PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big Rock Brewery - Calgary, AB
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 07:01 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AB > Calgary > Big Rock Brewery
Big Rock Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Big Rock Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
5555 76th Avenue, Southeast
Calgary, AB T2C 4L8
Canada
(403) 720-3239
Listed Since: April 1997
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Alberta

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Brewsters Brewing Company and Restaurant
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) GLENMORE INN
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Restaurants
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I have told an American business associate that I would make sure she got a six-pack of McNalleys, and want to know if I can purchase it in Las Vegas and deliver it to her, or do I need to strap it to the back of my motorcycle for a 1500 mile trip south? No? What, you say FedEx it? It's bound to be delivered as empties. Is this a Trailer Park Boys kind of idea???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Edmonton, AB
(03/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm a regular diner at the Big Rock Grill. I strongly suggest dark beer lovers try the McNally's Reserve - a dark chocolatey flavored beer that way out ranks the Black Amber in my books. (Only available at the Grill and a few select pubs in town last I checked) McNally's Extra is a good second choice as a general all round beer. I find it to be one of their more variable beers - a good batch can be outstanding - a poor batch can have an unpleasant sour note. Traditional is the safe third choice. Nothing really outstanding, or blah, just a nice standard amber beer. The service and the food at the the Big Rock Grill is some of the best Calgary has to offer. Best to reserve, especially Fridays they tend to fill up. Note: Only open for lunch. :(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph Ralph, Calgary, AB
(11/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
During a recent trip to Calgary, I had the opportunity to try several Big Rock beers. I especially enjoyed the Traditional Ale, which is described on the Big Rock website as an English-style amber ale, but with its color and taste reminded me more of a mild but flavorful brown ale. The Honey Brown Lager and the Grasshopper krystal weizen were solid but less interesting. I also enjoyed a couple of bottles of a dark and malty seasonal maibock. Big Rock beers are readily found on tap at area pubs, and in both bottles and cans.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
I loved the Big Rock, Cold Cock Winter Porter. If anyone know how I can get some in Sacramento Calif., please let me know at ojws@winfirst.com. Thanks Jim

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(03/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
All decent beers. I especially enjoyed the Traditional and the warthog.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great beers matched with great food. Big Rock is a treasure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Martin Bill Martin, Calgary, AB
(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Langhorne, PA
(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Actually, Big Rock does make a Porter called Cold Cock Winter Porter, and a dark ale called Black Amber. Although these are both nice beers in the tradition of Guinness (The brewmaster used to brew foreign extra stout in Africa) I prefer MacNally's Extra Ale, a strong (7%) wonderfully flavoured and full bodied Irish style ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(02/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Fantastic beers especially Warthog and Trad. Don't bother to try another, this is the one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P. Cummins P. Cummins, Oakville, ON
(01/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
I've been drinking Big Rock for years, and recommend it to all beer lovers. Esp. McNallys & Black Amber Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stookie Stookie, Vernon, BC
(01/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
While I have never been to the pub or brewery, I can vouch for the quality of the beer. The Traditional is excellent followed closely by the Warthog. Without a doubt my favorite Canadian beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Regina, SK
(12/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think it is awesome all the way around but I am biased, I work for the company. I was just updating the info for you. Great web site.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(12/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
McNalleys Irish Ale is superb. However there is not a whole lot of variance in their half dozen beers. They specialize in light British style ales. I would like to see them make a Porter or a Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kennewick, WA
(04/30/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.29 seconds) 07:01:18 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS