PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Empire Brewing Company - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Empire Brewing Company
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Empire Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.8 / 100
[Closed - 2003]
300 State Street
Rochester, NY 01464
United States
(716) 454-2337
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Empire Brewing Company
30 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Wrangling Brook Farm
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DIPLOMAT HOTEL
2) CLARION RIVERSIDE HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
4) COMFORT INN WEST
5) COURTYARD ROCHESTER BRIGHTON
6) DAYS HOTEL ROCHESTER
7) DAYS INN ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN
8) EXTENDEDSTAY ROCHESTER GREECE
9) HAMPTON INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
10) HYATT REGENCY ROCHESTER
11) INN ON BROADWAY
12) PARK PLAZA ROCHESTER AIRPORT
13) RESIDENCE INN ROCHESTER WEST
14) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER NORTH
15) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Andrews Street Bridge
2) Anthony, Susan B., House
3) Bevier Memorial Building
4) Brick Presbyterian Church Complex
5) Brown, Adam, Block
6) Building at 551--555 North Goodman Street
7) Campbell-Whittlesey House
8) Chamber of Commerce
9) Child, Jonathan, House & Brewster-Burke House Historic District
10) City Hall Historic District
11) Cohen, H. C., Company Building--Andrews Building
12) Court Exchange Building--National Casket Company
13) Court Street Bridge
14) Cox Building
15) Dewey, Chester, School No. 14
16) East High School
17) Eastman Dental Dispensary
18) Edwards Building
19) Ely, Hervey, House
20) Emmanuel Presbyterian Church
21) English Evangelical Church of the Reformation and Parish House
22) Erie Canal: Second Genesee Aqueduct
23) Federal Building
24) First National Bank of Rochester--Old Monroe County Savings Bank Building
25) First Presbyterian Church
26) First Universalist Church
27) Gannett Building
28) German United Evangelical Church Complex
29) Granite Building
30) Grove Place Historic District
31) Hagaman, David, House
32) House at 235--237 Reynolds Street
33) Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church Complex
34) Immanuel Baptist Church
35) Jewish Young Men's and Women's Association
36) Kirstein Building
37) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
38) Leopold Street Shule
39) Little Theatre
40) Main Street Bridge
41) Michaels--Stern Building
42) National Company Building
43) Naval Armory--Convention Hall
44) Nazareth House
45) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
46) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
47) Old Stone Warehouse
48) Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church
49) Powers Building
50) Pulaski Library
51) Reynolds Arcade
52) Rochester City School #24
53) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
54) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
55) Rochester Savings Bank
56) Rundel Memorial Library
57) Sibley Triangle Building
58) Spring House
59) St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
60) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
61) St. Paul-North Water Streets Historic District
62) State Street Historic District
63) Tall Maples Miniature Golf Course
64) United Congregational Church of Irondequoit
65) University Club
66) Vanderbeck House
67) Wallace, Timothy, House
68) Warner, H. H., Building
69) Washington Street Rowhouses
70) Watts, Ebenezer, House
71) Wilder Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 7 Main
2) Bull Run Restaurant
3) Phoenix Bar & Grill
4) Piccolino's Restaurant
5) Riccolino's Restaurant
6) Roux's Market
7) Roux's Pizza
8) Village Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is an easily overlooked bar/restaurant being on a busy road, but do not drive pass without stopping in for a drink and a app at least. Once inside you'll be warmly greeted by the staff. The owner himself is always to be found on premises helping out and chatting with customers. The beer selection is over the top for an Italian restaurant. They have four beers on tap along with over 20 different selections in bottles. Once in the bar just look up to the shelf and pick one. Not being a wine drinker I would easily hand the keys over to the staff to recommend one of the many vintages available. So stop in and have a drink and an app!! You wont leave unhappy. Chances are you might not leave!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Young Matthew Young, Madbury, NH
(09/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I see Empire has closed there doors. I'm glad I read these reviews before I made another trip. They have been going down hill since the lost there brew master. I hope someone buys this business. This is a big lose for the locals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wysox, PA
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Empire closed here last Thursday. They apparently had money problems and left owing some money. They also closed in Buffalo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill  Sly Bill Sly, Rochester, NY
(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just read in the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle today that Empire in Rochester is closing. Don't know why, but they quoted the owner, so...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was the best of the 30+ brewpubs I've visited in the past year. All of the beers were superb and true to form, the food was delicious, Michelle provided great service, and the overall atmosphere was appealing. I particularly liked the Black Magic Stout and the Smoked Porter, but even the Skinny Atlas Light had a nice flavor -- not just the watered-down taste usually associated with light beer. I'd recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a full spectrum of well-made beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ajb, Iowa City, IA
(04/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
It looks like Joe, from Rochester likes to run his mouth telling other people what to do and where to go. My sampling of brews and reviewing what I see and taste is none of Joes business. I will stop back and sample there beers when I am back in the area. There is always a few people like that in every town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ulster, Pa
(03/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
in response to the last post, maybe you should just stay home because there is nothing wrong with empire. the beer selection is great. wass there yesterday and they had 9 on tap. what more do you want.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe joe, rochester, NY
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
My review of Empire Brewery is to warn other beer lovers to avoid making a long trip to this brewery until they get things under control. Empire needs to put a review of there own in when they start brewing the beers that made them the top brewery in the area. I stand by my review and will not stop back for a visit until they get there act together. Sorry, no slack for poor beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Morningstar John Morningstar, Towanda, PA
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
empire's head brewer just resigned. the two assistants are taking over. how about cutting them some slack. were the regulars on tap, light amber hefe?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer beer, rochester, NY
(11/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
This brew pub did not have any Pale Ale, IPA, ESB, Brown, Winter Warmer or there seasonal Pumpkin Ale. We had a Apple Ale (12oz Coors Lite 2oz apple juice) and the Porter with good flavor but flat, flat, flat...We brought 2 empty growlers and we took them home empty! They must have lost there brew master! Call ahead before you make the trip to see if they have any beer. I have no reason to stop back any time soon unless they start brewing again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John M. Morningstar John M. Morningstar, Towanda, PA
(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Had dinner there last week and the food was pretty good. Their Brazilian Chowder was really tasty - just the right combination of spice and sweetness. The beer ranged from average to good. Skinny Atlas Light was good for a light beer, so-so for a Kolsch (which is what it is styled after). Black Magic Stout had a nice combination of chocolate and coffee malt. The Hefe-Weizen was refreshing without being remarkable. The Amber Ale was average. The first seasonal fruit I had was the Apricot Ale. A taster sample of it wasn't bad, it wasn't overpowering with apricot. But a full pint of it was too much. Then I tried there Purple Haze which is a blueberry ale. This is their best selling beer. They serve it with fresh blueberries in the glass. I wouldn't be able to drink an entire pint of it. Way to sweet. They do make a blue and tan which is the blueberry and stout. They may not be too bad - I didn't try it. Overall a very nice place that's easy to get to. I would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
This Empire is not as good as the original in Syracuse. The beer is on target, but the kitchen really is messed up. One dish we had was very close the Kraft Mac & Cheese. It was said to have crawfish in it, but we only found two little bits in the entire dish. The owners should hang out for an entire dinner run and see what goes on. Come for the beer. It is worth it. Eat elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After a recent visit I summize that the brewer and the commitment to the beer has improved immensly. The food has been great all along. I had the Doppelbock (9.0%abv) and it blew me away! This is a world class beer...as good or better than some of the German imports. Great location and atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Howard, Rochester, NY
(03/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Average quality beers in general, high marks to the highly hopped Purgatory Pale. Equal emphasis is placed on the food here. Great location. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(04/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
A neat establishment. Set in an old warehouse, the place has a contemporary flavor.

Good selection of frosties. From the stout (silver medal winner at the Beer Super Bowl, Colorado) to an inspiring selection of seasonal brews, this place is a must when in Rochester. Also, pretty cool beer wear as well. Great stocking stuffers for the folks..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JB Haley JB Haley, Charleston, WV
(12/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Wish the Rochester Red Wings would have been playing at the park across the street.Great location to catch a few drafts before and after the game. I had the Nut Brown , quite enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tapmother tapmother, mont. village, MD
(10/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Good location and atmosphere. Fair selection of beer, the Downtown Brown and weizen were average quality for the price.They should stay away from Blueberry Fruit beers (doesn't anyone know how to make these correctly?. The food was above average - large portions buta bit on the salty side. Overall the experience was acceptable given the location, service and food portions. The sister location in Syracuse rates higher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane O'Neill Shane O'Neill, Bethlehem, PA
(07/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff greco Jeff greco, Jermyn, PA
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
They had a wide variety of beers on tap. They had just tapped a bock the day before I got there, It was full bodied with a strong malt flavor. I highly recommend it. If you go also try the Kolsch, which is also very drinkable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bill, Jackson, MI
(03/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy Great Great Great
Empire's my pick for Rochester's second best brewpub. When I visited they had about 5 house brews available but no commercial bottled beer making for a very limited selection.

The house brews were all good but not really too amazing and not very diverse. The stout had a bit too much roasted barley for my taste. A sign over the bar listed awards the brewery has earned at beer competitions. There was a Gold Medal on the list for their brown ale but it wasn't available. I thought that was a bit cruel of them!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Bushman Chris Bushman, North Hollywood, CA
(09/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It's the best "Bar None"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Dentino Tony Dentino, Rochester, NY
(02/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
The beer selection is limited and the quality is nothing special. There are several better places for good beer in Rochester.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(01/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Food was one notch above normal pub fare. Staff was very nice and open to brewing questions. Some of their beers are very weak. Always have a special. Extremely diverse crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Bieri Gregg Bieri, Bailey, CO
(08/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.369 seconds) 00:55:08 54.166.17.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS