PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


High Desert Brewing Company - Las Cruces, NM
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 08:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NM > Las Cruces > High Desert Brewing Company
High Desert Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
High Desert Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
1201 West Hadley Avenue
Las Cruces, NM 88005
United States
(505) 525-6752
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Las Cruces, NM
Beer Guide for New Mexico

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of High Desert Brewing Company
55 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00PM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Way Out West
(0 mile)

2) Eddie's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Happy Trails Ranch B & B
2) Lodge on the Desert
3) Lundeen & Assoc Inc
4) Meson DE Mesilla Boutique Rsrt
5) Trh Smith Mansion B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Air Science
2) Armijo, Nestor, House
3) Barela-Reynolds House
4) Foster Hall
5) Goddard Hall
6) Hadley--Ludwick House
7) Mesilla Plaza
8) University President's House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Big Mike's Cafe
3) Blue Agave Gift Basket Co
4) Ciros Mexican Restaurant
5) Domino's Pizza
6) Gadsden Purchase
7) Grandma Ines's Kitchen
8) Heart's Delight Cafe
9) Hidden Forest
10) J C Tortas
11) L & L Steak Co
12) Lorenzo's De Mesilla Italiano
13) Mc Donald's
14) Meson De Mesilla
15) Pepe's Restaurant
16) Scoopy's Frozen Custard
17) Subbies Sandwich & Salad Fctry
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The HDBC is a small place, well hidden off of the main drag in Las Cruces, NM. I think this gives the place a unique ambiance. They have 10-11 beers on tap, the main brews and a number of seasonal and specials on tap. They range from Barleywine to Lagers. I had the ESB and IPA which were quite good. I think the thing that got my attention was the number of people stopping in for growler refills.Everyone was very friendly and enjoyed my stay. The food menu is pretty basic but good. Their motto is " None of our beers suck". So far I have not had a sub par brew. I have not had all of their beers but am working on it when ever I am in the area on business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(12/08/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
a general overall good place for beer, food, music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim tim, las cruces, NM
(09/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Look, if you're going out to have a bad time and complain, avoid this joint...The staff will have none of your case and ultimately you will be asked to leave. On the other hand, if your looking to enjoy good music, good food, and great beer, head that way...I moved to las cruces in march of 09 and, since that time, have found a welcoming and entertaining place to have public forums on current events, drink great beer, and make good friends...Thank you Mark and Bob for creating such a wonderful venue in the midst of chaotic and insecure times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James , Ruidoso, NM
(07/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
A very local business, and crowded. Many different beers on tap and every one we tasted was good. Highly recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
cool, downhome pub. live music weekends. friendly enough staff and patrons. kind folks. you would expect this place to be across the street from a college campus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave j dave j, wherever, NM
(04/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Traveling to Las Cruces, used Pub Crawler to find High Desert Brewing. Had a glass of the Peach Wheat (great tasting), Anniversary Ale (another good selectin) and lastly the Extra Special Bitter (great). The beer was great, we like the atmosphere and the food and lastly the service was great. Definitely recommend High Desert Brewing if you are in the Las Cruces, NM area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AL AL, Albuquerque, NM
(06/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
ipa is best new mexico has to offer. apa is also quite good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john john, santa fe, NM
(10/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I had the ESB and Irish Red; the first was excellent, the second so-so; the swiss and mushroom burger was nothing to write home about but no complaints either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Comeau John Comeau, Columbus, NM
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
1. No ABV or IBU posted 2. It seemed it was a big deal to give this information out.

3. IPA was waaay too malty, food so so.

4. Not receptive to out of staters as this seemed to be a neighborhood brewpub.

5. Go somewhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Great
the IPA is great, but they were out of the APA. We also tried the ESB, Steam and wheat and were all very good. The brewer Matt came out and talked to us for awhile he was very nice. However, the servers were paying more attention the locals at the bar, but that's not uncommon for a small place. If I'm in town I would make sure I came back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike and Dollie Motter Mike and Dollie Motter, harrah, OK
(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Lousy Great
Ever since my trip here last month, I have been greatly looking forward to this, my next trip. Today I got up early and drove over 700 miles to get here in time for dinner and to sample all of the beers.

However ... tonight they did not have the IPA, Pilsner, ESB, or Pale Bock :-(

Again, the food disappointed me. I had the chipotle quesadilla. The tortilla was burnt on the outside, and just didn't sit well with me.

And I thought the waitress I had was pretty rude, I have no idea why. In less that an hour, she had to "turn me over to the bartender", as if she couldn't stand me.

The American Pale Ale is still very good. The other styles I sampled are good as well.

As I said last time: "come for the beer".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
This is one of the best brewpubs I have ever been to. Come for the beer. They have 11 or 12 on tap today. I'm just passint through this town, I came last night, and I came back for lunch this afternoon. I have tried six styles so far, and every one has met and/or exceeded my expectations. I had the IPA, American Pale, ESB, Pale Bock, Bohemian Pilsener, and Peach Wheat. They are all fresh and vibrant! The first five are all sufficiently hoppy; my only complaint was that the Peach could be fruitier, but that is just my tastes, it was by far better than most fruit beers.

The atmosphere is not typical. At night, it is very well lit for a bar. It is a very small place, so when they have a few customers, it is crowded; but it had a very friendly vibe to it.

Since it is small, the staff is minimal. I thought last night's guy was cool, very laid back, he handled everything in stride. Today at lunch, the lady here would probably rather be doing something else.

The food menu is somewhat limited. I tried the spinach quesadilla. It was good but not exciting.

Come for the beer!

(Also note that they do have free wifi, although they didn't advertise it. I'm there right now :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I'm in Las Cruces for several days, once a year and absolutely love this place. The atmosphere is amazingly laid-backed and different from almost all other brewpubs. Also for such a small place they have an amazing array of beers. It is made in small batches and therefore is always fresh. My personal favorites are the IPA and the steam.

I'm already looking forward to next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DR DR, Athens, OH
(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MRK MRK, Louisville, Ky
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You should try the stout...it's really freakin good. In fact, whenever my friends come from that direction, they always bring me back a growler or two of beer from High Desert. It's really damn good...all of it! But now I've left New Mexico and Colorado...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Clarke Ryan Clarke, Mdjsio, TH
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
I've gone there a couple of times. I actually brought my little brother on his 21st birthday- paid for his first beer. It was awesome. The beer was awesome- I'll warn you though, all their beer is pretty strong. I've been to a couple microbreweries and must say that High Desert has some of the tastiest beer in New Mexico. If you're ever in Georgia- Sweetwater is the way to go! If you're in the Mid-West try Leinenkugel's. It's a toss up between Turtle Mountain (Albuquerque) and High Desert for my top micro breweries in New Mexico!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alison Alison, St. Paul, MN
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john john, las cruces, NM
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Crawley M. Crawley, Las Cruces, NM
(03/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Residing in the El Paso area and a frequent visitor to the Pacific NW and their incredible microbreweries, I can honestly say the High Desert is the greatest brewery in the area and can stand with the best of the Pac NW pubs and brewers. Can't speak for the food because my main purpose in going there is for the sumptuous brews. Always sample at least two pints of different quaffs but my most recent visit there, the ESB was so good, I ordered a second one. That means I have to return any day now for some stout or IPA! (And this time I'll try the food. Those addictive nachos sound too good to resist.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review El Paso, TX
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
IPA was very good. Need to return and try the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Scorby Gary Scorby, Tigard, OR
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Fantastic Beer!!! They had 12 different beers to chose from. I had all the samples plus two pints. They also had a fantastic Chili! If you go anywhere in New Mexico, you must stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I've stopped in several times now and I've never been disappointed. They always have a great selection, and different beers each time I've been in. Last time I picked up a growler of the newly tapped Rye and found it to be a really smooth, great beer. They also had a nice hoppy IPA. My wife loves the Peach Wheat. Well worth the stop whenever we happen to be driving through Las Cruces.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great
It was a sad, sad day when I had to move away from Las Cruces and a new little pub called High Desert. The Imperial Stout is nice and dark, their root beer is incredibly tasty, and the nachos should be listed as a controlled substance they're so addictive. (Hint to newbies: don't order the large nachos unless there are at least 5 people at your table.) I head there whenever I make it up the road to 'Cruces, and it's often the main reason I go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ryn, El Paso, TX
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I first came to High Desert after work on a Friday about 6 months ago. I have been going every Friday since then. It is an incredible atmosphere to unwind, visit with friends and just relax. The beer is outstanding. Ive become an IPA fan for life. The food is also really great, creative, traditional, and delicious all at the same time. This place rocks!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Matthew Cashion, Las Cruces, NM
(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Whenever I go to New Mexico to visit my daughter, we always have to go here. I never try anything else because I love the wheat beer and the nachos so much! Everyone is very friendly, service is quick, the beer is cold, and the food is hot. What more could you want!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Susan, Centreville, MD
(05/11/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.737 seconds) 08:08:05 54.83.82.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS