PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Main Street Cafe - Madison, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 20, 2014 @ 03:32 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Madison > Main Street Cafe
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Main Street Cafe
Overall: Good    Score: 68.1 / 100
54 Main Street
Madison, NJ 07940
United States
(973) 966-0252
Listed Since: April 1997
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Madison, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Main Street Cafe
16 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Office Beer Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Parrot Mill Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MORRISTOWN INN
2) BEST WESTERN MURRAY HILL INN
3) HANOVER COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT
4) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS HANOVER
5) MADISON HOTEL
6) RAMADA CONFERENCE CENTER
7) SUMMERFIELD STES PARSIPPANY
8) THE GRAND SUMMIT HOTEL
9) WESTMINSTER HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Acorn Hall
2) Alnwick Hall
3) Boisaubin Manor
4) Bower, David S., House
5) Condict, Dr. Lewis, House
6) Cook, Ellis, House
7) Cutler Homestead
8) Delaware Lackawanna and Western Railroad Station
9) Dusenberry House
10) First Presbyterian Church of Hanover
11) Ford, Samuel, Jr.'s, Hammock Farm
12) Gibbons Mansion
13) Glanville Blacksmith Shop
14) Glynallen
15) Hancock, Rev. John, House, Cider Mill and Cemetery
16) Lindenwold
17) Little Red Schoolhouse
18) Madison Public Library and the James Building
19) Madison Public Library and the James Building
20) Madison Station
21) Mills, Timothy, House
22) Morris County Courthouse
23) Morris Plains Station
24) Morristown School
25) Mount Kemble Home
26) Murray Hill Station
27) Nast, Thomas, Home
28) Oak Dell
29) Our Lady of Mercy Chapel
30) Sayre House
31) Smith, Nathaniel, House
32) Speedwell Village--The Factory
33) Spring Brook House
34) Tuttle House
35) Twin Maples
36) United States Army Steam Locomotive No. 4039
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 973 Restaurant
2) Amalfi Cafe
3) Amici's
4) Atlanta Bread Co
5) Begum Palace Indian Restaurant
6) Bella Rosa
7) Blue Sky Burritos
8) Brick OVEN Of Florham Park
9) Broadway Cafe
10) Broccolini's Cafe Market
11) Burger King
12) C J's Deli
13) Cafe Giralda
14) Cafe Regal
15) Campus Cafe At Park Ave
16) Capo Vaticano Italian Rstrnt
17) Captain's Galley
18) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
19) Central Lunch
20) Charlie Brown's Restaurant
21) China Chalet
22) Coco's Bakery Restaurant
23) Crystal Bay Cafe
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Duffy's Deli & Catering
26) Empire Szechuan Restaurant
27) Fantastico
28) Fat Boy's Subs & Salads
29) Firehouse Pizza
30) Florham Park Bagel & Deli
31) Florham Park Deli
32) Florham Park Pizza
33) Galvano's Restaurant
34) Garlic Rose
35) Good Taste Chinese Restaurant
36) Hickory Pizzeria & Restaurant
37) Hollywood Ice Cream
38) Hunan Wok
39) Il Mondo Vecchio
40) Italian Village Pizza-Madison
41) K C's Steakhouse
42) Kfc
43) Kirma Corp
44) Kyoto Steak & Sushi
45) L'allegria
46) La Rosa Chicken & Grill
47) Lotus Oriental Restaurant Inc
48) Mad City Cafe
49) Madison Coffee Shop
50) Madison Wok
51) Main Street Catering
52) Main Streets Cafe
53) Mama Tucci Inc
54) Mc Donald's
55) Natale's Italian Amer Deli Inc
56) Nautilus Diner
57) Neils Liquor & Deli
58) Nonna's Restaurant
59) On A Roll
60) Panna La Griglia
61) Papafiglia
62) Park Place
63) Park Savoy
64) Pat's Pizza & Pasta
65) Poor Herbie's
66) Professor Connor's Deli Fresh
67) Rocco's Pizzeria Restaurant
68) Romanelli's Italian Eatery
69) Rose City Pizza
70) Shanghai Jazz Restaurant & Bar
71) Starbucks
72) Starbucks
73) Steffany's Barbecue Express
74) Sunrise Bistro
75) Terra Mare
76) Terrace At Hamilton Park
77) Theresa's Neighborhood Deli
78) Top Notch Restaurant
79) Vermont Pancake House
80) Waverly
81) Yuki Hana Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
It seems to me that people mainly post reviews when they've had a bad experience, which is a real shame since it does not give you a true sense for what the mass majority think.

From a PubCrawler perspective, I actually think this is great place. I go here all the time with friends to watch the games - they have these really great "Monster Beer Towers" that sit on your table and hold a lot of beer for about $14. I've also come on nights when they have live music and some of the bands they get are really great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cmg cmg, Roseland, NJ
(12/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
TERRIBLE. Not a place for people looking to have a good time. They will cut you off after 3 drinks when you have a designated driver.

Expensive and not worth the money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from djlm djlm, madison, NJ
(11/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So Good
54 Main is good for families-quick and easy dinner, but expensive. Not for people looking to have a good time. I recently went there with a group of 6 people and we were cut off after 3 drinks each! The manager asked us how we were getting home, we told him we were walking (very true), then were questioned much longer to the point of pulling out IDs and he still said that we would not be served! It, by far, ruined the moment so we left immediately and went to the Irish Pub down the street. I know it's good for a bar to question the sobriety of its customer, but it's not ok when they cut you off when you have a clear method of getting home. I would not recommend this place for anyone looking to let loose for the night.

PS-Do NOT get the Mahi mahi as an add on for your salad--it's $6 and just pan fried with no flavoring.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from djlm djlm, madison, NJ
(11/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy So So Lousy
54 main is way out of its league. The place seems like a sweat shop. The employees are running around and no manager appeared to be helping. The menu does not portray its mission as a restaurant (whatever that may be). However, the food did taste very good. All in all I give this restaurant a 2 on a 1-10 scale due to an obvious lack in management skill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(10/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
i went to main streets which is now known as 54 main (?) with my family and i was shocked at i witnessed. there are two latina girls including one that was my server who i believe was named joann were on their phones, talking in spanish very loudly which made me feel insecure not knowing what they were saying and if it was about me...and they were all over the bar customers touching them inappropriately. honestly i felt that this was not a family establishment where i could bring my children b.c these girls were touching and groping some of the male customers and employees. The food was okay, however, it took too long to get what we had ordered. I have been coming to main streets for a very long time, however due to the constant changes of the menu and the staff, its going to take a lot to convince me to come back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review madison, NJ
(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So So So Lousy Lousy
What a complete waste of a night. After ordering, it took a very long time to get served, and when we finally did, the pork chops were pink and had to be sent back.

After we finally finished eating a very so-so meal, we went to the bar, where a good litle band was playing. But after one set, at only 10:45, the band left. What was up with that? The band was doing some fun stuff. Good upbeat songs, fun trivia questions...what could be wrong with that?

With all the choice of places to go in Madison, this is definitely one to avoid. Don't waste your time and money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Katherine Koehler Katherine Koehler, Parsippany, NJ
(02/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
OK, so the beer was pretty good, although I was not impressed by the selection, at all.... Dinner was a nightmare.... the service was slow and the food was very "vanilla". Nothing special about it. I could have made the same thing at home and it would have tasted better than this. The acoustic band was good but packed up and left after playing only for a little while. WTF?

I work hard for my money and I won't piss it away at this place again. Definitely not worth my time. Stay away... You'll get a better dinner at TGI-Fridays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Tee David Tee, Jersey City, NJ
(02/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
If you haven't been to the restaurant recently, do not waste your time and money. Ever since t5his was baught by the son or son's of Rocco's, the place will most likely be run into the ground. My family and I have been loyal customers of this town restaurant and had the recent disapointment of eating there this past Friday December 15th, 2006. . The bar area was hoping. The restaurant area was dead. This should have been a sign of what lies ahead. The bread, always delicious, was days old, heated in a microwave, and the appitisers, horrible. I asked for replacement bread and the waitress first staired at it like it was going to change form right in front of her. She brought back the replacement, but that too was hard as a rock and not eaten. The food came out late, and of course, cold. My son's burger had the same 'old' bread, two bites and left for the garbage. What did they do to the staff after Rocc's kid took over? Fire them all or was it a mass exidous? I just can't find the words to discribe even the rude behaviur of even the owner, 'Joe'. He need's a makeover... and many lessons in not only how to run a restaurant, but hoiw to speak to and treat your guests. It looks like he'll loose quite a bit of money in his new venture, and maybe the "new" owners after him will look to the past and make this restaurant what it was once was. There are many restaurants in town, but if you want below par service, and even worse food, give it a go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Madison, NJ
(12/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
Cool place. Go when "Busterman" is playing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kenvil, NJ
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Had a great time! Will be back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beth Beth, Atlanta, GA
(04/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Went on a Saturday night and had a good time. The band was loud but played good music. It wasn't too crowded either. Compared to what I normally pay, I though the prices were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kim Kim, Washington, DC
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The bar area at Main STreets is good. Very cosy. On fridays it gets a little crowded but that's because of the band and the food and just the overall good vibe of the place. A good place to have a quick lunch or a nice dinner. The staff is friendly and efficient. It is a place I would visit all the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tracee Tracee, Madison, NJ
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I used to live in Madison so I ended up there 2 to 3 times a month. The bartenders sometimes have to ring up food orders in a way that reminds me of making an airline reservation. So I wouldn't say the service is great. Plus I used to tip them pretty hard. Do you think I ever got a freebie? I had some good times there, but mostly due to my friends creating the atmosphere. It's not hard to be the best bar in Madison when you have no competition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Rockaway, NJ
(12/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The Meeting Place changed owners, names, decor, menu, about 2 or 3 years ago. It's now called Main Streets Cafe and has an open plan, a noisier ambience, a good menu, a decent beer and wine list, and is much more fun than the old joint which was claustrophobic and stuffy and smokey. They also do a great Sunday Brunch. No alcohol on Sunday before 12 noon. I'd recommend Main Streets for a casual dinner with good menu selections at a reasonable price. Lively crowd at the bar of a wide range of types from college students to yuppie/Wall Street types, to middle aged boomers. Good service and great large mural sized paintings of the local street scenes in bright luminescent colors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Corbitt Dave Corbitt, Madison, NJ
(07/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
A great place to sit down and have dinner or throw back a few around the bar. Great selection of domestics, imports and micros(Long Trail's the best). Great bands on Thurs. and Fri Night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Albany, NY
(12/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
Only a couple of true micros on tap (LongTrail Pale the standout) and at $4 a pint and $4.50 for a black & tan way overpriced. Service generally very slow at bar and tables. Nicely done decor but very smokey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(03/27/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.39 seconds) 15:32:36 54.166.228.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS