PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Real Ale Brewing Company - Blanco, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 11:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Blanco > Real Ale Brewing Company
Real Ale Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Real Ale Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81 / 100
231 San Saba Ct
Blanco, TX 78606
United States
(830) 833-2534
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: December 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Blanco, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Green Acres Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Conn, Adrian Edwards, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Blanco Bowling Club
2) Blanco Rose Coffee House
3) Dairy Queen
4) Guero Tacos
5) Hard Scrabble
6) Lone Oak Cafe
7) Mis Abuelitas Cocina
8) Old Town Pizza
9) Oso's
10) Phils B-B-Q & Delicatessen
11) Pop A Top Again
12) Riley's Bar-B-Que
13) Rio Blanco Cafe
14) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
15) Sunset Restaurant Bar
16) Taco House
17) Tuqueria Paraiso
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A couple of weeks ago I finally made it to the tasting room and tour (Friday afternoons only) at Real Ale. Our tour was lead by Eric, one of the brewers, and it was very informative, with thorough discussions of the various steps of the brewing and packaging processes. The tap room is open before the tour, so visitors can sample the beers both before and after the trek through the brewery. You can even carry a beer with you on the tour (as did our guide). Five Real Ale beers were available for tasting during our mid-May visit: Firemans #4 Blonde Ale, Rio Blanco Pale Ale, Full Moon Pale Rye Ale, Devil’s Backbone Belgian-style tripel, and their new ESB. If you find yourself in this part of the Texas Hill Country on a Friday afternoon, be sure to check this place out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/31/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I visited this brewery on their annual anniversary party on June 30, 2007. They had available their usual brews; Fireman's Number 4, Pale Ale, Brown Ale, & Rye Ale. They also had their more harder to find brews a Double ESB, Coffee Porter, a Belgian Strong Ale, a Wit Beer and a Prickly Pear infused Wit Beer. Their brewhouse is about 95% completed with a few tweeks being make here and there including a new cold storage room. Currently they are using a Refer Trailer that provided some much needed shade at the party. Rumor has it that their Barleywine will be available again this January. It has been far too long since this brew has been made. Brewery tours are offered on most Fridays from 2pm to 5pm. Call ahead and let them know you are coming.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(07/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Just got back in town from their 11th anniversary party - good times! The Coffee Porter is an absolutely outstanding brew, and while I have no idea if the "rumors" of a certain partnership are true or not, I tried their Devil's Backbone Belgian Ale and that is my favorite Real Ale product to date! Awesome!

Considering that they really are a small microbewery, I find it genuinely cool that they gave away so much free food and fine brews on their "birthday" - just hope that some of my local establishments are able to get a hold of their Belgian Ale very soon!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fernando Rubio Fernando Rubio, Denton, TX
(07/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The brewery has just moved north of town. Take the road just north of the Plumbing and Heating building a short ways out to a small industrial area. We had dynamite samples! Then bought a six-pack at the BP gas station back in Blanco. Cheap gas there, too. Really great place to stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Real Ale has been in the process of moving to new location for over a year now. They are moving just a few blocks north on HWY 281 to the end of San Saba st. Their standard brews include Rio Blanco Pale Ale, Full Moon Pale Rye Ale, and Brewhouse Brown Ale. They offer on a seasonal basis a barleywine and a porter. A blonde ale is also available only on tap in the Austin area.

Their new facility includes a small tasting room and a gift shop. Real ale sponsors an anniversay party at their brewery generally around the last Saturday in June.

Pierre Celis is reportedly a partner in a joint venture with Real Ale to produce Belgian style brews in Texas.

Over the weekend I picked up one of the new Sampler Six packs that actually come in a standard six pack carrier. This leads me to believe that their new facility is up and running... finally.

Tours of their facility are spotty at best. Call ahead to make sure someone can receive you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
It looks like other reviewers have stolen my thunder, so I'll corroborate what they've said. On my visits to Texas I would always take back a couple of six-packs of St. Arnold's brown ale. Then I discovered Real Ale. I looked up the address, like another reviewer, and the lady in the limestone antique store on the historic town square said, "Are you looking for the brewery? It's in the basement." Sure enough, there it was. Never has such wonderful brew emanated from a less assuming place. They're going to move to new quarters in 2005, which is kind of a shame. They always give me a freebie from the tap when I visit (what else can they do, under Texas law?), and my favorite is the brown ale. But they made a pale ale convert out of me when they gave me a sample of the Blue Moon Pale Rye. Now I buy both instead of St. Arnold's. It can be purchased at HEBs in the area, about $6.50, and finally at Sun Harvest in Austin, which is a shopping experience in itself. It's on tap at the Gingerman in Austin. I agree it's a pity they can't have a tap room, too. We have the same bullshit law in Louisiana, except Abita got itself grandfathered. Anybody who continues buying Bud or Coors when they can have Real Ale for about the same price should be removed from the gene pool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
If Texas ever enters modern times and changes the law so a micro brewery is allowed to have a tap room I just might move to Blanco and become the town drunk. The Real Ale Brewing Co is like other said, tough to find. But thanks to Pubcrawler I knew to look in the back of building for kegs. They were quick to invite me in for a sample of their brews and I sure was not disappointed. Even the Blond Ale had a hop bite to it. The Pale was good but ohhhh the Blue Moon Rye Ale, what a nice beer. They opened a bottle of the Brown which was quite tasty but then even though it was everyone working theres favorite and they were just about out, they gave me a small glass of the Coffee Porter. It was delicious, only thing missing was a donut. I picked up a 6-pack of the Blue Moon before leaving town and will definitely look for their beer the next time I am in the Austin area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Teeter Don Teeter, Arroyo City, TX
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
The latest beer from Real Ale Brewery is a coffee porter, a good example of this variety of ale. My favorites are still their Brew House Brown Ale and their Pale Moon Rye Pale Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(02/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
The Full Moon Pale Rye Ale is a very close second only to Live Oak Brewing Company's Liberation Ale as far as hoppy beers go! But still one of the best beers on earth! Think globally Drink Locally!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ian McGinty Ian McGinty, Austin, TX
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Don't be surprised if you can't find this one right away. You'll see the Cantina first but keep going down the street to the end and make a right. It's there under the antique store and there's no advertisement. The only way we knew we were there was the empty beer bottles outside. It's definitely a manual operation and they work hard at it. There were 4 beers on tap. The pale ale was really tasty. And the coffee beer that was downright delicious. Our "tourguide" was about to go home for the day but gave us the tour and tasting without being in a hurry. The fellow said their beer is distributed all over TX. Their hand palletizing operation could put some of the bigger micros to shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Weiler Greg Weiler, Birdsboro, PA
(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The Real Ale brewery makes two beers that are really quite tasty. Their Brew House Brown Ale is an excellent smooth tasting brown, and the Full Moon Pale Rye Ale is a pale ale with a distinctive taste.all its own. I don't know how widely distributed these beers are in Texas. In Houston, one or both of these fine ales can often be found on tap at the Hops House on Route 6 south of I-10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I sent an email to these guys and they responded very quickly, inviting me to come by. Located in the back basement of a 100+ year old store, it isn't pretty, but the beer is good. Most of the processes here are done by hand, including bottling, capping, labeling, and packing. Kind of like homebrewing on a larger scale. The beer is very good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Austin, TX
(02/08/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.117 seconds) 11:49:00 54.145.183.190, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS