mc Peets Portland Pub
119) Mi Wa Restaurant
120) Mo-Jo Cafe
121) Moon & Sixpence British Pub
122) Moosehead Cafe & Lounge
123) My Canh
124) Nb 2000 Restaurant
125) New Happy Fortune Chinese
126) Nick's Famous Coney Island
127) O'malley's Saloon & Grill
128) Oasis Cafe
129) Ooga Booga Bbq & Sauce Co
130) Original Joe's Deli
131) Pagoda Restaurant & Lounge
132) Pal's Shanty
133) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
134) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
135) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
136) Pappy's Drive-In
137) Peter's 19th Hole Bar & Grill
138) Pho Hung
139) Pho Van
140) Pirate's Cove
141) Pollo Rey
142) Poor Richard's Restaurant
143) Powell's Seafood Restaurant
144) Prime Rib Restaurant & Lounge
145) Rainbow Village Restaurant
146) Rawza Inc
147) Red's Bar & Grill
148) Rheinlander German Restaurant
149) Rheinlander German Restaurant
150) Rice & Spice
151) Rogers Restaurant & Lounge
152) Romo's La Jara
153) Roscoes Restaurant & Pub
154) Rose City Grill
155) Round Table Pizza
156) Rovon Inn
157) Sabala's Mount Tabor
158) Saigon Kitchen Se
159) Sam Ho Restaurant
160) Sandwich Depot Deli
161) Sapphire Hotel
162) Sassy Jack's Pub
163) Savory Tart
164) Scoreboard Sports Bar
165) Sinnott's Tavern
166) Sizzler
167) Skewers Charbroiled Chicken
168) Sorabol
169) Spaghetti Alreadi
170) Starbucks
171) Starbucks
172) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
173) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
174) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
175) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
176) Sweet Cream Cafe
177) Sylvia's Italian Restaurant
178) Tabor Hill Cafe
179) Taco Bell
180) Taco Bell
181) Taco Bell
182) Taco Bell
183) Taco House Original
184) Tam's Garden
185) Tay-Do
186) Tennessee Red's Barbeque Co
187) Thai Thai III
188) Thai-Thai Restaurant
189) Thal Blnh Restaurant
190) Thanh Thao
191) Thanh Thao Ii
192) Thatcher's Eating & Drinking
193) Three Doors Down Cafe
194) Tiger's Sports Bar
195) Toji Korean Grill House
196) Tom's Restaurant
197) Trap Restaurant
198) Triple Nickle Pub
199) UFO Pizza
200) Urban Onion
201) Utopia Restaurant & Lounge
202) Vien Huong Restaurant
203) Violet's Cafe
204) Wack Co Restaurants Inc
205) Watertrough Saloon
206) Wendy's
207) Wendy's
208) Wholesome Blends
209) Wilshire Tavern
210) Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant
211) Yahala Restaurant
212) Zach's Shack
213) Zien Hong
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Lousy Lousy So So
We decided to try Horse Brass for dinner this evening. We ate there once, years ago, when it was crowded with smokers. We hate smoke, so never returned. Now that smoking is no longer allowed, we decided to try again. What a mistake. The waitress was grouchy, the steak was tough, and the fries were under-cooked and served cold. The atmosphere is kind of rustic, and the beer selection is broad and deep. I do not recommend the food - it was terrible. We were so disappointed that we had wasted $50 on a lousy meal, when there are so MANY other restaurants in Portland where you can get a really great meal for 4 for that same price. Horse Brass is okay if you're only drinking beer. Go elsewhere for a meal. Your stomach and your wallet will thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Portland, OR
(11/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The Horse Brass is a faux-English pub with British memorabilia on the walls, dartboards all around and a wonderful vibe. This was the original craft beer pub in Oregon, founded only a year after micro-brewing was legalized in the state. The owner is a semi-militant chain-smoker, but since state law banned smoking in January 2009 the pub's air quality has improved 100% and they have become much busier.

Horse Brass is all about beer. They have 53 taps of which 28 are rotators - all are craft brews or English imports with the occasional Belgian. They print a new beer menu every couple days, but even still it's often changed. Ask the server what's on. You can get Budweiser in bottles, but be ready for some gentle ribbing if you do.

Food is traditional British fare - bangers and mash, fish and chips and the like. I am vegetarian (they have a couple things) but am told the fish and chips are excellent. One patron told me he bikes more than ten miles to Horse Brass for the weekly bangers and mash special!

This is Portland's home for several dart leagues and they show English Premier League football on fall and winter weekend mornings. They roll out a TV for the games, otherwise the pub is TV-free (yeah!). Overall, the Horse Brass is hands-down the finest beer pub in Portland and in my experience the best on the West Coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Hamje Richard Hamje, Portland, OR
(06/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Lousy
Credit Card Fraud

I've really enjoyed the Horsebrass in the past, but my last experience might just be that: the last. Service was horrible. The server spent half her time standing around and the other half ignoring my attempts to get her attention, snapping at me or making faces.

Service is service and can be touch and go - we all have bad days right? Well, I checked my credit card statement online tonight. Thank goodness I still had my receipt because it ends up the server "tipped" herself an extra $4.00 at my expense - money I did not authorize.

Go at your own risk, but if you do - take cash. I may very well have to change my card #. If the company can charge extra money to my card, who knows what else they are doing with it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review portland, OR
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
My wife and I heard about this place from friends, so we went there for lunch a couple of Saturdays ago. They allow smoking, and we knew that in advance, but wanted to try it anyway. The service was OK, and the food was pretty good. I had the bangers & mash - very good, but the mashed potatoes were cold. My wife had the Ploughman's lunch, and it came with a very generous and varied selection of cheese. So many beers on tap...it was hard to choose, but I had the Young's Double Chocolate Stout...man, that was one kick-ass pint. And they're real pints, 20 oz., by the way.

By the time we finished lunch and our beers, our eyes were beginning to sting and water from the smoke, so we paid our bill and got outta there. I'd go back if it becomes smoke-free, but otherwise not.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Portland, OR
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Horse Brass Pub has a great traditional Brittish Pub menu. It does tend to be quite smokey, but the atmosphere, excellent beer selection and fun, knowledgeable staff more than make up for it. A definite must for any visit to Portland!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cara Cara, Gresham, OR
(09/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Lousy Lousy
Way too smoky. I don't want lung cancer. It is nearly impossible to get a table on busy weekends, and there is no organization or way to put your name on a list. Finaly, every time I have been here, the service is lousy. Last night, my girlfriend and I waited for friends to join us. For 25 minutes, the waitress ignored us while she waited on others who arrived after us. The beer selection is great, but there are other places in town, like Concordia Ale House, with good selection and great service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portland, OR
(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
so many beers, so little time. when beer fest rolls around, this place is the after party!

all the food is english pub style. its good, just not my style.

lots of darts! nothing like sitting back, sipping a dank beer and throwing some darts. watch out though, darts leagues take over from time to time. but, on mondays they have a dart challange board so you can just step up and try to take it!

awesome place. its good for a date, but in no way is it a formal place.

oh ya, they have hard drinks too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chlee rush chlee rush, Portland, OR
(06/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So So So
a smokers paradise... shame since they are the minority. but this English style pub is the kind where the customers make remarks like...a smoke free HBP?! over my dead body!which will be so true as you smokers finnaly start dying en mass. We majority non-smokers will take over and finnaly give this place a good airing out. I support the right to die, but this place needs a major air system overhaul. We tried to get a table away from the flames and open a (locked) door for air, but a violation of fire code Im sure prevented any fresh air from getting into our burning lungs. we could only stay for one before our eyes started to weep and our clothes reaked. try the smoke free beer store Belmont Station next door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker (Nick) Beertrekker (Nick), Baltimore, MD
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A ten-minute bus ride (No. 15) brings you to the front door of this well-known beer bar, one of the best ever visited by me. You walk in and step into an English country pub, heavy wooded beams, uneven wooden floors, wobbly yet sturdy tables amid several dark rambling rooms. Charles Dickens would feel at home here. Any visit to the Horse Brass and something will surely turn up (to quote Mr. Micawber, who would also feel at home.)Every inch is covered with beer paraphanalia. The beer is selected with care and kept fresh, with rotating taps covering a myriad of styles and tastes. The menu features the traditional English breakfast and includes a very filling Bangers and Mash complete with requisite peas. Of course, cask-conditioned drafts are ready for tasting. (They offer about 40 taps total). So many beers and so little time; I had Blue Dot IPA from Portland's own Hair of the Dog Brewing Company, Mongoose IPA (Hale's - Seattle, WA), the always delicious Black Butte Porter (Deschutes Brewing Company) and - for the first time I saw it in the US, Bombadier Ale (Charles Wells), which was about as close to Theakston's Old Peculiar (and heaven) as one can get. This is one of the true beer meccas - and a must visit at least once. It deserves the rating of "Awesome."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(12/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is THE best beer bar in Portland. The selection is out of this world semed like about 2 dozen taps including 5 or 6 cask conditioned. Greeat bottle selection. Wonderful old woorld atmosphere. Servers were excellent and knew their stuff. Food was great and moderatlly priced. A must see when in Portland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin reid Kevin reid, Salem, OR
(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
I finally made it to the Horse Brass!You have to visit this taphouse! Don Younger made me feel right at home. the beer selection is excellent, and the beer is all fresh. Don showed me that atmosphere and friendliness is as important as good beer to make a truly great bar! LONG LIVE THE HORSE BRASS!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, CO
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Finally made it to the world famous Horse Brass. Didn't have much time there though, showed up 7 mins after last call bartender was nice enough to serve one though. Can't say in the short time I was there that I had any problems with the service as I've heard. The atmosphere is dark and wooden, the taps are great and plenty, I can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Austin Hart Austin Hart, Troutdale, OR
(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
All of the staff I met should find work in some other industry. Maybe as undertakers. The beer was fresh and there is a wonderful selection of local products. Entirely too smokey though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Draper Dave Draper, Whitby, ON
(03/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The quintessential British pub in the middle of the Portland beer scene, which is definately the most sophisticated in the country. DO NOT MISS their bottle shop next door, the Belmont Station, if you want to really get up to your eyeballs in the great Portland beer scene. Really great people and they ship.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Minneapolis, MN
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Very knowledgable staff. If you only have time to stop at one place while in Portland, make it the Horse Brass. The selection of local craft brews is outstanding. Belmont Station next door will ship your favorites back home for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Wepprecht Craig Wepprecht, Kenosha, WI
(01/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Extremely smokey, but the great beer and knowledgable wait staff more than made up for the cigarette smoke. Excellent selection of Oregon area brews- some on cask. Food was English pub style and nothing to write home about. To top off the experience, stop in @ Belmont Station next door for an excellent selection of brews to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JW JW, Birmingham, AL
(04/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Incredible beer selection and a great atmosphere. A must stop for all beer lovers in the Portland area. It is like being a kid in a candy store!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Ron, Cumming, GA
(09/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
I gave the barkeep an idea of the type of beer I was looking for and asked for his recommendation. On the three pints he steered me toward I was noot in the least disappointed. Great, well stocked pub with a distinctive ambience. I'll always make this a stop when in Portland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeffrey J. Koslosky Jeffrey J. Koslosky, Dillon, MT
(02/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(01/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
This IS NOT A BREWPUB!!! However, you can not do any better on the Oregon beer scene than the HorseBrass. They have the finest selection of Pacific NW taps in America. This includes several cask conditioned taps (Deschutes Mirror Pond Pale for example) and some rare treats not commonly found (Terminus Gravity's IPA - possibly the USA's best IPA, and Sasquatch Strong Ale from Wild Duck). If you can only go one place to sample great Oregon beers - go here!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The food was great. Hard to find but worth it. It has the english pub atmospher and food. The selection on the menu was good but they were out of my first two choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Miller Dan Miller, Martinez, CA
(10/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
If any of the people that worked there had a personality it would be an excellent place. Also too smokey

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Cartwright Bob Cartwright, Vancouver, WA
(07/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The Horse Brass is probably the best bar in Portland. They are also now shipping beer from their web site at www.horsebrass.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Morgan Miller Morgan Miller, Portland, OR
(07/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Several dart boards and two pool tables make The Horse Brass one of Portlands most complete "proper" pubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James McCann James McCann, Portland, OR
(03/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Great Great Great
Excellent example of a British pub. No beer made on premises, but has an excellent selection of NW beers on tap. Great British pub fare. Helpful & friendly bartenders. If you stop by, ask if they have any "Fred" on tap, a specialty brew from Hair of the Dog. It is one of the best beers I have ever tasted. A must stop if you are in the Portland area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Davis Steve Davis, Clarksburg, WV
(01/20/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.717 seconds) 17:06:07 54.92.239.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS