PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery - Berkeley Heights, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 07:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Berkeley Heights > Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery
Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 73.6 / 100
279 Springfield Avenue
Berkeley Heights, NJ 07922
United States
(908) 665-1755
Listed Since: April 1997
Last Updated: August 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Berkeley Heights, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
101 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 04:30PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Office Beer Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Parrot Mill Inn
2) Pillars of Plainfield B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MURRAY HILL INN
2) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS
3) THE GRAND SUMMIT HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Badgley House and Site
2) Bower, David S., House
3) Central Railroad of New Jersey
4) Drake, Nathaniel, House
5) Dusenberry House
6) Firehouse No. 4
7) Grace Episcopal Church
8) Hetfield, Deacon Andrew, House
9) Murray Hill Station
10) Netherwood Station
11) Old Baptist Parsonage
12) Plainfield Central Fire Headquarters
13) Plainfield Civic District
14) Plainfield Station
15) Saint Mary's Catholic Church Complex
16) Scotch Plains School
17) Smalley-Wormser House
18) Smith, Nathaniel, House
19) Stage House Inn
20) Waring, Orville, T., House
21) Young Women's Christian Association of Plainfield and North Plainfield
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alley Bar & Grill
2) Auberge Swiss Restaurant
3) Avenue Deli
4) Berkeley Plaza Weddings
5) Bon Gusto Deli & Caterers
6) Boston Market
7) Cucina Di Mare
8) Friendly's Restaurant
9) Fuji Japanese Restaurant
10) Groucho Marks
11) Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
12) Hop Hing Chinese Restaurant
13) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
14) Marcello's Pizzeria
15) Mc Donald's
16) Mc Donald's
17) Mr Wraps
18) Neelam Exotic Indian Cuisine
19) Pantagis Renaissance
20) Pizza Hut
21) Pizza Stop Of Berkely Hts
22) Scotchwood Diner-Restaurant
23) Sestri Restaurant
24) Siam Village
25) Snuffy's Steakhouse
26) Station House Cafe
27) Sub Zone
28) Szechuan Delight Chinese
29) Trap Rock Restaurant & Brewery
30) Wasabi Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Great place to visit for a good beer. Have noticed of late that the food quality has slipped from its normal very high standard.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(10/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A little out of the way but worth the trip. Awesome atmosphere. Very pricey but considering the area I expected to pay a little more than average prices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
In response to the question of whether they are still open, they were in May, and I'm sure they still are. The problem is that the link provided on this page is no longer valid - their new website is at: http://traprockrestaurant.net/

In May, I had a their IPA which was very hoppy (could have used a little more malt to balance it). I've always enjoyed their beers. They usually have a nice variety in styles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Their website indicates all the restaurant fixtures are for sale. Are they still in business?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(07/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Didn't know what to expect upon our first visit after reading so many negative reviews of this place. True, the atmosphere there is a bit on the pretentious side, and on one visit, I was highly annoyed that the hostess steered me to a tiny 2-seat table, and abruptly refused my request for a larger table even though the entire restaurant was largely empty (and remained so throughout my meal). I am an ale fan, and an IPA aficionado in particular, and so I usually order the house IPA. This beer is very nicely hopped, with an agreeably astringent effect, and is at about the right BU for my taste buds. Occasionally, I have the sense that their IPA is just a little bit on the dilute/thin side, but I generally enjoy it very much. The food is another story altogether. The menu is very limited, does not appear to change much over time, and has more ala carte items than I like to see at a moderately-to-expensively priced "sit-down" restaurant (ala Ruth Chris'). I love great food, but find the menu here not only too limited and boring (and overpriced), but a bit pretentious as well. Indeed, we quickly became bored with the menu after our second visit, and primarily go here for the nice beer and the very pleasant "lodge-type" atmosphere. Although we generally enjoy ourselves here, receiving the bill always makes us scratch our heads in consternation at the relatively low value-to-cost ratio of every meal that we've ever had here. One more note: this is not really a very family-friendly place....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Westfield, NJ
(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Dont order the ribeye you could chew it for hours It could not have been beef $32 for a tiny piece of meat tha could not be chewed with no sides A small side was $7 The food tas terrible again and the beer was sour with a burnt taste I noticed no one was really eating their food the place is all style and no substance Probably one of the worst places I have ever been to

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William Gordon William Gordon, summit, NJ
(10/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Good
A fancy restaurant that bills itself as a brewery.

Let me first say, the food here is amazing. Worth going to just for dinner... though a little on the pricy side (2 beers, 2 apps, 2 dinners, 1 desert = 125$). To get a feel of the croud, most people, at this brewery, were drinking wine with dinner... strange.

Beer wise, it was ok.

I had the IPA. It was good, but not great. The best IPA I've tried in NJ so far, but nothing to write home about. The wife had their wheat, and it was COMPLEX in flavor. Banana, bubble gum, other flavors. complex flavor, but still missing something (maybe just not our taste). They normally have 6 beers on tap (2 are pilsners, and avoided like the plague by us), and 2 were all out... they had run out of the red, and they are no longer making their stout. I'm a big stout fan, so I was a little disapointed.

So, great food, great service, the dessert, a chocolate brownie with a scoop of homemade peanut butter rocky road ice cream, was fantastic, great piece of tuna, try the crab and potato hash... beer, its ok, nothing to write home about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Morristown, NJ
(06/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great to see the William Tell English style beer back again! Two jumbo pints went down very well. The food and ambiance, make for a great evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(03/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
My wife and I stopped in once for lunch with my parents while we were visiting them in New Jersey. This is a really fancy, though somewhat expensive, restaurant. The food and the beer were fantastic; definitely worth the visit, and the price. There is a bar and a nice restaurant with a fireplace and huge windows downstairs, and a neat little drinking room with couches and a fireplace upstairs.

I started with the Steam Engine, a great amber colored steam beer; very smooth, slightly bitter, and nicely balanced. My wife had the Kestral’s Joy IPA; an excellent, hoppy American style IPA. My dad had the Ghost Pony Helles Lager; an excellent, crisp, bitter lager. My second beer was the Hathor Red Lager, which was also excellent; deep amber color, hoppy up front with a nice balance of maltiness.

I had a great sesame seared tuna salad. It was a bit small, but there was plenty of great bread to help absorb the alcohol. My wife had excellent crab cakes, although also a bit on the small side.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
I must agree with the other reviewers. The beer is really good and a nice selection to boot. The service was fine but the whole place had no business being a brewpub, it was very snobby and snooty from the get-go....valet parking should have been a dead giveaway. All in all, a nice place, but either be a brewpub or a fancy-dan restaurant..not both.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
The dining room waitress was great. Had a few drinks at the bar first and found the barstaff snobby, but afterall we are in the snooty part of the state! Beers were very good. I've had lunch there previously and found the bar friendlier, hit and miss I guess. Not a casual Brewpub like the rest in the state of NJ.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian harto brian harto, milltown, NJ
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
as you can tell from some recent reviews, this place sees itself more as being in the semi-high-class restaurant business than brewing. That said, there was nothing wrong with the two (out of 6 or 7) beers that I tried, but the food was both pretentious and mediocre.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(11/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
I stopped in to get my Nj Craft Brewers Guild passport stamped, after not having been there in several years. The place seems a little more relaxed than the last time I was there. Even though a guy was sitting outside the entry I was allowed to park my own car. The bartender was friendly and informative about the beer. The sampler included six of the seven brews advertised on the menu and all were good except for the Ghost Pony Light which was about what you'd expect from a light beer. I'm ann IPA fan , so I liked the IPA best, with the stout a close second. The William Tell Ale was also worth a second glass. The others were average. Worth atrip for the outstanding IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(08/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Excellent service here! A little pricey and a little preppy, but a great establishment. The beer selection rotates nicely to give you something new to try. There is a lounge upstairs that you can enjoy a good cigar with your good beer, if that is to your liking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy Lousy
The NJ Craft Brewers Guild recently developed a "passport" which encourages patrons of the bars within the guild to go out and try the beers of the different establishments within the guild, earning a stamp in your passport for every place visit. With the passports in hand, a few of my friends and I took off for the Trap Rock. Wearing t-shirts and jeans, we had no idea what we were in store for. Looking to sample the wares, we walked in and were immediatley told to remove your baseball caps." No hello, just take them off. Could have been a little more cordial, but whatever. Sat at the bar and the woman tending bar looked at us like we had three heads, expecting us to order Zima's or something. We ordered the sampler, and tried the beers. Some were impressive, but we were constantly hounded "what would you like" "can I get you anything." None of the other casual profesional dressed patrons were recieving such attention.

As we ordered our beers, just to drink them down and get out of there, we asked for our passport to be stamped. They had NO IDEA about the promotion and probably wanted us out of there as much as we wanted to leave.

From my experience, the brewpub atmosphere is usually warm and friendly. This place was the exact opposite. We were treated as second class citizens.

I just hope the next place we visit is more inviting. Those of you looking to get the Trap Rock stamp on your passport, dont bother. Cant expect any cooperation from a NJCBG member that doesnt even attend the Guild meetings.

YMB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Biland Joe Biland, Jamaica, Queens, NY
(07/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Beers are very good and smooth. Nothing too bitter and all hues are available. I especially liked the Alpine Weiss and the Stout. Superb!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John W John W, Flushing, NY
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Miss not having a cask conditoned ale but can always find a beer that I enjoy in the range available.Food Excellent but getting pricey!Will keep on coming back. Are we reviews missing?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lidy Lidy, summit, NJ
(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, UNION, NJ
(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, UNION, NJ
(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
From the valet to the professional bar team a great place to visit.Shame they don't sell their beer through their other restaurants.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(11/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
Will never gome back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, union, NJ
(11/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy So So Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Trinity Tom Trinity, Kearny, NJ
(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
WHAT A BURGER !!!! and try the draft beer sampler

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Jack, Scotch Plains, NJ
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cindy Cindy, Union, NJ
(09/25/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.472 seconds) 19:41:22 54.226.0.225, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS