PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Wilkins Township, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Wilkins Township > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
[Closed - 2008]
3466 William Penn Highway (Business Route 22)
400 Penn Center Boulevard #3466
Wilkins Township, PA 15235
United States
(412) 824-9440
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: June 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilkins Township, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of John Harvard's Brew House
32 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Rivertowne Inn
(3 miles)

2) Mad Mex
(4 miles)

3) Rivertowne Pour House
(4 miles)

4) Bella Luna Trattoria
(4 miles)

5) Gateway Grill
(4 miles)

6) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(4 miles)

7) The Map Room
(4 miles)

8) Carl's Tavern
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn At Oakmont
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN CONFERENCE
2) DAYS INN MONROEVILLE
3) EXTENDEDSTAY MONROEVILLE
4) RADISSON HOTEL PITTSBURGH
5) RED ROOF PITTSBURGH MONROEVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baxter High School
2) Beulah Presbyterian Church
3) Carnegie Free Library Of Braddock
4) Gardner-Bailey House
5) Longfellow School
6) Old Heidelberg Apartments
7) Park Place School
8) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
9) Singer, John F., House
10) Westinghouse Air Brake Company General Office Building
11) Westinghouse, George, Memorial Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Different Twist
2) All American Hero
3) Arby's
4) B J's Roadhouse & Grill
5) Bernie's Lounge
6) Bruster's Old Fashioned Ice
7) Burger King
8) Carl's Tavern
9) Carol Of Casey's Pizza Shop
10) Chef Chen Chinese Restaurant
11) Coumpi's Pizzeria
12) Duff's Coffee Shop
13) Eat'n Park Restaurants
14) Flinn's Pub
15) Green Forest Brazilian Rstrnt
16) Hippo's Pub
17) Honda's Pub
18) Hoss's Steak & Sea House
19) Hot Tops Cake N Bake Pizza
20) Houlihan's
21) Inn The Ruff
22) Japan House
23) Java Havana
24) Jefferson Hideaway
25) Joe's Water Ice
26) KFC
27) King's Family Restaurant
28) Long John Silver's
29) Mama C's
30) Manchu Wok
31) Marie Michael Restaurant
32) Mc Donald's
33) Mc Donald's
34) Morgan's Family Restaurant
35) No 1 Chinese Kitchen
36) Orient Express
37) Panda Garden Restaurant
38) Panera Bread
39) Papa John's Pizza
40) Pasquale's Pizzaria
41) Penn Hebron Garden Club
42) Penn Hills Volunteer Fire Cos
43) Pizza Heaven
44) Pizza Hut
45) Pizza Palace
46) Pizza Palace Express
47) Quik It Chicken Inc
48) Rivers Three Restaurant
49) Rodi Lounge Inc
50) Shieks Place
51) Sichuan Palace
52) Stewarts Lounge
53) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
54) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
55) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
56) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
57) Taco Bell
58) Teodora's
59) Tivoli Restaurant
60) Tony's Restaurant
61) Tozzi Pizza
62) Vincent's Pizza Park Penn Hls
63) Vocelli Pizza
64) Wendy's
65) Wendy's
66) White Hawk Cafe Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Sadly this John Harvards went bust. It will be missed. BUT..... you can just go to Rivertowne Pour House about 5 minutes away and most of the staff is there. Andrew (AKA god's gift to beer) has been there since Rivertowne opened which is PROBABLY what did Harvards in! Survival of the fittest. Works in the jungle, works in the beer game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Moncavage Bob Moncavage, Bethel Park, PA
(10/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I believe this location is now closed. Too bad the place was pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Don't let this being a chain fool you, this place rocks! The Scottish Ale is to die for. Ditto on the Pale Ale. The seasonal brews are great as well, my buddy from NJ loves the Strawberry Blonde and my Dad digs the IPA. The food is delicious as well and the staff goes out of their way to serve you. If you are anywhere near Pittsburgh, hop on the parkway and head out towards Monroeville (yinzers pronounce it mon-row-ville) and grab a few cold ones! John Harvard's is a shining beacon of light in an area of gloom and depression (western PA).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Checkosky Tom Checkosky, Ashland, VA
(11/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
A recent stop gave me a chance to try a few new brews. ESB smooth and creamy with nice amount of Fuggles. Maple Brown had lots of maple in nose and all the way through. West Coast Stout nice with an unexpected Cascade blast in the finish. When I got my food, the sauce on my chicken tenders wasn't right, and the staff couldn't have fallen over themselves more apologizing and making things right. Took a growler of IPA along as a treat for myself and some guests. Nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
I try to get to John Harvards at least once a year and luckily I was able to stop in Friday afternoon 11/24 when Andrew the brewmaster was at work. I always enjoy talking to Andrew as he is just a great person (even though he is a Flyers fan... BOOH!)and a top notch brewer of many wonderful beers. Took up his advice and ordered the sampler platter of 11 five ounce samples for $8.95 which is quite a bargain compared to their normal expensive beer pricing. Even got the normally not included Barley Wine as an added bonus bringing the total to 12. Enjoyed them all as none were clunkers. Even though John Harvards is part of a chain, don't let that be a deterrent. The beers are obviously custom brewed with much TLC and different from anything found at any other location. Decent atmosphere and attentive service. Looking forward to many more visits.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
In the past, my comments on this place were great on the food and service, and only good to so-so on the beer. However I have visited this place twice over the last two weeks and have found the beer to be really good (almost excellent). It tastes like the IPA has changed over the last several months..and I love it! Hoppy, full-boddied and flavorful. Two of the seasons - the Schwartzbier and the Koelsh were terrific. The service was excellent and John Harvards does great with food. You can come here and consume great beer with friends, or bring your whole family for great food and service. If you haven't been here for awhile - stop back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Some observatons from a while ago. I like John Harvard's. I know it's not a Victory or Troegs, but it is a good place. All that I've visited (6?, 7?) have provided some good experiences. I tend to gravitate to the seasonals, but given the leeway that it would seem each location is offered, brewing-wise, that may be something I need to think about. I was pleasantly surprised that there were 11 brews offered on my stop a few months ago. The Vanilla Robust Porter, Dry Stout, and IPA were my top 3 picks, in that order. Server was super helpful as the assembled masses began "experimenting" with some beer blends which he was happy to provide. (He's also very fortunate--met his fiance who could not have been nicer; good luck to both of them in their future together). If you hate "chains" like a lot of us do; DON'T put John Harvard's in that category. You'll be sorry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Stopped in this past Saturday. I'm always surprised how good the food is here! Had a sampler - the only beer that bowled me over was the stout, which is typical because I find John Harvards porters and stouts to be their best selections. However, I was disappointed with the scotch ale - not up to the quality I'm used to from places like Four Sons and Rohrbachs. The IPA was ok, the John Harvards American Pale was above average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The beers are better than awesome! Andrew the brew master and Sean, his apprentice are truly masters. Selection is constantly changing and always spectacular. The service is excellent and friendly. This place is a must if you are in the Pittsburgh area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monroeville, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
We stopped at this brewpub after a journey from eastern pa, and it was extrememely satisfying to sit down and enjoy the sampler. The beer was fantastic, and the bartender and bar crowd was very accomodating and friendly. Definitely make an effort to swing by for a pint if you get the chance!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Lancaster, PA
(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
John Harvard's is the only chain I know of that makes great beer. Each location has its own brewer, and chooses some "corporate" recipes as well as his/her own. Both are great.

As of 12/17/2004, the Scottish Ale was probably the best, with the IPA a close second.

The service was very solid--our party of 9 included an infant and two toddlers, and they did not slow down the server down one bit.

The food was very good, as well--fresh ingredients and well prepared. The lunch menu is mostly sandwiches and salads. All those tried at the table were popular--I personally recommend the roast beef wrap.

If you are in Pittsburgh, by all means make an effort to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Some of the best brewpub beer I've had anywhere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(12/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
In response to Kurt's review in January 2003, I thought he might like to know that there were a few kegs of the 2003 Imperial Stout that were "aged" and tapped in July of 2004. If you liked it before, it only got better. The alcohol was up in the barley wine range yet it was not sweet at all. I hope ther is some of this year's keeping for 2005.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I had not been to a John Harvard's since I visited the ones in Atlanta 5-6 years ago, but decided to give this one a try. There were 11 selections to try, 8 of them I really enjoyed. The service was on top and talked about the beer and food with knowledge. Overall, a very enjoyeable visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Padgett Michael Padgett, New York, NY
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
A worthwhile stop!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Awesome!
If you want to leave the nearby Hooters to get some really great beers this is the place. The selection changes just enough to make it new each time you go there. If you're in the east hills of the Pittsburgh area this is definately worth a go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great beer, esp for a chain brewery. My wife loved the pulpy Apricot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The brew of choice was Maxwells Imperial Stout. This is an awesome beer, one of the best out there. The Bock was also very good. The J.H. Pale was okay, and the IPA needed some more time. It was tapped that day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Olson Kurt Olson, Wexford, PA
(01/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
I've been going to John Harvard's about once a month for the last 1.5 years and only maybe 3 times has the service been what most people would consider "normal". I guess a place can do that when they know a majority of their clientele comes for the beer. I love Andrew's beers. I interviewed for the Assistan Brewer position a few months back and he was very helpful in telling me about books I should read to become a better brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
This is a nice-looking place and could be a regular hang-out for me if it wasn't for the 20 - 30 minute travel. The beer selection was okay, they were out of the Bavarian lager. The others that I had, stout, weizen, Scottish ale and pale ale were good. The Scottish ale and hefe-weizen were a little on the weak side. The pale ale was very refreshing. The food ranged from good to not very good. Ordered a meatloaf that was so undercooked we had to send it back twice. They were very concerned about it and did try to rectify the problem. I would go back again and give them another try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Chain? it was not obvious. Food was ok but over priced for the portions. Beer was very nice, esp. the Gold Medal Bock.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from daniel page daniel page, Milwaukee, WI
(02/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Been a regular here since the week it opened in August '97. Love the place, it's like my home away from home, very relaxing and the barstaff are tops. I've been to brewpub chains as some people have mentioned below, but John Harvards is much better than 'Hops', another chain which you'll find sprouting up down south - and I might add has some of the worst "microbrewed" beer I've ever tasted. Favorite beers - Milk Stout, Oatmeal Stout, Espresso Stout, any of the Porters, and the Scottish Ale, I also highly recommend the Pumpkin Spice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Pittsburgh, PA
(11/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Once I realized that Johm Harvard's was actually a chain, I had my doubts. But they were swiftly erased after enjoying the excellent food and original beers. I recommend the sampler beers first, so you can decide which one you like.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Bellefonte, PA
(08/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The Brews were real good, and the food matched. reasonably priced and nice setting.Service was on top of it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(06/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
try the Hef!... had a Pale Ale there and wasn't thrilled...

The Brewer is always there and seems like a friendly fellow. Food is standard chain pub fair. They did however add a veggy/diet friendly wrap (thank you)...

Good place overall. Hope they do more to raise their visibility along the crowded road they are on...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/11/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.37 seconds) 23:44:44 54.205.253.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS