PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery - Boulder, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Boulder > BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 71.1 / 100
1125 Pearl Street
Pearl Street Mall
Boulder, CO 80302
United States
(303) 402-9294
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Boulder, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
18 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Blending Cellar
(0 mile)

3) Upslope Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Colorado Brewing Company and Boulder Draft House
(0 mile)

5) The Goose
(0 mile)

6) Tom's Tavern
(0 mile)

7) Republic of Boulder
(0 mile)

8) Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse
(0 mile)

9) West End Tavern
(0 mile)

10) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

11) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

12) Corner Bar
(0 mile)

13) Walnut Brewery
(0 mile)

14) Rockies Brewing Company
(0 mile)

15) Crystal Springs Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BOULDER INN
2) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN BUFF LODGE
3) BOULDER BROKER INN
4) BOULDER MARRIOTT
5) BOULDER OUTLOOK HOTEL
6) BOULDER UNIVERSITY INN
7) COURTYARD BOULDER
8) DAYS INN BOULDER CO
9) HOMEWOOD SUITES BOULDER
10) HOTEL BOULDERADO
11) MILLENNIUM HARVEST HOUSE
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RESIDENCE INN BOULDER
14) SUPER 8 BOULDER CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boulder Creek Bridge
2) Little Church in the Pines
3) Salina School
4) Snowbound Mine
5) Sunshine School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B J's Pizza Grill & Brewery
2) Bd's Mongolian Bbq
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Best Restaurants Inc
5) Bombay Bistro
6) Boulder Chili Co
7) Boulder Creek Market
8) Brasserie Ten Ten
9) Cafe Gondolier
10) Cafe Sienna South
11) Catacombs Bar
12) Centro Latin Kitchen and Refreshment Place
13) Cereality
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Colorado Chautauqua Assn
16) Concept Restaurants Inc
17) Cosmo's Pizza
18) Folsom Street Coffee
19) Food Products & Catering
20) Foundry Billards Club
21) Fox Theatre Box Office
22) Frasca Food & Wine
23) Glacier On The Hill
24) Gramazio's
25) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
26) Happy Noodle House
27) Illegal Pete's
28) Illegal Petes
29) Jarinc Limited
30) Jet's
31) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
32) Jumbo Thai Express
33) Karma Cuisine
34) Kitchen
35) L' Atelier
36) Masalaa
37) Mateo
38) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
39) Nick-N-Willy's World Famous
40) Noodle & Co Corp Offices
41) Papa John's Pizza
42) Paradise Bakery Inc
43) Pearl Street Pub & Cellar
44) Pita Pit
45) Pizza Colore
46) Pudge Brothers Pizza
47) Red Lion Restaurant
48) Reef Piano Bar & Grill
49) Republic Of Boulder
50) Round Midnight
51) Saffron Indian Cuisine
52) Sherpa's
53) Silver Mine Subs
54) Sort Of Snarfs
55) Spicy Pickle Sub Shop
56) Starbucks
57) Starbucks
58) Starbucks
59) Styr
60) Sundown Saloon
61) T Bar
62) Trattoria Girasole
63) Trilogy Wine Bar
64) Twin Teriyaki
65) Via Via
66) Xoom Juice
67) Yuko Asia
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Good Good
deep dish was awesome- waitress never came back to see if we wanted refills- dont worry- even if shw wasnt that good the pizza will bring me back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review black ahwk, CO
(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So
The brew is just not flavorful, a bit better than most chains, but not worth the price. The food is "chain store food" as well.

If you want beer and pub food and it is the only place in town, twist my arm and I'd go. It's a step above going for Bud Lite on tap at Pizza Hut, but that's about it in my opinion.

Atmosphere: it's clean, well-managed, sound level is moderate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Menlo Park, CA
(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Beer taste better than most chains. I had the pale ale (I think it was new-name of a bird) and a guest beer (belguim). They have 2-3 guest beers on tap usually. The pizza is pretty good, nice atmosphere and bartender very efficient. Good place to go if your shopping on Pearl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from clark clark, Denver, CO
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Along Boulder's pleasant pedestrian mall, you'll find BJ's Brewpub. Downstairs you'll find a bar and dining area, while upstairs is a loft that overlooks the mall. BJ's also has a small, smoke-free patio.

Beer selection is good, but beer quality is lacking, especially given the area's competition. Beers are made from a corporate formula and don't taste anything special. Food is great with a Chicago accent and a fantastic calzone.

And although if you work in the area, BJ's is a good place to get some lunch or a beer after work, I do NOT recommend this place to anyone visiting Boulder.

You won't get any local atmosphere or flavor from this chain brewpub and you'll find better food, better beer, and a more local scene down the street at the Mountain Sun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Boulder, CO
(10/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Second stop on the brewery tour of Boulder. Beer was good, we had the hefe and an amber. For a chain I thought the beer was better then most. Bartender and rest of the staff were very friendly and made the place worth trying. I would stop again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
The beer was pretty good and the bartender was very helpful pointing out other good brewpubs in the area. I'd go here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The Piranha Pale Ale was good, I think I also had a hefeweizen (This was not the first brewery I was at that evening and my memory is a little cloudy). I remember that the pizza was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
All beers were overly sweet. The Hefe lacked nose. No unique finishing hops aka hop cop-out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Moeller Jim Moeller, Fredericksburg, VA
(07/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
My wife and I both thought the beers here were consistently very good. None were really exciting, but all were well made and very correct for style. Like the other reviewers noted, I think BJ's gets some unwarranted abuse because it's a chain. Don't go here expecting to be blown away by something outrageously different, but do go here if you're thirsty and want to drink some good, basic beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard D. Richard D., El Paso, TX
(05/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
why does everybody bust on chains...just cause they have a formula that works doesnt make them bad. i still feel that they have one of the best ipa's going...and a good spectrum of other beers. and if pizza is your thing...this is the place. i'll go back and usually head for bj's rather it is in colorado or los angeles!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Ive been to one in Oregon I know the pizza is great but the beers are the standard lineup...no frills, except for the seasonal (Groudskeeper Willie Scotch Ale) was great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The pale ale is very crisp, and the cascade hops come through very nicely! Not too rich, and I drank quite a few. The deep dish pizza was very tasty, although I've had better. Go for the pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Rehfuss Marc Rehfuss, Manhattan, KS
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Visited Longmont last year - went to Boulder. I had tried a few of the beers and love them. I'm coming back this year! H. Penick

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Stevens Mike Stevens, Champaign, IL
(02/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good So So
The name (BJ's) symbolizes the beer quality - it's terrible!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Pizza was great (Spicy Buffalo Chicken) I had one of the speciality brews while my date had their Jerimiah Red. Both very good. Have to go more often!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boulder, CO
(11/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
At first glance, BJ's seems like another chain pub. They have a new brewmaster and the company gives him a lot of leeway in designing the beers. I am pretty impressed with this place. The appetizers and burgers are good. Their imperial stout is very rich and alcoholic. I also like their weizen and pale ale. Lots of cascade hops. They had a barleywine for several months that started out thin and harsh and ended very complex and malty. They just put on a batch of witbier that is nice and a batch of the stout was fermented in a whiskey barrel. Pretty strong flavor, but interesting. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher McMath Christopher McMath, Boulder, CO
(09/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stacy was awesome. The IPA was hoppy but not overpowering. The pale ale was crisp and mildly hoppy - very drinkable with the pizza. Not overly impressed with the amber. Very malty stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Washington, DC
(08/03/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.319 seconds) 09:29:28 54.204.64.152, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS