PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery - Lewistown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 03:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lewistown > Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery
Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.2 / 100
9074 United States Highway 522 South
Lewistown, PA 17044
United States
(717) 242-6483
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: May 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lewistown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
46 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BURNHAM LEWISTOWN AREA
2) CLARION INN BURNHAM
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Embassy Theatre
2) McCoy House
3) Mifflin County Courthouse
4) Montgomery Ward Building
5) Wollner Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's Hollow Inn
2) Avenue Six Pack
3) Bargain Beer & Soda Outlet
4) Bear's Den
5) Bierhaus
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) China House
9) China Queen Restaurant
10) Dairy Queen
11) Domino's Pizza
12) Downtown Oip & Grille
13) Dunkin Donuts
14) Dutch Cellar
15) Emily's Cafe & Ice Cream Prlr
16) Gold Star Pub
17) Golden Bowl
18) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
19) Green Gables Inn Inc
20) Gus's Pizza Shop
21) Happy Day's Cafe
22) Henry's Subs & Suds
23) Hoagies Express Pizza & Beer
24) Hoagies-N More
25) Hoss's Steak & Sea House
26) Hotel Lewistown
27) Joe's Original Italian Pizza
28) Jude's Last Nickel Bar & Grill
29) Keg
30) Kfc
31) Laskaris Restaurant
32) Leoras Cafeteria
33) Log Cabin Inn
34) Long John Silver's
35) Luba's Restaurant
36) Major League Bottle Shop
37) Maria's Italian Restaurant
38) Maurer's Family Market
39) Mc Donald's
40) Mc Donald's
41) Nennie's Cafe
42) Original Italian Pizza
43) Parkway Service Store
44) Pizza Hut
45) Red's Diner
46) South Side Hoagie Shop
47) South Side Ice Cream
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
50) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
51) That's Italian Rstrnt & Pzzr
52) Tony's Cottage Inn
53) Trolley Car Cafe
54) Twin Kiss
55) Villa Roma
56) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Reported from a friend as closed down completely and for sale with brewing equipment intact.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(04/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jack's currently is for sale on Ebay.

Says:

Restaurant & Brewery for sale, centrally located in PA.

120 seats. Building remodeled in 1998. Turn key operation.

Point of sale computerized system. Located 2 mile from Lewistown Walmart, along Hwy 522. Sale price includes real estate & equipment $325,000.

For sale by owner. 717-248-3318

cell phone 717-348-3599

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
O wou;dm't feed my dog here

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zxca Zxca, sdfe3q, PA
(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good N/A
Hasn't brewed at all in 2004, supposedly the result of a nasty family dispute/divorce, and it doesn't sound good for ever resuming. The equipment is still there, but the bar was pouring largely Appalaching Brewing products last time I looked. Their website hasn't been updated to reflect this--don't be misled. The food's still damn good, though......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
not brewing at present, which is a bummer, this is a nice, small pub (although the do have a large dining room). and the beer is pretty good. they are renovating the place (hopefully enlarging the bar). they are expected to be back in full operation by june 2004--lets hope so

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
It is a very nice resturant and the atmosphere is very friendly. A very nice place for family dining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Goodling Dale Goodling, Richfield, PA
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
It is a very nice resturant and the atmosphere is very friendly. A very nice place for family dining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Goodling Dale Goodling, Richfield, PA
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
It is a very nice resturant and the atmosphere is very friendly. A very nice place for family dining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Goodling Dale Goodling, Richfield, PA
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great So So
I liked the food and beer. The service was good. The atmosphere needs a little improvement. It is obviously a new building and feels like one. The restaurant lacks character most brewpubs have.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Grazier Daniel Grazier, Millheim, PA
(07/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So
We were very unhappy with the beer and the food after visiting this brewpub in June. Stopped here after a visit to the Selin's Grove brewpub and it did not compare at all. The beer was a bit too warm and had a plastic taste. So So at best. We tried samplers and there was not a beer that I would have reordered. Not sure if the other reviewers went to the same place. The service was quite good however even if the food and drink were not.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D.R. Ford D.R. Ford, Philipsburg, PA
(07/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
Nestled in the mountains of central PA is Jack's, a very picturesque tavern featuring some great food, good beer and an excellent staff. While waiting for my wife to finish running some errands I decided to stop in for lunch with my young son. They were out of the IPA, so I tried the stout and the pale ale. The stout was pretty good, very malty with the trademark tinge of acidity associated with Guiness, though I wouldn't say it was an outstanding beer. More like a very well done homebrew. The pale ale was also delicious, well balanced but a little bit bland for my hophead tastes. If you like spicy food I recommend the cajun burger, VERY HOT! The staff was courteous and attentive, though I will admit the restaurant wasn't busy and my son likes to flirt with the ladies. I plan to stop back soon for a more detailed sampling of Jack's brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill, Bellefonte, PA
(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
We were pleasantly suprized to find Jack's Mountain in little Lewistown! Been there about four times last year and hope to get back again this year. The service was excellent; the servers obviously enjoy their jobs and people for whom they work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denny and Kate Smith, Tipton, PA
(03/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
what a well kept secret. great place to hang out, but you gotta be here for some other reason, cause it is not on the beaten path. a worth while detour on the way to or from state college. adequate selection of beers, nothing off the charts, but some worthy of praise. friendly staff and clientele. a very local place, so it is easy to be ignored if not a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great
Great food and beer in a nice, relaxed atmosphere. Very much worth the drive!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Hummelstown, PA
(04/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
A Great Winter Warmer-- Good food at reasonabale prices. Worth the drive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ivan E. Riggle Ivan E. Riggle, Tyrone, PA
(02/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
The pale ale was the real standout for me. The porter ran a close second. Great variety of brews for such a small brewery. Haven't tried the food yet, but it looked good coming out of the kitchen. I will definiely go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hollidaysburg, PA
(01/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good N/A
This was our third trip to Jack's Mountain. It is such a pleasant place to stop. The scenery is breathtaking, the food and service is good and thew beers are drinkable. Nothing outstanding, but nothing bad either. They were out of the stout so I settled to take home the porter. Not too far apart in taste! Always a safe stop. I understand they've changed brewers again. Let's hope they stay with it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(08/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Very nice restaurant/brewpub located in the scenic mountains of Central PA. I found the beers to be all quite good, but just a bit thin in body. The Pale Ale and the Porter were standouts for me, with the Scottish Ale(peak smoked malt) getting an honorable mention. Food and service at Jack's Mountain was excellent. Try the Cajun fire stix for an appitizer.

This is a good brewpub, brewing a good range of beer styles that are average(golden ale) to very well done(pale ale and porter). I would reccomend stopping here if you were in the area. I was pleased with my visit, and would visit again if in the Lewistown area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Made our second stop there recently. Both visits were well worth it! The beers are very good and the food is excellent. A small place, but very comfortable with a nice decor. The Oatmeal Stout is the best and a growler came home with us. Whenever we're in the area, this will be a stop. I understand they recently lost their brewer and the assistant took over. I hope they don't stop brewing! Add this one to your travel plans!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I stopped in the Sunday after the recent Brewfest at State College and you were closed! What a disappointment! Catch you next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(08/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Great So So
I was really looking forward to checking out one of the few (if not only) brewpubs in central PA. Tried the sampler and the beers were OK, they just seemed to be lacking the stand out tastes to distinguish the beers from one another. Keep in mind that the winter brew and barleywines may have made my tasted buds a little too spoiled. Would travel to Appalachian Brewing Company before going back to Jack's. They did have Victory Old Horizontal(yum) and a few Appalachian beers on tap. Prime Rib was just OK. Service was very friendly. One of the few brewpubs that I wouldn't go out of the way for next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bown Bill Bown, State College, PA
(01/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S.McClure S.McClure, Lewistown, PA
(01/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited y'all with Sam, Maryann & boys when we visited them last week(12/10/99)...the night the lights went out!! You and your staff handled that like it was an everyday occurence...with total class!! Will DEFINITELY be back next time we're in PA!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nomee & Chuck Bostelman Nomee & Chuck Bostelman, New Carlisle, IN
(12/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
If you are not too tired to drive about half an hour, you can escape the "same-old" bar/restaurant scene of State College. Jack's beer is really good, but if you like Coor's Lite, please stay in State College.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hugh Roberts Hugh Roberts, State College, PA
(11/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beer was excellent and the food was great! The Cajun Fire Stix were delicious. The waitress claimed that they would make us cry. They didn't, but they were very tasty. I also had the Beef Brisket BBQ and enjoyed every bite. I had the beer sampler, all six regular beers, plus the Spiced Pumpkin Ale. All the beers were top notch; I especially enjoyed the Squire Brown, Scottish Ale, and the Black Jack Stout. I took a growler of the Squire Brown home with me. I have visited over 70 brew pubs around the US and tasted over 1350 different beers (lists of brew pubs and beers are at http://members.xoom.com/kepnerdo1">http://members.xoom.com/kepnerdo1) and Jack's Mountain is up there with the best of them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Pottstown, PA
(11/08/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.137 seconds) 15:06:35 54.89.106.125, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS