PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant - Corning, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 07:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Corning > Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant
Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
63 West Market Street
Corning, NY 14830
United States
(607) 936-2337
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: January 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Corning, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant
51 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Pelham's Upstate Tuna Company
(0 mile)

2) Glory Hole Pub and Eatery
(0 mile)

3) Gaffer Grille and Tap Room
(0 mile)

4) Maley's Pub
(0 mile)

5) The Site Cyber Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Rosewood Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN CORNING
2) DAYS INN CORNING
3) RADISSON HOTEL CORNING
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Jenning's Tavern
2) US Post Office--Corning
3) World War Memorial Library
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aniello's Pizzeria
2) Atlas Brick Oven Pizzaria
3) Cap'n Morgan Restaurant
4) Chefs At The Door
5) Corning Catering Inc
6) Declemente's Deli
7) Domino's Pizza
8) En En Chinese Buffet
9) Evergreen Chinese Restaurant
10) Fox's Pizza Den
11) Gaffer Grille & Tap Room
12) Garcias Mexican Restaurant
13) Hokey Pokey's Ice Creamery
14) London Underground Cafe
15) Maley's Pub
16) Murphy's Woodhouse Tavern
17) Oaks
18) Old World Cafe & Ice Cream
19) Quick Stop Beverage & Grocery
20) R & M Restaurant
21) Snooty Pig Irish Pub
22) Soul Full Cup Coffeehouse
23) Taxi Stand
24) Village Inn
25) Wegmans Food Markets
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I absolutely loved the food, beer, and the experience. My new favorite restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Travis Degarmo Travis Degarmo, Daggett, PA
(08/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Stopped here for lunch on the way to Watkins Glen. Nice atmosphere. Staff was very attentive. Food was very good (and my wife is very picky).

Now, for the beer... I was very disappointed. Had a sampler of 6 brews. Two of them had way to much DMS. The others were very thin in body and lacking character for their styles. Luckily none were infected but they need to work on their brewing techniques.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Bernville, PA
(06/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
Stopped by with some friends during a recent beer tour. Place is right on the main street with lots of options all around, not too many that are craft beer sites though. Tried their beer again (I've been in the past) and was not impressed. Nothing foul, but not much there either. I decided on an IPA, which at many brewpubs would be an average pale ale at most. Our server was so enthusiastic that she actually saved what was otherwise an unremarkable experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
A very nice brewpub in a classic town.

The Pot Belly Pale Ale was very good. My wife had the Brisco Bridge Blackberry Lager. It was a little onthe sweet side. Perhaps it is true to the style but we thought that the beer selection was limited. No Stout or Porter.

I noticed that there was a Mad Bug Lager. Corning was full of flying insects that evening.

Oh yea, they sell logo pint glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I just recently visited Corning NY. I had already heard great things about The Brew Pub so I had to try it for myself. The atmosphere is so charming and personal. I started off with a pint of the seasonal belgian white, it was so good that ended up taking some home! The food was also great. The scallop appetizer had the best flavors and my dinner was also great. The owners were there and were such great people! If you are ever in the area i would definately reccomend having a meal with them! You wont be dissapointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cindy Cindy, Paupack, PA
(08/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Noticed that we had not entered any of our brewpub visits from our 2006 sumer vacation. I like this brewpub. It had a very good selection and nice tasting beers that were distinguishable to their type. Would recommend a visit if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place has a new chef. I hear he is a Johnson & Wales graduate. He inherited the last chef's menu and improvemnts are obvious. I think a new menu is supposed to go in effect the end of March. There were three seasonals on last week when I was there. A Nut Brown, which was very good with a lot of chocolate malt. Also a Hibernator which had 9 different grains and an O. G. of 1.072 and a Scotch Ale which a/b/v was over 11%. I think they must have been paying attention to the earlier review about "cutting edge." Eye candy was as nice as ever, it just will be nicer when they start wearing shorts again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob McClintock Rob McClintock, Bath, NY
(02/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BOB BOB, YOUNGSTOWN, OH
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good
Was pleasantly surprised to find this place open on July 4th as other years it has been closed on the holiday. Walked in during Happy Hour when all pints were $2.50 . 6 beers on tap: Red, Pale Ale, Blackberry Lager, Lager, Dark Ale and a Hefe. First beer I ordered was the Pale Ale which I would rate as a disappointment.... lacking any hop flavor. Second beer was the Dark Ale which was much better and I would have no problem ordering in the future. They should however consider being a bit more aggressive with their beer as times have changed since they first opened. What Market Street offers in beers pales in comparison to what you will find in just about any other established brewpub. Having said this... I do respect that they seem to have a good business as it has always seemed busy on the 6-8 times that I have visited over the years. Absolute perfect location on some prime real estate is probably the key to their success.... could not ask for a better site. I'm not going to rate the food as I have not eaten here in a few years. Meals in the past have been a mixed bag but that's ancient history. Worth a stop if you are passing through but would not make it a destination trip. I live only an hour away and only stop in every year or two. If they amped up the beer I would make this a regular stop. As for the hottie staff.... I did see a couple that fit into the eye candy category.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Have made numerous visits to the MSBC and find it an exceptionally average brewpub. The beer taste like it’s extract brewed. The standard beer selection has been around a while needs a change, should consider making the porter and IPA full timers. Menu is interesting, food quality is ok but inconsistent, service is good at times but can be poor when staff is socializing and ignoring customers. The area could use another brewpub to offer some competition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Williamsport, PA
(07/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
i was in the area for work so i stopped by on 12/13/05. the service was great. julie the bartender was very pleasant as was some other patrons. i didn't care for the beer though. i found most of the beers were sour with no body. i did however enjoy the dark ale it was smooth and creamy. i've been here on numerous occasions and i have never really enjoyed the beer. i may not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul paul, binghamton, NY
(12/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Dropped by after a day at the LPGA Corning Classic. The beer was cold, tasty, and refreshing. The seasonal brew was a Hefe that was stellar. They just released their new menu. I had the Crab Crusted Tournedoes, outstanding!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tommy Elmford Tommy Elmford, Rochester, NY
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Excellant brewpub. Have been enjoying the English Pale for years. On the hoppier side they do a seasonal IPA. I showed the "extract" review to their brewer Matt. He invited the reviewer down the next time two tons of grain show up from Briess Malting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paulie McGill Paulie McGill, Horseheads, NY
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
This brewpub has uncovered tables outside plus a large covered area with an open garage-type door (that I assume is closed up in winter). The bar area is small. It is in the downtown area of Corning, which is quite nice. The beers were below average by brewpub standards. The Pot Belly Pale Ale was too mild and was not the hoppy ale that most of us now expect from the pale ale style at U.S. brewpubs. I don't know if they use an extract system or not but the beers reminded me of the mild beers you often get at brewpubs that use an extract system and try to get by without a full-time brewmaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Bar service is far better than table service--but the bar is so small that many times you have to set at a table. I live about 40 minutes away so I've been here many times. Bartendeers are consistently friendly and knowledgable about the beers. Table service has never been bad--but has varied dramatically especially as far as knowledge about their beers is concerned. Their best is the Pot Belly Pale Ale. It is very bitter and no metalic taste that tends to crop up when beers get bitter. The red ale is a bit bland. I'm not a fan of fruit beers but their blackberry is very nice. D'Artagnan Dark Ale is really good. It is not as bitter as the IBU's would indicate. The variety of malts add a unique flavor that the decrning beer drinker will appreciate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Corning NY stepped out of a picture postcard, and MSBC is in the center of the picture. Blues skies and warm weather had us out on the patio. Lizz, the waitress, was a gem. We had salads and appetizers, which were all presented beautifully and tasted great. Oh, yeah, this is a brew pub, so let's talk about beer: they were out of the Pot Belly Pale Ale, which must have disappointed Saturday night's revelers. We were there in the afternoon, so we were only mildly disappointed. However, the Mad Bug Lager and the Wrought Iron Red were completely without character. The D'Artagnan Dark boasts 6 different malts, but apparently without a plan and definitely without any sense of balance. Why 6 malts? Because they can? Anyway, I would recommend MSBC if you are in Corning because of the food, the ambience, and the waitstaff, but if it's great beer you are after, don't count on MSBC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Steichmann Jay Steichmann, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
The beer was tasty, the food was excellent. Great overall atmosphere. Good times all around!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from adam tufillaro adam tufillaro, rochester, NY
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
6 beers on tap, A lager, a pale, blackberry, dark ale, red ale, and a 7.2 % hibernator. All nice and drinkable. Nice people, great food, good beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimbo jimbo, frankentrost, MI
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
BEST OT THE BEST WHEN IT COMES TO YOUR WAIT STAFF FOOD IS EXCELLENT ESPECIALLY THE TANGY SOUP. BEER MADE ME WANT TONS BUT UNFORTUNETLY I WAS DRIVING. WILL BE BACK IN THE WINTER THANKS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nancybracy@verizon.net. nancybracy@verizon.net., ALDEN, NY
(11/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Good beer, nice time. I would recommend this establishment to any beer drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from K. Sadowy K. Sadowy, Tucson, AZ
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Market Street Brewing Company is one of the most unique establishments in Corning. Most probably don't know that the building used to be a garage. It has come a long way since. The beer is great, with the blackberry lager being my all time favorite. The food is just as exceptional as the beer is...try the chicken shrimp and portabella pasta; it's to die for. Not to mention the staff...the hottest waitstaff in Corning can be found at the Market Street Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Templar Ben Templar, Fairfax, VA
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I consider the Market Street Brewery my home brewery since there's no such establishments in Binghamton. The MSB is always best with Journamist-Bartender John behind the bar and the bevy of cute and helpful waitresses bustling about to wait at your every need. (?) My favorite is the Potbelly Pale Ale. Very crisp!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick O'Neil (aka - Otter) Patrick O'Neil (aka - Otter), Binghamton, NY
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good So So
the owner is a prick who treats his employees like shit......good food not thanks to him.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Keneth, Clevland, OH
(04/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
We stopped here after our visit to the Glass Museum and really enjoyed having a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Heather Gollnick, Methuen, MA
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great little brew pub. The Pot Belly Pale Ale is the best beer Ive had since Sierra Nevada's pale ale. The big difference is that the Pot Belly is alot more fresh. Food and service is outstanding.The deck seating in the summer is unbeatable anywhere in corning. You've got to try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave, orlando, fl
(02/26/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.695 seconds) 19:03:49 54.82.31.133, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS