PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe - Willimantic, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 08:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Willimantic > Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.9 / 100
967 Main Street
Willimantic, CT 06226
United States
(860) 423-6777
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: December 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Willimantic, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
53 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Victoria Crossing Bed
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN REGENT INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hunt, Dr. Chester, Office
2) Jillson, William, Stone House
3) Main Street Historic District (Boundary Increase)
4) Trumbull, John, Birthplace
5) War Office
6) Williams, Eleazer, House
7) Williams, William, House
8) Willimantic Armory
9) Willimantic Footbridge
10) Willimantic Footbridge
11) Willimantic Freight House and Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angellino's Restaurant
2) Bagel One
3) Blimpie Subs & Salads
4) Burger King
5) China East
6) D'angelo
7) El Tropical Restaurant
8) Friendly's Restaurant
9) Mama's Pizza
10) Mc Donald's
11) Mc Donald's
12) Mill Cafe
13) Olympic Restaurant
14) Oobah's Delicatessens
15) Papa Gino's
16) Pleasant Pizza
17) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
18) Taco Bell
19) Tin Tsin Chinese Restaurant
20) Tony's Pizza
21) Trolley Pub On Main
22) Victorian Lady Restaurant
23) Willimantic Brewing Co
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I do not normally post reviews because I am so critical that they are unfair!! I come from a food service back round and am very hard to please and have also done home brews to please my pallet!!!

I have been told I should stop here since they opened (would you believe 13 years now)but was to skeptical that there could be a place this good as close as it is especially in Willimantic. I should have listened - beer selection is phenomenal for commercial drafts,- but when you get to their brews it goes to indescribably delicious no matter what your taste is. They have their normal stock Brews and monthly specials brews. ( I will not tell you my favorite because there is suppose to be only a two week stock left and then that's it and I want more). As for the food what we tried it was their pub fare and everything was delicious and above quality for any normal bar / pub. (wings and sandwiches) Will try full entrees / dinners next to see if they can keep this high of recommendation on their food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Peter, Coventry, CT
(01/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Attending brew pubs everywhere east of the Mississippi River, avoiding the south for beer reasons, has been my personal hobby for 25 years. Willimantic Brewing Company in my humble opinion, is the best brew pub in that area. The beer is the thing. My favorites are David Wollner's splendid IPAs, all distinguishable, all delectable. Never a bad beer of any kind; the opposite, except that guest beers underwhelm, no offense, after tasting in-house beers. The cask runs out quickly; how could it be? If you like beer, try the show-stopping cask, whatever is in it. My only connection with this paradise is as paying customer, by the way. I have only a nodding relationship with anyone here and come for beer not chit-chat. If you are a serious business student, watch and admire, learn from the way WBC is run. Customers come from out-of-state and far away. No surprise. WBC is more than the best brewpub in CT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review WILLIMANTIC, CT
(11/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I'm from Maryland and found this place accidentally while visiting with my son who will be going to UCONN. It was a GREAT find!!!! I travel a fair amount, and always try to find a brewpub wherever I go; this is one of the tops!!! I'm a pale ale fan - they have an awesome selection of IPA's. The food is great also. And the bar is very cool - old restored post office. I know where I'm going whenver I'm visiting at UCONN......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gaithersburg, MD
(07/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Great
Visited 6/21. Plenty of choices both house and guest brews. Tried the Scarlet Letter Red, Pushing the Envelope Ipa and the Pony Express Stout. All xclnt.Great Reuben and cloeslaw. Knocked the service. My glass sat empty for quite awhile but then the server poured a different beer in that same glass. Sorry!Love the retrofitted post office.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(07/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Their flagship IPA is very good. Nicely balanced and nuanced. Not so aggressively hopped that it tastes like grapefruit juice, but not some wheaty beer posing as an IPA. This is very similar to Dogfish Head's 60 minute ipa. I think it's actually slightly better. The food was good too. Only had the "LA Smog" pizza, which was red onion, mozzerrella and garlic (don't know where that name came from). What was a pleasant surprise was all the garlic on it. Which I loved!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The beers here change regularly and offer both the Willimantic Brewing Company's offerings as well as a changing variety of Guest Beers. Willibrew also has growlers available for purchase & filling with their tasty beverages. Their WilliWhammer is consistently excellent year to year. On our most recent visit, my friends & I were impressed yet again by the outstanding service Christina offers--she is friendly, warm, knowledgeable, and remembers her guests from visit to visit. Not all staff is as good, which is the reason I could not mark service as AWESOME! across the board, as both Christina and Jake set a very high mark for others to reach, but there are some other good servers here. Their veggie burger satisfies my veggie needs (they do serve meat on the menu too)--if only they would bring back the Tolland Salad!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bozrah, CT
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is by far the best brewpub in CT. I drove 1.5 hours to get here on 4/20. Wish it was alot closer so I could become a regular there. I have been here before and always can't wait to get back. Beers: 10 of their own on tap. All very good. My favorites: * Pushing the Envelope Extreme – An India Pale ale brewed with 755 lbs of malt and aggressively hopped with Centennial, Chinook, Simcoe and Columbus. 8.8%abv

* RoadenZok – A recipe by homebrewer Paul Zocco honoring Belgian Sour Ales. Brewed with Belgian malts and Styrian Goldings hops a sour beer infused with tart cherries. 5.2%abv

* Jack Daniels Barrel Aged Willi Whammer “04” – Aged for 6 months in a Jack Daniels whiskey barrel, this barleywine has a mélange of flavors. Served at room temperature. 10.7%abv Beer was so good took 4 growlers home. Food: Had some appetizers. They were great and the presentation is like you see on Emeril Service:great Atmosphere: Great its in an old post office.

You Must Go Here If You Like Good Beer!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rogue Rogue, Bridgeport, CT
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is awesome. If for any reason anywhere near the state of Connecticut, you need to visit this establishment. The brewer, the staff, and the regulars make you feel right at home. Brewer has an unusual set up which makes it easier to offer a wide variety of brews at a time. There were 9 on tap during our visit. The cask double IPA and raspberry ale were fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
greatest place to go to enjoy socializing with friends while having one of the huge selection of quality beers, with an excellent food menu to choose from. The decor is fantastic, which makes for a very relaxed atmoshere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review willimantic, CT
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer here a number of times over the years and have never been disapointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
From all I had read about this place, I have to admit that I left a bit disappointed. My fault. The tap selections were good, with a few that stood out to my tastes. The Air Mail Strong (8.8%) was very good and deceptively drinkable. I particularly enjoyed the IPA on the cask--it had a nice blend of flavors and sensations. If I lived in the area, it would probably be my "usual" draught. The service was OK, after the bartender noticed I was taking notes. Prior to that, I waited for personal conversations and diatribes about the no smoking policy to end before I got served. Located in a neat old post office.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is quickly becoming my favorite pub in all of CT. It is far an away the best brewpub in the state. Each of their beers has gusto. If you're into IPA's, visit here. The IPA's are bitter and bold. I've had two and found the Unihibited IPA almost too bitter and strong, but it is a very enjoyable, drinkable ale. The Certified Gold ale is milder but full of flavor and appropriately hopped. They have 7-8 ales of their own on tap and dozens of guest beers. If you love beer brewed on premises, an amazing guest selection, good food and friendly, attentative service, this is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim St. Louis Jim St. Louis, Wethersfield, CT
(05/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
My friend and I made a special trek up to Willimantic from New Haven and WOW was it worthwhile! The brewpub is in an old post office (not bank, hence all the beers have names related to the postal service) which they've redesigned beautifully. Unfortunately, the brewing equipment is only visible from the restaurant side of the building, so if you're sitting in the pub you'll have to walk around a bit. We tried all 8 beers on tap: the golden, two IPAs, an IDA, stout, rye pale ale, bock, and amber. The PS Spring Bock is hands down the smoothest bock and the best smoked beer I've ever tasted. We preferred the floral E-mail IPA over the Limited Edition IPA which tried to make up for its lack of flavor with extra hops. The IDA is an interesting experiment and tastes like a slightly hopped up nut brown. The service was friendly and attentive. Now, if only they sold growlers...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(04/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A must see. Grand old bank transformed into a relaxed setting brew pub. Great beer. The cask golden was dynamite, and all dining enjoyed the rye. I had the beer sampler tray and all 6 were wonderfull! Nachos were as monsterous as the building. If you are in connecticut--spend the extra time and driving distance to swing thru here. A++

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Albany, NY
(04/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Can't ask for a better place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, New London, CT
(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
As Mr Struble below said, the VEG is the pinnacle of beers anywhere on the east coast if your a hophead. Pushing 122IGU's (International Grapefruit Units) However, right now, the WBC/ Main Street Cafe has 2 gems on. The Glaicer and the Junk Mail IPA's. The Glaicer (usually 115IGU's) tasted at only 102 last week but is still a great IPA almost pushing a double IPA. The suprise is the Junk mail which tasted at 105 IGU's upon its early relaease. I cant wait to taste the next VEG! Maybe David will try to beat the record of 137 IGU's held by the Pale Rider IPA from Big Horse in Hood River Oregon? (FYI, the first VEG was a whopping 132 IGU's)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johan Bronson Johan Bronson, Willimantic, CT
(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The WBC is the ONLY place to visit following Willimantic's annual Boombox Parade. I was a little disapointed the V.E.G. IPA was not quite ready for JUly 4th release, but the Anytown A.S.B. was a great alternative (along with the always satisfying Rail Mail Rye Ale). I hope to have a chance to stop in this month for a sample of the VEG. If your are a "hophead" like me, get there soon to give it a try. On second thought, save some for me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Of the dozens of brewpubs I've been to across the country, this is one of my absolute favorites. Everything here is perfect- the selection, quality, atmosphere, service. IPAs in particular are excellent. I also appreciate the non-smoking section of the bar. Not many pubs offer non-smokers the opportunity to sit at the bar and be comfortable. Some of the food specials I've had here were amazing. And you can also get the more common pub food if you're so inclined. Beer lovers should go out of their way to go here when they're in Connecticut.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Taylor Bill Taylor, Dayville, CT
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Interesting location. Great IPA. Wish it was closer. One of the best in New England.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Northbridge, MA
(09/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I pass through Willimantic approximately twice a year and no visit is complete without a stop at the Willimantic Brewing Company. Whether drinking the Rail Mail Rye, the exemplary VEG IPA or another of the handcrafted house brews, I'm never disappointed and usually flat-out in awe. Coupled with the fabulous menu selections and you've got yourself a brewpub that is "top-shelf" and consistenly among the top five in the nation. Be sure to sample David's own "OY VEY" buffalo sauce for some extrasensory spice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Interesting place....with a top-notch IPA, too... Some great guest biers, including Victory Storm King and Golden Monkey. Attentive, informed bartenders. Worth a visit!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Dionne David Dionne, Nashua, NH
(04/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Wonderful brewpub in converted Post Office. Casual, noisy, friendly atmosphere. Tried the house IPA which was quite good and the special International Medal IPA which was respectable. Very nice selection of guest beers including several from CT microbreweries. Food was unexpectedly good. Agree with comments that this is probably the best brewpub in CT based on quality of beers, atmosphere and food. Only wish it was closer to home. This one is worth a special trip to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WLR WLR, Brookfield, CT
(03/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
Everything was great. The beer was awesome. We had the Autobahn Beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Conley Kevin Conley, Holiston, MA
(01/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I was in Hartford on business and after going to a pub in Hartford, was told to come here. This place makes a west coast style IPA on the East coast. The VEG IPA is a hopheads dream. You won't taste anything this great anywhere east of the Mississippi river. The Rye Stout was also excellent and I wish I didn't have to drive back to Hartford. The food was also tasty. Hope to come this way again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cathy Develin Cathy Develin, Seattle, WA
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place just gets better and better. Where else can you get 8-10 beers brewed on premisis, another 20+ micros on tap, great food and service, and a wonderful atmosphere. I travel the country for my business and am always searching for the lands best beers and wine. There so many great beers here!!! I just had the ASB(American Special Bitter) and the VEG IPA. They are both fabulous. I try to visit here as often as possible. One of the best in the country. Great job David and Cindy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Baran Joseph Baran, Windham, CT
(08/10/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.433 seconds) 20:22:59 54.91.35.130, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS