PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company - Baltimore, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 27, 2014 @ 10:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Baltimore > Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company
Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.7 / 100
8149 Honeygo Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21236
United States
(410) 931-PUBS
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: March 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Baltimore, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
79 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Red Brick Station d/b/a White Marsh Brewing Company
(2 miles)

2) Racers Cafe
(2 miles)

3) Bill Batemans Bistro - Golden Ring
(3 miles)

4) Cafe Tatoo (and Mojo Room and Lounge)
(4 miles)

5) Timber Creek Tavern
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) FAIRFIELD INN BALTIMORE NORTH
2) HAMPTON INN BALT WHT MARS
3) HILTON GARDEN INN WHITE MARSH
4) SUPER 8 BALTIMORE ESSEX AREA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Perry Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 North George
2) Amer's Cafe
3) Arby's
4) Arby's
5) Auntie Anne's Inc
6) Avenue
7) B J's Pub
8) Batter's Box Tavern
9) Bayou Blues Cafe
10) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
11) Bistro Sensations
12) Boardwalk Fries
13) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
14) Bromwell Inn North
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) Burgers Of Baltimore
19) Cajun Gourmet 6
20) Captain Jerry's Seafood
21) Carrabba's Italian Grill
22) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
23) Charcoal Deli
24) Chick-Fil-A
25) Chick-Fil-A
26) Chick-Fil-A
27) Chili's Grill & Bar
28) China Chef
29) China King Restaurant
30) China Taste
31) China Wok
32) Chubby's Grill
33) Chung's Carry
34) Cinnabon
35) Court Square Restaurant-Deli
36) Crafters Cafe
37) Damons Of Perryhall
38) De Santis Bar Grill & Pizza
39) Della Roses's Avenue Tavern
40) Deniros Pizzeria & Sub
41) Denny's
42) Domino's Pizza
43) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
44) Double T Diner
45) Food Lion
46) Friendly's
47) Friendly's Restaurant
48) Fu Fountain Chinese Carry Out
49) Fuddruckers's Inc
50) Fullerton Pub & Crab House
51) G Lato D Italia
52) Gatorland Cafe & Grill
53) Gci Co
54) Giorgio's Restaurant-Carryout
55) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
56) Great American Sandwiches
57) IHOP
58) J C Wings
59) J P's Sweet Meat
60) J R's Catering
61) Kfc
62) Kiko's Mexican Restaurant
63) Kobe' Japanese Steak House
64) Lee's Ice Cream
65) Lins China Buffet Inc
66) Little Caesars Pizza
67) Mamma Ilardo's Pizzeria
68) Maria D's Sub Shop Inc
69) Mc Donald's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mc Donald's
72) Mc Donald's
73) Midori
74) Mimi Lorenzo's Musical Bar
75) Moocho Gelato Cafe
76) New Han Dynasty Chinese Rstrnt
77) Oasis
78) Olive Garden
79) Orange Julius
80) Orient Restaurant
81) Outback Steakhouse
82) Panera Bread
83) Papa John's Pizza
84) Peking House Chinese Rest
85) Perry Inn & Pub
86) Phillips Seafood Grill
87) Pizza Boli's
88) Pizza Hut
89) Pizza Hut
90) Pizza Hut
91) Pizza Hut
92) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
93) Premier Caterers Inc
94) Pretzel Mania
95) Quiznos Sub
96) Red Brick Station Restaurant
97) Red Lobster Restaurant
98) Ridge Inn
99) Rita's Italian Ice
100) Ruby Tuesday
101) Rusty's
102) Sakkio Of Japan
103) Sbarro
104) Schooners
105) Serpico's Pizza & Pasta Inc
106) Silver Spring Mining Co
107) South Philly Cheese Steak
108) Starbucks
109) Starbucks
110) Starbucks
111) Strapazza Of White Marsh Inc
112) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
113) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Szechuan Taste
116) Taco Bell
117) Taco Bell
118) Top China
119) Tully's Restaurant
120) Vinny's Pizzeria & Sub Shop
121) Wendy's
122) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great
Great location. You can sit outside and eat/drink and watch a band on the plaza on Friday and Saturday nights. The beer is English based/style and was good but not great. Not too much stood out and a few tasted almost the same. The stout was really good. The blueberry ale was the worst blueberry I have ever had, did not even taste like blueberries. Service was fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Megabus, from NY and DC, is now stopping at White Marsh Park & Ride if you don't want to drive there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(10/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ben said:

"should have noticed that very few other people seemed to be drinking the house-brewed beers."

Since Red Brick doesn't serve anything BUT their house-brewed beers, (expect for a single guest tap of local microbreweries), I can't explain what exactly he's talking about here...

To the best of my knowledge (and I've consumed a few RB beers), Red Brick has NEVER brewed an Oatmeal Stout or a Pilsner. Yes, they have a Blueberry Ale, but it's only on tap from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Ben's posting is dated in March.

Perhaps you posted to the wrong pub?

and BTW, what IS an "IIRC"...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Gnatowski Mark Gnatowski, Jarrettsville, MD
(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
If Ben didn't say the food was great I would say he wasn'nt at Red Brick in the Fall of 2006. For starters we have never made a Pilsner, Oatmeal Stout, or a Light Lager. The Blueberry is'nt available in the fall and I don't even know what a IIRC is. Is that a beer style? We produce 1400 bbls a year and 99.9% of that is sold on premise. That means a lot of people there are drinking the beer. Why wait so long to post your review?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, baltimore, MD
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great So So So So
My girlfriend and I stopped in for lunch one Saturday and should have noticed that very few other people seemed to be drinking the house-brewed beers. We got the sampler to share (seven 4-oz beers) and didn't end up finishing a single one between the two of us. The oatmeal stout (which the waitress bizarrely claimed was "like Guinness"), while dark, tasted like water steeped with oatmeal for a day and then strained. The blueberry ale was full of actual berries (an interesting surprise) but tasted stale and overly fruity, with little actual beer flavor. The rest (an IPA, a nut brown, an Irish red, a pilsner, and a light lager, IIRC) somehow all tasted the same: like domestic light beer. All of their beers were truly terrible, so I'm quite surprised to read so many positive reviews. Perhaps they have a new brewmaster since we went there (fall 2006)?

The food, on the other hand, was quite good, so I recommend this place if you don't mind stopping somewhere else afterwards for brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Baltimore, MD
(03/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The BarleyWine at the Strong Beer Tasting in D.C. was great. I can't wait to taste it from Brand New Oak Barrels! Nice Job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barrett Lauer Barrett Lauer, Baltimore, MD
(02/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It seems to me that the reviewer is confused about what he likes. We do know he would like free snacks at the bar, and would like them at Red Brick. He posted two reviews, back to back, having one contradict the other. I think Pubcrawler should have flagged the reviews and considered the validity of them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, baltimore, MD
(01/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Have stopped by this place several times and have always had a great experience. The Red is a favorite. Although some good complexity in all of the selections.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Smith Jerry Smith, Atlanta, GA
(01/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
I've been going to RBS for a while now, and I'm a little disappointed with the overall situation of things there. The beer selection is overated, however their "Something Red" is quite tasty. I wish they had a variety of munchables in the bar setting. Pretzels, trail mix, and popcorn would be a bonus. Munching on these items eliminates the idea of ordering a meal when the situation presents itself. Other than that, it's not a bad place for a quick beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mitch Rapp Mitch Rapp, Baltimore, MD
(12/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
The beer is alright and the food is overated. The beer I enjoyed the most there is "Something Red." This beer was the best of the bunch and it was right tasty. I was disappointed that there wern't any munchables available at the bar. Popcorn, pretzels, or trail mix would be a bonus. Popcorn would be a big item because the salt on the popcorn would generate more beer sales.

Overall, RBS is a decent place, but variety is the spice of life.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mitch Rapp Mitch Rapp, Baltimore, MD
(12/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Found these notes from my last visit. Tried a few which were new to me and some old faves. Blueberry Ale wasn't my cup of tea, but on the positive side it wasn't too sweet as so many fruit beers seem to be. Had a nut brown on cask that I'm really not sure was one of their efforts--it was pretty drinkable, though. Always get a blase vibe from the bartenders here, dunno why. Did get a strong wet carpet/dirty feet odor as I made my way to the bar. C'mon guys, you can do better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Awesome crab cakes! Great beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, MD
(09/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I have been a Mug Club member since 1999, the beer is great, I really like the Hefeweizen which was a recent premium beer they had on tap, a bit more costly, but in my option worth it.

I see some of the negative reviews on PubCrawler and have to mention that if you are looking for better beer you will find it, the same is for the food; I am personally satisfied with the offering at RBS its good food and beer at a reasonable price. Being one of the regulars I have to mention I like the place for the overall experience. The staff and service is great and it’s the only “bar” like environment in the area that caters to everyone. Come in to the bar area on any given Saturday afternoon and you will see the local following, made up of all walks of life, Bankers, Doctors, IT Professionals, Salesman and General contractors to name a few. They will be sitting around some discussing the current events of the day, playing chess and event getting into spirited debates about politics. It’s a great place to get together and share views over a couple brews.

Having been to other brew pubs inside and outside the Baltimore area I have to admit, you may find a beer you like better elsewhere however those places often do not have the friendly atmosphere that RBS has and you will defiantly pay more

So, if you find yourself in the area on a Saturday afternoon, come on in, come to the bar, order a good hand crafted beer for Dr D (he has the cure for what ales you) or Kristen, strike up a conversation with some of the regulars (we are a friendly sort) and I think you will have an enjoyable time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Scheve Ed Scheve, Dundalk, MD
(07/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
Red Brick Station's beer is terrible. The stout is okay, but that's only on Tuesday (when it costs a dollar). The food isn't bad, but what's a good steak without a good beer? Take your business elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Turner Joseph Turner, Baltimore, MD
(05/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is absolutely fabulous, my favorite is "Something Red" followed by "DPM" and "Charlotte"; the last two are special brews done once a year.

Love the friendly atmosphere and the very congenial staff. I have been patronizing this establishment about three times a month for over five years, and would have no qualms about increasing the frequency if I could.

If your are ever in the area and have an appreciation for micro-brews, give them a try -- don't expect the good beers to taste like "Budwieser", they are not that type.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Willie Adamson Willie Adamson, Joppa, MD
(03/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Great
The brewery is located in a mall near Interstate 95. We visited just before Christmas, so there was tons of traffic all around the place. We stopped in to escape the traffic on our way from Baltimore to New Jersey and had some appetizers and some beers. The waiter was a bit of a dumbass. He didn’t know what the seasonal beers were, and didn’t bother to check when we asked him. My wife ordered the sampler and the guy brought out all the beers and then had no idea which was which. Other than that, the place was great. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the beers in the sampler. I started with a pint of Something Red, which was a very good, nicely balanced red ale; malty with a good deal of bitterness. The sampler also included Spooner’s Stout (an excellent nitro stout; very smooth; nice roasty flavor), Daily Crisis IPA (a decent hoppy IPA – could have had a better malt balance), HoneyGo Light (a decent, smooth light beer), Avenue Ale (a light ale with a hoppy bitterness), Spiced Winter Ale (seasonal; not overly spiced; the spices complimented the beer rather than detracted from it), and Highlander Heavy (another seasonal; a decent strong ale). We also enjoyed a great order of beer boiled mussels and some good hot wings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My kind of place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Sadler Dan Sadler, Baltimore, MD
(06/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
In answer to a personal challenge to me by the brewer of Red Brick, I returned to Red Brick for another review, this time showing up on a Thursday to meet a friend for lunch. The friend had to call and cancel halfway through my visit, making it a solo visit. I hoped to go incognito, but the owner spotted me and greeted me enthusiastically; the brewer tipped off the waitress just before my visit ended. Nonetheless, the service was excellent--to the point of my asking the owner to admit that a photo of me was posted in the back with notice to treat me like a god. (Rather, my photo was jokingly reported as being on the brewer's dartboard!) The seasonal beers--Big Gunpowder Pale Ale (CO2 and cask, named for a nearby stream) and Octopus's Pajamas (Scotch Ale--the name is a reference to bagpipes)--were delicious and refreshing; the food (bacon cheese bison burger, three-bean soup) were uniformly excellent. With the rest of the beers, one has to remember that this place aims at the TGIRuby Bennibee's crowd, and this place gets a lot of tepid, timid beer drinkers. Therefore the large bulk of their beer volume is going to be slightly less adventuresome than many other places. Nonetheless, for what it has to contend with, it's uniformly excellent and flawless, and I'd much rather have this place around representing brewpubs to that market than a dozen Hops clones! (Try this place if you miss the old original Cambridge, Md.-brewed Wild Goose beers........)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(04/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I've tried their usual lineup and it's alright; I usually get the IPA or the stout. Most often, I tend toward the seasonal offerings and have found them to normally be better than the regulars. Scotch Ale (something about Octopus in the name, sorry!) and Big Gun were on this time. Scotch ale pretty good, not over the top, but tasty. Big Gun somewhat of a misnomer--it's a mild pale ale (4.6%, I think was listed), but would be a good one for a session beer, especially on cask, which was offered this time. If I have to go to White Marsh Mall, I'm glad this place is nearby!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So
I suppose this bar fits its suburban mall location. The food and beers were bland and maybe suitable for macro drinkers. If you are truly a fan of good craft brews, I would not recommend this bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michelle Michelle, Baltimore, MD
(01/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm sorry to see the prior reviewer had a bad beer experience @ RBS. Hey, everyone's entitled to their opinion and doesn't mean they are right or wrong. I'd like to throw out some counter points...

Not sure what they were looking for in the RB beers, but the brewmaster DOES NOT have to be replaced! My experience at RB has been good 99% of the time. They only serve their beers (no Bud, Miller or Coors) and have fashioned theirselves as local, neighborhood English-style brewpub.

Because of this, the beers have to be catered to the local tastes. If your beer doesn't sell, you're out of business!

Yes, use they Ringwood yeast.. (and lot's of people bash Ringwood, like lot's of people bash Microsoft.) Ringwood wiil have some characteristics that carry over from beer to beer but a good brewmaster finds a way to minimize this. I've found each RB beer is true to the style it's brewed to. If you don't like the style, you probably won't like the beers.

Are there places in Baltimore that will enhance the palattes of the die-hard beer geeks with more exotic brews? Absolutely. But if you want consistant, solid brews, in my opinion, RB will deliver that to you.

I would look at all the reviews for RB in general & not be influenced by one or two bad experiences as you can't make everyone happy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Gnatowski Mark Gnatowski, Nottingham, MD
(01/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
With the exception of the stout, every beer they make tastes the same. They have different colors and that's about it. The stout is o.k., all of the other beers are below average. The enviornment is nice, the food is decent, but they need to get a better brewmaster. If you want good beer, there are about a dozen better places in Baltimore to go. If you're afraid to go into the city, this might be the brew pub for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lutgehr Brighthammer Lutgehr Brighthammer, Baltimore, MD
(01/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Great
Although I gave more "good" scores I belive that RBS deserves a "great" overall. It's in a mall area--don't let that scare you away--or the IKEA across the street. (I saw that as a bonus). Lots of indoor and outdoor seating as well as a large circular bar. My service was friendly and swift, although I should note that ony 2 other people were at the bar. My first beer was the Daily Crisis IPA. It is hoppy but not as hoppy as they claim, "Loaded with hops" it ain't. But it had a good clean, bitter taste. In my notes I wrote "just excellent" about the spooners stout. It was bitter and tasty. The brown ale was very clear and amber in color. It was a good ale but it wasn't a brown ale. It tasted more like and ESB. They Made Me Do It Blueberry Ale--again, I am a sucker to try a fruit beer despite so many disapointments. This one was not bad--I didn't want to spit it out--but it really didn't have much of a blueberry flavor either. I ordered the Red Brick Burger well done--and it came well done--dry as a bone. I know that can happen, but so many places don't let it happen that I am still disapointed when it does. I simply ordered another stout to wash it down. Maybe that was part of their plan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

I had dinner with friends on a Wednesday last month. We came in at 5 PM, before the crowd arrived. The service was good overall, but the server did disappear for a while, and the food, which was also good, took longer to come than expected.

I tried a beer sampler of the 5 regular selections, a seasonal (Octopus' Pajamas), and a cask conditioned ale (which I've forgotten). I didn't care for Something Red, and Honeygo Lite is indeed a light beer. I liked the rest (Avenue Ale, Daily Crisis IPA, Spooners' Stout, Octopus' Pajamas), though I prefer a stout to have more body. None of the beers are bad, and several of them are quite good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It's a special pleasure to taste a brewpub's entire range of taps in one day and have every single one of them be clean, tasty, and impressive. Just had this happen on Friday at Red Brick Station. Had the 3-pint Pasta in cream curry sauce (excellent plate of food, stuffed with chicken, shrimp, and sausage), my dad had the crab soup (also very good), and I just loved the Spooner's Stout. Listen up, all you folks who diss Ringwood: it can be done right. Come here and have a taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(02/08/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.441 seconds) 22:27:49 54.196.195.194, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS