PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Malt River Brewing Company - Latham, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 02:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Latham > Malt River Brewing Company
Malt River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Malt River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.6 / 100
800 New Loudon Road
Latham Circle Mall
Latham, NY 12110
United States
(518) 786-6258
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Latham, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
59 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Big House Grill
(4 miles)

2) Firkin and Fox Pub
(4 miles)

3) Old Chicago
(4 miles)

4) German-American Club of Albany
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Holiday Inn
2) The Northway Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
3) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
4) CLARION INN & SUITES AIRPORT
5) COMFORT INN AND SUITES ALBANY
6) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
7) COURTYARD ALBANY THRUWAY
8) CRESTHILL SUITES ALBANY
9) DAYS INN ALBANY
10) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
11) EXTENDEDSTAY ALBANY CAPITAL
12) FAIRFIELD INN ALBANY
13) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
14) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
15) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
16) HOWARD JOHNSON ALBANY CENTRAL
17) QUALITY INN ALBANY
18) RAMADA ALBANY LIMITED
19) RED ROOF ALBANY
20) THE NORTHWAY INN
21) WINGATE INN ALBANY AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bacon--Stickney House
2) Bryan's Store
3) Byrne, Senator William T., House
4) Chapel House
5) Cramer, Frederick, House
6) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
7) Dickey, William J., House
8) Dunsbach, Martin, House
9) Fuller, Royal K., House
10) Godfrey Farmhouse
11) Gorham House
12) Harmony Mill No. 3
13) Haswell, Isaac M., House
14) Hedge Lawn
15) Henry--Remsen House
16) Hughson Mansion
17) Humphrey, Friend, House
18) Kemp, John Wolf, House
19) Lackman, J. Leonard, House
20) Lawton, George H., House
21) Lock 18 of Enlarged Erie Canal
22) Menand Park Historic District
23) Menand, Louis, House
24) Menands Manor
25) Music Hall
26) Newtonville Post Office
27) Newtonville School
28) Newtonville United Methodist Church
29) Niskayuna Reformed Church
30) Olmstead Street Historic District
31) Pruyn, Casparus F., House
32) Reformed Dutch Church of Rensselaer in Watervliet
33) Renshaw, Alfred H., House
34) Simmons Stone House
35) Springwood Manor
36) Strong, Jedediah, House
37) Trimble, George, House
38) Van Denbergh--Simmons House
39) Verdoy School
40) Verdoy Schoolhouse
41) Wheeler Home
42) Whitney Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aashiana Restaurant
2) Amazing Wok Plaza Chinese
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Ariana Pizza
6) Ario Pizza
7) Bacca's Deli & Gourmet Market
8) Bella Roma
9) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
10) Birch Hill At New York State
11) Boston Market
12) Buckshots Country Bar-B-Q
13) Burger King
14) Canteen Vending Svc
15) Carmine's Kitchen
16) Carrabba's Italian Grill
17) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
18) Century House Inn
19) Century Taco
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Circle Diner
22) Courtney's
23) Crisando's Pizza Cafe
24) Dakota's
25) Dee Dee's Tavern
26) Domino's Pizza
27) Fannie's Pizza & Clam Bar
28) Fannies Restaurant
29) First Step
30) Fitzian's
31) Friendly's Restaurant
32) Friendly's Restaurant
33) Ginza Japanese Cuisine
34) Golden Wok Restaurant
35) Gorman's NY Deli
36) Ground Round
37) Hoffman's Restaurant
38) Hot Dog Charlie's
39) J J Rafferty's
40) J T Maxies
41) Jessica Stone's
42) Kfc
43) Kfc
44) Kings Buffet
45) Kirker's Steak & Seafood House
46) KOTO Japanese Steak House
47) Lanthier's Grove Corp
48) Latham 76 Diner Inc
49) Little Bites & More
50) Malt River Brewing Co
51) Mama Jen's Restaurant
52) Marinara Ristorante
53) Mc Donald's
54) Mc Donald's
55) Milano Restaurant
56) Mill Road Acres Restaurant
57) Mousetrap
58) Mr Ding-A-Ling Ice Cream
59) Mr Subb
60) Mr Subb Inc
61) Mr Subb Inc
62) Muggsy Cafe
63) Nite Moves
64) Old Country Buffet
65) Panda Chinese Take Out
66) Panera Bread
67) Papa John's Pizza
68) Peony Restaurant
69) Pete's Cafe
70) Pickles' Deli Inc
71) Pizza Italia
72) Pizzeria Uno
73) Real Seafood Co
74) Roasters
75) Roman Pizza
76) Saratoga Winners
77) Scubbers Hot Wings
78) Starbucks
79) Stoney's Jazz Cafe
80) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
81) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
82) Sun's Buffett
83) Taco Bell
84) Ted's Fish Fry Inc
85) Theo's At The Dome
86) Today's Brew
87) Tokyo Shushi Takeout
88) Vintage Pizza Inc
89) Wendy's
90) Wolf Road Diner
91) Yoshi Sushi
92) Ziggy's Sports Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Not only is the brewery gone but the whole mall has been demolished

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Boib Morseburg Boib Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/20/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A So So
The Malt River Brewing Company NO LONGER brews their own beer. The website (maltriver.com) would have you believe otherwise, but alas they brew no beer. The redeeming quality about Malt River is they carry an excellent choice of draught and bottled beer. But sorry, no "Malt River Pub Cheese", no in-house red ale as of about a year ago.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kieran Sean Hagzan Kieran Sean Hagzan, Delmar, NY
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Lousy
Wow what a dissapointment on so many levels. This is a big bloated brewpub left over from the Micro brew explosion in the 1990's. Of course now it no longer brews beer, although it has a fairly good selection of drafts. The main (and fatal) problem is with the food and service. I find it hard to think of a worse meal. We ordered the jumbalya, which was a pasty mushy mess. All fire, no spices. There were two shrimps in my rice-heavy bowl- mainly some kind of awful ketchup-based saucy rice. Ugh. Others in my party suffered through a Mahi Mahi that was non descript. We also orderd their famous Thai chicken wings which were a soggy, bland mess. Our meals came with salads which would not have been half bad if they had bothered to WASH the lettuce! Each mouthful contained a crunchy ear shattering amount of dirt. I hate to keep going, but there was so much so bad. We ordered the hot artichoke dip, normally a tried and true favorite which i would not believe you could mess up, but this place managed to do it. It was soggy, watery and luke warm. We sent some things back, but no one came to apologize or offer any compensation. You can definitely tell the management and owners have given up and are waiting to close. I would stear clear of this place and hit many of the much better pubs to get your draft beer. A few within a short drive: McGeary's in Albany, Mahar's in Albany and the superb "Parting Glass" in Saratoga. They all have at least as a good a beer selection and much much much better food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, Saratoga Springs, NY
(06/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Stopped by this past Sat. afternoon while visiting. Malt River have ceased brewing their own beer and sold their brewing equipment. Of the relatively large selection of drafts they did have, they had one remaining keg of their own - a Cream Ale - which was very good. While the draft and bottle selection was nice, and the environment remains plesant, it is sad to see the Capital District lose both Malt River and the Big House Brewery in recent times. Maybe their closings will, in the future, open the door for someone else to compete with Browns and the Pump Station. If not, it would be nice, for Malt River, being a former brew pub, to sell some local drafts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Phoenixville, PA
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We checked out the new Malt River today (8-29-06). It is no longer a brewpub, but they have an extensive selection of both tap and bottled beer. Impressive. Three different German hefe wheat beers on tap, plus one from Brooklyn Brewing. Too many draughts to list here, but they have a couple of stouts including Guinness, plus Anchor Steam, Harpoon IPA, Sierra Nevada Pale, Hazed & Infused (my choice of the day), and others. Bottled choices include Fullers ESB, Ommegang, some Belgian (Duvel), a few Saranacs, Magic Hat Blind Faith, lambic beer (Lindemanns Frambois)....enough said? The food was very good---grilled tuna steak sandwich, corn chowder (the soup of the day), also a good mozzarella & tomato salad. A bright spot in an admittedly depressing mall. Certainly worth checking out before seeing a movie upstairs. I wish them sucess, and will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Update -

http://timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp?storyID=491034&category=BUSINESS&BCCode=&newsdate=6/13/2006

Cut and paste the link for the whole dope. The plan is to open today (06/13/2006) as a "beer-bar restaurant" with 26 tap handles focusing on ales from Europe and craft beers from the US.

Sounds like a recon is in order - too bad the dog groomer is coming after work. Well, there's always tomorrow . . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The rumor mill is in full swing but reliable sources tell me it's final night was last week. A "chain" restaurant is coming in its place. Oh great. Maybe a twelve year old will be able to pour me a Coors Light to go with my mild wings, carrots and bleu cheese. But there'll be a line out the door the night the dump opens. It's sad.

I know this is a beer site but I will never find chili anywhere even half as good as Malt River had. If I had known they were closing I would have gone in and gotten a growler of Goose's Pale and a bucket of their chili to go. Amy and James were consummate hosts all these years. I hope things work out for them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
We were visiting from Chicago and looking for a suburban alternative to the great Albany Pumping Station down by the Hudson in Albany, and found this place only after a disappointing visit to the Fox & Firkin on Wolf Road (still called Big House Grill on this PubCrawler website). The Best Bitter was acceptable, the service good (we were the only customers at 5pm on one of the first beautiful Sunday afternoons of the year) and the ambiance cozy at the long bar. If we lived in the area we'd definitely patronize The Malt River Brewing Company...wish we had more of these small craft brewers sprinkled around Chicago.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark Maxfield Clark Maxfield, Chicago, IL
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
There weren't a lot of taps to choose from on my last visit, but I will admit that the Oatmeal Stout was pretty good. Folks were saying how good the wings were--I didn't agree. Not foul, mind you, just kind of ho-hum. Mall atmosphere? Does it really matter if the place is pretty empty most of my visits anyhow?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Looks like this place is keeping the mall going...great beer and friendly staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Yikes! I swore there was another review after my last one...

I hate to leave two reviews in a row, but I had to stop at the new Lowe’s in the Mall, and gee, made my way into Malt River after the fact. I found Goose busy tapping a new cask of his Goose's Golden ale. Yea, I had to wait, but it was worth it. I was first treated to the cleanest, freshest hop nose I’ve ever trusted my senses with, and just had to chase Goose down to ask if they were noble hops or Cascade (hey – my allergies were kicking in). Goose told me he used nothing but Cascade, but also let me in on a few tricks he used with regard to fermentation temperatures, times, etc. Whatever he did – don’t change a thing. Yea, it’s an IPA or any of a variety thereof, but you’d be hard pressed to find anything better to put in your glass, without regard to your favorite beer style. I have never had a beer this long on the palate, especially one that tickles my esophagus that far down. I’m home and on the PC, and I’m still tasting it. The warm malt flavor comes in right behind the hops and stays there.

It’s easy to complain, and it’s usually because you got an order of French fries that didn’t quite meet your expectations (and subsequently trash the place on Pub Crawler, et. al.). With that said, the beers at Malt River keep getting better. And I’ve said that before. Don’t let the mall setting fool you – get down here and try Goose’s beers. No, he’s not my brother-in-law, just a good brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I have had both good experiences and bad experiences at Malt River, but the last few times were good and have progressively gotten better. I had previously told Goose the brewer that the best Raspberry Wheat I ever had was at Hilton Head Brewing Co. in South Carolina. Goose must have tweaked his recipe because his Razzmatazz is now the best anywhere. For those that only drink lagers brewed according to the Reinheitsgebot, my apologies. I like my wheat’s, and throw in a berry or two and I'm a happy camper.

Significant other had the Malt River Red Ale and enjoyed it. I found it to be just a little too malty, but I’d rather that than the overly-dry ones that are out there. She ordered the Texas Red Chili which was obviously home made (not out of a can), and was loaded with fresh beef and wonderfully spiced. I had the garlic-onion-parmesan chicken wings which were a refreshing change from the usual mild/medium/hot standards elsewhere. OK, it’s bar food. Pub food. But it’s good, and we got plenty of it. These were large portions very reasonably priced

Bartender Amy does a great job behind the bar. She is not going to fawn over you, but your glass is always full, the food comes out quickly, and she’s happy to wrap it to go (some places this is a big effort). I’m not a fan of the mall setting, but I’ll be back for a firkin some Friday soon. That and I have to try some of the other of the eight beers that were on tap – a nice selection indeed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Lousy
This place was horrible! Don't waste your time. We eat out often and are always looking to try new establishments. Malt River was a BIG disappointment. Not only was the kitchen really slow, but the food quality was terrible!!! I wish I paid closer attention to the other reviews here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara Tara, Cohoes, NY
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Great Lousy
Never go here!! Only the waitress saved this place from getting the half-filled keg the owner gave me from going through the front window. (He promised me a full keg of any beer I wanted after my party. Then when I said I wanted the keg, somehow he couldnt find a tap! and gave me his weakest beer, and an even weaker excuse) The owner did not want us there at all, eventhough he got much more business from my one party than he ever would have gotten on a saturday night. Appetizers ran out, and were not put back on the buffet, even though half the people did not get them. Dinner was not what we discussed, and was not all that great. I highly suggest having a party elsewhere. The Owner and Co-owner disregarded everything I said. He is a money grubbing jerk, who seems cool, but really has no idea how to run a respectful business. DO NOT GO HERE EVER!!! Nor ever trust the owner!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colby Colby, Glen Rock, NJ
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So So So
The beer selection was above average, and I thought their brown ale was excellent. The main problem with this place is location - I just don't get excited going to a mall for beer. Granted the interior looks nothing like a mall, but it's still in an outdoor mall. Secondly, their food is second rate. It's all premade and served either molten or cold. Bar Tender was subpar. With all the breweries around the area, there are much better choices than Malt River.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Borowsky Kevin Borowsky, Bayside, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
It's in a mall but you would never know it once inside. A worthwhile stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
If I lived closer, I would probably give them another try-but since I am 4 hours away and the traffic around this mall is just nuts to navigate, I doubt I will. Once you walk in, you quickly forget that you are in a mall. Very cool. I managed to get the bartender's attention twice so I was able to have two beers. I had the pale ale and stout. Both were good--not spectacular or anything out of the ordinary, but good. The awful service probably affected the workmanship of my taste buds. The bartender was horrid. He spent the entire time I was there standing at the far end of the bar--as far from paying patrons as possible--complaining to his buddy about how bad tips were on Sundays so he was dropping his Sunday shifts (there's the good news folks--go on Sunday and you are bound to avoid this guy). Three times I tried to order food and finally gave up, finished the second beer and got the hell out. I'll give the bartender one thing--it was amazing how he could quickly find out what beer you wanted and never loose a beat in the conversation with this buddy at the far end of the bar. Something tells me that the day of the week has little to do with the tips this guy gets.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Stopped by with some friends before seeing a movie upstairs. I hadn't been there in a while, and I had a cask pale ale. Very nice beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just saw a band last night, Joe Lowry. This place is awesome! beer was great, food was great, and its a beatiful atmosphere. Definitely worth a trip. Jeannie Schenectady

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeannie Jeannie, Schensctady, NY
(10/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great atmosphere, food, service and especially beer! Perfect for families, watching a game or an after work drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Schenectady, NY
(10/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Definatley going back again and again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris H. Chris H., Schenectady, NY
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Awesome!
Had a great time, food was good, service was great. Will be back for sure! Thanks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tina Tina, NYC, NY
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wonderfull place, was great to find such friendly people in a large city. Will have to make it my stop everytime I vist NYC now. Thanks for the experince!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenna Glenna, Little Elm, TX
(10/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Have to rate the whole place as awesome due to the food. I'm more into that than drinking and let me tell you this place delivers. First 2 times ther had the pasta with shrimp which was great. But that jambayla sure will fill you up and put a smile on your face (been ordering it every time I go now).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had a great experience. I've been going to a few of the capital's brew pubs and think this one by far is the best. I loved the atmosphere. I enjoyed the bartender. He was very knowledgable about his beer. I'll definately go back soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Syracuse, NY
(08/07/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.988 seconds) 02:24:11 54.166.39.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS