PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southport Brewing Company - Southport, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 01:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Southport > Southport Brewing Company
Southport Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Southport Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 67 / 100
2600 Post Road
Southport, CT 06490
United States
(203) 256-2337
Listed Since: April 1997
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Southport, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Southport Brewing Company
28 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) WESTPORT INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black Rock Gardens Historic District
2) Bradley-Wheeler House
3) Bronson Windmill
4) Fairfield Railroad Stations
5) Gateway Village Historic District
6) Godillot Place
7) Green Farms School
8) Lakeview Village Historic District
9) Ogden, David, House
10) Osborne, John, House
11) Penfield Reef Lighthouse
12) Pine Creek Park Bridge
13) Southport Railroad Stations
14) Southport Railroad Stations
15) Sturges, Jonathan, House
16) Town Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Athena Diner
2) Avellino's
3) Chin's Junior
4) Dairy Queen
5) Driftwood Cafe
6) Driftwood Coffee Shop
7) Friendly's Restaurant
8) Gennaros Of Westport
9) Horseshoe Restaurant
10) La Collini Verte
11) Paci Restaurant
12) Panevino Restaurant
13) Peppermill Restaurant
14) Quattro Pazzi Cafe
15) Rawley's Drive-In
16) Rory's Restaurant
17) S & S Dugout
18) Sidetracks Restaurant
19) Southport Brewing Co
20) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
21) Tiger Bowl Restaurant
22) V's Resturant & Wine Bar
23) Westfair Fish & Chips
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Hadn't been in for a while. They have Bud (gasp). The bartender seeemd to push the Bud and Miller lite and not talk about their own brews. But, the place was busy and the big brews were the most popular. So, maybe that is the formula for success, or is is a commentary on the quality of the house brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fern Fern, Thornton, NH
(05/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good
Well, I have to say after my last visit on 4/14. I will probably not be going back. I remember when they first opened and how impressed I was that they has 12 of their own beers on tap. From the lightest to the darkest. All the beers flavors were good. My girfriend(at the time) and I were #3 & #4 members of the original mug club. You could say we were sort of like Norm on cheers. After the last couple years the beer has become very watered down and has no flavor. I use to love the stout and the porter. Its now just dark brown water. I had their seasonal bock on my last visit. It sucked. I then switched to a stout. It also sucked. The sesonals are always the same. The brewer needs to start experimenting. Different IPA's, Different Stouts etc. A monkey can brew their beer now. Not sure if its because they grew too fast. 4 Locations. Food: is always good. Didn't eat last time I was here. Service was decent.

Just a good place that has gone bad. Probably because the only competition for them in the local area is themselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rogue Rogue, Bridgeport, CT
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A N/A
Lousy, indeed! I just came back from the Stamford location after being in Wisconsin for the last 2 years & sad to say the beer stinks just like the Southport location. I was told the same brewer services both places. After this much time in business, there is NO EXCUSE for such beer that cannot even pass an amateur homebrewer's talent. Not only is the beer poorly made (e.g., my brown ale could pass for a cider w/ a little roast added), but the styles are way off (as in non-existant). WHAT IS THE POINT OF HAVING 12 BEERS IF THEY ALL STINK!!! (and I did indeed have a taste of all available beers w/ 3 or so being tapped out at the time) Seriously, as a true beer lover, this is the 2nd (and 3rd counting both places) lousiest brewery I have ever been to out of the ~100+ I have visited (the #1 lousiest was euthanized--Pumphouse Pizza, Wisconsin Dells--and a new one took its place--Moosejaw Brewing-- & is now fantastic! If only Dr. Kervorkian was a brewer)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Elmsford, NY
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
The beer makes one think of Martha Stewart - Bland and boring. Tried the whole range available and found the most flavorful one was also the lightest. The food is decent, though overpriced. Service is spotty - they don't really know much about the beer other than what's printed on the beer menu - though pleasant to look at. :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neural Neural, Harrison, NY
(08/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
I was served a cask conditioned Red that absolutely was not cask conditioned. They have severe sanitation problems in the brewery, as evidenced by the phenols and other off-tastes in the beer. The brewery staff seems to think 'hop' is something that rabbits do. If you absolutely need a beer within 30 seconds of Route 95 in Southport, maybe this place might be unavoidable. But if I want to drink beer with off-taste, I'll brew it myself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Providence, RI
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So So So
They had very few beers on tap. The ones I tasted - their seasonal double bock and their IPA had that "off" taste to them. The service was poor - I ordered their English Pale - but was served the IPA. The staff knew nothing about the beer or the brewing process - a simple inquiry about the kind of hops in the IPA went unanswered. I found the food to be good although pricey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Attleboro, MA
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The folks who run this place get it, you can't survive in the brewpub business if the food doesn't stand up to the beer. At SBC the beer is spectacular and the food is creative and delicious. The Penne Abbate is great, as is the BrewBurger. Wonderful crabcakes too. Try the Black Rock Stout in Southport and the Palace Pilsner at their Stamford location. I had a pary in their private party room and my guests were impressed, they have the best catering prices i've found.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Barleycorn John Barleycorn, Trumbull, CT
(06/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Had a sampler of five of the eight house beers. The pale bock seasonal and red ale were very good. the stout was too bitter or astringent, even for the style. Pils and porter were good if not stellar. Six guest taps.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roach, Plano, TX
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
A great brewhouse & restaurant! Highly recommend the Pumpkin Ale or the Red. And while you are having some of that, the food is not too shabby either. I have been there for business, romance and with friends. You can't go wrong! Once there was even a magician which was an interesting twist!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Winkel Steve Winkel, Fairfield, CT
(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
While the selection of house beers was very good, the beers were bland over all. I tried one of the two samplers (consisting of five beers each) and had a pint of the porter. The majority of these beer left me with the same tinny aftertaste. The food was good and our waitress was very nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy
I have visited nearly every brewpub in the state of CT, and by far, this place has the worst beer. I even tried the Stamford location to give them one last chance, and I left a nearly full glass of their pilsener on the bar. I will say I do like their food, but that won't make me go here. A brewpub is for beer, not food. My main objective at a brewpub is to drink handcrafted, fresh beer, and sorry guys, it's just not happening. In my opinion, they have too many different styles on tap, they all taste alike and keep no head. Also, what's with the Bud on tap? I can justify the "satisfy everyone" theory, but having Bud on tap at a microbrewery is a slap in the face to the guys making the beer in the back room. They claim to have won awards for being the "best brewpub", but I beg to differ. Grab one of their kegs, show up at a CT beer festival, and we'll see if they're really the "best" when put side by side with other CT brewers...Oh yeah, it's pretty lame when you have to put pictures of your buxom bartenders in the Fairfield Weekly ads to stir up some business. Puuullleeease.

If you like food, go here. If you like beer, don't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Levandoski Ed Levandoski, Shelton, CT
(01/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Good
Wide variety of house brews - not too bad for a local hang-out. Bar area is very loud and smokey. Food selection was pretty decent for a brewpub. Service could be better - not very organized.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Nice space with plenty of staff. Large selection of brews with pleanty of info about each one. Food was good with a lot to pick from. The IPA was the highlight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charles H. Richardson, Jr. Charles H. Richardson, Jr., Attleboro Falls, MA
(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Tried the Pilsner and the Southtoberfest and was not impressed by either. Both had a tinny aftertaste that was less pronounced but never quite went away as you finished the pint. Had a Smoked Turkey Totilla that was made with deli luncheon meat. Service was friendly, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Suffield, CT
(10/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So
Very bland beers. Their seasonal beer is the Pumpkin Ale. It has an extremely weak flavor and this as the best of the 12 I tried. The sausage sampler was OK, but the Sauerkraut was too sweet and authentic. Will look for a better pub. Maybe 7-11 and a 12 pac of Budweiser ; )

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lawrence Miller Lawrence Miller, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Don't make a special trip! Just pass the tums, please . . . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Celeste Celeste, Garfield, NJ
(09/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Really enjoyed this brewpub. The India Pale Ale was very good. I will definitely return. So should you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart J. Fellin Bart J. Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(03/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I reaffirm my thinking below. One of the specials was a Scottish Ale that was not very impressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NY, NY
(01/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
As noted in other reviews, the number of beers available is impressive: around 12. However, none of them were dark or heavy, and the quality was nothing special.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Gould C Gould, New York, NY
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The lunch specials of a sandwich and a beer can't be beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Shenkin Jerry Shenkin, Milford, CT
(09/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The beer is ok. The food better than average for a brew pub. They could stand to use different yeasts in their different styles, might distinguish them from each other more. By the way, Kent S from Redding CT only likes beer with the viscosity of motor oil.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert N. Robert N., Newtown, CT
(05/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
This pub has a big selection in terms of choices, in fact as big a choice as any in the area. The problem with the pub part of this BrewPub is that the beer is served too cold and the beer is thin for my tastes. As a result, the styles of beer all seemed to blend together more than they should. The Wheat was very good and indeed quite daring for an American BrewPub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark D Mark D, Trumbull, CT
(04/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
While the service is friendly and helpful, and the bar menu okay, the beer was mediocre at best and explains my overall grade. The CT pale ale was well hopped and quite good but was no pale ale; the beer advertised as a 'well hopped' bitter was spiced instead and as such barely drinkable, and the stout was very thin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent S. Kent S., Redding, CT
(04/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So Lousy
To me, Italian food and Microbrews just don't mix. The 12 beers on tap need to be cut in half, so they can concentrate on delivering a better product. The inexperience of the owners is obvious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jo Mamma Jo Mamma, Hoboken, NJ
(02/22/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.558 seconds) 13:40:28 54.90.243.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS