PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Engine House Number 9 - Tacoma, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 16, 2014 @ 05:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Tacoma > Engine House Number 9
Engine House Number 9 Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Engine House Number 9
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.9 / 100
611 North Pine Street
Tacoma, WA 98406
United States
(253) 272-3435
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Tacoma, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) The Parkway Tavern
(2 miles)

2) Spar Tavern
(2 miles)

3) Ale House Pub and Eatery
(3 miles)

4) Ale House Pub and Eatery
(3 miles)

5) The Harmon Hub
(3 miles)

6) Rock Wood Fired Pizza and Brewery
(3 miles)

7) Ram Restaurant and Brewery
(3 miles)

8) Harmon Pub and Brewery
(3 miles)

9) Swiss
(3 miles)

10) Katie Downs Tavern and Eatery
(3 miles)

11) Charlie O's
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Greater Tacoma B & B Rsrvtns
2) All Seasons Waterfront Lodging
3) Austrian B & B & Suites
4) Blue Willow Cottage B & B
5) Branch Colonial House
6) Chinaberry Hill
7) Commencement Bay B & B
8) Dutch Embassy Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN TACOMA
2) SHERATON TACOMA HOTEL
3) SILVER CLOUD INN TACOMA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Annobee Apartments
2) Bowes Building
3) Browns Point Lighthouse and Keeper's Cottage
4) Building at 1602 South G Street
5) Building at 712--716 Sixth Avenue
6) Cabin No. 97
7) Drum, Henry, House
8) Engine House No. 13
9) Engine House No. 8
10) Engine House No. 9
11) Fire Alarm Station
12) Fire Station No. 1
13) Fire Station No. 10
14) Fire Station No. 14
15) Fire Station No. 2
16) Fire Station No. 5
17) FIREBOAT NO.1
18) Haddaway Hall
19) House at 1510 Tacoma Avenue South
20) House at 1610 South G Street
21) House at 2314 South Ainsworth Avenue
22) House at 2326 South L Street
23) House at 605 South G Street
24) House at 708--710 South 8th Street
25) House at 802--804 South G Street
26) Masonic Temple Building--Temple Theater
27) McIlvaine Apartments
28) Murray, Frederick H., House
29) Nihon Go Gakko
30) Nisqually Power Substation
31) North 21st Street Bridge
32) North 23rd Street Bridge
33) Northern Pacific Office Building
34) Old City Hall
35) Pacific Brewing and Malting Company
36) Pacific National Bank Building
37) Pantages Theatre
38) Pythian Temple
39) Rhodes Medical Arts Building
40) Rialto Theater
41) Rust, William Ross, House
42) Sandberg--Schoenfeld Buildings
43) Schultz Apartments
44) Slavonian Hall
45) St. Peter's Episcopal Church
46) Sunset Telephone & Telegraph Building
47) Tacoma Mausoleum
48) US Post Office--Tacoma Downtown Station--Federal Building
49) Walker Apartment Hotel
50) Winnifred Street Bridge
51) Y.M.C.A. Building
52) Yuncker, John F., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 6th Ave Pub
2) ABC Cafe
3) Affairs-Chocolate & Desserts
4) Ale House Pub & Eatery
5) Amy's Espresso
6) Arayah Thai Cuisine
7) Arby's
8) Barb's Westgate Inn
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Beach Tavern
11) Bella Nina's Ristorante
12) Ben Dews Clubhouse Grill
13) Bimbo's Italian Restaurant
14) Bonsai Teriyaki
15) Burger King
16) Busch's Restaurant
17) Canaan Teriyaki
18) Caper's Take Home Eatery
19) Cloverleaf Pizza
20) Cold Stone Creamery
21) Country Baked Hams
22) Cse Restaurant Lcc Dba
23) Dairy Queen
24) Dairy Queen
25) Dinner Solutions
26) Domino's Pizza
27) Eddie's Catering Inc
28) El Toro
29) Elana's Specialty Bakery
30) Europa Bistro
31) Forza Coffee Company
32) Frank's Family Drive-In
33) Fuji Teriyaki
34) Gateway To India
35) Gayle Orth Catering
36) Ginza Teriyaki
37) Godfather's Pizza
38) Goldfish Tavern
39) Goofy Goose Hamburger
40) Grandy's Restaurant & Lounge
41) Greek Corner
42) Habana Lounge & Cafe
43) Hank's Tavern
44) Hell's Kitchen
45) Hometown Restaurant & Bakery
46) I Love Bento
47) Ichi Teriyaki
48) IHOP
49) Il Fiasco Restaurant & Bar
50) Imperial Dragon
51) Ivar's Original Seafood
52) Ivy & Stanley's Chinese
53) J J's Sweettooth Cafe
54) J T's Original Louisiana Bar B
55) Jack In The Box
56) Jazzbones Restaurant-Nightclub
57) Keg Steakhouse & Bar
58) Kfc
59) Kim Anh Restaurant
60) Kim Anh Restaurant
61) Knapp's Restaurant
62) Krickett's West Restaurant
63) La Fondita Ii
64) Little Caesars Pizza
65) Little Holland Drive In
66) Lobster Shops
67) Macarther's Restaurant
68) Machan Japanese Restaurant
69) Magoo's
70) May's Vietnamese Restaurant
71) Maya's Family Mexican Rstrnt
72) Mc Donald's
73) Mc Donald's
74) Mc Donald's
75) Mc Donald's
76) Mi Mi Teriyaki
77) Minji's Pho
78) Monsing Restaurant
79) O'Malley's Irish Pub
80) Old House Cafe
81) Papa John's Pizza
82) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
83) Pig-N-Out
84) Pizza Hut
85) Pizza Hut
86) Pizza Time
87) Pomodoro Restaurant & Bar
88) Quiznos Sub
89) Quiznos Sub
90) Rainbow Chinese Buffet
91) Ricardo's
92) Rosewood Cafe
93) Round Table Pizza
94) Ruby Tuesday Restaurant
95) Saled Food Svc Inc
96) Sapporo Teriyaki
97) Sar's Oriental Cuisine
98) Shakbrah Java
99) Shari's Restaurant
100) Shari's Restaurant
101) Silk Thai Cafe
102) Sixth Olives
103) Skipper's Seafood 'n Chowder
104) Starbucks
105) Starbucks
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
110) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
111) Sunny Teriyaki
112) Sushitama
113) Taco Bell
114) Taco Bell
115) Taco Del Mar
116) Taco Time
117) Taco Time
118) Taz Pizza & Pasta
119) Teriyaki Wok Plus
120) Terry's Office Tavern
121) Tower Inn & Lanes
122) Unicorn Sports Bar
123) Upper Crust Pizza & Eatery
124) Wendy's
125) West End Pub & Grill
126) Wok V Teriyaki
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
A lot of guest taps. Out of their own IPA. All ales were pretty good. French Dip was very good. I would have preferred a heartier bun and hotter au ju. Next time I will ask for two portion is au hu. I was told the chili-burger was excellent. French fries were hot. (a big plus ) Server was very patient with my anal inquiries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(01/04/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
spent afternoon of 21st bday there! loved it! perfect atmosphere for pre-clubbing! (thanks mich-l)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review poor torchered, WA
(05/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
E( has an excellent combination of House and guest brews. If you can't find what you are looking for here then you should just go home and drink your "Bud". Menu selection is good. Have never had a bad meal at he old firehouse. Will be back as long as they are open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, port orchard, WA
(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good So So
The bartenders can be very rude here, I will not go back because a few of them have been very mean on more than one occasion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tacoma, WA
(11/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Had a good steak cooked exactly as requested. Had an IPA which was a little watery. The smoked porter was wonderful though and totally made up for the watery IPA. Try the black bean soup with the steak it was also very good. Very friendly atmosphere and good looking staff;)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tacoma, WA
(11/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for a pint and a light lunch. Had the IPA, nice balance, very good. My wife and I shared a halibut sandwich which was good (the fries were great). Cool building, lots of old firehouse decor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(07/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
This place has it all going on.Great old building.Lots of firefighting memorobilia to occupy the mind.The menu is fairly extensive for a brewpub.There's a full bar, a big cooler filled with a large assortment of bottled beer and twenty tap handles at the ready, ten of which are house brews.Tried the Rowdy Dick Amber to start with. It was good enough to order a second while waiting for my food order. Had the Reuben with fries.Very tasty.Finished of my visit with the Roasted Porter which was equally tasty. All the other reviews seem to cover how good this establishment is. The only thing I might add is don't be a dumb ass tourist like me and walk up from downtown. Jump on the #1 bus and save yourself some serious hill climbing. Your feet will thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
E9 is located just off of a funky section of 6th Ave. It is also conviently located near Jazzbones Nightclub where many different styles of bands, both local and natiional, come to play. The atmosphere is pub casual as it is located inside an old firehouse and the owners kept the brass pole, stable doors, etc. to decorate the interior (like the use of ladders for the track lighting). The food is awesome! Appetizers such as the Breasts of Fire (tender chicken breasts in a spicy creamy chipotle sauce), Diodes (thin crust pizza with garlic, butter, and parmesan cheese)are fantastic! The food is quite good too, as varied as burgers or chili (different kind every month) and more gourmet fare (Salmon ceasar salad or thai pasta). The beers selection is adequate and some of their own brews ROCK! Service is generally good, although it can be spotty. They also offer free popcorn and those ubiquitous trivia bar games. A popular hangout for at least 2 of the Universities.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shoshona Shoshona, Tacoma, WA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Great
Stopped in with inlaws the night after Christmas '05. Not greeted, and ulitmately service was slow, but the beer and beer selection make up for lack of tight service. I had some Dick's Winter Warmer, a cask-conditioned non-house brew, it was tasty and perfect accompanyment to the cold, drizzly NW weather. Washed the beer down with a great burger. The place was fairly busy, and the TVs somewhat loud, but overall a great place and I'll be back whenever I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Laredo, TX
(01/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I didn't know about this place till the people at Harmon told me to check it out. Just great. The old fire House is so cool and the variety of beer--in additon to their own--is wonderful. The 4 alarm stout and the outrageously bitte were very good. As was the Enginehouse porter. The bartender was very friendly. Other beers on tap (or in bottle) of note were: Fish Tale, Red Sea, Pyramid, Hales, Pike Widmer, Skullsplitter, Red Tail, Redhook. This place is a little out of the way but well worth the search. Go when you have time to set and enjoy. I was there in the afternoon and found the place not crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
This review will summarize two visits over the last three months.

E9 has about 20 or so taps, of which about eight are there own brews. Oddly enough, on my visit today (7/31), they had four fall/winter ale selections.

To their credit, E9 has tried to do a few Belgian styles. Unfortunatley they fall short. Their Saison lacked the floral nose expected of the style. It tasted more like a Tripel or a stronger Belgian golden ale. Not bad, but not a saison. And their Belgian wit was very pedestrain. It had a very slight citrus taste, but otherwise was rather insipid. Finally, the Oatmeal Stout, while the best of those I tried, was also disappointig. It started with a nice chocolate nose, but lacked the lucious creamy complexity of my favorite Oatmeal Stouts (Samuel Smith's, Boundary Bay in Bellingham, WA and Four Peaks in Tempe, AZ).

Both times I went for lunch and had the turket cranberry sandwich and the French Dip. Both were okay, but nothing to write home about. They give you the option of fires or a salad. They have a tasty honey mustard salad dressing -- I believe it had caraway seeds in it.

WTH

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Good
The food was good, my burger seemed a little dry. The drinks were great (had a mai tai). The restaurant is loud, but not too bad. Lots of games & fun. The service was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tacoma, WA
(06/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I really liked the setting of a histoic fure station. Beer was great. IPA was immensely hoppy. Imperial Pale Ale less so. Fish & Chips were excellant. Meatball sandwich was so-so. It just confirmed my opinion that one should never order a meatball sandwich west of Buffalo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is one of our favorite places - we drive from Kent just to go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kent, WA
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
If you loke a variety of beers the beer club, with 47 differnt beers to drink, is one to try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Peter Thatcher, Poulsbo, WA
(04/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow alot of hot men in this joint

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, Anchorage, AK
(12/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer selection (bud light) and good looking men all for me

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, Anchorage, AK
(12/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Very impressive on-premise and off-premise beer selections. Definite uniqueness as far as atmosphere. Haven't tried the food yet, but looking forward to it. Aiming to sample all 47 available beer selections to become an Engine House No.9 Beer Club honoree!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Perl David Perl, Colorado Springs, CO
(12/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
worth the stop!great beer,especially i.p.a brewed in pacific northwest style,nice and hoppy.the place itself is on national historic registry which is cool.cant wait to stop in again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The atmosphere was great, trivia night is a hoot!! The Oatmeal Stout IS A MUST!! I loved just watching it cycle!! But drinking it was even better. The food and beer selection were very well rounded with something for everyone. If you are in the area, this spot is a defininte.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Hampton, VA
(11/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Very cool place, an old fire house. Had the sampler and all the beers were good, if not terribly distinctive. Very good oatmeal stout. Staff was friendly and informative. Had the chicken taco which was OK, but other menu items looked good. Overall, I'll go back again when I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry P Larry P, Cedar Rapids, IA
(08/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Fantastic atmosphere. House beer is great! As is the other delicious micro's. Love the "air engine" beers, very unique. Can't wait to visit there after being deprived here on Okinawa for 3 yrs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelly T McGuire Kelly T McGuire, Port Orchard, WA
(07/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Fantastic atmosphere. House beer is great! As is the other delicious micro's. Love the "air engine" beers, very unique. Can't wait to visit there after being deprived here on Okinawa for 3 yrs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelly T McGuire Kelly T McGuire, Port Orchard, WA
(07/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've spent many a cold winter night with friends at E-9...enjoying their 4 alarm stout, Scottish ale, and their seasonal Warmer, while wolfing down their giant plate of excellent nachos. You HAVE to check out E-9!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Peterson Kevin Peterson, Camarillo, CA
(10/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
One of many Pubs in the NW that has "character". The ambiance makes the place along with the beer selection. Closed dis place many a times... The food quality changes, but is good most of the time. This place is busy from lunch to closing. Drink every beer they have and become immortal with your name on the wall. See where Barney (the horse) use to reside. yo man, I miss this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Mori Glenn Mori, Dallas, TX
(08/04/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.556 seconds) 05:28:33 54.196.196.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS