PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub - East Lansing, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 11:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > East Lansing > Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub
Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub
Overall: Good    Score: 68 / 100
131 Albert Avenue
East Lansing, MI 48823
United States
(517) 333-4040
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for East Lansing, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub
89 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Peanut Barrel
(0 mile)

2) Crunchy's
(0 mile)

3) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

4) Dusty's Cellar
(5 miles)

5) Travelers Club Restaurant / Tuba Charlie's Brewpub
(5 miles)

6) Old Chicago
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Wild Goose Inn Dot Com
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION HTL AND CONF CTR
2) E.LANSING MARRIOTT UNIV. PARK
3) HAMPTON INN EAST LANSING
4) QUALITY INN UNIVERSITY
5) RED ROOF LANSING EAST UNIVERSIT
6) SUPER8 E LANSING UNIVER AREA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Central School
2) Eustace Hall
3) Goetsch--Winckler House
4) Masonic Temple Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All American Pita
2) Arby's
3) Asian House
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Beaner's Gourmet Coffee
6) Beaner's Gourmet Coffee
7) Beaner's Gourmet Coffee
8) Beggar's Banquet
9) Bell's Greek Pizza
10) Bell's Greek Pizza
11) Bistro 43
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blue Note Cafe
15) Buddies Pub & Grill
16) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
17) Burger King
18) Bw3
19) Cafe Mania
20) Caffe Latte
21) Charlie Kang's Restaurant
22) Chinese Family Buffet
23) Cold Stone Creamery
24) Cosi
25) Cottage Inn Pizza
26) Crunchy's
27) D P Dough
28) Denny's
29) Diggidy's
30) Dog Pit
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Dublin Square Irish Pub & Restaurant
34) El Azteco
35) Espresso Royale Caffe
36) Evergreen Grill
37) Flats Grill
38) Franchise Marketing & Mgmt
39) G S Scoops
40) Georgio's Pizza
41) Georgios Gourmet Pizzeria
42) Golden Wok
43) Gumby's Pizza
44) Harper's Restaurant & Brewpub
45) Hershey's Steak & Seafood
46) Hunan Dynasty
47) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
48) Iggy's
49) India Palace
50) International House-Pancakes
51) Jersey Giant Submarine Sndwchs
52) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
53) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
54) Juke Box Grille
55) Kevalli's Pizza & Grinders
56) King Buffet
57) L & L Hawaiian Barbecue
58) Landshark
59) Little Caesars Pizza
60) Little Caesars Pizza
61) Lou & Harry's Five Star Deli
62) Lou & Harry's Greek Grill
63) Maggy's Sports Grill
64) Mc Donald's
65) Melting Moments Homemade
66) Mexico 2 Go
67) Mocha Mike's
68) Msu Student Union Bldg
69) MSU Union
70) Murasaki Restaurant
71) New Dynasty Buffet
72) Omi Japanese Restaurant
73) Oodles Of Noodles
74) P T O'malley's
75) Panchero's Mexican Grill
76) Panda Express
77) Papa John's Pizza
78) Papiano's Pizza
79) Parlor On Campus
80) Paul Reveres Bar
81) Peanut Barrel Restaurant
82) Peking Express
83) Pita Pit
84) Pizza House
85) Pizza Hut
86) Poppa Leo's Pizza
87) Q Shushi
88) Qdoba Mexican Grill
89) Quizno's Of East Lansing
90) Reno's East Side Sportsbar
91) Rice Kitchen
92) Rick's American Cafe
93) Riviera Cafe Restaurant Lounge
94) Roly Poly
95) Sansu
96) Sidestreets Deli-East Lansing
97) Signatures American Grill
98) Spagnuolo Party Store & Pizza
99) Spartan Signature Catering
100) Spartan Sport Den
101) Starbucks
102) State Room
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
105) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
109) Sushi Ya
110) Taco Bell
111) Taco Bell
112) Taste Of Thai
113) Thai Hut
114) Tom's Restaurant
115) Tony's Restaurant
116) Troppo
117) Villa Pizza
118) Wendy's
119) Wendy's
120) Willow Lakes Motel & Grocery
121) Wok & Roll
122) Woody's Oasis
123) Woody's Oasis Bar & Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I just had a great meal with some friends at harpers!! I had excellent service and the food was great. The server made me feel like I was the most important person in the resturant and I am not an easy person to please. She accomidated all of my special request. I would suggest this resturant to any one who wanted to get quality food, service and great beer. You have to check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review East Lansing , MI
(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I think Harpers has turned around...well from my experience there. I droped in a few times with some friends from work on a tuesday afternoon, I was kindly and promptly approached by a young man who showed us to our table. Come to find out he was also our server. The food was good, on time and the service was delightful. I think his name was farrah. After reading some of these reviews i wouldnt say that the service is THAT bad. One of my friends asked farrah about an upcoming rehersal dinner and he was VERY knowledgeable about all aspects of the place. I dont have anything horrable to say about Harpers except that it smelled funny when i came in, but i realized that it was just the beer brewing in the room next to us. Overall nice place. I will be back hopefully farrah will be out server.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lola Lola, Detroit, MI
(06/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Micro-brews are generally good, but every now and then you'll get yourself a very skunky batch. If you come to this bar make sure you only come during the half-off periods, otherwise its is VERY overpriced. Service is by far the worst of the Michigan State student haunts. I am personally a fan of the food however. This place is best suited for the early part of a night out (possibly dinner). If you don't mind waiting an hour between your waiter/waitress visiting your table even on slow night, the chill atmosphere and solid beers will be well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, East Lansing, MI
(04/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Lousy So So
I'm generally a big fan of Harpers, they have consistantly good beers. I always enjoy when the two seasonal's rotate and I get to try another new one. However, lately I have been noticing a downward trend in every other aspect of the establishment. First, it seems as if we have lazy and incompetant servers training new and worse ones, second, they've gotten rid of all glassware and are only using plastic for serving beer. I find this completely inappropriate and almost insulting! Whats next, picnic silverware? Sporks? Anyways, the beer alone is worth visiting and if you have warm weather the porch has beer gardenesque qualities but certainly don't go there unless you've got time to kill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review East Lansing, MI
(01/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Lousy Lousy So So
Can we get real? One of the worst restaurants I've ever experienced. Good food can overcome poor service, dirty environment, and a stale smelly over- sized dining room, but unfortunately the food was lousy as well. Stay away from the salads; bitter field greens and low cost toppings. We actually enjoyed the house beer; we asked for the brewers name but the server was unsure and we never got an answer. I thought the decor was probably nice at one time, but is now severely dated and a bit tacky (actually the ladies room was quite nice). We stayed for the "excellent entertainment", which turned out to be a group of poorly trained, over-produced, and over-aged cover band geeks. Not sure what these restauranteurs were going for, but hopefully not this. Good luck getting repeat customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review grand rapids, MI
(12/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I don't understand how they can consistently train their employees to be extremely rude, but they do and they do it well. I've gone there many times in the past 8 years (mostly because my friends force me to go on half off wednesdays) and every time I go, I regret it. Here is a list of my issues with this place: 1. Half off Wednesday. Sounds great right? Well, that is if you wanna wait at least an hour for your food and drinks, be yelled at by the bar tender for whatever reason they can make up, and pay a $5 cover to eat! Oh and sometimes, once you pay the cover, the staff will announce that today is special and therefore, nothing is half off. Talk about false advertising. No joke on the wait...I'm not even exaggerating...it will take them an hour to an hour and a half to deliver your food.

2. The service is just plain rude....sometimes even violent. From the hostess to your server, to the manager, they will make you feel like a peon. And I'm not speaking for myself. I watched as a bartender told several people to f-off cause they didn't have their drink order ready. No joke! He came up to me, I asked him for some drink prices and he told me that I'm holding up the line...he skipped to someone else. I heard someone tell him to chill out and he replied, "come say that to my face." Another bartender took my friends order, delivered it, she gave him the cash...he put it in the tip jar, came back and asked for the money. She told him that he just put it in the tip jar....he got really upset and after arguing with him, we were asked to leave.

3. Food is ok. No complaints or praises except that it usually comes cold...cause it takes them so long.

4. I was once forced to leave by a bouncer who had a crush on a girl that I was talking to. I asked him why and he said it was because I put my head down. I didn't do this...I was standing the whole time.

5. Music is too loud to even think. I mean, why have a band jamming at full volume during dinner hours 5 to 7. It was quite annoying.

Don't go to this hole. They don't deserve any money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J Fires J Fires, Lansing, MI
(12/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Me and four of my girlfriends went up to state for the Michigan-Michigan state game and were at this restaurant twice. The first night (Saturday), it was obviously very busy because the game was going on so I didnt really expect much, since I am a waitress and bartender and I know its hard to keep up with this kind of atmosphere. However, what I did notice is that 90% of the staff who worked there were extremely rude and displayed the worst customer service I have ever experienced. We were there for a good four hours because Im pretty sure we found the ONLY good waitress that was working, I wish I could remember her name but I think it may be (kaylee or kylee, something similiar to that). The next morning, we were deiciding on a place to have lunch and Harpers seemed to be not very busy so we gave it another shot. I figured this time that we would at least be able to eat and get out of there in a decent amount of time. This did not happen. I am a very easy person to get along with but most of the wait staff and managers deserve to be fired and never allowed to work at a restaurant EVER again. We had to walk up to the bar to get our drinks refilled four times. Our waiter cleaned off tables and ignored us when we were ready to order. We had to ask the hostess to get our waiter bc we wanted to order. The waiter never brought us appetizer plates. Our food was cold. It took twice the amount of time to get our food than it should have, not to mention we WATCHED our waiter eat at the bar while we sat there with no drinks and cold food. From this point we asked to speek with a manager. RUDEST woman I have ever met. No wonder the wait staff sucks, the managers dont give a shit and have a horrible attitude. She rudely asked us what was wrong and then huffed and puffed away like she was pissed off. Thats not it. The table to our left had the same exact problems and were also treated rudely. I will never go to this place again. (kaylee) needs to find a new job bc she is the only one there that even knows what shes doing. The manager (who didnt introduce herself) is a younger woman (probably between 28-36) and she had long light brown hair. Steer clear of her bc she will not give a shit what you have to say. Not to mention out of the five lunches we ordered, only one was eaten and we were still charged for three. We shouldve walked out on the bill but we are all servers so we still had little sympathy for our horrible waiter. Do not go here. You will be Greatly disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Holly Holly, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The beers were very good. The WhIPA was well made and very interesting. The food was great and service was just as good. Strongly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Okemos, MI
(08/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
We have been to Harpers 2 times over the summer. I thought the food was great and the waiter both times was very fun. Beer I thought was good nothing that blew me away, left each night with a growler to go. Overall experience was enjoyable. The College girls area bonus. Still trying to get my son to go to state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Conner Doug Conner, stevensville, MI
(08/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I had a very nice experience here. Chris the bartender was prompt, polite and attentive. His fellow bartenders were also attentive (and one, ... especially attractive)as well. I had the wheat IPA and then the pale ale. Both were just right with the hops flavor. I actually liked the pale ale a little better. This is a large facility and on Wednesdays it is crowded due to 1/2 price specials. I had a burger, appetizer, 2 beers, and- bought a logo glass for next to nothing. I can see how the service could be slow when the place is packed full- but what would you expect at a tavern in the middle of a city of kids? I would go back again, any time. If you want a quiet leisurely experience with a zombie crowd- don't go here. Try Bennigans at 5pm. If you don't mind the energy of lots of people having fun- then this place will work.... just fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Can we ditch all the reviews from the whiny college student former employees crying in their beer? I don't care if you liked working there, I want to read legitimate reviews from actual customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Coloma, MI
(05/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is the spot, you have to go. I met the owners while being there once and they are cool too. You cant forget about the club 131 downstairs Harper's which is the club to be at. Just go!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Billy Billy, E.L., MI
(03/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
Nice establishment. Very dispointed with service. Everyone in my party on New Years had to pay a 20% gratuity just walking in the door. We didn't realize this until we received our tabs at the end of the night. I don't mind paying a 20% gratuity on food and drinks that we was actually served to us. Very poor management

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Brent, Owosso, MI
(01/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A new page has turned at Harpers Brewpub... New Cook.. Better servers...more attentive door staff and best of all same managers...This place has changed it used to be shitty but many things have changed.

I encourage you to come to harpers and experience the new and improved dining experience and one of the best bar scenes in the greater Lansing community!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, MI
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
Waiter was great on the ball, bartender was horrable, greaty bartenders actually took drinks from us that were already made because he screwed up and closed out tab to early and thought we should tip him for the closing of the tab, when we had all intentions of tipping at the end. Then refused to serve us and gave us that run around that it cost HIM to much to run the credit card machine, some lackey behind the bar completely killed this experience for us.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from none none, columbus, OH
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
HARPER's Rules! i have been in and out of brew pubs since i learned that beer can have flavor. i am amazed that they can offer such quality for so low a price. scott (brew master) is a steady brewer and a great guy. i get a new keg every other month from them. i would be happy if they replaced the light beer with a stout/porter/brown/bitter but they still have to apeal to the masses.

GREAT JOB GUYS! keep you chin up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review lansing, MI
(09/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have worked at Harpers for over 6 years and have nothing but respect for the brewmaster and the owners. Do you know one other restaurant that has zero critical violations from the health dept since I have worked here. That takes hard work from everyone and high standards...what is wrong with that...nothing in my book. Trish and Pat, the owners, have been nothing but exceptional including letting me have personal time off for family issues and keeping my job open for me. They support excellent employees and not weak performers...as should be the case. I have years of experience in working with them along with the management and can say it is a fabulous place to work. It appears to me that the negative opinions voiced on this website are too emotional and therefore not believable. I love the beer and the food and so do my friends and when my family comes into town that want to eat at Harpers. I am proud to say I work with the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bloomfield Hills, MI
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy So So
It takes FOREVER to get a drink. Unless you are sleeping with a bartender or there at lunch, you are screwed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review east lansing, MI
(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I've always had a great experience here. Attentive service, knowledgeable staff, and good beer. One time there were a few menu items not being offered due to slow delivery after a holiday, but then the waiter came back and said if I was willing to wait an extra 10 minutes, I could get what I wanted, the truck was in and being unloaded. I usually go at lunch on weekends or holidays/summers when the students aren't around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(11/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! So So Good
Maybe I was there on a GOOD half-price Wednesday? Don't know how *I* would've lucked out, but the steak I had, for $10 half-price, was awesome. Service was poor because they definitely are understaffed on Wednesdays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lansing, MI
(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am a local resident, non college student and an occasional customer at Harpers. I have noticed that there is a severe lack of waitstaff/bartenders in relation to the amount of customers. Upon reading the comments from current/past employees I am appalled at the treatment that they are being given. In order to maintain a quality establishment you need to treat your employees with respect. Employees are the backbone of a company, the owners are not the ones interacting with the customers so they are not the ones that are ensuring that they have a positive experience. Treat your employees well, and they will treat your customers well. My advice to the owners from what I hear from the employees both from this review and from talking to them personally, is back off you have a brillant Manager who is trying very hard to make you money and to keep your employees happy. By yelling, throwing fits and firing people without just cause you doing yourself no benefit. Let the numbers do the talking; back off and let your management actually manage, that is what you are paying him to do am I correct?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MN MN, Lansing, MI
(04/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I also was an employe at harpers. The place is shit, the food is shit and the owners will one day burn in hell.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review holland, MI
(01/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy So So So So
The owners, Pat and Trish are Nazis'! Mean, EVIL, childish and just plain psychos with too much money and power! Avoid them at any cost -for those whom have never set eyes on the Infamous Duo you can spot Trish a mile away... wasted/ temper tantrum- I've worked here and seen many a friend get the axe or defect to another local bar/ restaurant. If it weren’t for the daily supply of fresh meat courtesy of the many Michigan State University students unknowingly looking for a job... this farcical Jerry Springer-athon would have been long out of business...the bouncers are skinny 'meat-head' (yes that’s possible) testosterone freaks! The only saving grace is the managers their very nice and the glue to this popsicle stick establishment! I rest my case...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carson, CA
(01/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
This has got to be the worst restaurant in the whole world!!! It is the biggest joke ever....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from This place sucks This place sucks, East Lansing, MI
(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
No IPA at the time so I have to knock a few points off for selection. Otherwise, beer was top-notch. Enjoyed the Pale Ale, Octoberfest and Stout espectially. Rasberry Wheat was a little bit too fruity and the Wheat seemed a little on the light side. Bartenders were friendly and attentive but I got a brush off when I asked one of the wait people about parking validation (was told to ask the manager, as if I who to look for and that I should go looking for him/her on my own...). I had a nice buzz and wasn't too worried about this minor infraction so I just wandered out into the night ;-).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, georgetown, TX
(11/10/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.391 seconds) 23:30:33 54.167.96.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS