PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Upstream Brewing Company - Omaha, NE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 12:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NE > Omaha > Upstream Brewing Company
Upstream Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Upstream Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76 / 100
514 South 11th Street
Old Market District
Omaha, NE 68102
United States
(402) 344-0200
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Omaha, NE
Beer Guide for Nebraska

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Upstream Brewing Company
67 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Dubliner
(0 mile)

2) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

3) Alt M√ľnchen
(0 mile)

4) Das Rheinland
(0 mile)

5) Rock Bottom
(0 mile)

6) Jobber's Canyon Restaurant and Brewery
(1 mile)

7) Crescent Moon Ale House
(2 miles)

8) Barrett's Barleycorn Pub and Grill
(2 miles)

9) Dundee Dell
(4 miles)

10) Old Dundee Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

11) Dario's Brasserie
(4 miles)

12) The Brass Monkey Sports Bar
(4 miles)

13) Homy Inn
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN REDICK PLAZA
2) BW CROSSROADS OF THE BLUFFS
3) CHALET MOTOR LODGE
4) COMFORT INN AT THE ZOO
5) COMFORT SUITES
6) COUNTRY INN STES COUNCIL BLUFF
7) COUNTRY INN STES OMAHA AIRPORT
8) COURTYARD OMAHA DOWNTOWN
9) DAYS INN COUNBLUFF IA 9TH AVE
10) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
11) HILTON OMAHA
12) HLTN GRDN INN OMAHA DOWNTOWN
13) PARK INN OMAHA DOWNTOWN
14) QUALITY INN METRO
15) RAMADA COUNCIL BLUFFS IA
16) RAMADA INN AIRPORT
17) SHERATON OMAHA
18) SLEEP INN AND SUITES OMAHA
19) SUPER 8 CARTER LAKE IA
20) SUPER 8 CNCL BLFFS IA OMHA NE
21) WINGATE INN OMAHA AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anheuser-Busch Beer Depot
2) Aquila Court Building
3) Astro Theater
4) Barton, Guy C., House
5) Beebe and Runyan Furniture Showroom and Warehouse
6) Bemis Omaha Bag Company Building
7) Blackstone Hotel
8) Bradford-Pettis House
9) Brandeis, J. L., and Sons Store Building
10) Brandeis-Millard House
11) Burlington Headquarters Building
12) Burlington Station
13) Center School
14) City National Bank Building and Creighton Orpheum Theater
15) Columbian School
16) Cornish, Joel N., House
17) Crook, Gen. George, House
18) Douglas County Courthouse
19) Drake Court Apartments and the Dartmore Apartments Historic District
20) Eggerss--O'Flyng Building
21) First National Bank Building
22) First Unitarian Church of Omaha
23) Flatiron Hotel
24) Ford Hospital
25) Franklin School
26) Gallagher Building
27) Garneau-Kilpatrick House
28) Georgia Row House
29) Havens-Page House
30) Hill Hotel
31) Holy Family Church
32) Hospe, Anton, Music Warehouse
33) Howard Street Apartment District
34) Immaculate Conception Church and School
35) Jewell Building
36) Joslyn, George A., Mansion
37) Keeline Building
38) Kelly, George H., House
39) Kennedy Building
40) Kimball, Mary Rogers, House
41) Kirschbraun and Sons Creamery, Inc.
42) Livestock Exchange Building
43) Malcolm X House Site
44) Mason School
45) McLaughlin, Charles D., House
46) Melrose, The
47) Mercer, Dr. Samuel D., House
48) Monmouth Park School
49) Moses, G.C., Block
50) Nash Block
51) Normandie Apartments
52) North Presbyterian Church
53) Notre Dame Academy and Convent
54) Old People's Home
55) Omaha Bolt, Nut and Screw Building
56) Omaha National Bank Building
57) Omaha Public Library
58) Omaha Quartermaster Depot Historic District
59) Packer's National Bank Building
60) Park School
61) Poppleton Block
62) Porter-Thomsen House
63) Prague Hotel
64) Redick Tower
65) Robinson, Lizzie, House
66) Rose Realty--Securities Building
67) Rosewater School
68) Saddle Creek Underpass
69) Saint Joseph Parish Complex
70) Sanford Hotel
71) Saunders School
72) Shafer, M.F., and Co. Building
73) Simon Brothers Company
74) South Omaha Bridge
75) South Omaha Bridge
76) Specht, Christian, Building
77) St. Cecilia's Cathedral
78) St. John's A.M.E. Church
79) St. Martin of Tours Episcopal Church
80) St. Matthias' Episcopal Church
81) St. Philomena's Cathedral and Rectory
82) Standard Oil Company Building of Nebraska
83) Steiner Rowhouse No. 1
84) Steiner Rowhouse No. 2
85) Storz, Gottlieb, House
86) Strehlow Terrace
87) Swoboda Bakery
88) The Berkeley Apartments
89) The Sherman
90) Trinity Cathedral
91) U.S.S. HAZARD and U.S.S. MARLIN
92) Union Passenger Terminal
93) USS HAZARD (AM-240) National Historic Landmark
94) Vinton School
95) Webster Telephone Exchange Building
96) Zabriskie, Edgar, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10th Street Grinder
2) 11-Worth Cafe
3) 1507 Farnam Street
4) Ahmad's Persian Cuisine
5) All Occasion Bartenders
6) Amadeus At The Aquila
7) Ampe's Cafe
8) Angies Restaurant & Lounge
9) Aquila Bistro
10) Asian Mongolian Bbq
11) Athenian Gyros
12) Atomic Dog
13) Austins Steakhouse Area Office
14) Austins Steaks & Saloon
15) Bangkok Cuisine
16) Baratta's Bar
17) Barry O's
18) Bear Trap
19) Beverlee's
20) Big Horn Mountain Barbecue
21) Billy Frogg's Grill & Bar
22) Blimpie Subs & Salads
23) Blimpie Subs & Salads
24) Bob's Grill & Cafe
25) Bohemian Cafe
26) Brass Grille
27) Brokers
28) Brown Baggers
29) Brownie's
30) Burger King
31) Burger King
32) Burger Lust
33) Butsy Le Doux's
34) Cactus Cafe
35) Cafe De Paris
36) Cajun Kitchen
37) California Tacos & More
38) Caniglia's Original
39) Cappuginos
40) Carter Lake Lounge
41) Casa Bella Pizza Parlor
42) Cascio's Steak House
43) China Taste Restaurant
44) Club 415
45) Connections
46) Creighton University Skutt
47) D C's Saloon
48) D J's Restaurant
49) Dairy Queen
50) Das Rheinland
51) Dazy Maze A Veggie Place
52) Delice European Bakery Cafe
53) Diamond Bar Inc
54) Diner
55) Dixie Quicks
56) Dog Spot Catering
57) Domino's Pizza
58) Donna's Restaurant
59) Downtown Blues
60) Dubliner Pub
61) El Mercadito
62) El Mexicano
63) El Rancho
64) Ethnic Sandwich Shop
65) Fair Deal Cafe
66) Falling Waters Grille
67) Famous Dave's
68) Flatiron Cafe
69) Frankie & Phyl's Italian Cafe
70) Frankie Pane Building
71) French Cafe
72) Garden Cafe
73) Get It While It's Hot
74) Gilligan's Pub
75) Gli Food Svc
76) Godfather's Pizza
77) Godfather's Pizza
78) Goodfellas
79) Goodmans Bar
80) Goofyfoot Lodge
81) Hap's First Stop
82) Happy Bar
83) Harvey St Cafe
84) Harveys Ultimate Buffet
85) Home Team Pizza
86) House Of Lee
87) House Of Lee
88) Howard Street Pub & Pizza
89) Indian Oven
90) J D Tucker's Bar
91) Joe Banana's Food & Spirits
92) Jokers Comedy Club
93) Joslyn Art Museum
94) Joy Night Club
95) Julio's
96) Kfc
97) King Fong Cafe
98) Kurt & Clydes
99) Kwa's Corner
100) L T's 308 Bar
101) LA Botana
102) Lagniappe Catering
103) Liberty Tavern
104) Little King
105) Little King
106) Little King Restaurant
107) Little King Restaurant
108) Louie M's Burger Lust
109) M's Pub
110) Mac's Tavern
111) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
112) Malara's Italian Restaurant
113) Manhattan Dell
114) Manhattan's
115) Matsu Sushi
116) Max
117) Maxine's Restaurant
118) Mc Donald's
119) Mc Gregor Garden
120) Meeting Place Coffee House
121) Michael's
122) Mr Toad
123) New York Fried Chicken
124) Newell's Bar
125) Nick & Tony's Italian Chop Hse
126) Nicola's Italian Restaurant
127) O'Connor's Irish Pub
128) Old Bar
129) Old Chicago
130) Olympic Lounge
131) Omaha Mining Co
132) Omaha Prime Restaurant
133) Our Place
134) Panda House
135) Paqueria El Palenque
136) Passport Restaurant
137) Piccolo Pete's Restaurant
138) Pierce Street Pub
139) Pogo's Sandwich & Gift Shop
140) Quizno's Classic Subs
141) Redick Grill
142) Rendevous Bar
143) Rice & Grill
144) Rick's Cafe Boatyard
145) River City Saloon
146) Romeo's Mexican Food & Pizza
147) Rose & Crown Pub
148) Route 66 Bar & Grill
149) Runza Restaurant
150) Shin-N Duck
151) Skeets Ribs & Chicken
152) Smoke Pit Bbq & Lounge
153) Sodexho Food Svc
154) Sokol Auditorium
155) Spaghetti Works
156) Spaghetti Works Restaurant
157) Spring-Inn Bar
158) Stage Right Coffee & Tea Co
159) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
160) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
161) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
162) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
163) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
164) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
165) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
166) T Henery's Pub
167) Taco Rico
168) Tacos Too
169) Tamam
170) Ted & Wally's Ice Cream Shop
171) Terri Lynn's Coffee Pastries
172) Time Out Foods
173) Tower 5 Cafe
174) Trini's
175) Upstream Brewing Co
176) V Mertz Restaurant
177) Villa Fiorita Italian Sicilian
178) Vivace
179) Welcome Inn Tavern
180) Westons Tavern
181) Wingstop
182) Your Place
183) Zio's New York Style Pizzeria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
"Blue Mystic" Saison Belgian ale (seasonal) 7/10; "American" wheat 2/10. Rating is where 10 is best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(05/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
"Belgian-Style wit (white) wheat" (seasonal) 6/10; "Belgian-Style Saison" (seasonal) 5/10. Rating is where 10 is best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(07/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Tried not one but two of the samplers, I was there with my cousin, there were supposed to be 11 beers but there was a seasonal that they threw in for 12. My favorite was the Scotch Ale. While I'm not a hop head, I found the IPA to be to my liking. The bartender, Nick, was a fount of knowledge and fun. I highly recommend this place and my husband, the home brewer, will be coming next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Debbie, Hollister, CA
(06/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
So, First off, I lived in Germany as a teenager and was introduced to quality beer at a very young age, and consider most American beers as horse piss. Having said that, I absolutely loved the quality of beers served at Upstream. Their American Wheat (a Silver Medal Winner at the Great American Beer Festival 2004), was better than any wheat beer I have had since my youth! And I lived in Germany for another two years in my late twenties! It has an awesome aftertaste of roasted wheat, and a clean smooth taste! I'm not a huge fan of hops so this beer was that much better for excluding them. I also tried thier Scotish Ale and the Cask Conditioned IPA. Both very good beers. The cask conditioning really smoothed out the IPA, but the "hoppy" aftertaste was still there, along with an almost young bourbon finish. I can't wait to taste a Cask Conditioned Wheat. I recommend any and all beer afficianado's within 250 mile to make the trip and bring home a gallon of your favorite!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Rigo Anthony Rigo, Sioux City, IA
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
"Epenezer" stout ale (seasonal): 8/10, where 10 is best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(12/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I was passing through Omaha as part of a road trip. Upstream by far was one of the best microbreweries I visited along the way. I had the Pale Ale, ESB, and Conditioned Cask. All the brews were great. I had the chicken and penne pasta dish which was very good although there were a bit too many peppers for my taste. I sat at the bar and the service was great. All-in-all I would certainly recommend Upstream to anyone who is looking for an outstanding microbrew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Butler John Butler, Mountain Home, ID
(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
Passing through I stopped. The building is very nice, and I had the ESB and chicken sandwich. The server looked as if she was working alone, and was 20 minutes in between visits to my table. I did take home a belgian for a special occasion. I probably would have had a second beer, but the time in between visits from the server I had finished my beer and a glass of water and was ready to go. I think the problem was a management issue rather than the server, but I was disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Westminster, CO
(06/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I'm a frequent visitor when in town. Every time I take a client, it never fails to impress. The beer selection is really good and the quality if good. I love their IPA. BUT, the real treat is in the cooler. They have bottles of special brews, like Trippels & Dubbels. They're spectacular.

The food is good too. The waitstaff friendly and the ambiance is fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(04/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Where 10 is best: IPA 5/10; Gladiator Doppelbock 4/10 (seasonal); American Wheat 3/10. 11 in-house brews on tap plus five concoctions (beer mixes).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place was great!!! Great location in Old Market District -- cool building. They had a good beer selection the IPA is excellent. The server Aaron suggested a Hoppy Marriage - a mix of ESB and IPA. Very great combination. Aaron was terrific - best server -- she rocked and made the whole expierence great. We have our kids with us as we are traveling west towards Montana -- the kids loved it --rootbeer was awesome and kids menu rated many smiley faces. A must stop if you are anywhere near Omaha!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hoppy girl Hoppy girl, Akron, OH
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A very special place. The experience there with someone special in my life created wonderful memories. Great food, atmosphere, and a great game of pool!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sunshine Sunshine, Greensboro, NC
(02/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
A very nice place in one of the neatest downtown places I've been. The Hefeweizen was very enjoyable, the stout equally so. The Scotch Ale was superb. A definite "Must Stop" when in Omaha.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny Walker Johnny Walker, Angola, IN
(10/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This place is located in a pretty cool location in Omaha (not being from here, didn't know that existed).

First off, probably the greatest building I've ever seen for a brewpub. An old firehouse from the early 1900s, one end, now a wall of window, was were the horse-drawn fire carriages came in. The building alone makes this place great.

They had one cask conditioned ale on my visit (their stout) and one seasonal (saison). I sampled everything, and all were good to great. Their ESB stood out in my opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Wow. The beer selection at Upstream was amazing. Normally when I visit a microbrew I look for the sampler so I can get a feel for everything that is available before committing to a few pints of my favorite. The usually arrangement means 5 or 6 glasses of samples but at Upstream I was pleasantly surprised when our waitress delivered the sampler complete with eleven different beers to try. All of the beers provided were of excellent quality and it will not be hard for most beer coniseurs to find something that they will like. It's probably even safe to say that those "beer" drinkers that favor one of the major mass produced beers can find something likeable here.

The only beers that I wouldn't order on my own are the ESB and IPA. A couple sips of those and I was pretty sure I could feel the hop vines taking root in my stomach since there were both so hoppy. If you like to feel like you are swimming in a pool of hops while breathing hop scented air then either of those are definitely going to be right up your alley.

For me the best beers were the Gold Coast Blonde, the seasonal cask aged beer, and the Dundee Scotch Ale. The last of these became my choice of drink for the evening and I continued pouring them down until I changed my name to Argyle and tried to order Haggis. The finish on the Dundee was about as close to perfect for a Scotch. Have they tried this at the GABF? If they haven't they should, if they have and still don't have a medeal then the judges aren't paying attention.

Oh, and did I mention the food was really good to? The menu has great variety and everyone should be able to find something to eat. I recommend the BBQ Chicken Pizza. REALLY GOOD.

The only thing to watch out for is the service on busy nights. We were there on a saturday and the place was packed. I'm pretty sure the waitress was just trying to hold it all together, but none the less the wait time on several of my beers was pretty long.

I'll be back to Upstream next time I'm in town. I hope they have enough of the Scotch brewed up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stu Stu, Broomfield, CO
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
After years of patronizing both locations, the food has always been first rate, with a great selection. The beers can be genuinely called WORLD CLASS! Not just in my opinion, obvioulsy, becuase the Upstream has won numerous gold medals in the GAB fest. Their head brewer, Zach, constantly offers fantastic seasonal brews, besides his regular line of oustanding beers. Note the Old Market location also features a cask conditioned ale, that is always first class. The few times the service was slow, it was becuase the place was so packed, that it would have taken 3 servers to attend to everyones needs. In spite of that fact, the srevers are always upbeat, friendly, and ready to help novices with their selections. If you are a true beer geek, this is one place that you cant miss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Micki Micki, Omaha, NE
(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I'm thinking the guy who was visiting Omaha on an 'extended visit' not only couldn't spell, but hated Omaha, not Upstream. Upstream's food is great; the pizzas, the salads, and the steaks. All were great. My drink of choice would definitely be the Scotch Ale, great dark beer that went down very smooth. The ESB was also good. Since they added more hops to the IPA, I do not enjoy it as much, but I will be back to Upstream, many times over. Keep up the good work!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Omaha, NE
(04/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
The major problem is they really need a better matching of food and beer. You will either have the beer or the food and love this place or get the beer AND the food and find the place just ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review omaha, NE
(11/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I went to Omaha with the intention of hitting a few brewpubs. I did not realize that I would end up hitting Upstream four different times in five days. It is a very large place with two floors, an outdoor eating area, and a really cool rooftop deck. I was able to try every beer in my four visits. I thought they were all high quality, but the IPA could use more hops. If you are there on a weekend night, make sure to visit the Haymarket square down the block.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(10/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
The Oktoberfest is avery good beer, currently they have it on tap and on cask condition. The stout is probably there best, served on nitro, nice creamy head and smooth. The wait staff is excellent, they were all ways there when you needed a beer. They are almost to good, asking if you need a another beer when there is still over an inch of beer left. Overall it is a very good place and worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(10/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Where 10 is best: Oktoberfest Ale 7/10; Blackstone Stout 6/10; American Wheat 2/10. Ceasar salad 8/10. Nine beers on tap, brewed on premises.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the 1st time we had visited Upstream and were very impressed. The 90 Schilling Scotch Ale was very good as was the Firehouse ESB. We were at the new location (not the downtown) and loved the building and the layout. The Smoked Gouda and Ale soup was the best we have ever had. i would love to own a brewery like this.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Duryea Don Duryea, Douglass, KS
(09/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Great Good
If I were only looking for dinner, I'd rate Upstream higher. But since the key is the beer, I'd rate Upstream a great disappointment. We go here every time we're in Omaha, and I fill my growler with the Scotch Ale. But every beer on the 12-beer sampler was a disappointment this time. They were uniformly thin and watery. What made it worse was that you could taste the true beer flavors in the background struggling to get past all the thinness. Even the root beer was flat. We spoke with the manager, who apologized and explained that they modified some of the beers since last we'd visited. But the uniform thinness makes me wonder if they're watering it down. To their credit, the service and food were exceptional, and the manager picked up the tab for the drinks. But we won't be back at the Old Market location. We'll try West Omaha next time we're in town, but if it doesn't improve, I'll be recycling my empty growler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great So So
The beers are good, but not great. I've had most of them now, and I'd say the best is the Capital Ale. Some menu items are beter than others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Lincoln, NE
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Relatively large brewpub in a revitalized downtown historic district. There were nine beers on tap including a cask selection. The ESB was the best with a good malt aroma and flavor balanced by nice hop character. There was also a 90 Scotch Ale which had a nice malt character slightly estery and great rocky head. Food was better than average with some good vegetarian selections. Roasted veggie ravioli was excellent). The service was quick and experienced. It was nice to see beer selection, like the ESB and Scotch Ale, beyond the normal brewpub assortment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Chicago, IL
(05/03/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.444 seconds) 12:51:59 54.80.100.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS