PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


EinStein's Pub - Katy, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 09:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Katy > EinStein's Pub
EinStein's Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
EinStein's Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 76.2 / 100
873 South Mason Road
Katy, TX 77450
United States
(281) 398-6066
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: March 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Katy, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of EinStein's Pub
8 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Alamo Drafthouse Cinema
(0 mile)

2) Pub Hub
(0 mile)

3) The Public House
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOUSTON WEST
2) COMFORT INN AND SUITES WEST
3) HAMPTON SUITES HOUSTON KATY TX
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 510 Bar & Grill
2) Adorable Banquet & Reception
3) Asian Grill
4) Babin's Seafood House
5) Baobab Inc
6) Baskin-Robbins
7) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
8) Bistro 829
9) Black Eyed Pea Restaurant
10) Bolli Brothers Pizza
11) Burger King
12) Cafe Del Sol Inc
13) Cafe Far East
14) Caltriangle Inc
15) Canton Chef
16) Captain Tom's Seafood & Oyster
17) Chick-Fil-A
18) Chili's Grill & Bar
19) Chin Won Restaurant
20) China Inn Cafe
21) Cici's Pizza
22) Coffee Break
23) Creative Cafe
24) Dairy Queen
25) Domino's Pizza
26) Double Dave's Pizzaworks
27) Duke's Tavern
28) Ein Stein's Pub
29) El Jarrito
30) Famous Frank's Burgers & More
31) Fuji Garden
32) Fuzzy's Pizza
33) Gepetto's Pizza
34) Golf Sport Food Court
35) Great Southwest Equestrian Ctr
36) Happy Town Chinese Restaurant
37) Hartz Chicken Buffet
38) Hinze's Barbeque & Catering
39) Hong Kong Garden
40) Houston Medical Equipment Inc
41) I Cafe
42) Jack In The Box
43) Jack In The Box
44) James Coney Island
45) Jason's Deli
46) Johnny Carino's Italian Ktchn
47) Kettle Restaurant
48) Kfc
49) LA Cabana Mexican Restaurant
50) LA Finca Restaurant
51) Landry's Seafood House
52) Las Mananitas
53) Las Rosas Mexican Restaurant
54) Long John Silver's
55) Luby's Cafeteria
56) Maggiemoo's Ice Cream & Trtry
57) Marble Slab Creamery
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mr B's Billiards & Sports Bar
61) Murphy's Deli
62) Murphy's Deli At Mason Rd
63) New York Pizzeria
64) Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant
65) Nonmacher's Bar-B-Que
66) Original Pasta Co
67) Outback Steakhouse
68) Papa John's Pizza
69) Pizza Hut
70) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
71) Quizno's Classic Subs
72) Salt Grass Steakhouse
73) Skeeter's Mesquite Grill
74) Sonic Drive-In
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Sweet Mesquite
77) Taco Bell
78) Taco Cabana Inc
79) Thai Spice Kitchen
80) The Angel & The Ox Irish Pub & Restaurant
81) Two Cafe East
82) Whataburger
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This has always been a great place from back when it was a lot smaller to now. Sounds like a certain ex-husband has a little bitterness...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny Barhopper Johnny Barhopper, Katy, TX
(03/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
I used to be married to the owner and still live down the street. It is still under the ex's management by way of her daughters. I dropped in for a pint the other day. I was shocked. The beer selection is abysmal. Even worse than the last time I reviewed it. Where once over 100 bottled beers were available, and 26 on tap, there are probably no more than 20 available in bottles, and only a handful of classic imports and micros on tap. Gone are Maredsous, didn't see Sierra Nevada, no Fransiskaner, or Paulaner, no Spaten. Just row on row of anemic light lagers. I did spy Anchor Steam and ordered one of those. Gone are the days when the place had 12 single malts, and up to 19 different styles of beer. The young Zima drinkers have taken over! Too bad. The music is still good, but the service and the employees attitudes need improving. My check wasn't padded this time because I paid in cash.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Patton Keith Patton, Katy, TX
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
This is an update of my first original review, when I was married to the owner. After a stint out of town I am now back in the area and have stopped in once or twice. My first observation is the once excellent selection of beers on tap is no more. Even the 16 oz imports are now gone replace with 12oz'ers with no doubt a higher profit margin. The selection of beers on tap is decidedly skewed to the domestic brews. My biggest complaint was not the service but another problem. I think my check was being padded. If pay as you go would be my advice. I was in at happy hour two of us were drinking Sierra Nevadas and Fosters and I purchased a few Miller Lights for a friend and my tab was $70 bucks. Now I was expecting maybe $50. But during happy hour there was no way my girlfriend and I drank $70 bucks worth. Our waitress had purchased our bar tab when the bar tender left so I can only assume he padded it and stuck her with the discrepancy. My advice is don't use a credit card. Pay as you go. Other than the changes in the bar itself, new pool tables, younger crowd, more space. The bar is still a nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Patton Keith Patton, Katy, TX
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is an update to my review of several months ago…

EinStein's tries to satisfy two distinctly different types of customers: those who like a variety of quality, flavorful beers, and those who believe beers made with rice or corn and hardly any hops taste the best. To be successful in Katy, Texas, a pub like EinStein's has to acknowledge both groups.

Recently, EinStein's has begun to step up its efforts to satisfy those that prefer beers with more flavor. On Fat Tuesday, the ZeigenBock tap was replaced with a a fresh keg of Abita Amber, with a Mardi Gras themed "buy the beer, keep the glass" special that was hard to beat. This past Thursday EinStein's hosted its first Saint Arnold Cask Conditioned Ale night, with a similar pint glass deal. The Cask Conditioned Amber Ale was gone in less than two hours. However there was plenty of Saint Arnold Amber and Fancy Lawnmower, and other good beers available for those who hadn't had enough.

The music stage and dance floor have been moved to the far end of the pub away from the main bar. The new floor plan provides distinct spaces for the two pool tables and for the darts. The pub food includes good burgers, sandwiches, fish and chips, wings and other appetizers.

My recommendation of this friendly pub is stronger as I have gotten to know it better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
It has been several years since there has been a review of this pub, so here goes. Einstein’s features 25 or more taps – the beer selection is good, but not awesome as suggested by a previous reviewer. There are a few too many mega-lagers and predictable imports on the wall. I saw no reason for a tap pouring each of two A-B clones: Michelob Amber Bock and ZiegenBock. That being said, there were some good draft selections available on this recent visit: Sierra Nevada Celebration and Pale Ale, Shiner Hefeweizen, Saint Arnold Amber, Bellhaven Scottish Ale, and a few other notables. The pub has been enlarged to include a pool table and shuffleboard area, and a nice stage for live music. Einstein’s is a pretty good place on this far west side of Houston.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Absolutely THE place to hang out on the far west side of Houston. The staff feels like family and they do their best to make everyone feel at home. The beer selection is fantastic. Sierra Nevada Celebration is a mainstay during the holiday season with a variety of the best brews on draft all year long. And they're always open to suggestions for new and different brews to keep on hand. Great food and great atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Albert Collins Albert Collins, Katy, TX
(11/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I love this place! The atmosphere is quite pleasant, and the brew selection is definitely the best in the western half of the Houston metro area. Einstein's also has a fine selection of single-malt scotches and premium cigars. The live music rocks, and there is always something going on. Keep the Maredsous flowing, Linda!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Atlanta, GA
(07/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I'm somewhat biased since my wife owns the place. We have gotten great comments from customers. I home brew, so as acting beer advisor I try to keep a balanced selection on tap as well as plenty of bottled styles and seasonal offerings. We have periodic free beer tastings in an effort to educate the less fortunate masses unfamiliar with the great variety of beers presently available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Patton Keith Patton, Katy, TX
(01/15/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.35 seconds) 09:48:17 54.242.85.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS