PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Wayne, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 01:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Wayne > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 76.2 / 100
[Closed - August 2008]
629 West Lancaster Avenue
Wayne, PA 19087
United States
(610) 687-6565
Listed Since: April 1997
Last Updated: October 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wayne, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of John Harvard's Brew House
27 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery
(3 miles)

2) Prism Brewing Company
(4 miles)

3) Gullifty's Pizza Grille and Bar
(5 miles)

4) Brothers Spano
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast of Phila
2) Country Angel Tea Room
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) B W INN AT KING OF PRUSSIA
2) BW THE INN AT KING OF PRUSSIA
3) COMFORT INN VALLEY FORGE NATL
4) COURTYARD DEVON
5) COURTYARD VALLEY FORGE
6) FAIRFIELD INN PHIL-VALLEY FORGE
7) HAMPTON INN - EXTON
8) HAMPTON INN KNG OF PRUSSA
9) HILTON VALLEY FORGE
10) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS KING OF PRUS
11) MAINSTAY SUITES KING OF PRUSSIA
12) OAKWOOD KING OF PRUSSIA
13) RADISSON VALLEY FORGE
14) RADNOR HOTEL
15) SCANTICON HOTEL AND SUITES
16) SHERATON PARK RIDGE HOTEL
17) SLEEP INN KING OF PRUSSIA
18) THE VILLANOVA CONFERENCE CTR
19) WAYNE HOTEL
20) WYNDHAM SUITES VALLEY FORGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Radnor Township No. 1
2) Bridge in Radnor Township No. 2
3) Bridge in Tredyffrin Township
4) Bridge in Upper Merion Township
5) Camp-Woods
6) Cramond
7) Cressbrook Farm
8) Crosley--Garrett Mill Workers' Housing, Store and Mill Site
9) Glenays
10) Globe Knitting Mills
11) Greenwood Farm
12) Hanging Rock
13) Harvard, David, House
14) Kennedy Mansion
15) King of Prussia Inn
16) Poplar Lane
17) Radnor Friends Meetinghouse
18) Rittenhouse, David, Junior High School
19) Saturday Club
20) Square Tavern
21) St. David's Church and Graveyard
22) Stewart, Gen. Thomas J., Memorial Armory
23) Stirling, Maj. Gen. Lord, Quarters
24) Strafford Railroad Station
25) Von Steuben, Gen. Frederick, Headquarters
26) Walker, Joseph, House
27) Washington's Headquarters
28) Wayne Hotel
29) Wetherby-Hampton-Snyder-Wilson-Erdman Log House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 110 Restaurant & Bar
2) 32 Degrees Desserts
3) 333 Belrose Bar & Grill
4) All American Hot Dog Co
5) Altomeo
6) Appetite's Delight
7) Arby's
8) Bain's Deli
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Baskin-Robbins
11) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
12) Bertolini's
13) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
14) Big Bites
15) Bistro Europita
16) Bistro Sensations
17) Boardwalk Fries
18) Bolingbroke
19) Bonnie's
20) Bravo Bistro
21) Bravo Pizza
22) Brew Moon Restaurant Microbrew
23) Brew-Haha
24) Buon Appetito
25) Burger King
26) Burger King
27) Cafe Procopio
28) California Cafe Bar & Grill
29) California Pizza Kitchen
30) Canton
31) Capri Home Made Italian
32) Charley's Place
33) Cheesecake Factory
34) Chili's Grill & Bar
35) Chili's Grill & Bar
36) Chinese Delight Restaurant
37) Chris Ruth's Steak House
38) Chris's Cafe
39) Cold Stone Creamery
40) Cooz's Corner
41) Cosi
42) Crocodile Cafe
43) Dairy Queen
44) Denny's
45) Diane's Sidewalk Deli
46) Dick Clark's American Bndstnd
47) Domino's Pizza
48) Dr RJ Kuhne Restaurant
49) Dunkin Donuts
50) Dynasty Buffet
51) Friendly's Restaurant
52) Gateway Cheese & Coffee
53) Gateway Luncheonette
54) Giovanni's Italian Delight
55) Glenmorgan Bar & Grill
56) Great American Pub Of Wayne
57) Gryphon Cafe
58) Hana Japanese Restaurant
59) Ho Choi Chinese Take-Out
60) Horizon's Cafe
61) Horizons Cafe
62) Houlihan's
63) Joe's Place
64) John Harvard's Brew House
65) John's Village Market & Deli
66) Johnnie's Dog House
67) Johnny Cabos Tex-Mex Grille
68) Kilcullen's Market
69) KLS Enterprises
70) Landis Catering
71) Le Mas Perrier
72) Let's DO Lunch
73) Let's Eat
74) Let's Talk Turkey
75) Lets Do Lunch
76) Lone Star Steakhouse
77) Main Line Pizza Inc
78) Margaret Kuo's
79) Mayuree Cafe
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Donald's
82) Mc Donald's
83) Mc Donald's
84) Mesa Fresh Mexican Grill
85) Minella's Mainline Diner
86) Minetti's Italian Specialties
87) New Lee Garden
88) New Wayne Pizza
89) Ninth Street Catering
90) Nudy's Luncheonette
91) Orange Julius
92) Original Philly Steaks
93) Osaka Inc
94) Passerelle Restaurant
95) Pasta Via
96) Pat & Joe's Cafe
97) Peace A Pizza
98) Pie In The Sky Pizzeria
99) Pizza Land Inc
100) Puffen
101) Real Pizza
102) Red Lobster Restaurant
103) Rendezvous Restaurant
104) Ristorante Primavera-Wayne
105) Rosati's Italian Ice
106) Rose Sami Culinary Productions
107) Ruby's King Of Prussia
108) Sal's Pizzeria
109) Salad Sensation
110) Salad Works
111) Saladworks
112) Santa Fe Burrito
113) Shangri-La 120
114) Silverspoon Cafe
115) Soupmasters International Inc
116) Starbucks
117) Starbucks
118) Station Cafe & Juice Bar
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Sullivan's Steakhouse
121) Taco Bell
122) Taco Bell
123) Taquet Restaurant
124) Taste Of India
125) Teresa's Cafe Italiano
126) Tgi Friday's
127) Thai Pepper Restaurant
128) Theresas Cafe Italiano
129) Tokyo Bay
130) Tokyo Fusion Japanese Rstrnt
131) Tozzi's Sub Shop
132) Tuscany Pasta Grill
133) Valley Forge Brewing Co
134) Vic & Dean's Pizzeria Grill
135) Villa Strafford
136) Wayne Beef & Ale
137) Wayne Tea Salon
138) Wendy's
139) Wendy's
140) Winds Of East
141) Wooden Iron
142) Your Gourmet Kitchen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
RIP John Harvard's.

My friend worked as a bartender here and they closed up recently. No warning to the staff, just on a Friday, after shift, they were told they have no job.

The beer was really overpriced and overrated, but they had made positive strides in the past few years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Proctor Shawn Proctor, Phoenixville, PA
(03/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Yesterday... after Victory and McKensie's I stopped here to have a beer and to have some food. I guess it was about 400pm. I was sure that I had been to this location before but as I stood infront of it I knew that it was the first time. There were only a few people around. I went to the alsmot empty bar, sat down, and waited. The dude in the central bar saw me but was taking his time coming over. It wasn't like he was busy or anything. Another bartender was sitting at the bar ready an Ale Street or something. Finally he came over and I decided to have a Rauchbock. WOOOOOOHOOOO was that a smokey brew. I decided that maybe the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich would go with the beer... as they say... where there is smoke... The sandwich sure was firey. I saw on the menu that bottles of the Private Reserve were available so I asked the bartender. He looked and said that there were some available. I asked how much and he said twentyfive bucks... after seeing my expression he added... "that's why we still have some available". My beer was $4.75 and my sandwich was $8.99.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(11/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Awesome!
This John Harvards has the best experimental beers that I've ever had. Top to bottom, Valley Forge has better beer but up top, there is no comparison. Right now, July 2005, this Harvards has THE BEST IPA I've ever had. The King Hop Kick IPA had very high OG and slightly high FG, which means sweeter and more intoxicating while mainting its hoppy character (I'd say hints of pine and cannibus).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Johnson Joseph Johnson, Bryn Mawr, PA
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The pale ale is generally very good, the Scotch Ale is killer when available. As a rule I don't eat where I drink, but the Chicken Thai Sticks are the bomb. If Mike is tending bar, you should have a very enjoyable time. I think they may have built the place around him, he's been there that long.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott ferguson scott ferguson, Devon, PA
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Matt H. was good, but the bartender Dave is truly an asset to that building. I hope they never let him go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wayne, PA
(05/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is awesome, Aaron the brewer really knows what he is doing. Our server Matt H. did a great job and if you visit try the specials.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wayne, PA
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
This location was a bit above the average for the J Harvard chain, noteworthy for their choice of brew styles. Octoberfest was very good, and other taps had Steam, Blonde, Pale Ale, Oatmeal Stout, Honey Lager and even a rare Schwarzbier!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The place is OK even though the bartender performed a major faux pas by serving both my wife and myself the wrong beers as we waited for a table to be available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review P. Buckley, Hopatcong, NJ
(03/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love this place. I travel an awful lot for work and it is always a pleasure staying in Wayne and getting to visit the John Harvards here.

Mike the Bartender is always friendly.

Cask ales rock always!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Our first visit to this JH, a very large venue with separate rooms to have a private party. Met Greg, the manager and the brewer, Aaron and got to talk to them about the place and JH in general. Enjoyed our dinner and had some great beer. The Nut Brown on the engine was very good and the Arctic Strong Ale made my night! Took along a growler of that! I would certainly recommend stopping here as the entire experience was pleasurable. 7 or 8 beers to choose from, so there's something for everyone! Also, congratulations to them on winning the Gold at the GABF 2000 for their Main Line Oatmeal Stout! Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
To their credit there are 8 options, including a decent Scotch Ale. I experienced an off-taste problem with beer being drawn through lines that hadn't been used in a day. I can't hold it against these folks that they are a chain--at least they are giving us fresh beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(07/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Beer was drinkable. Had worse had better. Not bad for a chain. Stout was the best. Chicken sandwich was good. I would recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Phila, PA
(04/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Their Alt, Kolsh and Nut Brown were great. The Cask Condition Scotch Ale was awesome

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I avoid chains of all types like the plague. The dumbing down of America continues. But there is usually one good beer on tap to be had. The food is very good. I've had dinner twice. No, it's not Victory, not even close. At least they have a hand-pump.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Alansky Mark Alansky, Hatfield, PA
(07/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Pretty good pub fare for dining, and usually at least 3-4 high quality brews on tap. Nice atmosphere as well. They sometimes brew an Oatmeal Ale, which is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Roberts Joe Roberts, Phoenixville, PA
(02/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
At first, I was very sceptical of a chain brew pub - but, I'm glad I went. The beers were surprisingly good - especially the porter that they had on the hand pump first time I went in. I've been back about 10 time now - they should put some more hand pumps in, the best tasting beers are definitely served up on the pump. Tap beers were better than average (read, better than General Lafayette Inn - which is much closer to my home!) - the Pale Ale they had on tap was descent. Food menu is a little weak, the portions small and the price high. Wait for a dinner table can be excessive (1.5 hours!) on a weekend evening though. Definitely recommended if you're in the area though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Philadelphia, PA
(11/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Atmosphere is great but the food is a tad expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nutley, NJ
(09/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
The beer & food were good but EXPENSIVE, I thought. I was also unimpressed with the portion given for this expensive meal. And while it may have been an isolated instance with my waitress, the service left something to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Cullinan Kyle Cullinan, Lansdale, PA
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
As much as I hate the idea of "chain" brewpubs, this place is pretty good. The stouts are all noteworthy, and make sure to try the butterscotch pudding for dessert.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Murphy Kyle Murphy, Malvern, PA
(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Beautiful decor, but the buck stops there. The beer was not at all impressive. The food looked good and wasn't bad. VICTORY BREWING CO. kills their beer, and food although JH has their decor beat. My final review is this......John Harvards' is Chili's with their own beer!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Morris Bill Morris, WestChester, PA
(04/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I'm amazed at the quality of beer and food for a chain establishment. Being able to drink cask conditioned Oatmeal Stout against the normally kegged version was very interesting. All of the beers I've tried seem to be very solid, except the barleywine which was overly sweet and light. It probably required more aging. My wife give's them high marks for their desserts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul A. Guris Paul A. Guris, Green Lane, PA
(04/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
Saying that the food is better here than at Valley Forge Brewing Company is a bit like saying Ruth's Cris is better than McDonald's. The food is very good at JH's. Grab a reasonably priced dinner here, limit yourself to one or two beers, then head to Valley Forge to drink their excellent beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(03/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Great place though they could teach their servers a little bit about the brews before sending them out. Lots of variety, not just small variations of one style of beer. Valley Forge Brewing Co. has better beer, but the atmosphere and food are a bit better here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Clair Chris Clair, King of Prussia, PA
(02/25/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.392 seconds) 13:16:43 54.224.225.86, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS