PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Huey's Restaurant and Brewery - Houston, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 06:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Houston > Huey's Restaurant and Brewery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Huey's Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: So So    Score: 58 / 100
[Closed]
15335 North I-45
Houston, TX 77090
United States
(713) 875-2260
Listed Since: February 1998
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Houston, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Matthias' Restaurant and Pub
(3 miles)

2) Molly Maguire's Irish Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mc Lachlan Farm B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & SUITES AIRPORT N
2) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE SUITES
3) BEST WESTERN GREENSPOINT INN
4) CHAMPIONS LODGE
5) CLARION INN HOUSTON
6) COMFORT SUITES
7) COURTYARD HOU INTERCONT AIRPORT
8) DAYS INN SUITES
9) FAIRFIELD INN I-45 NORTH
10) GUESTHOUSE INTERCONTINENTAL
11) HAMPTON INN INTERCONTINENTAL
12) HAWTHORN SAM HOUSTON PKWY
13) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES
14) HOWARD JOHNSON ARPRT WEST
15) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN TX
16) INTERCONTINENTAL NORTH
17) LA QUINTA INN HOUSTON I-45 N.
18) LEXINGTON HOTEL SUITES
19) MARRIOTT NORTH GREENSPOINT
20) OAKWOOD CHAMPIONS
21) SOFITEL
22) STUDIOPLUS HOUSTON GREENSPOINT
23) SUBURBAN HOTEL INTCNTL AIRPORT
24) SUPER 8 MOTEL
25) WYNDHAM GREENSPOINT HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Wunsche Bros. Saloon and Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ali Baba Restaurant
2) Arepas & Empanadas Gourmet
3) Atchafalaya River Cafe
4) Augusta's Cup Of Joe
5) Bar Viengsanook
6) Baytown Seafood Restaurant
7) Beijing Chinese Restaurant
8) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
9) Black Eyed Pea Restaurant
10) Black Eyed Pea Restaurant
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Bo Lee Restaurant
13) Bukoba Coffee
14) Burger King
15) Burger King
16) Cafe Pappadeaux
17) Cantho Sandwich Shop
18) Carbonero Restaurant El
19) Casa
20) Champ's Restaurant Inc
21) Chili's Grill & Bar
22) Chili's Regional Office
23) Chillo's Seafood
24) Church's Chicken
25) Church's Chicken
26) Classic Pizza
27) Clio's Restaurant
28) Club Azul
29) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
30) Crazy Frogs Saloon Too
31) Denny's
32) Division 1 Sports Bar & Grill
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Dr Fuller's Bbque Catering
35) East Bo Chinese Restaurant
36) Eclipse
37) El Imperial Mexican Restaurant
38) El Paisano Mexican Restaurant
39) El Progreseno Restaurant
40) Ella's Taste Of Soul Rstrnt
41) Eva's Mexican Restaurant
42) Fort Worth City Limits
43) Fountainhead
44) Grandy's Restaurant
45) Greek Food
46) Greek Tony's Pizza & Sub Shop
47) Hartz Chicken Buffet
48) Hartz Chicken Inc
49) Hooters
50) Hot Wings Bistro
51) Huey's American Grill & Brew
52) International House-Pancakes
53) Italian Pizza Express
54) Ixtapa Seafood & Mexican Grill
55) J's Shrimp House
56) Jack In The Box
57) Jack In The Box
58) Jack In The Box
59) James Coney Island
60) Joe's Crab Shack
61) Kamal La Barmigiana
62) Kfc
63) Kim's Cafe
64) Krystal
65) Lasagna House Iii
66) Lollicup Teahouse
67) Long John Silver's
68) Lookers Cabaret
69) Luby's Cafeteria
70) Lupe Tortillias Restaurant Two
71) Luther's Bar-B-Q
72) Luther's Bar-B-Q
73) Manuel's Mexican Restaurant
74) Marble Slab Creamery
75) Marco's Mexican Restaurant
76) Margarita's Mexican Bar & Grll
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mo's Bbq & Catering
79) Monterey's Little Mexico
80) Mr Hoagie's
81) Nit Noi Thai Restaurant
82) Nite Moves
83) Original Pasta Co
84) Outback Steakhouse
85) Papa John's Pizza
86) Pappasito's Cantina
87) Quizno's Classic Subs
88) Red Lobster Restaurant
89) Saltgrass Steak House
90) Schlotzsky's Deli
91) Sonic Drive-In
92) Sonic Drive-In
93) Steak & Ale Restaurant
94) Steakcountry Buffet
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Taco Bell
98) Taco Cabana Inc
99) Taqueria La Parria
100) Taqueria Vallarta
101) Tung's Hunan Palace Chinese
102) Whataburger
103) Whataburger
104) Wings 'n Things
105) Woodland House Chinese
106) Zio's Italian Kitchen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This location now is home to a place called "Dixie's House of Creole".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Fortunately this place no longer serves "microbrewed style" beer. Their beer made Michelob's "craft style beer" seem like the real thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Houston, TX
(11/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Huey's has sold their brewing equipment and is now a restaurant only.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Huey's sold off all of their brewing equipment. They are no longer brewing beer but will continue to operate as a dining establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, League City, TX
(01/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy N/A Lousy
Only stop if it's on the way to another place to drink serious suds. Waiters will stop serving you after two rounds. Charge for ice? Yes, that's true. The only rocks are the brains of the manglers who run the place. If they put the same passion for poor service and turn it around, this place could fly. But not today.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Carmichael Chris Carmichael, Houston, TX
(01/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
I enjoy visiting brewpubs because typically the brewers and the staff demonstrate a love of beer. That was not the case here. The beers were bland and there was no enthusiasm for the beer and brewing. The fact that the word brewery appears nowhere on the outside is reflected by the beers on the inside.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So
I had the opportunity to visit Huey's shortly after they opened. The food selection was what you would expect at any Texas restaurant. The service at the time was actually quite good. However, the beer aside from a poor selection was weak, flat and unappealing. It tasted like the runoff I get when I am emptying my carboy. Even though I am from Canada, I do like some American beer. Unfortunately this beer wasn't one of them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dean Dean, Saskatoon, SK
(01/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So Lousy
Wife and I went to Huey's again last night- what a major dissapointment! Not only was the beer not very good, the management philosophy was awful. First the problem, then the beer. My wife always drinks Absolute on the rocks. When we got the tab, they had charged us $1.00 for the ice! I asked the waiter who gave some lame excuse- like it makes more liquid, so we charge you more...? Of course we asked for the manager. He said they always do that, and if you order a drink -on the rocks- it costs more because they pour more liquor. They must think we are really stupid. A good bar will pour the same liquor every time- and not charge you for the rocks either. Needless to say we were not impressed with his lame excuse. The beer story was pretty bad too. I first had a Nut Brown Ale. Not too bad- a little thin, probably 10 points light on the Final Gravity, heavy diacetyl though almost overpowering, and way too much hops character for a brown ale. Next I thought I would like a Pale Ale. It looked, and tasted exactly like the Brown- very dark in color-call it 15 pts SRM, instead of the expected 4 to 5- or 6. I asked the server to please replace it- as I figured there had been a mistake in the pour. He brought back another brown. We tasted it side by side- with the nut brown- and it was the same. I took it to the bartender girl- who said it WAS a pale ale. After I explained the difference- she confessed she didn't know anything about beer- but what I had was supposed to be a Pale Ale. The managers explanation for this joke was that every brewmaster makes a pale ale differently...duh? Save yourself the trouble- and do not go to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Houston, TX
(12/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
This is a commercial establishment- more a fern bar than a brewpub. You get the idea the beer is an advertising gimmick, not the reason for being there. The beers are average at best. Most homebrewers have made far better in their spare time- yet, the concept is good, and it is the only place on the north side of side to get a real beer- reasonably freshly made. I give them encouragement to continue to try to get better- and to make better beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Houston, TX
(10/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
Wow! What is going on with the service at this place??? What a shame... I'm sure the owners have no idea that their waitstaff is acting this way. Maybe somebody should tell them...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kataggie Kataggie, Houston, TX
(07/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
I have to agree with the comments made by G.L. Averill. I was very disappointed in the service. The beer, what little they had in the way of selection, was bland. The service though, was far worse than that of Bank Draft (or a DPS driver license office for that matter). In fact, my female waitperson had no idea what beers were on tap. She had no idea what an IPA or an ESB was. Later, she could not be found by the bartender. I came in on a Saturday night with the expectation that the service personnel would be stressed because of increased load. I was surprised when upon entering I found the place dead, only two other customers (friends of the employees) and myself in attendance. The waitstaff were all sitting together at a table discussing each others marital and extra-marital problems. They seemed upset when I came in and sat down (they had to stop their conversation). I could go on and on. I cannot recommend Huey's. Sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Castlebravo Castlebravo, The Woodlands, TX
(06/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Overall, a worth while visit. A popular "sports bar" hang-out featuring some decent brews. The Double Eagle Gold and Copperhead Red were pretty good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(06/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
I would only visit this place if I were collecting brewpub glassware or visitations. It is not worth your time unless you happen to be in the area. The beers are wimpy and the last 2 times I was there service was pretty bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, League City, TX
(06/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
They serve the beer way too cold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from KEN KEN, Houston, TX
(04/22/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.296 seconds) 06:28:54 54.198.140.182, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS