PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Lake Grove, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 02:16 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Grove > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
2093 Smithhaven Plaza
Lake Grove, NY 11755
United States
(631) 979-2739
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Grove, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of John Harvard's Brew House
17 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Daytona's House of Beer
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Golden Pineapple
2) Liberty Hollow Bed & Breakfast
3) Miss Scarlett's B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST INN AT ISLID-MACARTHUR AP
2) ECONO LODGE MACARTHUR ARPT
3) HAMPTON INN L I ISLANDIA
4) HYATT REGENCY WIND WATCH
5) RESIDENCE INN HOLTSVLL LONG ISL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) First Congregational Church of New Village
2) First Presbyterian Church
3) Halliock Inn
4) Hawkins Homestead
5) Longbotham, Nathaniel, House
6) Mallows, The
7) Mount, William Sydney, House
8) Phyfe, James W. and Anne Smith, Estate
9) Shore Cottage
10) St. James Chapel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A B Silverstein's Restaurant
2) Akropolis Greek Restaurant
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
5) Bavarian Inn
6) Becket's Pub
7) Black Beards Restaurant & Clam
8) Blimpie Subs & Salads
9) Boston Market
10) Bourbon Street Cafe
11) Burger King
12) Burger King
13) Chan's Restaurant Inc
14) Chinatown Kitchen Inc
15) Ching Hoi Kitchen
16) Dino's Italian Cuisine
17) Emerald Gardens Caterers
18) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
19) Food Wah Chinese Kitchen
20) Friendly's Restaurant
21) Friendly's Restaurant
22) Giorgio's Pizza
23) Gloria Jeans Italian Ices
24) Good Steer
25) Grand Garden
26) Great Steak & Potato Co
27) Great Wall Restaurant
28) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
29) Hoshi Sushi Of Stoney Brook
30) Houlihan's
31) Intermezzo Americana Bar & Grl
32) International House-Pancakes
33) J & R's Steakhouse
34) John Harvard's Brew House
35) K H Blvd Deli Inc
36) Kazu Japanese Restaurant
37) King Wah Kitchen
38) La Grova Ristorante & Pizzeria
39) Lake Grove Delicatessen
40) Lake Grove Diner
41) Lake Rock Townhouse Diner Inc
42) Lan Wo Take Out Chinese Rstrnt
43) Leisure Restaurant
44) Little Italy
45) Manganello's Pizza
46) Mc Donald's
47) Mc Donald's
48) Morewood Deli
49) Mt Fuji Restaurant Corp
50) Nathan's Famous
51) New York Gourmet Deli Inc
52) Panda Express
53) Planet Dublin
54) Pomodorino Ristorante Italiano
55) Ray's Deli
56) Red Lobster Restaurant
57) Ruby Tuesday
58) Sarku Japan
59) Shallot Restaurant
60) Specialty Catering
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Sundried Tomato Cafe
63) Taco Bell
64) Tgi Friday's
65) Tony's Pizzeria Restaurant
66) Umbertos Pizzeria
67) Uncle Joe's Pizza
68) Uno Chicago Grill
69) Vincents
70) Yin & Yang Restaurant
71) Zan's Kosher Deli
72) Zorba Greek Iii
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think this is one of those diamond in the rough places that look like anything else you'll find in suburbia on Long Island but for the people who are fortunate enough to stop by and check it out will be pleasantly surprised. The place has a nice bar (that does get crowded during peak hours), a private room for parties and a spacious dining hall. The whole place has a nice "old pub" feel to it, with old pictures and wood throughout the place.

You can walk by the brewery and look at all the upcoming beers that are making their way through the process. Every time I walk by there I smile as I know how delicious the beer will be. Typical selection consists of 5 to 9 beers ranging from light to dark.

The food and service is consistent as is the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick B Nick B, Smithtown, NY
(03/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Loved going to this place when I lived on Long Island. One of the best parts of the Island!! I miss it SO much. Summer blonde is great, along with the pumpkin ale and the spiced ale. Also the watermelon and IPA are great too!!

Food is very good too. People were always nice and helpful.

I brought a growler back to Michigan. Almost drank it on the way back, but wanted to savor it (and share it with my hunny) when we got back. Also got a pint with their logo on it..just wish it said Long Island on it. Oh well. I miss this place SO much! I'll be sure to visit it whenever I go back to Long Island.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from June June, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
CASK CONDITIONED is BACK! With Southhampton Publilck's hand pump out of service, that makes JH the only place on LI where you can get it. It is currently the Blonde Ale. I wanted to try the Scotch Ale or the pumpkin second but had another cask since it was so good. Food was better than average this time around. My buffalo chicken sandwich was cooked perfectly and my wife's raviolli and an excellent homemade sauce.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter B Peter B, Deer Park, NY
(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
I tried the 5 beer sampler, and all the beers to be excellent for their styles. I was unable to stay as long as wanted due to other obligations so I bought a growler of Willy's IPA, it also was excellent. I hope to get back to Long Island next year and spend a little more time at JH.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Dundalk, MD
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We stopped in for lunch on Sunday, first time here in a couple of years. I tried the Omega 5 ESB and I thought it was top notch. The best I have had in a while (I don't know why more brewpubs do not brew ESBs). I also tried the Nut Brown Ale and it was real good (again, not the standard brewpub brew...and one of my favorites). The food was solid and the service was really attentive. I wish this place was closer to my house

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
We stopped in here for a late lunch on Easter Sunday and didn't realize they had a brunch buffet (with no other kitchen service) that was going to be wrapping up in 20 minutes. Our server let us wait it out and get menu service, which were preferred after checking out what was left of the buffet. While we waited my wife tried the Amber, which was just OK, and I had the Cask IPA, which was excellent. I also tried the Bock, which was a nice malty brew, with a slight alcoholic finish. We both got the southwestern style chicken over salad thing (I've forgotton the name) which was OK. The greens were a little limp (left over from the buffet?) and there was a bit too much dressing, but the seasoned grilled chicken was very tasty, with a spicy kick. Our original server, Steve, was friendly and efficient. He passed us off to Danielle due to his shift ending, and she was also competent and friendly. Overall, I wouldn't let a little lettuce keep me from returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
We visit at least twice a month... best time to go is a weeknight as weekends the place is crowded = poor service + "ok" food. On a quiet weeknight the food + service are much improved... The beer selection is always very good. The latest flavored beers can be a bit of a gamble... Very good value! - TJ

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, St James, NY
(09/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
We go here about once a month, most recent was last night. As usual an excellent selection/quality of the beer. I had the Celtic Red, not too malty and w/ a smooth creamy head-highly recommended. Also this is one of only 2 locations on LI where one can get 'cask conditioned' ale. On the hand pump was a West Coast IPA-again highly recommended. Food quality has always been great and the service good. This place is PACKED on the weekends, so expect to wait 45-60 min at least for a table. (once 90 min). One change for the worse has been the apparent discontinuation of the "Beer Dinners", which I miss, and the happy hours are not as good as they used to be. No more 1/2 off appetizers, and pints are only $1-2 off and not on the weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Deer Park, NY
(03/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Everytime we get back to NY, we now hit three places...Giuseppi's (sp) for the best Pizza...Pine Tree Inn for the best Italian food and atmosphere (both in Huntington Station/Melville)...and more recently John Harvard's has become a fixture. JH has become a required visit because of its consistently awesome beers, great-to-awesome selection and excellent food. The place has actually grown on me too. The most recent trip was on December 6th, a little surprise party for my Mom. Due to the good fortune of being there at this time of year, we all had the pleasure of experiencing their Santa's Sauce. Very very tasty! Their Nut Brown Ale & Scotch beers are great too. If you like lobster bisque, you must order it...it's fabulous. The food, in general is at least "very good" if not "great." Rats, now I want some of that lobster bisque... Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gordon Brooks Gordon Brooks, Omaha, NE
(05/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
A decent place to have a beer. I liked the church-like, stained glass window with Ben on the outside and Jerry on the inside (not the ice cream guys). I haven't been to the original site in Boston, but it was nice to find this place in an unfamiliar area. Good IPA, and I liked their Presidential Ale---fuller bodied than the IPA, but still with a good hop bite. Unfortunately, they didn't have anything on cask when I visited, but it was a Monday afternoon, so it's understandable. Gorgeous bartender.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(02/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
I have been to the one in boston. This one could not compare atmosphere-wise. Not bad place to have a couple with friends. Not a place that makes you wanna stay all night though

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Kitz Matthew Kitz, coplay, PA
(12/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
beer ranges from good to bad

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kiernan Kiernan, Syracuse, NY
(11/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Very typical of the John Harvard franchises. Always a good time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Waitresses (hi Britt!) super-friendly, and knowledgeable about the beers. Part of a chain, but you wouldn't know it from the quality beers they make. Skip the American Light -- it's for Bud drinkers -- and go for the Pale, Nut Brown and Porter/Stout (whichever they have) -- and be sure to try the cask porter, a personal favorite now! Very inexpensive as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Witzel Dave Witzel, New York, NY
(08/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Excellent beer, food, people. Cool place to hang.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Mccormick John Mccormick, Wading River, NY
(05/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
There calamari is the best I've ever tasted. If you like calamari you have to try theirs. They always have a fruit beer on tap!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Molloy John Molloy, St. James, NY
(11/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Always a beer on Beer Engine. Great porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Daniels Bruce Daniels, East Hampton, NY
(04/12/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.632 seconds) 02:16:02 54.204.218.95, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS