PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Springfield Brewing Company - Springfield, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 06:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Springfield > Springfield Brewing Company
Springfield Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Springfield Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
300 South Market Avenue
Springfield, MO 65806
United States
(417) 832-8277
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: January 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Springfield, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
34 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 20:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:30AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Patton Alley Pub
(0 mile)

2) Hickok's Steakhouse and Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mansion At Elfindale
2) Virginia Rose Bed & Breakfast
3) Walnut Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN SPRINGFIELD
2) BEST WESTERN COACH HOUSE INN
3) BEST WESTERN DEERFIELD INN
4) BW ROUTE 66 RAIL HAVEN
5) CLARION HOTEL SPRINGFIELD
6) COMFORT INN N STES SPRINGFIELD
7) COMFORT INN SPRINGFIELD
8) COMFORT SUITES SPRINGFIELD
9) COUNTRY HEARTH INN AND SUITES
10) COURTYARD SPRINGFIELD AIRPORT
11) DAYS INN EAST
12) DAYS INN SPRINGFIELD SOUTH
13) DRURY INN AND SUITES SPRINGFIEL
14) ECONO LODGE EAST
15) ECONO LODGE SPRINGFIELD
16) ECONO LODGE WEST
17) EXTENDEDSTAY SPRINGFIELD SOUTH
18) HAMPTON INN SPRINGFIELD S
19) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS
20) KRYSTAL AIRE A NON SMOKING INN
21) LA QUINTA INN SPRINGFIELD
22) QUALITY INN AND SUITES SPRINGFI
23) RED ROOF SPRINGFIELD MO
24) SLEEP INN SPRINGFIELD
25) UNIVERSITY PLAZA HTL CONV CTR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abou Ben Adhem Shrine Mosque
2) Bentley House
3) Benton Avenue AME Church
4) Day House
5) Gillioz Theater
6) Heer's Department Store
7) Holland Building
8) Hotel Sansone
9) Keet-McElhany House
10) Landers Theater
11) Lincoln School
12) Marquette Hotel
13) Oberman, D.M., Manufacturing Co. Building
14) Old Calabosse
15) Palace Hotel
16) Stone Chapel
17) U.S. Customhouse and Post Office
18) Wise Feed Company Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Acoustic Cafe
2) Agrario
3) Bambino's Italian Cafe
4) Bangkok City
5) Baylor's Bistro
6) Bijan's Sea & Grill
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Boogie Cafe
9) Breadeaux Pisa
10) Breadeaux Pisa
11) Brunos Restaurant
12) Buckingham Smokehouse Barbq
13) Burgandy Room Inc
14) Burger King
15) Cafe Du Nord
16) Campus Subway
17) Canton Inn
18) Casper's
19) Chinese Cook
20) College Street Cafe
21) Crosstown Barbeque
22) Culley's Pub
23) Dairy Queen
24) Dairy Queen
25) Dan's Place
26) Daylight Donuts
27) Dragon Inn Ii
28) Ebbets Field
29) Edge
30) Emack & Bolio's
31) Ernie Biggs
32) Flame
33) Gallery Bistro
34) Gilardi's Ristorante
35) Ginny Lee's
36) Grand Ballroom
37) Hamby's Steak House
38) Hardee's
39) Harlow's
40) Harpo's
41) Hemingway's Restaurant
42) Highlife Martini Lounge
43) Hikock's Steak House & Brewery
44) Holland Room
45) Hunan Garden
46) Icon Night Club
47) Imo's Pizza
48) Izumi Hatake Sushi Grill
49) J & B Bar-B-Que
50) Jade East Restaurant
51) Jimmy John's Gourmet Subs
52) Jordan Creek Bar & Grill
53) Korea House
54) Los Portales Inc
55) Maria's Mexican Foods & Goods
56) Market Place Cafe
57) Martha's Vineyard
58) Mc Alister's Deli
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Merle's Hot Dog Emporium
62) Mexican Villa
63) Mexican Villa Comida
64) Mexican Villa East
65) Mexican Villa Factory
66) Mexican Villa West
67) Mille's Cafe
68) Mrs O'mealey's Cafeteria
69) Mud Lounge
70) Nathan P Murphy's
71) New York Burrito
72) Nonna Italian American Cafe
73) Original Hotdoggery
74) Outland
75) Pappy's Place
76) Pasta Express
77) Pasta Express
78) Patton Alley Pub
79) Payton's Place
80) Perkins Family Restaurant
81) Pink Cadillac
82) Poppycocks Pub & Grill
83) Quisenberry Gardens
84) R P Mc Murphy's Irish Pub
85) Rasta Grill
86) Red Garter
87) Riad Greek Cuisine
88) Rib Crib
89) Riksha
90) Rincon Latino
91) Roly Poly Sandwiches
92) Ronisuz
93) Scramblers Restaurant
94) Shady Inn
95) Sonic Drive-In
96) Sonic Drive-In
97) South Avenue Pizza Co
98) Springfield Brewing Co
99) Springfield Expo Ctr
100) St Louis Bread Co
101) St Michael's Grade School
102) Steak 'n Shake
103) Steak N Shake
104) Steak-Out
105) Stock Yards Cafe
106) Sub Shop
107) Sub Shops
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
110) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
111) Taco Bell
112) Taco Bell
113) Tamale King Mexican Deli
114) Taylor's Drive In
115) Traffic Club
116) Trolley's Downtown Bar & Grill
117) Uncle Fudd's
118) Waffle House
119) Wellspring Cafe
120) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I tasted their sampler tray while in town over lunch. The beers included: kolsh, unfiltered wheat, Bavarian-style lager, pale ale, Bull Creek Brown and the Black Sheep Dry Stout. Lunch (chicken Caesar salad) was quite good. The beers were all well brewed, true to style and quite tasty if not remarkably special. I got to talking to the assistant brewer and he pulled out a bottle of their blackberry wit. This was an exceptionally interesting session beer with lemon peel, chamomile, blackberry, etc - fun, fun! I'd certainly stop in when in the neighborhood

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Madison, WI
(04/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
It had been a few years since I visited here and I looked forward to the visit. SB is located downtown-a large lot across the street holds plenty of parking. The 2 level restaurant/bar is well lit and clean, with the tanks just behind the bar at the back of the pub. The bar area is very nice, big and clean with TV's but no sound (good thing).

The beer selection is fairly standard, with the usual lights, browns, and IPA's. I had: Brown ale-smooth, malty, roasty and very good-not usually my favorite style. The doppelbock was served in a tulip glass but the alcohol content was not overwhelming. Nice beer. I sampled the IPA-very, very low hop profile-this didn't even pass for a Pale Ale.

Pizza was good. One issue-all their beers are served too cold-I had to warm up the beers before I drank them.

Overall a nice, midwestern brewpub and a pleasant visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(02/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Marzen (seasonal) 8/10; IPA 8/10; porter "Black Sheep" 8/10; unfiltered wheat 7/10. Ranking is where 10 is best. Six beers on tap, brewed on premises. Very good fish dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(09/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
Date of Visit: 2/24/06 (Friday Night) Traveled thru Springfield and made the side trip to this establishment, located in the older section of town and they are like most other cities trying to renovate alot of the older buildings. Really a cool older building with all the brewing tanks visible, collection of older pictures on walls give you a sense of the history of the area, they have an upstairs (Smoking), and downstairs (Non Smoking), they have nightly bands, we heard 3 piece Jazz band "2 four the road" and was a good ear candy. Lydia was our server, and came out the gate charging hard...kinda fell off and left us hanging midway, tip reflected that service. Had six on tap, so started with the sampler, Wheat (unfiltered) very aromatic, good flavor got better as it warmed to room temp. Lager little on the bitter side, but left a nice after taste. Pale Ale not quite an IPA, gold in color, good hoppy flavor, the wait staffs favorite. Doppel Bock (Seasonal), fair beer, taste had a nutty flavor to it, not to bad but could have been better. Blacksheep Dark stout very good balance of roasted/choclate hops. really liked it. Brewmaster Special: Sublime Amber Lager, hoppy and good golden color. Very nice flavor. Went with the Pale ale, asked for a pitcher, got a glass, pointed this out to Lydia and was told she'd bring it next time, glass ran out of beer, still no pitcher....so finally gave up on it and got another glass. Food was SO-SO, Started off with chips & salsa (Great stuff) can't go wrong with this choice & a beer. Wife-had the four cheese pizza, her comment was that Red Baron four cheese frozen pizza would have been better. Daughter-had the Sirlon & Pub fries, not a good cut of meat...recommend OUTBACK if you want a steak. Me-Chicken Fried Steak/Garlic Mashed Potatoes/Steamed Veggies, very good meal, Tender steak & potatoes were very tasty, the veggies had an accident (server who was not Lydia said) they were accidently pulled of the plate when they grabbed the plate with a towel and that they were making another order (never got this). Lydia came by to see how things were and I pointed the above out to her and she didn't seem concerned about it, guess that means it ok for me to pay for something I didn't get. Again the tip reflects the service.

Overall if I find myself in Springfield again I will go to this brewery again, just to have a beer, chip & salsa.

Kurt

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Kurt, Foley, MO
(03/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This has become one of our favorite breweries. We have to make a special trip every year in the fall for their Marzen. This is the best Marzen I have tried anywhere. The food is always good as is the sevice. The Wheat Yeast rolls with orange blossom butter are great. The brewing equipment and set-up is top notch, since they build brewing equipment for other breweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Duryea Don Duryea, Douglass, KS
(10/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I enjoyed my one evening here. Very nice layout, and a beautiful brewery! Beers were good to great, and the food was different (at least what I ordered, anyway). Much better place that many major metro cities have.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I really wanted to like this place more, it's a great looking building, well done. But the beers are just fair. I was delighted to see they offer a Koelsch, but it didn't taste like any Koelsch I have had in Germany. Not that it was bad, just not a Koelsch. Pale Ale was good, the wheat was fair, not a Weizen though. Their brown ale was mediocre. Still, I give them high marks for effort, clean restauratnt, good food and service. Would go back if I ever had to go to SPringfield again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Overland Park, KS
(07/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
No reviews since 2003??? This brewpub hasn't changed much since my last review 2 years ago. It's still very clean, with a nice bar area and friendly barstaff.

All the beers were served too cold.

Maibock-served in a tulip glass. High ABV,very malty, but it had to warm up before the (nice) flavors came through.

Kolsch: medium body and malts. Good summer style beer.

Brown Ale: very dark color. Malty, nutty taste but done well (after it warmed up to 45F!!)

This is a nice place to spend some time while in Springfield but the beer doesn't meet up to some of the world class standards that might be expected on the coasts. Temper you expectations and you'll be pleased.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I love the atmosphere here - just passing through, but I think Springfield is lucky to have a place like this. The beers were ok - decent pale, nice porter, average lager and alt, but the wheat was subpar. The food was hit or miss - my andouille stuffed meatloaf was terrific, but the beer cheese soup was awful; it had the consistency of sour cream. Overall though, a very nice place to stop along the I-44 wasteland...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
All the beers are fine. Food is good. I always stop here when in town! Always happy with the place everytime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sevennike Sevennike, St. Louis, MO
(11/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
The beers here are excellent and true to style. They make an excellent, hoppy Pale Ale. It is a good restaurant as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(11/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Character?This place has so much character it breathes!I saw it in every detail,in every smile.Pack it up,with everyone in it and send it overnite express!Thank you all for being so good to me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bree Bree, Naples, IT
(09/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Stopped in last weekend. Loved their beers. The James River Red was OUTSTANDING. Food was a great, atmosphere was fantastic; live band, noisy, fun place to visit. All the stainless steel in the old building looked really cool as well. Wish OKC had someplace like this. (Bricktown Brewery isn't even close...)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Haberichter M Haberichter, Choctaw, OK
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My husband and I enjoyed this brewpub. The old building gave it a great atmosphere. We had their Mai Bock which was good, but not outstanding. If we're passing through Springfield again we would definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Hayes Connie Hayes, Kokomo, IN
(06/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I live a hundred miles south ... the porter makes the drive worth while. They also have a great menu. Try the fish and chips.Yum.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave W., Fayetteville, AR
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Springfield Brewing is a very nice, comfortable facility. The bartender was very helpful the night I was there (weekday) with samplers and suggestions. I also bought several nice .5L pilsner glasses that had been shipped incorrectly to the brewery and he gave me a large handful of new coasters too. The beer: First a caveat-all the beer was served much too cold-that's great if you're mowing the yard in the summer but not in the dead of winter (or any other time) for craft brews. I had to warm the beer up with my hands before I drank any of it. The seasonal Winter Warmer had a very high ABV but was thinnish and no "stick to your guts" feeling The Porter had a great flavor and was very similar to some stouts I've had (after it warmed up). The Dobblebock was very dark with a heavy alcohol presence and a strong, thick mouthfeel. This was by far the best beer I had in the brewery. Food: I had cheddar soup and a small (but large) Caesars salad with chicken. Both dishes were very good. I would certainly go back here. Hopefully they continue to experiment with new beers and consider serving their beers at the proper temperature. This is a very nice establishment for a town such a Springfield, MO.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Love your brewery - bartenders are great - Heather Z is the best! Will definitely recommend this place to all. A great addition to the nighlife that Springfield doesn't always offer.

J Pfoh

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J Pfoh J Pfoh, Lake Taho, NV
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
5-6 Handcrafted Springfield Brewery Brews on tap at all times. Seasonal brews too. Everything from Pale Ale to Porters. Top notch beer!!! Excellent food & service too. Highly recommended by any local.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Springfield, MO
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
This is a really fun place to hang out. They have a great beer selection--good lagers and pale ale. Make sure you try some of their seasonals as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Boyles Justin Boyles, Springfield, MO
(12/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Awesome!
How did springfield end up with such a good brewery? Will they be able to support the a-bit-too-big tap room? the beer was good enough to replace the boulevard in my vacation cooler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ben schoenbachler ben schoenbachler, louisville, KY
(09/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Loved the Lager (believe it or not), close to a Helles. Also, had a very, very good pale ale: maybe the best in MO

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beerann beerann, oswego, IL
(09/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Was very pleasantly surprised with the exceptional quality of the beers at Springfield Brewing. They were serving both a very tasty Espresso Stout (why can't this be a winter beer everywhere - beer as coffee when you are cold?) and an outstanding Dopplebock. Service was very accomodating, and the food was excellent as well. Would I go back? Yessiree! Would I drive out of my way? Yes. It is several miles off I-44 in downtown Springfield - and well worth your drive!!! Great beer, nice atmosphere, attentive service! Superb job - keep it up!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I've been to this place numerous times and they do thier beers very well. As a brewer, the equipment is the best you will ever see, if you like that stuff, and I do. All the beers are clean and have a depth of flavor that are lacking in many brewpubs. The lagers are very well done. The service is very good as is the food. If you are in the area, you really need to stop here for a super beer and good food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Kilian Mike Kilian, St Louis, MO
(05/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
high budget operation that looks really cool. beers all taste somewhat the same. best beer, seasonal hefe weizen! should make this beer year round!! food is hit and miss. service, usually great. if you are a regular, you know it's not always great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from stillwell stillwell, springfield, MO
(08/04/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.426 seconds) 06:45:21 54.82.4.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS