PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Manchester, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 07:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Manchester > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 75.8 / 100
1487 Pleasant Valley Road
Manchester, CT 06040
United States
(860) 644-2739
Listed Since: September 1997
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Manchester, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
27 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) The Main Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Watson House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION SUITES INN
2) COURTYARD MANCHESTER
3) ECONO LODGE MANCHESTER
4) EXTENDEDSTAY MANCHESTER
5) FAIRFIELD AND SUITES MANCHESTER
6) RESIDENCE INN MANCHESTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Elmore Houses
2) Elmore Houses
3) Hale, Dr. Elizur, House
4) US Post Office--Manchester Main
5) Welles, Gideon, House
6) Woodbridge Farmstead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adams Mill Restaurant
2) Blimpie Subs & Salads
3) Bob & Marie's Pizza
4) Bombay Raj Mahal Indian Rstrnt
5) Brass Key Restaurant
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) C J's Giant Grinders
9) Cafe On Main
10) Captain Ed's Surf N Turf
11) Cavey's Restaurant
12) Cheney's
13) China Garden
14) Chuck E Cheese's
15) Cool Cow
16) D'angelo Sandwich Shops
17) Dairy Queen
18) Dragon Buffet
19) Fani's Kitchen
20) Filomena's Pizzeria
21) Fishtales
22) Five Star Chinese Restaurant
23) Golden Dragon
24) Ground Round
25) Hartford Road Cafe Inc
26) Hunan Taste
27) Hungry Tiger Cafe & Restaurant
28) Italian Kitchen
29) Jade Gardens
30) Kfc
31) La Strada Restaurant
32) Main Pub & Restaurant
33) Main Wah Kitchen
34) Manchester Country Club
35) Manchester Pizza & Restaurant
36) Mc Donald's
37) Midway Pizza
38) Network Tavern
39) Nullis' Italia Ristorante
40) Pagani's Brick Oven Restaurant
41) Palazzo Di Stathi
42) Papa Joe's Giant Grinders
43) Paradise Pizza Ii
44) People's Choice
45) Pepe's Restaurant & Lounge
46) Pizza Hut
47) Pizza Palace
48) Q Club
49) Randy's Wooster Street Pizza
50) Ruby Chinese Food
51) Sarantino's Family Restaurant
52) Shady Glen Dairy Stores
53) Sinnamon Shop
54) Smoken Deli
55) Southpaws Bar & Grill
56) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
57) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
58) Sunny Side Up
59) United China Restaurant
60) Vic's Pizza
61) Village Restaurant
62) Walsh Enterprises Inc
63) Wendy's
64) West Side Pizza
65) Willie's Steak House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I usually have a good experience when I visit a John Harvard's location (and I hate chain restaurants!); this place didn't disappoint. I was only here for the beer and my server helped to assemble a sampler of the beers that I found interesting. The clove dominated in Belgian Blonde, making it difficult to catch any of the other flavors. Hobbes Ale was a Belgian Brown that had some interesting play between clove and the Phoenix hops. "Belgian" in the nose. OA was an oatmeal amber, slightly sweet, but really not much there.Black Hole Alewas very roasty with a medium body--quite drinkable. I was fortunate to try Amarillo Armadillo on regular pour and on cask, both ways were great! Unfiltered and grapefruity on pour with a nice bitter finish, while the cask had a super aroma and complex malt/hop flavors. A gem

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I usually have a good experience when I visit a John Harvard's location (and I hate chain restaurants!); this place didn't disappoint. I was only here for the beer and my server helped to assemble a sampler of the beers that I found interesting. The clove dominated in Belgian Blonde, making it difficult to catch any of the other flavors. Hobbes Ale was a Belgian Brown that had some interesting play between clove and the Phoenix hops. "Belgian" in the nose. OA was an oatmeal amber, slightly sweet, but really not much there.Black Hole Alewas very roasty with a medium body--quite drinkable. I was fortunate to try Amarillo Armadillo on regular pour and on cask, both ways were great! Unfiltered and grapefruity on pour with a nice bitter finish, while the cask had a super aroma and complex malt/hop flavors. A gem

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I usually have a good experience when I visit a John Harvard's location (and I hate chain restaurants!); this place didn't disappoint. I was only here for the beer and my server helped to assemble a sampler of the beers that I found interesting. The clove dominated in Belgian Blonde, making it difficult to catch any of the other flavors. Hobbes Ale was a Belgian Brown that had some interesting play between clove and the Phoenix hops. "Belgian" in the nose. OA was an oatmeal amber, slightly sweet, but really not much there.Black Hole Alewas very roasty with a medium body--quite drinkable. I was fortunate to try Amarillo Armadillo on regular pour and on cask, both ways were great! Unfiltered and grapefruity on pour with a nice bitter finish, while the cask had a super aroma and complex malt/hop flavors. A gem

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I usually have a good experience when I visit a John Harvard's location (and I hate chain restaurants!); this place didn't disappoint. I was only here for the beer and my server helped to assemble a sampler of the beers that I found interesting. The clove dominated in Belgian Blonde, making it difficult to catch any of the other flavors. Hobbes Ale was a Belgian Brown that had some interesting play between clove and the Phoenix hops. "Belgian" in the nose. OA was an oatmeal amber, slightly sweet, but really not much there.Black Hole Alewas very roasty with a medium body--quite drinkable. I was fortunate to try Amarillo Armadillo on regular pour and on cask, both ways were great! Unfiltered and grapefruity on pour with a nice bitter finish, while the cask had a super aroma and complex malt/hop flavors. A gem

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I usually have a good experience when I visit a John Harvard's location (and I hate chain restaurants!); this place didn't disappoint. I was only here for the beer and my server helped to assemble a sampler of the beers that I found interesting. The clove dominated in Belgian Blonde, making it difficult to catch any of the other flavors. Hobbes Ale was a Belgian Brown that had some interesting play between clove and the Phoenix hops. "Belgian" in the nose. OA was an oatmeal amber, slightly sweet, but really not much there.Black Hole Alewas very roasty with a medium body--quite drinkable. I was fortunate to try Amarillo Armadillo on regular pour and on cask, both ways were great! Unfiltered and grapefruity on pour with a nice bitter finish, while the cask had a super aroma and complex malt/hop flavors. A gem

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The building is unimpressive. When inside you feel like you're in a national chain-run restaurant, the menu choices appear to give off the same impression. That's where the complacency ends for the most part. The service is great - I would have rated it excellent, except I felt a little over-serviced at times (ie: "let me eat..."). Pizza was good. The clam chowder was quite good. The beer was good. The salmon had hints of sucking on brown paper grocery bag (which is a fair pairing for salmon). The salmon and rice had good comments from our group. I was very disappointed with the fries (as bland as cardboard), which I feel should be exemplary in any brewpub.

The beer was good. I was impressed with the crisp/cleaness of the pale ale. It was not remarkably hoppy or malty (being from the midwest, I prefer a malty pale ale), although it did have a good clean finish and left me happy. The rye pale ale had a nice characteristically fruity (corn/peach) nose with good flavor and hoppy bitterness. This is what I will order next time. The stout was clean and light, reminded me of AB's bareknuckle stout - just nice and clean with no outstanding stout character. The nut brown ale was good if you like a little of that brown malt flavor without overwhelming caramel'ness. They do have a cask ale and a scotch ale which I didn't have time to try. The light beer was typical microbrew light beer. The wheat beer was ok, nothing special.

The place was nice, seems like a sleeper brewery that I would go back to and definitely spend more time with the pale ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kally Kally, St Louis, MO
(09/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Good
Went here on 3/8. To my surprise they had two of my favorite style beers on tap. Scotch Ale and Imperial Stout. I was very impressed by both beers. So impressed I took a growler of each home. Had some appetizers. They were really good. The only complaint I have about this place is the building. Just doesn't give you that good brew pub feeling. If they keep having great beers. I'll get over the building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Edwards Todd Edwards, Bridgeport, CT
(03/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
Some good beer and food.The place it self is nothing special but the food and drink make up for alot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david borsay david borsay, kingston, NY
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is one of my favorite brewpubs in the area. The beer is great (even the amber ale isn't too bad!) and so is the food and service. The bar atmosphere is a little too dark but I guess its good if you go down there to watch a game with some friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Windsor Locks, CT
(06/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
First return visit in a few years. Brown ale was malty but lacked sufficient hop bitterness and was served way too cold. Bar needs a major face lift and is totally void of the charm of an english pub as it aspires to be. Service was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim St. Louis Jim St. Louis, Wethersfield, CT
(11/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In response to Chris from Greenwich, ct in December 2001, I am 100% sure you were talking about the Westport location which is now closed. The one in Manchester has NEVER had any beers on tap that were not brewed on premise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review east hartford, CT
(10/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Anderson John Anderson, Longmeadow, MA
(06/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
Had a freshly-released IPA. Still young but had great potential. The Buffalo strips were good and hot, albeit a little Tabasco-ey for my taste. Great staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Jacquez Steven Jacquez, Vallejo, CA
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Great place to go! For full dinners or just for tizer's. We go to enjoy the beer, the food and the staff!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Engleman John Engleman, South Windsor, CT
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Lousy Lousy
I think it's going out of business, if it isn't it should! No beer selection (except sam adams and bud) and very unenthusiastic staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Greenwich, CT
(12/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Great place to go and have a really good beer & sandwich. Only problem is the wait staff is not always up to par.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Storrs, CT
(07/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Usually a nice selection of brews, their Harvard's standards are fairly tame, though nice quality. Their specialties (which vary nicely from Harvards to Harvards) are excellent. Nice barleywine (especially when you catch it on the hand pump), great Scotch Ale, and a killer cask conditioned IPA. When will the cask conditioned Imperial Stout come back? That was the best I've had here. Great folks behind the bar (Steve, Sally, Chris et. al.). Enjoy stopping by when I can and glad to have them nearby. Thank God they got smart and brought back their killer Olive Oil to every table. Now if only they'd bring back the real chicken wings (the boneless wings just don't cut it).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandy Cook Sandy Cook, Glastonbury, CT
(04/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
This place has always been jam-packed when I'm there. The beer is good but the variety on the menu is amazing. You can devour anything from sausages to sushi. It's a good place to figure out what beer goes with what food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David DiGiacomo David DiGiacomo, West Hartford, CT
(04/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
I rated the service as so-so because they are alway busy. Too busy - waited a very long time to get served. Good addition to this popular chain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart J. Fellin Bart J. Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(03/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
What a brewpub should be. Walk in, see the brew kettle, get seated, enjoy. Had their brown ale (almost as good as Nukie Broon). Food is also very good here. Have an excellent range of stuff. We had their queso dip appetizer (excellent). The fish & chips is of excellent quality. For a chain, they do an excellent job. Definitely worthy of a stop on any "pub-cruise". Not rowdy at the dinner hour, but place takes on an adult feel later on (so you could take the kids to an early dinner without fear of them learning how to speak like sailors).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JC JC, Washington, DC
(03/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Recently attended one of their brew dinners. The food and beer were great again (My second brew dinner). I would highly reccomend going to one of these monthly events. The only thing that was lacking was the Barleywine. I'm sure that it was good, but it must be an acquired taste!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Tobin Bob Tobin, Granby, CT
(02/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great place to eat and drink. I went there just after the New Year and the establishment was excellent. Try the Honey Brew - it was the best I've had in a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Shawn, Higganum, CT
(01/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
We never get up to the Hartford area enough to enjoy this establishment. We orginally stopped by on a whim, but were very impressed by the food as well as the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Braddock Robert Braddock, Danbury, CT
(11/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Beer is good and food is great. Much better that I would expect from a chain. I've been back several times!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Geo, Plymouth, CT
(01/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
My wife and I love this place. We need mugs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Richmond Ed Richmond, West Suffield, CT
(12/30/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.5 seconds) 07:51:34 54.211.7.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS