PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub - Lahaska, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 09:45 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lahaska > Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub  Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
Overall: Good    Score: 64.4 / 100
5775 Lower York Road
Lahaska, PA 18931
United States
(215) 794-9373
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lahaska, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
41 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Spotted Hog
(0 mile)

2) Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
(0 mile)

3) Triumph Brewing Company
(2 miles)

4) Heart of Oak Pub
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1740 House
2) Ash Mill Farm
3) Barley Sheaf Farm
4) Centre Bridge Inn
5) Cordials B & B
6) Fox & the Hound
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN NEW HOPE INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Atkinson Road Bridge
2) Bridge in Buckingham Township
3) Bridge in Solebury Township
4) Bridge Valley Bridge
5) Cintra
6) Delaware and Raritan Canal
7) Gilbert, Thomas and Lydia, Farm
8) Kitchen, William, House
9) Lacey, Gen. John, Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Best Of British
2) Black Bass Hotel Restaurant
3) Buckingham Deli
4) Buckingham Mountain Brewing Co
5) Buckingham Pizza
6) Caffe Galleria
7) Candlewyck Beef & Ale
8) Carversville General Store
9) Cock 'n Bull Restaurant
10) Cock N' Bull Restaurant
11) Dairy Queen
12) Dairy Queen
13) European Connection
14) Giuseppe's Pizza & Restaurant
15) Hart's Tavern
16) Jenny's Bistro
17) Just Eat By Brown Gold
18) Just Food
19) Lacena Restaurant & Pizza
20) Lahaska Country Deli
21) Lahaska Village Market
22) Peddler's Village Restaurant
23) Porterhouse Restaurant & Brew
24) Siam Cuisine Thai Restaurant
25) Spatola's Pizza
26) Spotted Hog
27) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
28) Villa Covello
29) Waterlillies
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Establishment is not closed but operations have been shut down for over a month due to a broken boiler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Great So So
Arrived to find out that their equipment has been broken for over a month, so no house brews. There was a decent selection of guest taps and two that are brewed by Philadelphina Brewing for Porterhouse. Heard from another establichment that their beer is horrible anyway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So
The Special Bitter was reasonably on form. The Belgian 7% was OK but a bit bland. The Red was hoppy and did not work quite right. The barman was a little under the influence and a bit cocky. There was a mistake on the food menu with the price and he did not seem to think there was a problem with me being overcharged. Also he kept putting his hands in his hair and even in his mouth at one point. He needs some training.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charlie charlie, warrington, PA
(01/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Stopped in the newly re-opened Porter House (was Buckingham Mountain) Saturday the 20th with my wife and son. We split two apps -- smoked trout (w/horseradish cream, minced hard-boiled egg and onion, capers: should have had some toast or crackers with all those good accompaniments) and a crock of chili (GOOD chili, not too spicy, and my son, a chili-lover, tore into it). I got the sampler of five beers (NOT all they had, there were about eight, I think, including a nitro stout I didn't see until we were leaving). Beer's being produced by River Horse, which is about four miles away. They brew the house porter, which was okay, on-premises, the rest of the beers are trucked over from Lambertville. I was a bit concerned to see that the serving tanks behind the bar have been removed, and the brewery looked amazingly clean (except for the cobwebs my wife spotted on one valve), and there were no hoses hooked up to the unitanks. The River Horse beers, sorry to say, suffer from what has been, in my opinion, River Horse's trademark timidity. The only one with a lot of flavor was the seasonal Dark Ale; the Hop Hazard was somewhat hoppy, but scarcely a hazard. The RH Triple I had in February was a shockingly promising example of what River Horse CAN do... and I hope more is forthcoming. Meanwhile, service at Porter House is okay, but not outstanding, food was good and the presentation was nice. I'll be heading back, for sure, though, with this place only 20 minutes from my house, and MUCH improved from Buckingham Mountain days; at least the beers were all clean.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Toad, you monkey, how the hell are you?! Good to see you here. Yes, there are new owners at B-Mountain, no word yet on when they're re-opening. Have to take a run up there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(12/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Wow! I get to comment right next to the great Lew Bryson!!! I just wanted to let you all know that I drove past the brepub the other day and there was definately some activity going on in the parking lot - Keeping the fingers and hop buds crossed...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Buckingham Mountain's been for sale for about a year now, and I just heard last night that they closed about two weeks ago. Friend of mine had scheduled a big dinner there (80+), called back to set some details, and was told they were shut down. Happily, I also talked with someone who's very interested in buying it and getting a name brewer in to make it a high-end beer, destination-type brewpub with guest beers and top-shelf bottle sales. Can't wait for that to happen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(05/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Phila, PA
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Phila, PA
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
They should really hire a new brewmaster

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Courtney Hanlon Courtney Hanlon, North Wildwood, NJ
(05/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
walked out after I was barely able to choke down 1 pint

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Blue Bell, PA
(05/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
beer all tastes the same, and none of it tastes good. food was cold and overcooked

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Phila, PA
(05/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Went for lunch on a weekday. Place must have just opened. Burger was pretty good. The beers didn't have any flavor. Porter was the best I had. www5.50megs.com/danjohnbeer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Phila, PA
(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Kimberly, Newtown, PA
(04/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Yardley, PA
(04/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Everyone else is right, a waste of time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Furlong, PA
(01/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
worst brewpub I've ever been to. Walked out halfway through my first pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Phila, PA
(01/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So
Last year, I reviewed this pub based on my past experience with it. I was writing from my heart instead of my head. Considering I'd been going there since it first opened, it was always a "good place " for beer. Sadly it's been down hill since late 1996 and especially since their fire. In the "good old days", I remember fondly a distinctive taste for each beer style. Hey, the hops were actually hoppy! NOW TODAY, it's a whole different story...their beers all seem the same-food colored water. It breaks my heart since I know what they were and can still be. I honestly feel they should get another brewer who can BREW BEER. If the owners cannot see this then they should sell to someone who cares about BEER. I like the atomsphere with the murals and the food I think is good. Guys, this is not trying to be a 5 star resturant. PLEASE BRING BACK the BLUEBERRY WHEAT & (original) BROWN ALE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Labrum Chris Labrum, Perkasie, PA
(01/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
as all the others have said, dont waste your time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connor Hanlon Connor Hanlon, State College, PA
(01/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
What a let down. Horrible beer and really bad food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Kelly Frank Kelly, philadelphia, PA
(01/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
horrible, horrible place. truly nasty beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Casey Joe Casey, Phila, PA
(01/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
A true waste of time and money, definetly the worst brew pub I have ever been to. Beers were all very bland and food was dry and cold. This place should just give it up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Rockledge, PA
(01/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
Christmas shopping in New Hope & Peddlers Village and we end up the day at Buckingham Mountain Brewery. Disappointed is an understatement, with all the smells coming from the different restaurants of Peddlers Village and all the restaurants in New Hope, we figured it would have to be decent to stay open. To start, the building is unattractive and looks of a modern housing tract, inexpensive doesn't have to look that way. The interior is housing grade all the way with the only flair being the murals on the otherwise drab drywall. The bar area is small and quaint enough, but the dining room is one large room with sporadic tables that gives the air that they couldn't afford more tables. I am easy and a good beer could have erased the previous, but that did not happen here. At 5 of 5 pm on a Sunday, we were told dinner does not start til 5 and we could order from the bar menu. The way it was said, I thought it was 4, but after asking if we could wait the 5 minutes, the hostess gave in. What restaurant doesn't serve it's full menu all afternoon in a shopping area??, in football season?? We waited at the bar and tried to order what seemed to be the hoppiest beer, out of it, settled for an Amber. Lacking of malt or hops, cloudy with a real straightforward lack of flavor; I really don't have an opinion because I couldn't form one. Finally at 5:15, we are seated upstairs in the previously described room. We order two beers Pale and Porter (Out of Stout). The Pale was closer to a wit in color and clarity, and was similiar in malt/hops profile to the Amber; I though I smelled hops, but I could be wrong. The porter was checking in at 5.3%; promising. It was undrinkable and the first beer I ever sent back at a brewpub. The flavor was slightly cloying upfront, but disappeared into a heavy metallic rage. The waiter noted personal taste differences and I corrected him that the beer or the serving equipment were flawed. It was replaced with their cream ale (6.0%) had a slight perceivable maltiness, but was similiar to the amber. On the food side, the appetizer sampler contained sweet potato skin, 3 mini crab cakes, 3 stuffed mushrooms, and 6 wings. The numbers are given because only one item is divisible by 2. The wings were good, but no dipping sauce and I am not sure what kind they were supposed to be. The mushrooms missed, as did the potato skin, too much potato, not enough stuff. The crab cakes were good and came with enough tartar sauce for the room. The Chicken cheesesteak was very bland, almost as if the chicken was pre boiled?, the burger was good, choose the brewery fries over the mounatain fries, but both were acceptable. All in all, this was a disappointment and I would neither return nor suggest this place. No one came over to apologize for the Porter and I offered the waiter a try to confirm our opinion of it's obvious and overwhelming flaw. One note on service rating, server was fine, hostess needs some training.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Wood Paul Wood, Fairhill, MD
(11/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
This place makes the General Lafayette look like Victory. We had 3 different beers here last Sunday (porter, stout and ed's red), so, we feel we got a pretty good sampling of the offerings. All 3 exhibited absolutly no smell at all - no hops, no malt - nothing. Flavor was even less spectactular. I'm not even sure how you go about brewing a beer and getting no flavor - all were like fizzy water, and, if you closed your eyes, you'd be hard pressed to tell them apart. Food was only average, service was slow (and it was not crowded) and prices were high. Good place to take people who normally drink bud or girls light - they can pretend they're drinking good beer and not be scared off by any sort of flavor. You may think I have a personal agenda against this place, but, 3 of us went - all of us experienced homebrewers and beer tasters - all of us had the same opinions of the beers. As someone who truly enjoys the art of beer, this place is a disgrace.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, Philly, PA
(10/15/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.232 seconds) 21:45:26 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS