PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Troegs Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 07:46 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Troegs Brewing Company
Troegs Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Troegs Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.8 / 100
800 Paxton Street
Harrisburg, PA 17104
United States
(717) 232-1297
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Troegs Brewing Company
46 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Appalachian Brewing Company
(1 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(1 mile)

3) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(1 mile)

4) Pints Bar and Grill
(1 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(1 mile)

6) Epic Bar and Grill
(1 mile)

7) Coakley's
(4 miles)

8) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

9) Appalachian Brewing Company
(4 miles)

10) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(4 miles)

11) Brewhouse Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & STES HARRISBURG
2) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
3) BEST WESTERN INN AND SUITES
4) BW HARRISBURG HERSHEY HOTEL
5) COMFORT INN EAST
6) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
7) DAYS INN HARRISBURG EAST MIDDL
8) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
9) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
10) HARRISBURG NORTH
11) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
12) HOWARD JOHNSON
13) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
14) QUALITY INN HARRISBURG
15) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
16) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
17) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
18) RED ROOF HARRISBURG SOUTH
19) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
20) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
21) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
22) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
23) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
24) WINGATE INN HARRISBURG PA
25) WYNDHAM HARRISBURG-HERSHEY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Highspire High School
16) Keystone Building
17) Kunkel Building
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Market Street Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) Al's Pizzeria
5) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
6) American Dream Diner
7) Ann's Snack Bar
8) Appalachian Brewing Co
9) Arby's
10) Arby's
11) Baby Bash
12) Bangkok Wok
13) Benihana
14) Big Dady's
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) Cameron Cut Rate Store
19) Capitol Restaurant
20) Casa Cafe
21) Casa Chica Restaurant
22) Center City Bread Shed
23) Char's Bella Mundo
24) Chef Chen's Express Inc
25) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
26) China Express
27) Club Diner
28) Club House Bar & Grill
29) Colonnade Restaurant
30) Courthouse Cafe
31) Cragin's Brick Haus
32) Crown Fried Chicken
33) Crowne Plaza
34) Dairy Queen
35) Dee & Deb's Subs
36) Deli Bean
37) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
38) Dendy's Seafood Express
39) Derry Street Cafe
40) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
41) Domino's Pizza
42) Double D Bar & Grill
43) Downtown Deli & Eatery
44) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
45) Dragonfly Club
46) Duong Quy TU
47) East Shore Diner
48) Eat & Tell
49) Eclipse
50) Esquire Deli
51) Essie Cafe
52) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
53) Firehouse
54) Fisaga
55) Flamingo Grill
56) Fleming's Sub Base
57) Flinchy's
58) Fuji DO Restaurant
59) G C Murphy Co
60) Gardenia Family Restaurant
61) Garrason's Tavern
62) Gingerbread Man
63) Golden Sheaf
64) Good Taste
65) Hamilton Grill
66) Happy King
67) Hardee's
68) Harristown Development
69) Hower's Country Kitchen
70) J T Croc'n Berrys
71) Jackson House
72) Janice Young Snack Bar
73) Jazzland
74) Jim's Deli
75) John's Snack Bar
76) Kardisco's Snack Bar
77) Kelly's Wings N Things
78) Keystone Restaurant
79) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
80) Las Delicias Restaurant
81) Last Stop
82) Light's Cafeteria
83) Linda Janz
84) Little Saigon Restaurant
85) Little Sals Pizza
86) Lugaro's Pizza
87) Magic Wok
88) Mama's
89) Mangia Qui
90) Mars Lounge
91) Matts Snackbar
92) Maverick Restaurant
93) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
94) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
95) Mc Donald's
96) Mc Donald's
97) Mercado's Pizza
98) Mezzluna
99) Michael's Snack Bar
100) Mike's Ice Cream
101) Molly Branngans Restaurant
102) Monte Carlo Express
103) Monte Carlo Pizza II
104) Multi Cultural Cuisine
105) Munchies
106) Neato Burrito
107) New Plaza Diner
108) New York Fried Chicken
109) Nick's 1014 Cafe
110) Noma
111) North Street Grocer & Trading
112) North Street Zephyr Express
113) O D's Place
114) O D's Plantation
115) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
116) Our Family Restaurant
117) Outback Steakhouse
118) Pan Tree Restaurant
119) Panda Chinese Kitchen
120) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
121) Parev Restaurant
122) Pasquale's Restaurant
123) Passage To India
124) Paxtang Grill
125) Paxton Street Pub
126) Pee Dee's Tavern
127) Pep Grill
128) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
129) Pho Paster
130) Piccolo Cafe
131) Pizza Hut
132) Platt's Seafood
133) Politesse
134) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
135) Pub
136) Pub At 202 Locust
137) Raspberries Bistro
138) Red Door
139) River Side Village Park
140) Roberto's Pizza
141) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
142) Roxy's Cafe
143) Saigon Delite
144) Sammy's Authentic Italian
145) Sandwich Man
146) Scotts' Grille
147) Seventeenth Street Carryout
148) Shab's Pita Stoller
149) Showtime Ii
150) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
151) Simply Turkey Ii
152) Slammerz
153) Soft Spot
154) Sorrento Pizzeria
155) South Philly Hoagies
156) Spot
157) St Clair's Snack Bar
158) St Moritz
159) Starbucks Coffee
160) State Restaurant
161) Stocks On Second Inc
162) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
163) Strictly Catering
164) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
165) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
166) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
167) Sunny Yean
168) Super Woks
169) Taco Bell
170) Thanhai Hai Cafe
171) Theo's Snack Bar
172) Tokyo Express
173) Tony & Sam's Deli
174) Tony's Cafe
175) Towne House Coffee Shop
176) Tree's Tavern
177) Tropic Chicken
178) Tropic Chicken
179) Two Brothers Pizza
180) Uncle Moe's Cafe
181) Violet's On Walnut
182) Zembie's Sports Tavern
183) Zephyr Express
184) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
FYI Troegs moved to Hershey, Pa., as of Oct. 2011.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eben Halberstam Eben Halberstam, Fairfax, VA
(02/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Good
-Great price for 8 samples of their beer -Tour of the brewery (it fills up fast to sign up early) -Fun gift shop -Limited seating -No real food selection

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Virginia Beach, VA
(08/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Finnaly made it here after so many years going to Appalachian for some eats. We Will be back...every brewery needs a tasting room where you can buy beer and not have to be rushed out to make room for the next tour!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(08/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Gigantic props to Troegs and all they do! Year-round beers are super: Pale is a great "go-to", Hopback is nice for the hopsters out there, Sunshine is great when you want it on the lighter side. Seasonals are hard to beat: Nugget Nectar? You know how good it is. Porter, Mad Elf (dangerous!) more than make the grade as well. The Scratch Beer series is a stroke of genius; a constant flow of new, creative and exciting product. The new tasting room area is nice, and their festival can't be beat. Hmmm, what did I forget? Oh yeah, the bathrooms are clean too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I agree with the majority of reviewers. Awesome beer. Very pleasant experience in the tasting room. They really made you feel like they were glad to see you. Happy to talk beer with you, answer all questions and give you seconds on the samples. We liked everything we tried, especially the pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Stopped by to take the brewery tour during the weekend of the Harrisburg brewfest. This is great beer made by great people. The beer variety should please most geeks (especially love the Mad Elf & the Hopback is a real treat). Cases of their one shot beers were on sale if you are looking for something different. Worth making a special trip..............

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Miller Bill Miller, Denton, MD
(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in for the saturday afternoon brewery tour on 9/1. First time visitor though I am very familiar with Troeg's products from my many travels in PA. Brother Chris was the tour guide and did a nice job in showing us around his very clean and modern production brewery. Generous with the free samples before and after the tour. Seemed like there was around 8 to 10 different ones to sample. All the beers were top quality. My favorite Nugget Nectar was out of season so it was not on. Would be nice if they could make this one year around as it it hugely popular and highly sought after. One of the most complete and well stocked gift shops that I have ever seen. Enjoyed my visit and would like to see Troeg's products in NY sometime in the future. Keep up the great work guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Great
I live in Carlisle, PA. and I am so lucky to have Troeg's so close by (25 minutes). The Brothers and staff are great and are always willing to answer any questions you may have. They have a great knowledge of beer!!! They have a great year round selection and their seasonals are to die for. The best seasonal and one of my favorite beers of all time is the Nugget Nector Imperial Amber. The Troeg's brothers must have made a deal with the devil to make such a great beer for us "Hop Heads."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Newman Matt Newman, Carlisle, PA
(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Great
Amazing brews, couldn't find one that I didn't like. No food here, just a brewery, but worth a look to pick up some quality beer. If you're in the neighborhood and want to eat, stop by Appalachian Brewing Co. The beer's not as good, but the food is tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kirk kirk, aurora, IL
(06/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Stopped in recently, and as always, was very impressed by the quality of the beers here: well-differentiated, flawless, and delicious. Not sure what else you could ask for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Troegs is a great local brewey with some amazing beer. Thank goodness for the return of the mad elf! The Troegonator is always a favorite!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Lancaster, PA
(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
the mad elf is loose! I just got my first case this year. yummy in my tummy at a 11% it warms a body up, don't miss this one it goes way too fast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim jim, b-more, MD
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
This was one I wanted to try for a while. Was in PA over Thanksgiving and found their sampler 12 pack in a beer distributor. God how I HATE that you can't buy singles in PA(well, I couldn't find a place in Gburg...)!! It contained the Pale Ale which was amazing. Also included was the the hopback ale which was killer. There was also the Dream Weaver Wheat which I didn't get to try. This is a great brewery and if I have the time I would love to tour the brewery on my next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, tampa, FL
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Troegs and Victory make the best beer in PA -- tie for first place in my mind. Victory's Prima Pils and Hop Devil can't be beat, but for pure day-to-day drinkability and joy in life, the Troegs Pale Ale is amazing, the Troeg's hopback ale incredible, and the re-formulated Dream Weaver Wheat wonderfully thirst-quenching (the latter soon to be added to the variety pack in place of the mundane lager). And, to top it all off, the Troeg brother-brewers and employees are the nicest bunch of folks. If you are from out of state, go to the tour Saturday afternoons!! If only they started a brew-pub!! Please...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Lancaster, PA
(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great Harrisburg Beer!! Friendly staff, love the tours! Keep it brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I tried the doppelbock and the Hopback Amber Ale. At first I wasn't sure about the Hopback because I thought the name implied that it was supposed to be the super-hoppy beer of the bunch -- Troeg's "Hop Devil" if you will. After I checked out the website and got an explanation for the name, I came away a lot more satisfied. The Doppelbock is about 95% of the way there but doesn't quite reach the level of more flavorful offerings of the style from other craft brewers. Both were very good stuff, IMO just one or two notches short of "the best stuff." Good enough for me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Definitely a case of getting it right and keeping it that way. Beers have always been killer, right out of the box, and have only gotten better with time. Finally got there on a Saturday for the tour and then wound up instead talking with Ed, one of their great ambassadors for all things beer. Plenty of samples of Oatmeal Stout (try it on cask at KClinger's--yummy!) and Hop Back. The place was packed with fans who also were enjoying the Pale, Nut Brown and Troegenator (if you've never tried it--sit down before you start). Lots of gear, case sales and growler fills. I'm always impressed when I head out and hear someone mention Troegs when they talk about great PA beer. Impressed, but not surprised!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
No mediocre beers here. They had a single batch called Nugget Nector that should be a regular brew. A restaurant would be a good addition

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Beck Jack Beck, Mineral Wells, WV
(03/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Wow. Stopped in twice in the past two weeks, and the beers to be sampled were top of the mark. Troegenator, Mad Elf, Van den Hoorn (whoops, not supposed to talk about that one), Pale Ale, Hopback, all excellent, all consistent, all drinkable as all get-out. Fantastic work, and they're showing some real growth: new brewhouse arrives this month. Go boys, go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! N/A
I had the dream weaver over the summer and was told to try the Mad Elf in december. The staff gave me direction as to how to find Mad Elf in NJ. After a screw up at my local store I found it in Red Bank. It is probably one of the best Christmas seasonal beers I ever had. 11% alcohol and full of flavor. I am looking foward to actually getting to visit the brewery in Harrisburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Troegs is by far my favorite brewery! Their beers are truly the best around. The pale ale is awesome ... wonderfully hoppy but with ballance, unlike so many others. The hop back is also a to-die-for brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Etheridge Mark Etheridge, Myersville, MD
(10/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Chris and John have rightly focused on quality of craft instead of size - Saturday tour was awesome and is worth the trip, even though no brewpub. Pale ale is some of the best I have had, and the hopback ale is amazing. Fresh cases now sold on site and beer now available in growlers. Troegs, along with Victory, offers the best-tasting beer in PA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Buckwalter John Buckwalter, Lancaster, PA
(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The Troegner Brother's hands were touched by God! Their Hefeweizen is akin to liquid manna. Now, don't get me wrong, far be it from me to piss off the religious right. Troegs isn't a religious experience, but I've gotta tell you, one sip of their magical brews and it's paradise!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I picked up a sampler case during a recent vacation in Lancaster. This is without question one of the best bottled beers I have had. The Lager is very good. The Rugged Trail Nut Brown Ale and the Hopback Amber Ale have excellent flavor without being overpowering (I'm NOT a hophead). This is not available in my neck of the woods, but I will look for it when I travel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Great Tour Chris and John are great guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlisle, PA
(01/07/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.573 seconds) 07:46:26 54.166.39.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS