PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Springfield, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 01:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Springfield > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 78 / 100
[Closed - 2006]
Springfield Square South
1001 Baltimore Pike #1B
Springfield, PA 19064
United States
(610) 544-4440
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: October 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Springfield, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of John Harvard's Brew House
20 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Bryan Street Pub
(2 miles)

2) Township Line Beer and Cigars
(2 miles)

3) Oakmont National Pub
(3 miles)

4) Brownies 23 East
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN PHILADELPHIA ARPRT
2) HOLIDAY INN PHILADELPHIA A/P
3) MCINTOSH INN OF MEDIA INC
4) RAMADA INN AIRPORT SOUTH
5) RED ROOF PHILADELPHIA AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Radnor Township No. 1
2) Collen Brook Farm
3) Federal School
4) Grange, The
5) Lansdowne Theatre
6) Leiper, Thomas, Estate
7) Lower Swedish Cabin
8) Media Armory
9) Morton Homestead
10) Morton, Morton, House
11) Nitre Hall
12) Ogden House
13) Old Main and Chemistry Building
14) Old Rose Tree Tavern
15) Pont Reading
16) Risley, Dr. Samuel D., House
17) Square Tavern
18) Thunderbird Lodge
19) Twentieth Century Club of Lansdowne
20) West, Benjamin, Birthplace
21) Westlawn
22) Wolley Stille
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 420 Pizza House
2) Alfredo Ristorante
3) Anthony's Restaurant
4) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
5) Barone's Tuscan Grill
6) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
7) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
8) Bistro At Tuscany
9) Boston Market
10) Brookside Village Pizza
11) Bruster's Real Ice Cream
12) Burger King
13) Burger King
14) C J Mc Gee's
15) Caffe Bellissimo
16) Carnival Ice Cream
17) Carrabba's Italian Grill
18) Cascata Cafe & Ristorante
19) Central Park Restaurant
20) China Inn
21) China Moon Chinese Restaurant
22) Chuck E Cheese's
23) Cocco's Pizza
24) Cocco's Pizza-Springfield
25) Coffee Station
26) Coldstone Creamery
27) Comedy Cabaret Inc
28) Dairy Cottage
29) De LA Salle Assn
30) Devine Occasions Catering
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Dragon Garden
33) Dragon II Chinese Restaurant
34) Drexel Hill Junior Pizza
35) Duke's Tavern
36) Dunkin Donuts
37) Dynasty Chinese Buffet
38) Friendly's Restaurant
39) Gaetano's Pizzeria & Italian
40) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
41) Harvards John Brew House
42) Heng's Thai Cuisine
43) Hibachi Of Springfield
44) Houlihan's
45) Hungry A
46) International House-Pancakes
47) Jim's Steaks
48) Johnny Paisano's Inc
49) Kfc
50) La Pizza Nostra
51) Lamb Tavern
52) Lee Garden
53) Lima Pizzeria
54) Maggie O'neill's Pub
55) Margaret Kuo's Chop Sticks
56) Morton Pizza
57) Nick's Old Original Roast Beef
58) Ninth Street Catering
59) Old Country Buffet
60) Outback Steakhouse
61) Peace A Pizza
62) Pizza Odyssey
63) Rosario's Restaurant
64) Ruby Tuesday
65) Rush Inn
66) Sbarro
67) Sciarrino's Pizzeria
68) Scoops
69) Slack's Hoagie Shack
70) Sleepy Hollow Delly
71) Sleepy Hollow Pizza
72) Springfield Inn
73) Springfield Masonic Hall
74) Springtown Community Hall
75) Stanley Mc Glone's Kup Inn
76) Starbucks
77) Steak & Hoagie Works
78) Stephen's
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Susan's Own
81) Szechuan Hill Chinese Rstrnt
82) Thunderbird II
83) Timothy's
84) Township Line Pizza
85) Vera's Water Ice Co
86) Village Porch
87) Wendy's
88) Ye Olde Ale House
1) 420 Pizza House
2) Alfredo Ristorante
3) Anthony's Restaurant
4) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
5) Barone's Tuscan Grill
6) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
7) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
8) Bistro At Tuscany
9) Boston Market
10) Brookside Village Pizza
11) Bruster's Real Ice Cream
12) Burger King
13) Burger King
14) C J Mc Gee's
15) Caffe Bellissimo
16) Carnival Ice Cream
17) Carrabba's Italian Grill
18) Cascata Cafe & Ristorante
19) Central Park Restaurant
20) China Inn
21) China Moon Chinese Restaurant
22) Chuck E Cheese's
23) Cocco's Pizza
24) Cocco's Pizza-Springfield
25) Coffee Station
26) Coldstone Creamery
27) Comedy Cabaret Inc
28) Dairy Cottage
29) De LA Salle Assn
30) Devine Occasions Catering
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Dragon Garden
33) Dragon II Chinese Restaurant
34) Drexel Hill Junior Pizza
35) Duke's Tavern
36) Dunkin Donuts
37) Dynasty Chinese Buffet
38) Friendly's Restaurant
39) Gaetano's Pizzeria & Italian
40) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
41) Harvards John Brew House
42) Heng's Thai Cuisine
43) Hibachi Of Springfield
44) Houlihan's
45) Hungry A
46) International House-Pancakes
47) Jim's Steaks
48) Johnny Paisano's Inc
49) Kfc
50) La Pizza Nostra
51) Lamb Tavern
52) Lee Garden
53) Lima Pizzeria
54) Maggie O'neill's Pub
55) Margaret Kuo's Chop Sticks
56) Morton Pizza
57) Nick's Old Original Roast Beef
58) Ninth Street Catering
59) Old Country Buffet
60) Outback Steakhouse
61) Peace A Pizza
62) Pizza Odyssey
63) Rosario's Restaurant
64) Ruby Tuesday
65) Rush Inn
66) Sbarro
67) Sciarrino's Pizzeria
68) Scoops
69) Slack's Hoagie Shack
70) Sleepy Hollow Delly
71) Sleepy Hollow Pizza
72) Springfield Inn
73) Springfield Masonic Hall
74) Springtown Community Hall
75) Stanley Mc Glone's Kup Inn
76) Starbucks
77) Steak & Hoagie Works
78) Stephen's
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Susan's Own
81) Szechuan Hill Chinese Rstrnt
82) Thunderbird II
83) Timothy's
84) Township Line Pizza
85) Vera's Water Ice Co
86) Village Porch
87) Wendy's
88) Ye Olde Ale House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Just a great value for a meal and great beer. Plus their Growler deal is fantastic! Should be the model for all other brew pubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richboro, PA
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I did the sampler – summer, pils, amber, IPA, brown ale, and stout. I thought the IPA was really quite excellent. We had a nice dinner with attentive service from our server Stacy (not very busy on a Thursday evening). The "Backwoods Louisiana Smothered Fried Chicken" was very good, although nothing like I ever saw during my years living in Louisiana.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Wanted to fill a growler for home before the Iron Hill Beer Fest--hadn't been to this John Harvard's, so it was a logical stop. Tried the styles I had yet to taste at other locations, and enjoyed them all. The chili cerveza was on from Cinco de Mayo and had a faint chili taste throughout. Loch Lanier was sweetish and slighly smoky while the Russian Imperial Stout didn't hit you as big as 8.2% would seem. The two IPA were very different; the Imperial was very malty, but not as hoppy as I would have guessed, and the Insomniac was my favorite: fresh, balanced with lots of Cascade and Willamette which made it very drinkable. Definitely will stop if in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Although not a beer fan until recently, I have been to Harvard's in the past but as a diner not as a beer advocate. Now that I have found the true meaning of beer I have been visiting JH's on a regular basis. I usually go just after work (luckily I am done at 3:30) so I can beat the evening dinner crowds. The bartenders have all been great with their service and willingness to offer samples. Just out a week or two ago the Outmeal Stout is a fabulous brew. Wonderfully dark with a great smoky-coffee-caramel flavor. Worth taking home in a growler, but drink it quick! Dissapearing soon is the Grand Cru, amber colred, smooth and flavorful but last I heard there was only about a keg left.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JoeNobody JoeNobody, Aldan, PA
(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
Service varies, some days it is good, other days it is absolutely terrible! Once we waited 20 minutes before the waiter even acknowledged us!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Springfield, PA
(06/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Cant go wrong with Harvard's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Had a very enjoyable lunch there. Greg, the manager, was very friendly and Jack, the bartender, made sure that everyone kept a full glass. I had the Super Sampler of beers to get thje full spectrum. We also had the black bean soup..outstanding! and the Three Cheese Queso Dip....also outstanding! Will be back there when in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(07/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
These guys got it right! My favorite Harvard visited from among Springfield, Washington DC, and Delaware and they are damn good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JoeS. JoeS., Wilmington, DE
(05/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
We've always been pleased with John Harvard's. Their food is very good, and their beers are solidly good, with an occasional standout selection. Service is always courteous and prompt. Great place for lunch (where if you go 5 times the 6th is free) or dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anne and Jeff Anne and Jeff, West Chester, PA
(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
A good range of beers, all well made. While there wasn't one style that was exceptional, there were more than enough "good" beers to get my repeat business. Imperial stout was very good this year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D.R. Montzingo D.R. Montzingo, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Stained glass pictures of local political figures. They know how to kiss butt. Overall good family place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eli Sentman Eli Sentman, Springfield, PA
(01/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Wilcox Sam Wilcox, Woodlyn, PA
(11/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Notes from 3-15-1998.... Is this the first family brewpub I've seen? Brunch?!? Kids?!? Food excellent, but beers seem conflicted between styles and presentation. Not to say that's a complaint; they challenge me, which is better than the "same ol' beers" syndrome one gets after hitting too many pubs. A brewpub to take the in-laws to instead of Bennigans' or TGIFriday's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Service was very fast. Beer and food were excellent. I had the Celtic strong ale and the porter. Only complaint was that the waitress didn't know the beer very well. This John Harvard's didn't seem as busy as the one in Wayne but the food and beer is the same. The John Harvard'sBrew Houses are all from the same mold but they do a good job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Miller Robert Miller, Hatfield, PA
(03/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
While I rate the overall quality of JH's beer as only good, they do produce some beers that deserve the Great rating. Currently on tap is the Winter Warmer Vienna Lager and it is an excellent beer. It has more body than others I've sampled of the style and while I would describe the beer as malty, it is nicely balanced with the right amount of hops, thus it is not too sweet. The food is very good and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is very comfortable as well. We enjoy the Springfield location over the Wayne location because it isn't as busy and it's less of a meat market in the late dinner hours. John Harvard's is a great place to go in spite of the fact that I wish they produced more beers that are of the caliber of the Vienna Lager.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(03/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good
The variety of beers and the quality of food were above average. The biggest disappointment was that they allow smoking, unlike most brewpubs, which contradicts the idea of good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Moist John Moist, Sacramento, CA
(02/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Todd has produced some really good beers. The selection is significantly larger than the surrounding Brewpubs. The food is outstanding and reasonably priced.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Media, PA
(02/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
Really enjoyed the Nut Brown and Red Raspberry Ales. The food selection, taste and quality were pretty good. However, I was disappointed with the service. I waited almost 15 minutes just to place my beer order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(01/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I like it very much. I had a Salmon dish which was very good. The atmosphere is great as is the beer. I was told that they will be adding to there beer selection all of the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Nick Terry Nick, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/23/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.684 seconds) 01:51:36 54.226.191.80, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS