PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sophisticated Otter - Johnson City, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 08:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Johnson City > Sophisticated Otter
Sophisticated Otter Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sophisticated Otter
Overall: Great    Score: 75.6 / 100
400 Ashe Street
Johnson City, TN 37604
United States
(423) 928-1705
Listed Since: October 1997
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Johnson City, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sophisticated Otter
40 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Acoustic Coffeehouse
(0 mile)

2) Bailey's Sports Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hart House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CARNEGIE HOTEL
2) COMFORT INN JOHNSON CITY
3) COMFORT SUITES JOHNSON CITY
4) DAYS INN JOHNSON CITY
5) DOUBLETREE JOHNSON CITY
6) ECONO LODGE JOHNSON CITY
7) FAIRFIELD JOHNSON CITY
8) RAMADA LTD JOHNSON CITY TN
9) RED ROOF JOHNSON CITY
10) SLEEP INN AND SUITES JOHNSON CI
11) SUPER 8 JOHNSON CITY TN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bashor Mill
2) Hammer, Isaac, House
3) Hunt, Henson, House
4) Montrose Court Apartments
5) Range, Peter, Stone House
6) Robin's Roost
7) Shelbridge
8) St. Paul AME Zion Church
9) Thankful Baptist Church
10) Tipton-Haynes House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amigo Mexican Restaurant
2) Apex
3) Atlanta Bread Co
4) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
5) Bottoms Up
6) Buc Deli Drive-Thru
7) Buc Store
8) Buc Store
9) Buck's Pizza
10) Burger King
11) Cahootenany's
12) Capital Pizza Huts Inc
13) Carrabba's Italian Grill
14) Centre At Millennium Park
15) Cheddar's Casual Cafe
16) Chili's Grill & Bar
17) Corner Bar
18) Cottage
19) Cranberries
20) Dixieland Jamboree Bar
21) Domino's Pizza
22) Down Home
23) El Torito Mexican Taqueria
24) Fi Fi's
25) Fifi's Restaurant
26) Firehouse Restaurant
27) Golden Corral Buffet & Grill
28) Halo
29) Hardee's
30) Heather's Hide-AWAY LLC
31) Heavenly Gyro
32) Horseshoe Restaurant & Lounge
33) Italian Pizza Pub
34) Jane's Lunch Box
35) Java Rush
36) Jersey Mike's Giant Submarines
37) Jersey Mike's Submarines
38) Kfc
39) Krystal-Baskin Robbins Rstrnt
40) Little Caesars Pizza
41) Long John Silver's
42) Makato Japanese Grill
43) Makato Japanese Restaurant
44) Marble Slab Creamery
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mc Donald's
47) Mecca Cafe
48) Mid City Grill
49) Monitor Systems Inc
50) Oasis Deli Delivery
51) Panera Bread
52) Papa John's Pizza
53) Pharaohs
54) Pizza Hut
55) Pizza Inn
56) Planet
57) Poor Richard's On Campus
58) Rib It Bbq
59) Ruby Tuesday
60) Second Level
61) Smoothie King
62) Stir Fry Cafe
63) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
64) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Super China Buffet
67) Taco Bell
68) TCBY
69) Vito's Italian Connection
70) Waffle House
71) Wok & Hibachi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
So we reserved a room at the Carnegie before we knew they stopped brewing so we decided to visit anyway. The bartenders that work there are just awesome and they have a good selection of local brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Tried the Pale Ale and Porter. Both excellent. Somewhat limited selection with only four in house brews. Full bar and other commercial brews available. Nice food selection. Very good chicken wings ! Service was just fine. Good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Livermore, CA
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
New brewmaster arrived from Asheville, NC earlier this year. He's improved both the selection and the quality of the beer a great deal. I had the IPA and the Porter and both were quite good - vast improvement over the last time I visited in late 2003.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Parker C Parker, Kingsport, TN
(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Sophisticated Otter offers about 4 to 6 beers on tap, some of which vary depending on the season. When I visited, I sampled the IPA, Pale Ale, Raspberry Wheat, Porter, and Honey Blonde. None of the products were very good at all, and some of then even had a staleness or sourness, which is indicative of a beer than has gone bad.

The menu here is also very limited, with only salads, appetizers, sandwiches, beverages, and one dessert. Just like with the beer, the food lacks character. It is almost devoid of any type of seasoning and it all tastes very bland and very forgettable.

The atmosphere here is ok, with two separate rooms- one of which is used for live bands. There is also an outdoor patio. Service is pretty good, too. But if this establishment wants to grow and thrive, the management really needs to make some improvements to the food and the beer. The products are bland and unmemorable, with nothing noteworthy in the entire lineup

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Carey Bryan Carey, Kettering, OH
(03/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Sophisticated Otter offers about 4 to 6 beers on tap, some of which vary depending on the season. When I visited, I sampled the IPA, Pale Ale, Raspberry Wheat, Porter, and Honey Blonde. None of the products were very good at all, and some of then even had a staleness or sourness, which is indicative of a beer than has gone bad.

The menu here is also very limited, with only salads, appetizers, sandwiches, beverages, and one dessert. Just like with the beer, the food lacks character. It is almost devoid of any type of seasoning and it all tastes very bland and very forgettable.

The atmosphere here is ok, with two separate rooms- one of which is used for live bands. There is also an outdoor patio. Service is pretty good, too. But if this establishment wants to grow and thrive, the management really needs to make some improvements to the food and the beer. The products are bland and unmemorable, with nothing noteworthy in the entire lineup.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Bryan, Kettering, OH
(03/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Good
The Otter has grown alot since the opening day in 1998. The new owners have done a wonderful job by making it more useful and enjoyable. However, the service (waiters/waitresses/beer master) do not have a clean hygene appearance. I would hate to imagine the personal hygene of the cooks! ugh! Anyhow, beer is wonderful, place is awesome, but please have respect for your customers by hiring clean individuals!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chattanooga, TN
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Porter and Pumpkin Ale were excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Annapolis, MD
(10/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
Tried to go for lunch before the nascar race, But they don't open till 4 pm on Saturday. What is up with that? That sucks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary T Gary T, Trimble, MO
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Otter does still brew Honey blonde. Unfortunately, the large floods of the area damged a couple of our batches (our basement was severly flooded and through our brewing and coolers into a flux!!) and we have been temporarily out of some brews (we have a very small capacity). So we apologize to Heath on the absence of the Honey Blonde on his visit. We are hoping to increase capacity sometime in the next year. Thanks for trying us out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Johnson City, TN
(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
The beer quality is different from batch to batch, although last time the beer tasted watered down. The service is good, and the beer maker friendly. Overall the beer quality is just not up to par, to be rated this high. There best beer honey blonde, they do not even make it anymore.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heath Strasser Heath Strasser, Johnson City, TN
(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Awesome!
The other guy from Kingsport must have had some bad luck. I've been a few times and have always had a great time with good beer. It is a great atmosphere. Can be a little tough to get a drink if it is really busy. Talked to one of the owners and he told us that they were working hard to get a "brew pub" type menu. Extremely nice guy. Also said they we're working on increasing capacity. If you like a laid back atmostphere with some good beer, I would recommend checking it out...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Kingsport, TN
(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
I believe we got much more Otter than we got Sophistication... Ugh, don't go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingsport, TN
(06/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Very very good. Go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Carrollton, TX
(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy Good
Enjoyed the atmosphere. The service is not that great though. The employees need customer service lessons. Love the band selections. I'll go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pseudo, Knoxville, TN
(04/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
In-house beer is coming very soon. Go there and get drunk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review beerdrinker, Johnson City, TN
(03/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
as a frequent out of town flyer, we're glad you're open again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greeneville, tn
(02/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Otter will be open for business Feb. 28 2003. The brewmaster will be Jay Hollingshead. Jay learned most of his brewing techniques from Ruben Jones and Pete Galloway. They will consistantly carry a: Honey Blonde,Amber,Porter, and I think a Pale Ale. They will also be rotating some specialty/seasonal brews. I don't think they will have their own beer ready to go on opening night(delay in the brewers license) but they will have some Highlands and maybe another local brewery beers. Thank heaven that The Otter is back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Billy, Johnson City, Tn
(02/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
My brother and I were just wondering about the fate of the Otter last night. (I just bumped into this site today) Glad to hear it may be coming back. I used to frequent there before I moved to Maryville. Looking forward to your re-opening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jello Jello, Maryville, TN
(12/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Otter is coming back. We are in the process of securing our Brewers notice. We are working with some old and new faces to get brewing again. We are aiming from late December to mid Janurary. Thanks everyone for your support and please pass on the news. THANKS!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Johnson City, TN
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Word is that the Otter is coming back, hopefully by the new year. It will re-open w/ the same brewer as before. Not of sure of his name, but when they closed in October they had a good quality & selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Russ, Johnson City, TN
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bankrupt. Johnson City has lost it's only brewpub :^(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Johnson City, TN
(10/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
An oasis in eastern Tennessee, the Otter certainly wouldn't cut it in an established beer market. Three products to choose from: the Hefeweizen looked and felt like pink lemonade, but the flavor and smell were pretty close to the real thing. The amber and porter were decent representatives of their respective styles. I'd go back (actually, I've already been twice), as it is the best thing going in this part of the world. Not saying much...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Arlington, VA
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Tried all the beers in a sampler set. Pale was my favorite. Food also excellent. Nice place in a small market. Stop if you can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Reuben has brought good beer back to the Otter after nearly a 3 year absence. I would recommend that anyone who has drunk bad beer from them over the last few years give them another try. They still have trouble keeping all the beers on at the same time, and they don't have a stout, but since Dec 1 when Reuben's creations started flowing, they have been good to excellent.

The porter is every bit as good as Pete's was, and the Brown ale is excellent. The pale needs more hops, and he needs to drop the amber and add a stout or scottish. I don't go for the Honey Blond, but understand the need for this style.

The food is decent and pretty reasonably priced, but nothing is outstanding. The food service is average, but the bar service can be a little slow during busy times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Johnson City, TN
(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
New brewer! Reuben Jones (X Highland head brewer) has taken over. Beer selection and quality is on track.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review johnson city, TN
(12/02/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.228 seconds) 20:06:56 54.89.138.238, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS