PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rocky Run Tap and Grill - Columbia, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 07:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Columbia > Rocky Run Tap and Grill
Rocky Run Tap and Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rocky Run Tap and Grill
Overall: Good    Score: 67.4 / 100
[Closed - August 2008]
6480 Dobbin Center Way
Columbia, MD 21045
United States
(410) 730-6581
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: August 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Columbia, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
41 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pub Dog Pizza and Drafthouse
(0 mile)

2) Victoria Gastro Pub
(0 mile)

3) Frisco Grille and Cantina (was Frisco Burritos)
(0 mile)

4) Clyde's of Columbia
(3 miles)

5) Tomato Palace
(3 miles)

6) Mad Hop Brews
(3 miles)

7) Blob's Park
(4 miles)

8) Ellicott Mills Brewing Company
(4 miles)

9) Judges Bench Pub
(4 miles)

10) Phoenix Emporium
(4 miles)

11) Rams Head Tavern
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Joshua Barney House Commodore
2) Wayside Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BRIDGESTREET STONE HAVEN
2) BW BALTIMORE WASHINGTON ARPRT
3) COMFORT INN FORT MEADE
4) COURTYARD COLUMBIA
5) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBIA 100 PRKWY
6) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBIA CORP PK
7) FAIRFIELD INN COLUMBIA
8) HAMPTON INN COLUMBIA
9) HILTON COLUMBIA
10) HILTON GARDEN INN COLUMBIA
11) KNIGHTS INN BALTIMORE S JESSUP
12) PERALYNNA CORP EXTENDED STAY
13) RED ROOF WASHINGTON JESSUP
14) RESIDENCE INN COLUMBIA
15) SHERATON COLUMBIA HOTEL
16) STUDIOPLUS COLUMBIA GATEWAY DR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barney, Commodore Joshua, House
2) Bollman Suspension and Trussed Bridge
3) Christ Church Guilford
4) Dorsey Hall
5) Ellicott City Station
6) Patterson Viaduct Ruins
7) Trinity Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adam's The Place For Ribs
2) Akbar Restaurant
3) An Loi
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Asean Bistro
6) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
7) Bangkok Delight
8) Bangkok Garden
9) Baskin Robbins 31 Ice Cream
10) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
11) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Blue Cow Cafe
14) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
15) Boston Market
16) Breakfast Burgers & More
17) Burger King
18) Burger King
19) C Like LLC
20) Cafe De Paris
21) Carmen Caboom
22) Carry Out Menu
23) Caseys Coffee
24) Catering Service Connection
25) Chick-Fil-A
26) Chicken Out-Columbia Crossing
27) Chinese Gourmet Carry-Out
28) Cold Stone Creamery Area Dev
29) Columbia Ale House
30) Columbia Chef
31) Columbia Grocery & Deli
32) Columbia Pizza
33) Columbia's Best Deli
34) Dat Thanh Cafe
35) Delitown
36) Dobbin Donuts & Deli
37) Domino's Pizza
38) Domino's Pizza
39) Don Pablo's
40) Donna's Snowden
41) Evergreen Deli
42) Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que
43) Friendly's Restaurant
44) Frisco Burritos
45) Gallerd Restaurant
46) Giorgio's Deli & Carryout
47) Gorman Plaza Deli
48) Greystone Grill 1 LLC
49) Hanamura Japanese Restaurant
50) Hard Times Cafe
51) Heartland Home Foods Inc
52) High's Ice Cream
53) House Of India
54) Hunan Manor Restaurant
55) Huntington Deli & Market
56) In Grand Sytle
57) Indian Palace Bar & Grill
58) Industrial Deli
59) Jack & Jill Ice Cream Co
60) Jack's Resturant
61) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
62) Jesse Wong's Hong Kong
63) Joe's Place
64) Kenny Rogers Roasters
65) Kfc
66) King Contrivance Cleaners
67) King's Kabab
68) Koko's Mini Market
69) Kokos Food Mart
70) La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant
71) La Madeleine French Bakery
72) Lakeview Delicatessen
73) Ledo Pizza
74) Lilis Brother Inc
75) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
76) Longhorn Steakhouse
77) Lucky's China Inn
78) Mango Grove
79) Mar Y Tierra Restaurant
80) Max Pizza
81) Mc Donald's
82) Mc Donald's
83) Mc Donald's
84) Mc Donald's
85) Mega Bytes Cafe
86) Mill Towne Tavern
87) Mongolian Grill
88) Morgan's Food & Spirits
89) Nichi Bei Kai
90) Noodle & Co
91) Noodles Corner
92) Olive Garden
93) Other Barn
94) Panera Bread
95) Papa John's Pizza
96) Peking Chinese Restaurant
97) Pizza Boli's
98) Pizza Hut
99) Pizza Hut
100) Quiznos Sub
101) Quiznos Sub
102) Quiznos Sub
103) Red Lobster Restaurant
104) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
105) Riverside Roastery & Espresso
106) Rocky Run Tap & Grill-Columbia
107) Roma's Breakfast & Pizzeria
108) Roma's Market & Pizza
109) Romano's Macaroni Grill
110) Ruby Tuesday
111) Sindy's Deli & Carryout
112) Sonoma's Bar & Grille
113) Starbucks
114) Strapazza Of Columbia
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Sushi-King Restaurant
119) Taco Bell
120) Takeout Taxi
121) TCBY
122) Tgi Friday's
123) Three Brothers Italian Rstrnt
124) Vennaris Pizza & Subs Inc
125) Wendy's
126) Wings To Go
127) Wok 175 Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed at the beginning of this month. Good riddance to bad beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
Oh my. Probably the worst beer I've had in quite a while. The fact that no one else there was drinking beer, let alone their beer should have tipped me off, but I was there, so I jumped in with both feet. Bar Wench Golden was a Seinfeld beer--it tasted like nothing. Canadian Ale and Maple Leaf Lemon Wheat seemed much alike, only the wheat had a bit more flavor. The red had that typical extract sweetness throughout, while the Brew House whatever they called it was supposed to be a stout and it barely was like a black and tan. They do have free peanuts--for whatever its worth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
The beers here have been slowly improving in quality, but the basic problem remains: This is a restaurant that does beer as an afterthought and marketing gimmick, much like the Hops chain. Furthermore, the beers suffer from being served in heavily-frosted thick glasses.Order the beers in a non-frosted glass, and there's hope.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Good
They only had two of the brews available; the Stout and a Lemon Wheat. The Stout was really good. The service was good and the food was pretty good; wish they had had more of their beers avaialble.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Colorado Springs, CO
(05/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
Stopped in a few times on my way to class. Generally better than its sister bar in Charles Village, but still has OK beer, and crappy food and atmosphere. Makes me happy that I don't live in Columbia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, baltimore, MD
(03/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Made an effort to get back here as I had not been around in a few years. Didn't really like the beers the first time I tried them; thought they were bland, thin. Beers overall were better than I remembered, but still unremarkable. As beers got darker, flavor seemed to improve. Maybe in another two years, who knows?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Business center location just off the expressway. Visited 11/14/04 and enjoyed it. The brewing system looks like a hodge podge of BOP and other components put together. Had a 5 beer sampler which ran the gambit from wheat to stout, all were clean and drinkable, some very good. The food was good, reasonably priced and fast, really fast. Lots of hot sauces along the walls, beware, some are too hot !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimbo jimbo, frankentrost, MI
(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
There are separate Pubcrawler entries for all three Rocky Run locations. Please use the Baltimore entry to review the Baltimore location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
Went to the Charles Village location. Been there 20+ times over the past few years. I got the stout with "the bartender saying it wasn't pouring right (some gas/nitro issue)" as the previous reviewer noted. I waited patiently (the barkeep kept trying) and when it eventually came out it was pretty good. I think it's the best beer they brew out of the bunch and after tasting all of them it's the only one I ever get anymore. That said, the rest of the experience was typical Rocky Run. The food is always mediocre. The ever expanding menu tries to make up in quantity for what it lacks in quality. The atmosphere is just like other college frat-traps all over Baltimore...the only difference with this one is the stout. I suppose having a captive audience of swill drinkers can enable any place to stay open indefinitely. I wish it would just go away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Baltimore, MD
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ha Ha !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
I'm in shock. Shock, I tell you.

The place that produced the first beer I couldn't finish has actually started cranking out some decent beers! On the advice and arm-twisting of a fellow reviewer here, I revisited this place with trepidation. I ordered a stout, and the bartender balked, saying it wasn't pouring right (some gas/nitro issue). I demanded to taste it anyway, and found a darned tasty stout, nice and black, with good coffee and malt flavors and a nice balance of hops and ale yeast. I followed with the Red Ale, which although not earth-moving was quite acceptable.

The place is still a sports bar and restaurant that pays relatively little attention to its beers, and I found stale peanuts in the free-peanuts barrel.... but things are looking up here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
I sat at the bar with two friends, one liked the stout, one liked the free peanuts, I thought the ipa which was described as an "american pale ale" was not either, The hops were so faint, it should be listed as a pale ale at most. Great, now Im stuck with 22 oz of bland beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It certainly seems that this establishment is not high on everyone's list. Several of the reviewers below I greatly respect, particularly ADM4, so my two cents need to be stacked up against the gereral consensus. Anyway,here goes. I rather like Rocky Run, however, for certain specific engagements. I have been there a number of times for happy hour in the past month and have enjoyed a stout/pale ale mix while munching on peanuts and playing NTN Trivia. That's it. The other beers aren't real good and they all are somewhat expensive at non-happy hour prices. The stout has a reasonable heft and decent taste and the ale perks it up a bit. I have never met the brewer and I get a kick at looking at the dents in the tanks. I'm not sure what I'll do when the really hot weather comes around, probably migrate to a different venue. So there you are, things can't be all bad even when you think so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(04/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
Even after reading all the negative reviews, I figured I'd give this place a chance as I like checking out new brewpubs and was in the area. As soon as I saw on their menu that they served BudMillerCoors and other mega swills, I knew right away that their beers must not be all that. Any brewpub that makes good beer would never serve other beers to compete with their own. So I ordered a sampler of their beers, and most had a strange aftertaste, and all were weak, thin representations of their styles. Food was ok, better than the beers, but not great. The worst thing was the atmosphere. It was so bright I was wishing I had some shades. And the decor--looked like a redneck version of TGI Fridays. Needless to say, I wasn't impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JoJo JoJo, Silver Sprng, MD
(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! This place rocks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Timken Tim Timken, Odenton, MD
(09/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Great
We arrived for lunch and were seated within minutes. The menu selection was great. We were attended to, received our food and were back to work within the hour, and all without being rushed. The portions were good, the food was excellent. I will definately go back with my husband.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from karen karen, columbia, MD
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good N/A
The beer was served so cold it was impossible to really rate it because it was so tastless. I only sat in the bar. Not really a serious brewpub at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review silver spring, MD
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Lousy
I can't believe this place markets themselves as a neighborhood microbrewery! The food is bearable but the beer is ABSOLUTELY dreadful! I requested samples of the Big Gut Pale Ale and the Mountie Red-- they were so terrible I ordered the Stout. Silly me! I hate wasting beer so I reluctantly drank it (I'm sure my face winced with each sip). If visiting Maryland, don't waste your time or money here-- Go to Ram's Head in Annapolis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(01/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My husband and I go here all the time and we LOVE it! The service is wonderful and the people are so nice. I love Rocky Run for the big salads and my husband enjoys the wings! We've taken friends to Rocky Run when they are in town visiting and they have enjoyed it as well. We will continue to come to Rocky Run b/c of not only the food, but the service and the environment. Keep up the GREAT work!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carrie Carrie, Columbia, MD
(10/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Olsen Olsen, Columbia, MD
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
There are separate Pubcrawler entries for the other two Rocky Run locations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Awesome! So So
This is for the Charles Village location. Did not think the beer would taste so bad..maybe the shipping hurts it? They brew is such small batches that consistentcy is not their strong point. Food and atmosphere are great but they gotta work on the beer to keep me coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
I only tried this place again because I was having photos processed at the adjacent lab, and I said "heck, anything's possible...." Well, not an improvement in this stuff, although I was able to finish the (frosted) glass this time. I can confirm, however, that contrary to allegations, none of the chemicals from the photo lab next door are leaking into the tanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So Lousy
I heard they had a new brewer, so I went back when my ski club had a happy hour there. The Pale Ale was good--much better than before--but the Red was thin and and had a faintly medicinal taste (a possible synonym for Mr. Brown's "phenolic").

The Service and Overall rankings have sunk because I've noticed that every time we've gone there for happy hour, our bill has been screwed up. We have consistently been charged full price for items that were discounted for happy hour. We've been able to straighten it out each time, but we shouldn't have had to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(06/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
A couple of recent visits raised my opinion of the beer quality just slightly. I hadn't tried the Elvis Eizmarzen before. It was interesting, a marzen with a slightly yeasty flavor. A sip of the stout wasn't as awful as the last time I tried it, but the pale ale is still uninteresting. Still not my choice as a brewpub, but friends sometimes like to go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(06/17/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.308 seconds) 19:42:44 54.196.203.41, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS