PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rockies Brewing Company - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 03:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Rockies Brewing Company
Rockies Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Rockies Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.5 / 100
2880 Wilderness Place
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 444-8448
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rockies Brewing Company
23 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon 11:00AM - 80:0PM
Tue 11:00AM - 80:0PM
Wed 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Thu 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Fri 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

10) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

11) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

12) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

13) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

14) Walnut Brewery
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND VARIETY (APPR. 13). PROBABLY THE MOST INTENSE BITTERNESS I HAVE EVER TASTED IN THEIR IPA (ON CASK AS WELL). DIDN'T EAT BUT THE LUNCH CROWD HAD THE DINING AREA PACKED.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
Tucked away in an office park, you'll find Rockies Brewing, also known as Boulder Beer. Serving their own beers, from Hazed and Infused to Buffalo Golden, there's sure to be something you'll like.

Food is good, typical brewpub selection with a fantastic buffalo burger. Service is friendly, although not lightening fast, and you can buy brewery beer to go.

But what makes this place is the patio. Behind the bar is a little door to a huge patio with hops growing on a fence and tables with umbrellas. It's usually quiet, with the sound of distant conversations because the tables are spread reasonably far apart.

The place closes at nine and isn't open on the weekends, probably due to its office park location. Beer is great, service is friendly, and the food is considerably better than average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Boulder, CO
(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Hazed and Infused! An awesome beer! First had it here in Illinois at Palmer's Place in a bottle, even better on tap. Also had a very good Pale and a Hefe. This is fantastic beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, il
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
I've had it with this place! I've been there four times and gotten served once. I live a 90-minute drive from the brewery, but I occasionally come up to Boulder to hike. I stopped here years ago, when it was one of the only breweries in the city, and I thought it was OK but without much food selection. The next time I stopped during normal business hours, the whole restaurant was closed down for a private party and they turned away all other customers. The third time I tried to stop, they had lost their liquor license and couldn't serve beer. I gave it one last try this past weekend only to find that the brewery/restaurant is "closed Saturdays and Sundays." What genius decided on that one? Forget it. Boulder has plenty of excellent microbreweries -- Rockies Brewing has thumbed their nose at me too many times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Anderson Kevin Anderson, monument, CO
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Visited Rockies/Boulder Brewing back in August. Didn't make it for the tour, but hung out in the onsite pub for a while. My only real complaint is that the taster tray was $8...and considering a full pint was only $2.50 during happy hour, this seemed a little pricey. I wanted to try everything, so I was basically stuck. Overall I found most of the beers to be good, but not great. Hazed & Infused, as well as Mojo stood out over all the rest. The service was friendly, though maybe a tad scattered....but when you got their attention they did their best to take care of you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Allen, TX
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I can't rate the beer selection as I came from Ohio to try Mojo and Mojo only. Mojo is quite possibly the perfect American IPA, slightly dry, but with enough body to not be overwhelmed by the hops, great flavor and unbelievable hop aroma.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
This is one of my favorite breweries. They make some damn good beer (esp. Singletrack!) and they have a good selection of stuff. They also make some pretty interesting beers. If you're a hop fanatic, you'll like much of what they make (Hazed & Infused will knock your socks off). It isn't a big place, but the tour is quite fun. Even got a chance to try one their beers (Neverwinter Ale) right out of the fermentation tanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Magnus McDowell Magnus McDowell, Eagan, MN
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I had the sampler, and remember all the beers being good. Unfortunately for this review, I had already been to Avery, Mountain Sun and Redstone, so my memory is a little Hazed and Infused! Definitely worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The Brewmaster is one of the nicest brewmasters in the country. The Hazed and Infused and the Mojo are awesome. The is an absolute must stop if you're even close to the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I attended the Rockies' 25th Anniversary celebration on Saturday, 6/12 billed as the "Goatshed Reunion" by the founders of this great establishment. The reason they've sustained as they consistently put out quality product and push the envelope on innovation. Witness their superb "Dazed and Confused" dry-hopped IPA or, the recent "Mojo" a serious contender for the title of "my favorite brew" along with their "Singletrack." These people know and love good beer. May they prosper another 25 - 50 - 100 years!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(06/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Found Hazed and Infused on tap in Rochester, MN. They really delivered on the dry-hopped claim. Now I have to go looking for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Rockies is my favorite brewery to visit. Over the years I've been to several microbrews in many states, though this one was by far my favorite. The beers are fantastic, the service unbelievable and free tours everyday, you can't beat that. Well worth the trip no matter were you are coming from.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Francisco, CA
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I tried 2 beers - the Nitro Porter was real good. The Hazed and Infused was probably my favorite beer of the trip (I sampled 2 or 3 beers in 21 different brewpubs over the week). I could tell it was going to be a great beer just by smelling it - smelled like pure hops. This is the hoppiest beer I've tried since Stone Brewing's Ruination IPA. It might not be for everyone, but for true hopheads, this beer is Nirvana - like drinking liquid hops. I also brought home a Killer Penguin, which I am looking forward to trying real soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good N/A
My companion and I had lunch at The Pub and then did the 2:00 PM brewery tour. The pub menu featured many typical items and there is a daily special. Our chicken sandwich, veggie burrito, and onion rings were quite good. On Monday and Tuesday your first mug of beer is a nickel with a lunch entrée. This was one of the better brewery tours I have experienced – very thorough as we were taken throughout the brewery to see everything from the mash tun to the cooling and brightening tanks to the bottling and kegging operations (which unfortunately was not active on that day). Following the tour, we sampled as many of the beers available as we wanted. Now to the beers: In addition to the usual Boulder ales (Pale, Amber, Porter, etc.), Buffalo Gold, and Singletrack Ale, there are some other relatively new brews. One is called Sulley’s Light Lager, and it is essentially an attempt to capture some of the Bud Light and Coors Light drinkers. Enough said. We sampled three ales that are part of Rockies’ new Looking Glass Series. Hazed and Infused Dry-Hopped Ale is indeed a hoppy delight and has apparently become quite popular on tap in the Denver/Boulder area. The other two were winter seasonals: Never Summer Ale is a flavorful dark and slightly spicy ale and was our favorite, while Killer Penguin Ale is a high gravity winter ale with an alcohol content approaching the barleywine level. There is also an unfiltered brew usually available at the pub – this time is was the Boulder Pale. All the people here, from our server to the tour guide to the charming lady at the bar were very personable. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Tasty beer and I had a really tasty pulled pork sandwich here. Friendly place surrounded by biotech and pharmaceutical offices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Tucson, AZ
(11/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I love that they're not on the strip, that they have good variety and beautiful deck to enjoy beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.J. R.J., Louisville, CO
(11/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
I HAVE HAD THE STOUT. IT IS GOOD,BUT DOESN'T REALLY STAND OUT IN A CROWD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great place, deck was closed but looked nice. They have a always changing selection of specialty beer, though often just adaptations of their regulars, still really cool and original.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Denver, CO
(06/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just a slight addition. The beers here make this an outstanding place to visit. On my last trip they had a stunning Octoberfest that I could have drank for days. Any comments made about the bottled beers are clearly NOT relevant to their kegged products at the brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(03/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
I am not a fan nor do I buy Boulder beers here in Texas. It is amazing however what a beer fresh from the brewery can taste like versus one that is shipped and sits on a shelf for months at a time. Not on Boulder's Main drag, but worth the drive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Free tour at 2pm very informative. Sampling afterwards is extensive and guided to help you understand what you are tasting and how it came to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(11/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Oldest operating Microbrewery in the country, WOW! Tour at 2pm is fun, the free tasting is the best part. Singletrack Copper Ale, Boulder Fall Fest and Boulder Porter are my favorites! The Pub is a fun place where everyone knows your name, do not get the Pearl Street and college crowd, just great people!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(11/10/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.286 seconds) 03:36:08 23.20.43.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS