PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Van Dyck - Schenectady, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 09:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Schenectady > Van Dyck
Van Dyck Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Van Dyck
Overall: Good    Score: 62.5 / 100
237 Union Street
Schenectady, NY 12305
United States
(518) 381-1111
Listed Since: August 1997
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Schenectady, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Van Dyck
24 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Pinhead Susan's
(0 mile)

2) Bayou Cafe
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brown Richard H
2) Rexford Crossings Bed & Brkfst
3) Riverview Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN SCHENECTADY
2) ECONO LODGE SCHENECTADY
3) MALLOZZIS BELVEDERE HOTEL
4) QUALITY INN N STS SCHENECTADY
5) RAMADA INN AND CONVENTION CTR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barney, H. S., Building
2) Brandywine Avenue School
3) Central Fire Station
4) Foster Building
5) Franklin School
6) General Electric Research Laboratory
7) Hotel Van Curler
8) Langmuir, Irving, House
9) Nott Memorial Hall
10) Proctor, F. F., Theatre and Arcade
11) Schenectady Armory
12) Seeley Farmhouse
13) Stockade Historic District (Boundary Increase)
14) US Post Office--Schenectady
15) US Post Office--Scotia Station
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & R Deli
2) Aashiana Restaurant
3) Adirondack Take Out & Delivery
4) Ambition Coffee & Eatery
5) Anker's Fish House
6) Aperitivo Bistro
7) Appian Way Restaurant
8) Aquarius Club
9) Arthur's Food Market
10) Backgrounds
11) Bangkoka Bistro
12) Bella Roma
13) Blythwood Restaurant
14) Bmh Cafe
15) Brandon's Steak & Seafood
16) Brandywine Diner
17) Broadway Restaurant & Lunch
18) Brother Dominick's Pub
19) Burger King
20) Burger King
21) Camillo's Lounge Inc
22) Captain Jack's Bar & Grill
23) Captain's Cove
24) Carlton Restaurant
25) Casey's New York Inn
26) Castelo's
27) Central Buffet
28) Christian's Restaurant
29) Chubby's Pizza & Deli
30) Cognetta's Inc
31) Copper Keg
32) Corellies Italian Kitchen
33) Cornell's Restaurant
34) Cousins Fish Markets Inc
35) Da Vinci's Ristorante
36) De Angelo's Ristorante
37) Deanna's Courtside Cafe
38) Di Cocco Luncheonette
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Gardens
41) Duane Lounge
42) Dunkin Donuts
43) Earthly Delights
44) East China Restaurant
45) Electric City Brew Pub
46) Ferraris Ristorante
47) Ferris Tavern
48) Fireside Pizzeria Inc
49) Four Seasons Chinese Rstrnt
50) Francesco's Ristorante
51) Friendly's Restaurant
52) Gar-Bo's
53) Gateway Deli
54) Gator Mcgees
55) Geppettos Restaurant
56) Geppettos Restaurant
57) Glen Sanders Mansion
58) Godlewskis Instant Replay
59) Good Friends Ii
60) Gravel Gerties
61) Grog Shoppe
62) Herbie's Caribbean & American
63) Holiday Inn
64) Howler's Restaurant
65) I Love Ny Pizza
66) John Riccitello Restaurant
67) Jumpin' Jack's Drive-In
68) KATZ KAFE
69) Ken's Subs
70) Kfc
71) Kim's Korner
72) LA Gioia Deli
73) Le Sons Restaurant & Lounge
74) Leandro's Pizzeria Deli & Subs
75) Lisa's
76) Lucky Wok
77) Luigi's Restaurant
78) Lyle's Hoagies
79) Mac's Diner
80) Maloney's Pub
81) Manhattan Exchange Restaurant
82) Mari's Japanese Cuisine
83) Marino's Flying Pizza
84) Maurice's Readi-Foods
85) Mc Donald's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mike's Restaurant
89) Ming's Flavor Chinese Rstrnt
90) Mini Mart & Deli
91) Morgan's Catering
92) Morrette's King Steak House
93) New Panda
94) Newest Lunch
95) Nicks Hot Dogs & Breakfast
96) Nico's Ny Pizza
97) Number One Chinese Take Out
98) Old School Cafe
99) Olympic Flame Diner
100) On The Boulvard
101) Original Fried Chicken
102) OSM Thai Cusine
103) Papa Cicco's Pizza & Pasta
104) Peggy's
105) Peter Pause Restaurant
106) Petta's
107) Point Cafe
108) Pustolka's Restaurant
109) Quiznos Sub
110) Roasters
111) Roman's Gourmet Deli
112) Royal Fried Chicken Inc
113) Rupsis Tavern
114) San Souci Restaurant
115) Saw Mill
116) Scooters Sports Cafe
117) Scotia Diner
118) Sgarlata's Restaurant
119) Shamrock Grill
120) Sheridan Plaza Pizza
121) Sky Port Diner
122) Slick's Restaurant
123) Sonny's Restaurant
124) Sorrento Ristorante
125) Sportsworld Tavern & Grill
126) Stockade Inn
127) Stoney Lanes
128) Stoney's Pizzeria
129) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
130) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Susan's Pinhead
133) Ten Ten Lounge
134) Tiny's Tacos & Pizzeria
135) Trave's Caribbean Restaurant
136) Turf Tavern
137) Union Pizza
138) Van Dyck Restaurant
139) Wendy's
140) West Indian Bar & Restaurant
141) Yours Jazz Nightclub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great N/A N/A
Outstanding jazz last night, upstairs at the VanDyck. Steve Smith on drums - unbelievable; Barron Browne on bass, Vinny Valentino guitar and Tom Coster - keyboards and the terrific saxophone player - all played as one. Food was a nice extra & tasted good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clifton Park, NY
(02/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
Much better food and drink selection. Service still leaves a lot to be desired. Two nights sitting at the back of bar and two terrible experiences. First night the bar was freezing and we ate and drank with our jackets on. The second night the music was turned up so loud that we couldn't hear each other at our table. When we asked the waitress she told us that there was nothing she could do about it because the three owners were the ones turning up the music. Obviously the customer isn't always right at the Van Dyke. This place had a feel more as a club house for the owners than a place for patrons to come and feel comfortable and welcome. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else if you want to enjoy a comfortable environment where the owners put the customer first and not themselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Schenectady, NY
(12/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The good news is that The Van Dyck is reopening in June '09. The better news is that it's reopening under the expert management of the McDonald Family (Stockade Inn, Pinhead Susan's).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(05/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
If they are closed all I can say Peter, is what goes around comes around.

Remember that money I laid out for promotion for an upcoming concert at your establishment a few years ago, you had given your word you would pay for the transportation expenses for the radio appearances, which you ended up not doing, well I guess this just goes to show you! Integrity and a mans word is his most valuable asset, when you lose that you have nothing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NYC, NY
(12/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed as of last week. Owner says for three weeks (for renovations). Smart money says for good.

What this place needs is for someone from The City who is sick of that rat race and who has the background, the track record, the know-how, and last but not least the bankroll, to rescue this place from impending doom. Upstate Wannabee’s don’t bother – it ain’t gonna work. A coat of paint and a happy face on the new logo won’t fool anybody. This place has needed some serious surgery for a long time. Two aspirin just won’t do it.

I hope the joint is resurrected. But I won’t be putting any money on it. Anytime soon that is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
My wife and I came after a doctor's appointment and we were not disappointed. The beer has gotten much better since the last time we were here and the selection is also much better. The barbeque was pretty damn good and the hot sauce was very tasty. (I lived in the south for 10 years, so I know good barbeque when I taste it.) It wasn't Memphis but it was close. Overall, I really like this place, I hope to take in a show here sometime this summer. They seem to be on the right track, let's hope they keep it going. Good Luck!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
The beer--the most important element of any brewpub--was very good, but as a restaurant, the revamped Van Dyck was not ready for prime time.

The food was hit or miss. My wife had a salad that she enjoyed very much, and the kids liked the chicken quesadilla that they shared (note there is no kids menu). I had the Three Meat Combo, consisting of barbecued beef brisket, pulled pork, and St. Louis-style ribs. The brisket was good, the pork below average, and the ribs horrible. I usually agree with Mr. O'Connor's reviews, but it is a travesty to put Van Dyck's barbecue in the same league as Dinosaur's. I lived in the South for seven years--long enough to learn a thing or two about real 'cue, and unfortunately, the Van Dyck doesn't come close.

Service was very slow, and there were many faults with the establishment: broken soap dispenser in the restroom, no paper towels in the restroom, out of large take-out boxes, out of spicy barbecue sauce.

I want to like the Van Dyck, I really do. To have high quality, freshly brewed beer in Schenectady is great. But a brewpub cannot survive on beer alone. Management needs to improve the food and the service to bring them up to the level of the beer, and fast, or this incarnation of the Van Dyck will not last long.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D. A. Birnstihl D. A. Birnstihl, Niskayuna, NY
(02/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I had heard from several close sources that the beer being brewed at the Van Dyke has taken a (major) turn for the better (uh, make that being brewed at all). I snuck in and out on a recon a few week’s back and to my amazement the beer was quite good. I figured I bring in the “A” team on a second trip and pick it apart.

The Schenectady Steam Beer (hey - we made locomotives here before California was discovered) at first had a funky nose and flavor the first few sips. Then I remembered like a dope I had a Cherry Coke in the car on the way over. By the time I got it half way down though I realized it was one of the best “Steam” style beers I’ve had with a nice complex malt and pungent hop nose and palate – maybe too complex but making it very long on the aftertaste. This beer grew on me and I would have poured a few more down my gullet but I had to sample the other wares.

The Nott Bad Raspberry Wheat was very familiar to me. I’ll let you figure out where you’ve had it before. But with that said, you can give me your grandmother’s lasagna recipe and it just ain’t gonna taste the same. This version was all fruit in both the nose and the palate, but ultra clean, especially for a wheat (albeit it looked filtered).

The Union IPA is a hop-head’s dream - all Cascade and it bites you right in the nose and then again on the palate. The first sip was perfect, and in fact I wrote “perfect” down three times in my notes. This was easily one of the top three IPA’s I’ve ever had. The brewer definitely hit this one right on the head.

The Mohawk Imperial Stout comes in a small glass (good thing), and is all alcohol in the nose. The coffee comes first but the palate gets a nice coffee/toffee treat as it flows across it. This beer is a nice winter warmer and it finished quite well.

We had a nice chat with the owner before we left. I’m not sure what direction the business is going, but I did try a sample of their purported new-menu “bar-b-que,” and I must say it stacks right up with joints like Dinosaur and Redbones. I’ll make a phony excuse to come back by telling other half about the food. But for me, this place is now on the radar screen as a “must stop” destination. Happy hours I believe start at 3:00 with $1.50 pints, and go up .50 or so every hour until they top off at $4.00.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Lousy So So
I visited the Van Dyck a couple times since they converted over to BBQ. The food is excellent, the beer quite good, and the atmosphere is very cool. I agree, the service is terrible. But I don't agree that the wait staff is the root problem. The Van Dyck has been through numerous iterations of hirings and firings and heated resignations of wait staff and bartenders and still can't improve its service. The problem lies with the management. These people don't know how to run a restaurant, so they don't know how to train their employees to provide good service. On Saturday November 12 2005, 5 waiters/waitresses and the bartender walked out because the owner sided with the manager. I don't know what the argument was about, but I think he should have fired the manager instead. I really want this place to succeed but I don't want to have my tax dollars continually bail out a restaurant that can't recognize its biggest problem, which is obvious to any customer. I did stay long enough to eat my food and pay my bill, and I will go back for more, but I don't know how much longer a restaurant can continue when it is run so poorly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Schenectady, NY
(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I too was at the Van Dyck on Friday 11/11. The service was terrible. We stood at the bar for at least fifteen minutes (not busy) before one barmaid asked what we wanted. Friends arrived, same deal. We went upstairs (band was excellent)and we were NEVER waited on, or even given a menu!. A couple I knew were actually walking downstairs to refresh thier drinks and coming back up. Then, we went downstairs again, and were never waited on again. Got MAD and walked out. Beers/Ales were tasty (Proctor's Pale was good). If they got some professional help they MIGHT make it. If not, their in trouble. Went to Pin Head Susan's (likewise) and were seated, and served food in less than fifteen minutes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Jones J. Jones, Rotterdam, NY
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Lousy
Friday night at 7:00, place not that busy. Took 15 minutes to get a drink and didn't get my change back until I had almost finish my first drink! Bartenders are bad, really bad. Got settled upstairs for dinner but no one ever can over to give us menus and take our order! We told some tall guy we would like to move down stairs to eat (Band was playing, they were very good but we could not talk) so we go down and wait until he clears off a table up front. Then that was it! No one ever came back to take our order!! Sucked!! We left and went to Pinheads.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Lockwood Steve Lockwood, Albany, NY
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Another bailout to the tune of $375,000 by Metroplex and nothing to show for it. The brewing equipment is still sitting idle out back wasting away, although two other local brewers were looking at it a few weeks back. Gee. Maybe it will be moved to Hoosick Falls (!).

The servers had no clue where the beer came from (It used to be from the Big House). One entire set of taps is contaminated from varnish that was used during remodeling. The IPA out of that tap was oxidized and barely made the Pale category with no hops present at all. Out of the "good" tap it wasn't too bad with a high-hop nose as was as a highly hopped palate. I can't believe it was the same beer, but I had been warned about the taps. The Amber out of the "good tap" was overly malty, stale, and also oxidized.

This is a beautiful building with potential, but I don't see this place going anywhere soon (except out of business). And I took a good look around the neighborhood when I left. Oh boy. If you don't get a parking spot right out front or in the lot on Erie, keep going.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy So So
Great place for a show upstairs. Terrible food, I would not bring an enemy to eat here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from IRVING IRVING, TROY, NY
(02/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
There has been an improvement to the beer in recent months. The restaurant staff should be all fired and they should try to start over...again. Too bad. If this place was half as good as it could be it would be the place in Schenectady.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy Lousy
If you go to this sorry excuse for a brewpub, take my advice.... DRINK SCOTCH!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fritz Fritz, Niskayuna, NY
(12/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
I have to agree with George from Charlton. The service is lousy and I can find better beer in the grocery store. The food is o.k., but is definitely not "fine dining". It's about time this facility starts to listen to the opinions of it's customers and make a change!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Albany, NY
(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Unbelievable atmosphere really brings out the better qualities, such as great beer and fine dining, in a really desolate town. What a find!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Johnson John Johnson, Baton Rouge, LA
(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
First of all, cut the weeds down around the back patio. Secondly, the owner needs to stop standing around the bar talking to his lady friends and get on the young staff that he hires. They are incompetent!!! The bartenders and the servers have been rude to me 18 out of 20 times that I've been there. I've gone here at least 20 times just hoping that the only brewpub in Schenectady will shape up, but it only gets worse. As for the beers, the pale ale is just o.k., the barley wine is pretty good and is the only thing that I'll drink at this point. The other choices can be described as either "empty or hollow tasting". The stouts are just horrible, the worst I've tasted thus far across the country. The food isn't bad except that it's priced as a higher quality restaurant which isn't so. Strictly because of the service alone I've vowed not to go back and I've vowed to dissuade others from going (especially all of the General Electric employees that look for a place to go after work).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George George, Charlton, NY
(09/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
The beers have improved as of late, with the Chocolate Imperial Stout that was on tap in the Spring being one of the best Imperials I've had. No, I AM serious! Stick with the more flavorful offerings that Paul has come up with lately and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, niskayuna, NY
(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So So So
Some of the worst beer I've ever tasted at a brewpub. They had some swill they were calling "Lambic" that the health department should look into. On the positive side, a *wonderful* building to hang at. Considering what a god-awful town Schenectady is, this is a nice place to spend some time away from the open sewer they call "downtown". Many of the musicians booked to play at the Van Dyck rank as legends in the world of jazz. Enjoy the music, enjoy the nice carpentry, but AVOID the stuff being sold from the taps.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, San Diego, CA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Too snobbish. This is not a beerpub even though they attempt to brew. Our homebrew club makes better beer. This place is a big disappointment to people who appreciate a nice tasting beer in Schenectady. We go to Albany, Troy, Glens Falls, Saratoga Springs, VT, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
The beer's ok, if you have it upstairs. They have sanitation problems downstairs, with all the kinks and bends in the lines feeding the downstairs taps. I guess it would be too much of an investment to rip out the walls and replace the lines, and if nobody complains or has the guts to say anything, it won't change. I think that beer is a sideline there, anyway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(09/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
They bring in a wide variety of musical entertainment and service (upstairs) is good during the show. It gets pretty busy at the bar (downstairs) so be prepared to fetch your own by leaning over the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Halfmoon, NY
(03/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Good thing it has great music

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Kaska Robert Kaska, Schenectady, NY
(01/17/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.511 seconds) 09:27:10 54.227.34.0, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS