PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Man of Kent Tavern - Hoosick Falls, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 07:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Hoosick Falls > Man of Kent Tavern
Man of Kent Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Man of Kent Tavern
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 89.6 / 100
Route 7 North
Hoosick Falls, NY 12090
United States
(518) 686-9917
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hoosick Falls, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Man of Kent Tavern
25 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mapletown Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Delaney Hotel
2) Estabrook Octagon House
3) Hoosick Falls Armory
4) St. Mark's Episcopal Church
5) Tibbits House
6) US Post Office--Hoosick Falls
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Slice Of Heaven
2) Bagels N More
3) Boot-Scooter Cafe
4) Cafe
5) Church Street Market & Deli
6) Dougherty's Restaurant
7) Fall's Diner
8) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
9) Helvi's General Store & Deli
10) Ice Kreme Kafe
11) Man Of Kent Tavern
12) Mannequins Dance Club & Eatery
13) Mc Donald's
14) Pizza Bella
15) Reimann's Restaurant
16) Sand Bar
17) Third Base Bar
18) Woods Mowing Co
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
The Man of Kent is an outstanding roadside pub that has a great selection of local and imported beers on tap, as well as a deep roster of bottled beers.

The beers are always fresh and the glasses hold a nice head.

The new owners have done a good job keeping the atmosphere and beer standards of the former owner. I think they realized what made the place so popular.

The menu is largely standard pub fare, sandwiches, chicken wings, burgers and salads, but the the food quality is a notch above what you usually find in these kids of places. Some of the sandwich combinations are unusual, but satisfying.

And best of all, prices are reasonable. There is a good reason that this middle of the nowhere pub always has a full parking lot and a wait for a table much of the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Sniatkowski Brian Sniatkowski, Kinnelon, NJ
(01/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Can't believe I've never reviewed tha Man of Kent. A unique place to be sure, and that most certainly is meant in a good way. Both owners, new and old were present, and upon hearing that we were on a beer tour, they couldn't have been more friendly and eager to spend time conversing with we beer travelers. Atmosphere was perfect, but then again, the British Open on in a totally British pub? Exactly! Food (sandwiches) were monster and delicious, much better than many other places we'd been. I couldn't get past the Browns Whisky Porter, what a great beer! They're open every day @ 11 now, so stop by any old time--you won't be sorry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place was my favorite watering hole from 1992-1995 when I was a student at Bennington College in nearby southwestern Vermont. It's good to see that the place is still going strong!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Hertz Dave Hertz, Clearwater, FL
(04/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Man of Kent changed hands in early August of 2007. New proprietor is Jonathan Bombard. We stopped by on a very hot Saturday a few weeks after the sale. The crew was trying very hard to preserve the ambiance, beer selection and food service as it was under John's 22 years of ownership. We gave them a triple A for effort. Will they make the grade? We have high hopes.

PS: We were told that John will be returning to preside several days a week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Malecki Paul Malecki, Albany, NY
(08/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
There is good reason that the parking lot for Man of Kent is always full-no matter what time of day!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sue sue, cobleskill, NY
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
John is staying, John is staying! After a year or two of contemplating selling, John has decided to stay put! The good Lord must listened to all our prayers.

I can’t do any justice to the other reviews except to say the Man of Kent is all that is said and then some. There is no better host ANYWHERE than you will find at the MOK. John is a tremendous, wonderfully-warm Publican who can hold you in conversation for hours without your interest waning. And when John speaks, the bar listens.

Oh, the beer. That’s what we’re her for, eh? John has 18 taps – all top shelf. There is no “Light” or “Lite” beer to be found. And now that Smithwick’s is on, I’m moving my cot in. There’s everything from Coniston’s Blue Bird Bitter to Tetley’s to Boddingtons to the freshest Old Speckled Hen anywhere. And there’s always a tap reserved for Brown’s Brewing Co. (nee Troy Brew Pub). There are also hundreds of bottled beers if you’d like something odder.

If you live anywhere east of the California coast (ah, don’t we all?), the Man of Kent is a must-stop. Eat outside with the pig (Lucy), as well as the ducks and geese. There are bird watching books at the end of the bar to help identify the numerous and rare birds that perch on the myriad of feeders outside. And don’t forget to pet the three-legged cat!

One minor caveat is John says he’s backing off on the full dinners and instead will offer a limited menu only after 3:00. Full lunches will still be served though.

Thanks for staying John and giving us a reason to stay in this miserable state! Keep up the good work (as always)!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I originally started to give Man of Kent three greats and an awesome, w/ an overall Awesome - thinking the whole can be greater than the sum of its parts. On reflection, though, I just upgraded the constituent ratings; MoK doesn't pretend to be anything else than what it is, a maginficent, friendly, quaint pub. The Cheddar and tomato sandwhich I had was not awesome cuisine - but it was an awesome sandwhich, with the crusty Rockhill Bakery bread nicely complementing a juicy tomato and a flavorful cheddar cheese. Companion's chardonnay was crisp and flavorful, my stout was fresh and the merlot I had later had warmth and body. Service was prompt without being intrusive. Man of Kent is worth going out of one's way for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(06/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Excellent spring, summer, fall hang-out, with a British soccer theme. More British accents heard there than when I was in England. If the weather allows, eat outside in the garden and talk to the geese. The food, people and venue all make the trip worthwhile. Recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Moore Richard Moore, albany, NY
(04/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I have been going to John's for many years. We think so much of John & Adele that we went to his birthplace in Kent before we've even gotten to Ireland! I'm overlook his short-comings and consider him an honorary Hibernian!Judy & Joe,longtime wait staff, are also worth special mention for their contributions to the over-all conviviality!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gene Mynahan Gene Mynahan, Wayland, MA
(03/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding establishment. John offers a wide selection of excellent english beers on draught (Whitbread, Old Specked Hen, Fullers, Tetley's, etc.). The food is also quite good. The shortest trip from Vermont to a real English Pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Pour Tom Pour, Rutland, VT
(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I knew John and Adele back in the 1970's in Cornwall,England. They care so look them up. But don't take any notice if he gives you racehorse tip. Everything else about him is true.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allan Jones Allan Jones, St Ives. Cornwall., UK
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A fond memory of mine, when visiting back east a couple of summers ago. My wife and I took the leisurely route out of Albany into Vermont, avoiding the interstate one fine sunny day, and I remember thinking - the only thing this day needs to be perfect is an English pub - not 5 minutes before the Man of Kent came into view. The mind boggled, the beer, atmosphere and food were phenomenal, and I return whenever I'm even remotely in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Doucet Bob Doucet, Bowen Island, BC
(05/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent pub.Clean and comfortable.Great place to go out and get beered up with the boys, also a place where you wont be embarassed if you bring your wife or mother.Terrific atmosphere.John is a class act! Go Raiders!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob West Rob West, Hancock, MA
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Along with having a fine selection of true english beer John also has a great Yorkshire Stew. Another nice surprise will be waiting when you order yourself a spot of tea. You will be served a large pot of tea to wash down your Yorkshire Stew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sim Adams Sim Adams, Troy, NY
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
On the way from Troy to Bennington, VT, this is one of the most amazing bars in all of NY State. Beer selection that varies from day to day (but is always superlative), the beer menu contains perhaps half of what John (the owner) has in the cooler behind the bar. Unusual sandwiches made from locally produced gourmet breads make for great post skiing grub.

Beerhound says... Check it out...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Fisher Mike Fisher, Hyde Park, NY
(02/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Came across this site while serving the web in Korea (listening to John Prine). While I haven't had the pleasure to visit Man of Kent I certainly will upon departing Korea. I grew up in the area. Go Troy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danny O Danny O, Seoul, Korea, NY
(10/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Royal Oak Brewery is the finest Beer establishment I have seen in 20 years of visitinbg similar establishments. Their specials are unique, tasty, filling and well priced.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael d. weaver michael d. weaver, Lake Orion, MI
(01/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Just stop in once and you'll be a fan for life. Trust me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, niskayuna, NY
(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Man of Kent is all that a pub should be. Great draft and bottled beer selection. Great pub menu. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Definitely worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Griffin Paul Griffin, Slingerlands, NY
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Worth a considerable detour to visit this pub which is outstanding in all respects: beer, sandwiches, hospitality, decor, and overall ambience. Owner John is a terrific publican. Four Speckled Hens attested to my enjoyment. Excellent budget motel just a half mile west. Caution: pub closed Tuesday and Wednesday.

Location - not really hard to find, but not in Hoosick Falls (just the P.O. address); pub is on NY 7, one mile west of the intersection of 7 and NY 22South.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Brady Paul Brady, Alexandria, VA
(10/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Thanks to the previous reviewers of this pub!! My wife & I went out of our way to visit the Man From Kent based upon your information. We were not disappointed. In fact, the visit was the highlight of our vacation. The British owner John Stoates could not have been more hospitable. He even took the time to introduce us to his wife & pet pig! A must stop for anyone who has been fortunate enough to visit a British pub. This is the real thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Higdon John Higdon, Annapolis, MD
(07/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I did not know England was between Troy & Bennington. Great beers, atmosphere, owner - Paul is not exaggerating! Go there once and just try not stopping in again the next time through. It's in the middle of nowhere, but it's been there a long time - with good reason.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Niskayuna, NY
(04/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(04/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the most wonderful establishments in the world (do you think I'm exaggerating?) If you're ever traveling between Albany/Troy, NY and points east, toward Vermont, you really need to stop at the Man of Kent. It's on Route 7, not far from the NY/VT state line, at the bottom of a long, winding hill. John, the owner, will greet you as you walk in the door. He's always behind the bar. The crowd is really eclectic, and there are always regulars at the bar, along with the passers-through. You can't help but get involved in great conversation with the others at the bar. Draught selections include Guinness, Fullers ESB, Abbotts, Ushers, Speckled Hen, and Pilsner Urquell, among others. His bottled selection is impressive, with lots of English brews that you can't find anywhere else in the area. If you stop by, make sure to give John all the best; he deserves it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albanh, NY
(02/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Carries hard to find English ales. Great food. Great atmosphere. Beer served properly. Hard to find, but worth the try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Sniatkowski Mark Sniatkowski, Pompton Plains, NJ
(01/28/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.416 seconds) 07:43:15 54.211.7.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS