PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Tir na nOg Irish Pub - Raleigh, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 03:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Raleigh > Tir na nOg Irish Pub
Tir na nOg Irish Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Tir na nOg Irish Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 73.5 / 100
218 South Blount Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
United States
(919) 833-7795
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Raleigh, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Tir na nOg Irish Pub
21 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Raleigh Pour House
(0 mile)

2) Flying Saucer
(0 mile)

3) Mellow Mushroom
(2 miles)

4) Big Boss Brewing Company
(4 miles)

5) Carolina Ale House
(5 miles)

6) Carolina Ale House
(5 miles)

7) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cameron Park Inn
2) Oakwood Inn Bed & Breakfast
3) William Thomas House Bed
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES RALEIGH/WAKE FORST
2) BEST WESTERN RALEIGH NORTH
3) BW RALEIGH INN AND SUITES
4) COMFORT INN SIX FORKS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Agriculture Building
2) Briggs Hardware Building
3) Capital Club Building
4) Carolina Power and Light Company Car Barn and Automobile Garage
5) Christ Church
6) Christ Episcopal Church
7) Daniels, Josephus, House
8) Dodd-Hinsdale House
9) Elmwood
10) Estey Hall
11) Fadum House
12) Federal Building
13) Graves, Willis M., House
14) Grosvenor Gardens Apartments
15) Hall, Rev. Plummer T., House
16) Hawkins-Hartness House
17) Hawkins-Hartness House
18) Haywood Hall
19) Haywood, Dr. Hubert Benbury, House
20) Haywood, Richard B., House
21) Heck-Andrews House
22) Heck-Lee, Heck-Wynne, and Heck-Pool Houses
23) Henderson, Isabelle Bowen, House and Gardens
24) Jones, Crabtree, House
25) Kamphoefner, Henry L., House
26) Lane, Joel, House
27) Latta, Rev. M.L., House
28) Lewis-Smith House
29) Lumsden-Boone Building
30) Mahler and Carolina Trust Buildings
31) Marshall--Harris--Richardson House
32) Masonic Temple Building
33) Masonic Temple Building
34) Matsumoto House
35) Merrimon House
36) Montford Hall
37) Mordecai House
38) Mordecai Place Historic District (Boundary Increase)
39) Norburn Terrace
40) North Carolina Agricultural Experiment Station Cottage
41) North Carolina Executive Mansion
42) North Carolina School for the Blind and Deaf Dormitory
43) North Carolina State Capitol
44) Oakwood Historic District (Boundary Increase)
45) Odd Fellows Building
46) Paschal House
47) Peace College Main Building
48) Penny, Jesse, House and Outbuildings
49) Pilot Mill
50) Pine Street Creamery, (Former)
51) Polk, Leonidas L., House
52) Pope, Dr. M.T., House
53) Professional Building
54) Pullen Park Carousel
55) Raleigh Banking and Trust Company Building
56) Raleigh Electric Company Power House
57) Raleigh National Cemetery
58) Raleigh Water Tower
59) Raleigh Water Works and E.B. Bain Water Treatment Plant
60) Raleigh, Sir Walter, Hotel
61) Ritcher House
62) Rogers-Bagley-Daniels-Pegues House
63) Royal Baking Company
64) Seaboard Coast Line Railroad Company Office Building
65) Small House
66) Small, G. Milton, and Associates, Office Building
67) Spring Hill
68) St. Mary's Chapel
69) St. Paul A.M.E. Church
70) State Bank of North Carolina
71) Tucker Carriage House
72) Turner, John T. and Mary, House
73) White-Holman House
74) Wyatt, Leonidas R., House
75) Yates Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 42 Street Oyster Bar & Seafood
2) Allgood Cafe
3) America's Pita & Grill
4) Angelo's Restaurant
5) Art Of Restaurants
6) Aussie Pub & Restaurant
7) Baskin-Robbins
8) Bennys Home Cooking
9) Berkeley Cafe
10) Big Ed's City Market Rstrnt
11) Big Sky Bread Co Inc
12) Biscuit Station Restaurant
13) Bistro 607
14) Blues Cafe
15) Bogart's American Grill
16) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
17) Brass Grill & Market
18) Burger Hut
19) Burger King
20) Burger King
21) Butler's Quarters The Rental
22) C C Nightclub
23) Cafe Carolina & Bakery
24) Cafe Carolina & Bakery
25) Caffe Luna
26) Cannady's Restaurant
27) Center Plaza Sundries Shop
28) Centerplate
29) Centerplate
30) Char-Grill
31) Charlie Goodnight's Restaurant
32) Charter Room
33) Chick-Fil-A
34) China Market
35) Church's Chicken
36) Cinnabon
37) Circus Family Restaurant
38) Club G's
39) Club Upscale
40) Community Grocery & Deli
41) Cooper's B-B-Q & Catering
42) Cork Wine & Spirits
43) Courthouse Deli
44) Cuba
45) Dakota Grill
46) Darryl's Restaurant & Bar
47) Domino's Pizza
48) Dragon City
49) Duck & Dumpling
50) El Cerro Grande Corp
51) Fast Break
52) Federal Bldg Concession Stand
53) Finch's Restaurant
54) Five Eighteen West Italian
55) Five Star Restaurant
56) Flying Saucer Draught Emporium
57) Foster's
58) Frank's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
59) G Arthur's Culinary Events
60) Good Taste Chinese Restaurant
61) Green Papaya
62) Greenshields Brewery & Pub
63) Grove Cafe
64) Hardee's
65) Hectors Grill & Subs
66) Home Chinese Restaurant
67) Humble Pie Bakery
68) International House-Pancakes
69) Irregardless Cafe
70) J's Old Fashion Hot Dogs
71) Jack's Seafood Market
72) Jackpot
73) Jade Garden Chinese Restaurant
74) Jasmin Greek & Lebanese Cafe
75) Jillian's Billiard Cafe
76) Joe's Place
77) Joy Coffee Inc
78) K & W Cafeterias Inc
79) Kfc
80) Kfc
81) King's
82) Lam's Garden
83) Larry's Cafe
84) Layton's Catering
85) Ledo Pizza
86) Legends
87) Lincoln Theatre
88) Maccini's
89) Mama's Country Cooking
90) Mamma Lia
91) Management Unlimited
92) Mandarin House
93) Mc Donald's
94) Mc Donald's
95) Mc Entire's
96) Mecca Restaurant
97) Megabite Pizza
98) Mo's Diner
99) Moe's Southwest Grill
100) Moonlight Pizza Co
101) N C Seafood
102) Nanna's Chop House
103) New York Delicatessen & Cafe
104) Oakwood Cafe
105) Office
106) Oriental Express
107) Papa John's Pizza
108) Peppercorns Restaurant
109) Piccola Italia
110) Players Retreat
111) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
112) Port City Java
113) Pour House
114) Quizno's Classic Subs
115) Quiznos Sub
116) Raleigh Take Out
117) Rathskeller Restaurant
118) Red Rocks Cafe
119) Rhinoceros Club
120) Ri-Ra The Irish Pub & Rstrnt
121) Roast Grill
122) Rockford
123) Rodeo Mexican Restaurant
124) Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches
125) Rum Runners
126) Sajita Factory
127) Sam & Wally's Eatery/Deli
128) Seaboard Cafe
129) Second Empire Restaurant
130) Side Street Restaurant
131) Sky Chef
132) Snoopy's Hot Dogs
133) Square Rabbit
134) Starbucks
135) Starbucks
136) State Soda Shop
137) Station II Cafe & Grill
138) Steak-Out
139) Subway Restaurants
140) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
141) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
142) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
143) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
144) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
145) Sullivan's Steak House
146) Sunflower's Sandwich Shop
147) Sunrise Biscuit Kitchen
148) Sushi Blues Cafe
149) T S Scala's Pizza & Pasta
150) Taqueria La Zacatecana
151) Taza Grill
152) Tir Na Nog Irish Pub
153) Tony's Cafe
154) Top Of The Hill Grill
155) Top Of The Tower Restaurant
156) Two Olives
157) Una's Jamaican Restaurant
158) Vertigo Diner
159) Vic's Italian Cafe & Pizzeria
160) Village Deli
161) Village Restaurant Group
162) Vin Restaurant/Wine Bar
163) Wang's Kitchen
164) Warehouse
165) Warehouse Restaurant & Club
166) Watkins Grill
167) Wing Zone
168) Woody's At City Market
169) Yancey's Jazz & Blues Cafe'
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
First I must say this is the brightest pub I've ever been to. Maybe they turn the lights down later in the evening but when I stopped in at 5 PM on a Wednesday night the place was as bright as an office. That aside, I liked the interior of it. It's a very open bar-restaurant with paintings on the wall and some Irish memorabilia around. The staff was very nice and talkative to just about anyone. The place is large enough that there appeared to be a dart league tournament going on later in the evening and you wouldn't even know they were there. They beer selection was pretty good and the food was very good also. It doesn't look like a whole lot from outside but I was glad I stopped in. I would go back to this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So
I visited this pub in December 2007. The pub looks like an authentic pub and I really wanted to love it, but couldn't. The bartender was dis-interested at best, and spent most of his time talking about going back to school. The food was on the low end of bar food. The beer prices were high. It was a disappointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ty Tonkinson Ty Tonkinson, Bloomsburg, PA
(01/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Tir Na Nog has changed. It is now thee Irish Pub in Raleigh. New Owners and staff. Tir Na Nog has 50 different beer selections. 51 Whiskey selctions. a huge selections of wines/martinis and cocktails. Anew menu and a late night bar menu. Weekend music also features local Celtic musicians from 6.30 until 9 on Fridays and Saturdays and rock and country on stage from 10.30 which features bands on tour such as Seven Nations and Enter The Haggis to name a few. The bar staff are friendly and will take time to stop and banter with you. At least once a month you will find Dublins own Paddy Gibney on stage with his sometimes bawdy Irish drinking songs.and covers from U2 thin Lizzy and even coldplay. Check the website www.tirnanogirishpub.com for updates and every Sunday Irish session musicians gather to play for thier own enjoyment. Stop in and check ut The New and better Tir Na Nog you'll be Happy you did. Annie Nice Events director Irisheventsnc.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Annie Nice Annie Nice, Raleigh, NC
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
24 or so taps, lots with multiple handles of the same product. Mostly the usual suspects or macros. Typical dark wood interior/faux Irish atmosphere. Full bar with LOTS of whiskey for those so inclined. OK, but nothing special in my opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
I read a review of this establishment that didnt promote a very positive image. However, I recently found myself in the downtown area and decided to give it a go. The beer selection is absolutly out of this world and I was presently surprised by the prices. According to the review that I read the staff was portraid as a group who didnt care about the customer. I found this to be completely false. My waitress stated that she has been with the pub for more than a year and stays because of the customers and the family atmosphere within the staff. She also informed me of the new chef and encouraged me to try the sheperds pie. I was blown away! They prepare it with beef instead of lamb which is the traditional way but I commend the chef on an outstanding product. All around I was very impressed and have decided to give tir na nog as well as other downtown areas more of my dining business. Thank You for a wonderful time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Christenbury Mike Christenbury, Raleigh, NC
(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kate kate, raleigh, NC
(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Just visiting Raleigh. Had a great Irish meal and a tasty pint. Great service. Good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Justin, Bismarck, ND
(10/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm not much of a beer drinker, but I enjoyed the service and the food immensely!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexandria Vélez Alexandria Vélez, El Paso, TX
(09/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
Came to this pub about a month back, and they had a really top notch bagpiper playing there. I was however dissapointed with the rest of the show both of the band he was with (They had a bonified Irish singer, and he was so drunk you couldn't understand anything he said [and that was beyond the fact he had an accent]) and who played after (blah rock). The Bagpiper even came to our table and sang and played just for us after his band went off stage (and that was worth seeing all on its own)! The food is fair for Irish pub standards, but dumbs down for the American pallate, making in quite bland. Not very tasty to say the least. The service was good however and the beers hit the spot otherwise. I think this place has a lot of potential to say the least. I wish I could remember the name of the bagpiper, but if they keep bringing him in, and get the food better, they might make me a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christine Harding Christine Harding, Raliegh, NC
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
This is a good pub. It's got a great manager, a real people person. he makes the atmosphere outstanding. I only go when it's slow because the bartenders pay more attention to your pint!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Stephen, Middletown, MD
(10/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
They need to bring the Irish start up management & staff back to revitalize the pub. Americans dont understand the "ethos" that makes a good pub. A couple of stolen artifacts of the past & fake paint & plaster "A pub, does not make". How i miss Antoinette. With the red hair & the bolt through her tongue, with the acid wit to reduce any drunken jerk into an apologetic blubbering fool. I dont go there anymore. Its become a burger king that sells stout. yall have a nice day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry benjamin larry benjamin, henderson, NC
(10/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
One of the least authentic Irish Pubs in Raleigh. Oh it's got the look, the pile of turf at the front door, even the thatched roof cottage in the back. But it's more than stolen street signs and Guinness murals that make an Irish pub. And one thing that's missing here is an attentive bar staff. On several visits, I've had the foam on my empty pint of Guinness harden to the glass while I waited. Under new ownership now, I hear, and some things are changing. Still, if you're out for an Irish evening, arrive early 'cause after 10pm this place turns into a 70s retro-rock bar...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Gibson Steve Gibson, Raleigh, NC
(02/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
Prime example of a see-and-be-seen establishment. Skip it. If you're into Irish pubs, James Joyce in Durham is far better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morrisville, NC
(01/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Awesome! Great
I've been here several times and have found the food and service to be very good. The beer selection is rather limited but what they have is good. On my most recent visit they had a house brew on tap that is brewed for them by one of the local micros (not Greenshields.. I asked!) It was very good, full-bodied with a nice finish. This place is a far better choice than some of the area brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(09/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Needs more micros. Bartenders are not real friendly. Too crowded for my tastes. Beers were priced high.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Raleigh, NC
(11/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
This is a food & atmosphere restaurant, not a taproom -- as stated, few drafts, no draft micros (but the drafts are good). Go for stone walls, indoor thatched roof, Guiness decor, and tasty food; if you don't mind crowds and high noise levels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Luehrs Robert Luehrs, Durham, NC
(04/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
They pour their Guinness too fast when they get busy, there's almost no interaction between barstaff and customers, and they play disco after 11pm on weekends! So, arrive early for a seat, enjoy the great food, and hear the LIVE music before 11pm!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Raleigh, NC
(02/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Great Good
Decent replica of an Irish pub. Lousy beer selection - Harp, Guiness, Pilsner Urquell on tap. Mixed drinks are especially well made. Not a place to go for beer drinking. Very crowded on weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jonthan Edwards Jonthan Edwards, Raleigh, NC
(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
The beer selection is good and the bar is nice. The problem is that it is entirely too crowded. If you want to see and be seen go on a weekend. If you want to go to relax and enjoy a good beer go on a weekday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Raleigh, NC
(07/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This pub is totally awesome! It is always packed with friends, and the service is unbeatable. The bartenders and wait staff are the nicest people around. I also love the idea that a place that bills itself as an Irish pub would actually go to the trouble of recruiting authentic Irish bartenders. If you are in Raleigh, you must check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Carr Josh Carr, Raleigh, NC
(03/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Authentic Irish pub. The brews are as one would expect from a pub of this caliber, good porters, stouts, and ales. The live music has been authentic and top quality as well. The Food is outstanding, shepards pie a must. The Pub draws an eclectic crowd which is always nice. The bartenders are from overseas as well. Quiet seating can be found in the "cottage" room as well as near the fireplace. Very nice place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Jackson John Jackson, Mt. Pleasant, MI
(01/26/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.647 seconds) 03:45:04 54.87.70.14, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS