PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Deep Creek Brewing Company - McHenry, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 10:02 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > McHenry > Deep Creek Brewing Company
Deep Creek Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Deep Creek Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
[Closed]
75 Visitor's Center Drive
Just off 219
McHenry, MD 21541
United States
(301) 387-2182
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: September 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for McHenry, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Deep Creek Brewing Company
26 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:30AM - 90:0PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Mountain State Brewing
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Haley Farm Bed & Breakfast
2) Lakepointe Inn
3) Red Run Lodge
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN DEEP CREEK LAKE
2) WISP RESORT
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Black Bear Tavern
2) Bumble Q's
3) Burger King
4) Canoe On The Run
5) Cocomo's Lakeside
6) Creamery Cafe
7) Deep Creek Brewing Co
8) Deep Creek Pizza
9) Fantasy Valley Saloon
10) Mc Clive's Restaurant & Lounge
11) Perkins Family Restaurant
12) Pine Lodge Steakhouse
13) Pizzazz Pizza At Wisp
14) Place
15) Point View Inn & Motel
16) S & S Catering
17) Silver Tree Ctr
18) Stray Cat Wing Shack
19) Topsider Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This became the Santa Fe Grille & Cantina, a southwestern place whose web site and menu don't even mention beer. http://www.dclsantafe.com/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just talked to an owner today (1/19/05): they have taken out the brewery, and are closed for a few months to renovate the place with "a whole new look and theme." Without a brewery. Bummer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was one of the lucky folks at Saturday's Maryland beer fest and was surprised to find Deep Creek not there??????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chuck chuck, Ridgely, MD
(10/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Beautiful building, very lodge-like and comfortable inside, with a great small deck with fire-pit outside. This is not a great time of year to visit, though: lots of mud, and the ski-slopes opposite were looking worn. Must look great in the summer, winter, and fall, though! I had a bread-bowl chili lunch that was quite good. I'm going "great" on the beer quality mostly on the excellence of the Holy Cow IPA, a really refreshing light-bodied (but NOT thin-bodied) IPA that was downright rejuvenating; I felt like I had just woken from a deep sleep when I drank the stuff, invigorating. Most of the other beers were okay, though the Deep Creek Gold had a distinct mineral note that wasn't really pleasant, and the Angry Clown Brown was not to my linking at all; astringent and somewhat vegetal; might have been old. The Red Head Rye was a very nice example of how to use this grain: it was quite herbal, with a minty note to it that is familiar from rye whiskey. Beers overall could be better; would be great if everything were up to the level of the IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Overall a good stop in a fairly good beer dry area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Selection seems to be usually around 6 different beers. I usually like the IPA's the best when I'm out sampling, and so was the case here. Many of the beers, especially the darker styles on this trip are just missing that little something that turns "good" into "great". Cheesesteak quesadilla was very good. Batender/waiter did his best to serve in both capacities. It's always a shame to see the economics that force businesses to do that, and then wonder why when they read a review about "bad" service. No complaints here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in for happy hour. It was a little quiet but it was still early. Had three brews, sampled another. All of them were smooth and drinkable. I liked the lager a lot, much maltier than ususal. Didn't have any food but had a great conversation with the other bar patrons and the bartender. The place looks great and they were doing some renovations which looked nice. The bartender mentioned that they're brewer is new in the last year or so, so the old bad reviews are probably for him.

My only complaint are the names of the beers: Burning Down the House Porter, Deep Forbidden Lake Lager, these are just too cumbersome. Try asking for one after you've had a few already.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Schobel Eric Schobel, Frederick, MD
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So So So Lousy
When this place opened it was great, food, beer, ect... then they must hae got greedy; stuck in twice as many tables and the beers all have off tastes, some unpalatable, must not be cleaning the equipment or investing in quality ingredients either. It's a shame. If your at DeepCreek try a newer place called MOBY's. The Beers are much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from patrick patrick, Hubbard, OH
(04/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been to a LOT of brewpubs and breweries from coast to coast, and I have to say, Deep Creek is one of the finest I have ever visited. The quality and variety of beers at this place is awesome, as it the wonderful food, atmopshere, and service. I can't praise this place enough. It was well worth the 2.5 hour drive for me from the DC area, and I know I will be returning to, and Deep Creek Brewing is a big reason for that. If you can get up there now, try their Devil's Drop Dopplebock, a rich, nutty, toasty, warming double bock that takes the winter chill off and welcomes spring. Awesome brewpub, a must for any serious beer lover.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Terrific place to go for food, atmosphere,service, you name it, the Brewery is the best we've dined in the lake. The steaks are superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Bethel Park, PA
(11/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Love this place. So cozy - service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Since we only had an appetizer and a couple of small dishes, I only gave it 'Great' instead of 'Awesome'. But they tasted excellent. I had the Stout and Porter - good beers, nothing exceptional, and my wife had something similar to the Oktoberfest (can't remember the name, but wasn't the Red). That was an excellent beer - not too hoppy and very smooth and flavorful. Highly recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, East Pittsburgh, PA
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I went to the Blues and Brews Festival at the brewpub back on 9/22 and literally fell in love with this place. You would be hard pressed to find a brewpub with a better location or atmosphere, and the service was excellent both times we ate. The food was delicous, best swordfish I have ever tasted. Their is only 1 thing preventing this place from being the best brewpub I have visited, the beer. I tried 4 or 5 different beers and was impressed by none. In a nutshell they lacked flavor and complexity. That being said, I still highly recommend visiting Deep Creek Brewing if you're in the area. The location, food, and service are excellent and I'm sure the beer will improve in time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Baughman Brent Baughman, Hagerstown, MD
(10/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
We sat at the bar and the bartenders were friendly and the service was great. I tired 5 of the 8 beers they had on tap (not all myself; I had sampled some of the beers the rest of my party drank as well). My favorite was the Mr. Bee's Furry Feet Ale. It was a good tasting honey brew. I also enjoyed the taste of the Youghiogheny Red, but the temperature of the beer was a little warm. I also had the Big Bear Stout (good...tasted like molassas) and the Cinnamon Bear Porter (nice cinnamon flavor). I had the Thrills-N-Pils (least favorite...seemed a little bitter). Overall, I was impressed. Growlers are available and two beers (Yough Red and Deep Creek Gold) are sold by the 6-pack or case.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Rakip Jason Rakip, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Read all the reviews and don't know what I was thinking when I included this on one of my recent BrewTrek...ON SUNDAY! This place can't sell BEER on Sundays and I knew that looking at "Beer Trekker's review. You're right "WHAT A STUPID COUNTY LAW"!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
PAWS ("Pale-Ale-With-Substance") is accurately described on their web site as a dark, malty ale. It's very tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Nice views, but beer had a lot to be desired. And service was almost non-existant. Don't bother visiting unless you don't mind sitting in front of an empty glass for a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Germantown, MD
(03/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
The views from the pub are spectacular. The Big Bear stout is wonderful, chewy with a nice finish. Wife tried the Monk's Retreat, a very light (4.5%) belgian styled ale, that was very refreshing, even with the low ABV. The yeast notes are good and malts well selected. The Paws pale ale is nicely bittered, with nice hop flavor, but almost NO hop aroma. I'd like to be overwhelmed with hop presence, but it's still a very drinkable beer. The rye is unusual, since the rye malt used is chocolate rye, but it works, the beer is a hidden treasure. The service is exceptional, try the wild stew if you stop in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McMahon Mike McMahon, St. Leonard, MD
(12/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
NOTE CANNOT SELL BEER ON SUNDAY NOT EVEN A Sample!!!!!!!!!! Had their beer before, great place but no drink on Sunday is a stupid Garret Co law

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Trekker Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(09/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Black Bear Stout and the Scotish were good. Food was excellent. New building is very nice with awesome views! I thought the overall layout of the place was weird. If I built a brewery from ground up I would have definitely done it differently but who am I to say!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burdman Burdman, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Was told May 23 in person, but web site says May 24.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
Tasted two beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. Stout tasted too fresh to judge. Wheat Bock had a good yeasty taste and seemed appropriate to the style.
Present location in Oakland closes May 6 so they can move to the permanent location in McHenry, reopening May 23.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
One of the best micro-brewed Stouts I've tasted in a long time. Not a big fan of the over-hoppy IPA, but the Red is great. The food is well prepared and plentiful, without being excessive. Try the Wild Stew if you're there for skiing season.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M.T. M.T., Honolulu, HI
(01/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
IPA is "great"--very hoppy--but 4 Beary Wheat is "so so"--neither fruit nor wheat was particularly evident. Tasted at the Maryland Craft Brewers Festival in Baltimore yesterday. Owner was very friendly and eager to talk. He mentioned that they've broken ground in McHenry by Ski Wisp, which is the site where they originally planned to open; opening is about a year away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Great
Currently they have only two of their own brews. The Youghiogheny Red and a Pale Ale (forget the name). The Red is a finely balanced, flavorful, slighly (but pleasantly) hoppy beer that is among the best I have tasted in the MD/PA/DC area. A nice Porter or Stout of their own brewing should round this selection out, nicely. Currently they carry other draft microbrews for balance. Thursday nights during the summer they have a seafood fest with fresh seafood driven in from Baltimore; excellent seafood and lots of it for a good price. My only caution are the growlers which are a good value but the beer quickly looses carbonation. Still, if you are in Deep Creek (or withing 50 miles) this is worth the stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean McLinden Sean McLinden, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Awesome! Great
But I am the owner - so I am slightly biased - Dave Saba

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Saba Dave Saba, Oakland, MD
(03/12/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.323 seconds) 22:02:52 54.196.189.229, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS