PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Walnut Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 07:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > Walnut Brewery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Walnut Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 71 / 100
1123 Walnut Street
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 447-1345
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Walnut Brewery
32 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

10) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

11) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

12) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

13) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

14) Rockies Brewing Company
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
I visited this place twice over a 2 week period and was enjoyed each visit. This open, brick warehouse building has a few flatscreen TVs great for watching sporting events which is what was going on this particular Sunday. The staff was friendly and helpful. I tried three beers on tap: The Devils Thumb Stout was probably my favorite which was on nitro, smooth, rich and unfiltered; Indian Peaks Pale Ale was slightly hoppy with a light body and clean flavor; Big Horn Bitter had more kick and was of course more bitter than the pale. Walnut is a part of the Rock Bottom chain so bring your Mug Club card. 10/7 2pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
OK beer but nothing too memorable. Only had the pale ale, which was fine, but a little boring. Good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Christian, Philadelphia, PA
(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Spent 4 nights in Boulder on business last week and ate dinner at the Walnut Street Brewery three of the four. Started my beer tasting with the sampler, and wan't impressed except for the stout, so I stuck with the Devil's Thumb Stout the rest of the week. Excellent brew, but it was the food and atmosphere that brought me back time after time. A spice-rubbed salmon on night one (first time I ever was asked "how done" I wanted my fish); a light, but delicious pasta dish the second night; and a tasty garlic-stuffed tenderloin on night 3. Don't miss the onion soup made with the stout! Three nights and three friendly, smiling waitresses provided very attentive service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from N.Scott N.Scott, Houston, TX
(03/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Beer selection is the usual run of the mill. The beer that I had was fine. It rises above Rock Bottom in quality. Nice place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Reister Kenneth Reister, Olympia, WA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
This is the original "Walnut" Brewery and part of the much-criticized Rock Bottom chain. Wide selection of good (not great) beers; however, the atmosphere, the food and the attractive, friendly bartender (female) made up for this. The styles run the gamut: Amber, Pale Ale, Copper Ale, Irish Red, Bitter, Brown Ale and a stout. Perhaps, the brewer is over-extended in terms of capacity and might want to try brewing less variety and shoot for quality, instead. Some of the best beers I've had came from micros with limited capacity. PS: I don't really understand why the aforementioned Rock Bottom gets a bad rap? Each location has its own individual brewer - perhaps, it's a subjective opine centered on the fact that it's a "chain." My question to these folks: "If you dislike chains, then I assume you hate Starbucks? Never eat at McDonalds or refuse to order pizza from Dominos's? (Hmmm? Maybe a bad example.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Great Good
Unfortunately, the ‘Crawlers website was down and couldn’t do our on-line research before visiting Boulder. The food was great, especially the pretzel appetizer. We had some burgers and a burrito, which were pretty good. However, the beer is like the air at the top of Pike’s Peak, thin. Go for the food, not the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Think of Rock Bottom, but cheesier and below average beer. Just about all of them were on the thin side. Cajun salmon was actually surprisingly good. Lots of students. Waitress screwed up the order a couple of times but it just wasnt her day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Prager Darren Prager, San Francisco, CA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Awesome! Good
A popular hangout for some of us locals for the food, excellent service, and mug-club privileges more than for quality beer.

Some good food and a friendly atmosphere. For great tasting local brews there are many better choices in Boulder; if you wish to try your luck here anyway then try some of the seasonals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, boulder, CO
(03/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So
The worst of the lot in Boulder. My brother and I got the sampler (11 beers). Honestly there wasn't one of them worth drinking. If the beer isn't made with some kind of adjunct (I would guess corn syrup) I would be more then amazed. Our waitress was great and agreed that it is the worst beer in town and she comped us both samplers. The place has great potential due to the atmosphere, but I would definitely not stop again for the beer. I have to wonder what others are tasting that think this is good beer. Expect a chain and a little less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The beer was pretty good, but definitely not the best in town. Nothing stands out about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Not much worth stopping here for, especially when there are so many great options just a few blocks away. The Irish Red was flavorless, and both the ESB and Brown left something to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
A fun place to hang out especially on tuesdays- pint night!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Menolly Menolly, Boulder, CO
(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
visiting a friend in gilpin county (golden gate canyon). enjoyed stopping in for a beer. what i tasted was above average and refreshing.

thanks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim tim, hartford, WI
(09/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The Walnut was the first brew pub in Boulder. It opened in 1990 in what looks like an old fire station. The company that owns it now runs several brew pubs nationally (Rockbottom breweries) renowned for their mediocre beers. Far worse beers have been made, add to that the atmosphere at the Walnut in Boulder and you have a brew pub that is worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Mack Kenneth Mack, Boulder, CO
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I didn't expect this place to be great, being a Rock Bottom chain. Most Rock Bottom Breweries I've been to have at least been OK - the two beers I had here were really not very good at all. The Pale Ale was really light and not very hoppy at all. The Brown ale was just OK. Better than drinking Coors, but not by much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerrit Cap Gerrit Cap, Leuven, BE
(05/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
O.K., the purists may observe that the WB is part of a "chain" but don't let that deny you a rich drinking and dining experience. I've always been rewarded for returning to the Boulder location...they've always got the "Big Elk" ESB on tap as well as their wonderful "Singletrack." The kitchen never fails, either. They change the menu quarterly, so there's always something new & good to experience. So, what are you waiting for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(05/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Okay, so I was bit disappointed when I learned that this is part of that chain brewpub - Rock Bottom. But the wheat beer was good, food was good and service was pretty good. I was here back in September of 2001 so I can only speak of that time period.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hoot Hoot, Anchorage, AK
(03/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
A great range of beers, from their light Buffalo Gold and the hopy singletrak, to a red, a brown ale, and finally a stout. They also have a awsome refreshing Ice Brew for the winter season only. Another little known fact, they are the parent of the Rock Bottom chain of Brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim , Boulder, CO
(02/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! N/A
This is a place I would love to take my old friends Stephanie Ann Howard and Christopher Garcia -memories of Thxgiving dinner with Chad and...just great memories of this place.Would love to make more when I move back(google help me out please!) miss ya guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Girard Brian Girard, Tampa, FL
(01/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
This brewery is owned by Rock Bottom, the beers had a "commercial" taste to them, the stout was pretty good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jamie Boelter Jamie Boelter, Irvine, CA
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
Doesn't Rock Bottom own this place? Because I thought Rock Bottom (on 16th in Denver) was WAY better, although the beer is the same. I was a little disappointed; had higher hopes. I did like the atmosphere though - real "dark-hardwoodsy" type of place. Not to mention, it's in a great part of Boulder (although, I guess ALL of Boulder is pretty great).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aubrey Aubrey, Richmond, VA
(06/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The food was definitely better than the beer. But the beer wasn't bad either. Touristy but then again so is Boulder, folks!! The good service and pleasant atmosphere made up for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carole Carole, Bethlehem, PA
(08/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
Really a Rock Bottom disguised for the Boulder crowd. Same bad beer as Rock Bottom though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.467 seconds) 07:45:49 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS