PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe - Hartford, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 02:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Hartford > City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe
City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe
Overall: Great    Score: 74.2 / 100
942 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06103
United States
(860) 525-1600
Listed Since: February 1998
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hartford, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe
46 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Lord Jim's Pub
(0 mile)

2) The Half Door - A Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Vaughan's Public House
(0 mile)

4) Plan B New American Tavern
(3 miles)

5) Olde Burnside Brewing Company
(3 miles)

6) Thomas Hooker Brewing Company
(4 miles)

7) Corner Pug
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Charles R Hart House
2) Chester Bulkley House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CASTELLO DELL OSCANO
2) DAYS INN HARTFORD
3) ECONO LODGE EAST HARTFORD
4) HGI HARTFORD S GLASTONBURY
5) HILTON HARTFORD
6) RESIDENCE INN HARTFORD
7) SUPER 8 HARTFORD CT
8) THE GOODWIN HOTEL
9) VILLA ADA
10) WELLESLEY INN EAST HARTFORD
11) WEST HARTFORD INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allyn, Capt. Benjamin, II, House
2) Apartment at 49-51 Spring Street
3) Armsmear
4) Austin, A. Everett, House
5) B.P.O. Elks Lodge
6) Barber, Giles, House
7) Barbour, Lucius, House
8) Barlow, Boce W., Jr., House
9) Barnard, Henry, House
10) Batterson Block
11) Beach, Charles E., House
12) Beardsley--Mix House
13) Bemont, Makens, House
14) Beth Hamedrash Hagodol Synagogue
15) Brewer, Selden, House
16) Buckingham Square Historic District (Boundary Increase)
17) Building at 136-138 Collins Street
18) Building at 142 Collins Street
19) Building at 83-85 Sigourney Street
20) Bulkeley Bridge
21) Butler, Roger, House
22) Buttolph-Williams House
23) Canty, Marietta, House
24) Charter Oak Bank Building
25) Charter Oak Place (Boundary Increase)
26) Charter Oak Place (Boundary Increase)
27) Cheney Building
28) Chevry Lomday Mishnayes Synagogue
29) Christ Church
30) Church of the Good Shepherd and Parish House
31) Clay Hill Historic District (Boundary Increase)
32) Colt, James B., House
33) Congress Street Historic District (Boundary Increase)
34) Connecticut State Capitol
35) Connecticut State Library and Supreme Court Building
36) Connecticut Statehouse
37) Day House
38) Day, Calvin, House
39) Day-Taylor House
40) Deane, Silas, House
41) Dillon Building
42) Engine Company 15 Fire Station
43) Engine Company 16 Fire Station
44) Engine Company 2 Fire Station
45) Engine Company 6 Fire Station
46) Engine Company 9 Fire Station
47) First Church of Christ and the Ancient Burying Ground
48) First Congregational Church of East Hartford and Parsonage
49) First National Bank Building
50) Footguard Hall
51) Fourth Congregational Church
52) Frog Hollow Historic District (Boundary Increase)
53) Gillette, Francis, House
54) Gilman-Hayden House
55) Goodman, Timothy, House
56) Goodwin Block
57) Hartford Club
58) Hartford Electric Light Company Maple Avenue Sub-Station
59) Hartford Union Station
60) Hooker, John and Isabella, House
61) Hooker, Sarah Whitman, House
62) House at 140 and 144 Retreat Avenue
63) House at 36 Forest Street
64) Hyde-St. John House
65) Isham-Terry House
66) James Pratt Funeral Service
67) Johnson, Wilfred X., House
68) Judd and Root Building
69) Kellogg, Gen. Martin, House
70) Keney Tower
71) Linke, William L., House
72) Loomis, Capt. James, House
73) Loomis, George G., House
74) Loomis, Gordon, House
75) Loomis, Ira, Jr., House
76) Lyman House
77) Mather Homestead
78) Metropolitan African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
79) Mills, Elijah, House
80) Mills, Oliver W., House
81) Mills, Timothy Dwight, House
82) Myers and Gross Building
83) Newington Junction Railroad Depot
84) Northam Memorial Chapel and Gallup Memorial Gateway
85) Old Farm Schoolhouse
86) Perkins-Clark House
87) Polish National Home
88) Pomeroy, Arthur G., House
89) Royal Typewriter Company Building
90) Saint Anthony Hall
91) Second Church of Christ
92) Seymour, Elisha, Jr., House
93) Sigourney Square Historic District (Boundary Increase)
94) Simpson, Dr. Frank T., House
95) Spanish House, The
96) Spencer House
97) St. John's Episcopal Church
98) St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church
99) Stackpole, Moore, and Tryon Building
100) State Arsenal and Armory
101) Steele, Allyn, House
102) Stone Bridge
103) Stowe, Harriet Beecher, House
104) Sts. Cyril and Methodius Church
105) Temple Beth Israel
106) Temple Beth Israel
107) Twain, Mark, House
108) U. S. Post Office and Federal Building
109) Union Baptist Church
110) Wadsworth Atheneum
111) Webb, Joseph, House
112) Webster Memorial Building
113) Webster, Noah, Memorial Library
114) Wethersfield Avenue Car Barn
115) Whitman House
116) Widows' Home
117) Willard Homestead
118) Windsor Avenue Congregational Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abc Pizza House
2) Aibonitos Restaurant
3) All Seasons
4) All Seasons
5) All Seasons Svc
6) Allegro Cafe
7) Angelo's Bakery & Bistro
8) Ann Marie's Restaurant
9) Antojidos Scolonianos
10) Apron Springs Restaurant
11) Aqui Me Quedo Restaurant
12) Aqui Me Quedo Restaurant
13) Arch Street Tavern
14) Au Bon Pain
15) Au Bon Pain
16) B & J Restaurant
17) B C Restaurant
18) Bangkok Fast Food
19) Barbecue Pit
20) Bean Pot Restaurant
21) Bernice Bragaeous Restaurant
22) Black-Eyed Sally's
23) Blimpie Subs & Salads
24) Blimpie Subs & Salads
25) Blue Onion Tortilla Deli
26) Bombay's Authentic Indian
27) Boston Market
28) Bourbon Street North
29) Breto's
30) Broasterant
31) Burger King
32) Burger King
33) Burger King
34) Campus Pizza
35) Capitol View Restaurant
36) Capo's Ristorante
37) Caribbean Style
38) Carlton's Jamaican Restaurant
39) Carmichael's Restaurant
40) Casa Mia Ristorante
41) Caucus Room
42) Chale Ipanema Restaurant
43) Chan's House Chinese Kitchen
44) Channer's Sunshine Restaurant
45) Charlie's Pizza Restaurant
46) Chef Eugene
47) Cheong Gardens
48) China House Restaurant
49) China Kitchen
50) China Star
51) Chuca's Restaurant
52) Chuck's Steak House Inc
53) Citino Frank
54) City Fare
55) City Steam Brewery Cafe
56) Civic Cafe On Trumbull
57) Coach's Sport's Bar & Grill
58) Comerio
59) Congress Men Supermarket
60) Conneely's Snack Bar
61) Conrad's
62) Corner Grinder Shop
63) Cozy Spot
64) Cuchilandia
65) Doc Stop
66) Domino's Pizza
67) East Bridge Diner
68) El Bohio Restaurant
69) El Comerieno Cafe
70) El Tambo De Oro Restaurant
71) Express Thai Japan
72) Federal Cafe
73) Food For Thought
74) Food For Thought Corp
75) Forge Restaurant
76) Franklin Giant Sandwich Shop
77) Fresh City Restaurant
78) Friendly's Restaurant
79) Gathering Place
80) Goal International
81) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
82) Gyro Place
83) Hal's Aquarius Restaurant
84) Happy Holiday Chinese Rstrnt
85) Hartford #1 Chinese Rstrnt
86) Heidi's
87) Hot Tomato's
88) Hotep's Restaurant & Lounge
89) Island Delight Restaurant
90) Jenna's Deli
91) Jerk Pit One Stop
92) Jesse's
93) John's Cafeteria
94) Kahoots Showgrill Restaurant
95) Kashmir Restaurant
96) Kenney's Restaurant
97) Kfc
98) La Fonda Bar Resturante
99) La Gurabena Restaurant
100) Le Petit Chef
101) Lion's Den Vegetarian Rstrnt
102) Lok Chung Chinese Restaurant
103) Lok Hing Restaurant
104) Los Titanes Restaurant
105) Louie B's Pizza & Sports Bar
106) M & J Southern Style Rstrnt
107) Mad About Soup
108) Mama's Place
109) Max Downtown
110) Mc Donald's
111) Mc Donald's
112) Mc Donald's
113) Mc Donald's
114) Mc Donald's
115) Mc Gregor's Jamaican Cuisine
116) Mel's West Indian & American
117) Michael's Market Restaurant
118) Mickey's Oceanic Grill
119) Mini Restaurant
120) Morton's Of Chicago
121) Mrg
122) Municipal Cafeteria
123) Museum Cafe
124) Natural
125) New York Pizza & Deli
126) No 1 China House
127) No Fish Today Restaurant
128) Number One Restaurant
129) Pantry
130) Park Place Cafeteria
131) Pasti's
132) Paul's Wing It
133) Peking Garden
134) Peppercorns Grill Inc
135) Petisqueira Pizza
136) Piaceri Restaurant & Cafe
137) Pierpont's At The Goodwin Htl
138) Piolin Restaurant
139) Pitta Gourmet
140) Pizza Hut
141) Pizza Land
142) Polytechnic Club
143) Portillas's Palace Cafe
144) Pumpkin's
145) Red Shadow
146) Retreat Sandwich Shop
147) Rincon Caleno
148) Rob's Cafe
149) Royal Pizzeria
150) Saigon Kitchen
151) Sam's Cozy Corner
152) Sarape Restaurant
153) Savannah
154) Savvi's Pizza Restaurant
155) Scarlett O'hara's
156) Shish-Kebab House-Afghanistan
157) Silver Dollar Restaurant
158) Silvio's Restaurant
159) Sister's Restaurant & Catering
160) Sky Box Sports Bar & Grille
161) Song Hays Chinese & American
162) Sorrento Ristorante
163) Spiro's Restaurant
164) Star Chinese Restaurant
165) Steak House
166) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
167) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
168) T J's Deli
169) Taco Bell
170) Take Five
171) Tapas On Ann
172) Terrace Cafe
173) Texas Fast Food
174) Timesaver Pizza
175) Timothy's Restaurant
176) Tony's Pizza
177) Troche's Restaurant
178) Tropicana
179) Velvet
180) Vito's By The Park
181) Washington Diner
182) Wendy's
183) Wendy's
184) Wolde's Ethiopian Restaurant
185) Woodland Deli
186) Yamelyn Restaurant
187) Yogi's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Located in a restored historic building in downtown Hartford, CT. A very good food selection along with nine brews ranging from a double IPA to a killer stout! Try the flight to experience some great beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Strittmatter Richard Strittmatter, Enola, PA
(11/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Made a quick stop enroute to Maine to sample a few that were new to me. Acapulco Gold IPA was drinkable--not overdone. Cascade/N.Brewer?Amarillo hops gave it a good flavor. Baltic Porter weighed in at 9%+. It was just on the edge of booziness--could really see you getting carried away with this one. Dark Lager was just a nice schwarzbier, smooth and slightly roasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
I enjoyed a terrific dinner and beers here recently. I had their sampler, and all of the beers were quite good. The IPA and porter were especially good. The pot roast is their best seller, and wasn't what I generally tend to order, but since it was popular I tried it and it was very, very good! I topped it off with a dessert and it all came to about $30. Great beer, food, and value. My server was initially attentive and very nice, but as things got busier attentiveness went down and I had to wait awhile for dessert. Overall, however, I highly recommend City Steam if you are in downtown Hartford.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(06/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
73.9 seems a little low for this place, which is a beautiful bar in a great-looking old building with some pretty good beers. I had a sampler (five 3-ounce beers for $5) and a pint of black silk stout. Most were very tasty. Didn't have time to eat, but we'll be back in town in October.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(09/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Had not been through CT in quite a while, so a stop in the Hartford area was in order. As stated in previous reviews, the building is a stunner; beautiful, old architecture right on the edge of downtown. Tried 5 beers, all above average to very good in quality. White Rabbit (wit) had a decent flavor, but struck me as kind of dull, uninspiring. Careless Love (biere de garde) was smooth with just a hint of vanilla, very drinkable at 7.2%. Old Wethersfield IPA used English hops, well-rounded and tasty. Green Eyes & Red Hair (Scottish ale) VERY smoky and peaty. Probably more so than anything in recent memory. Way too much for my liking. Jamaicsn Stout (sweet stout) was pretty good. Reminded me of a milk stout, only slightly sweeter. The gumbo was good, not great, had the right level of spiciness for my palate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I stopped in at City Steam for a late lunch and it was 100% worth it. The service was excellent and the food was awesome. After my meal I walked around this place and it was incredible with all the architecture put into it. They currently had 9 beers on tap and they offer up sampler’s of 5, so I did 2 rounds and got a mead as the last choice. The mead was from CO. The whole theme and atmosphere was a really nice touch to the place. I could tell a lot of time and detail was placed into everything.

Colt 45- What a funny name for a lager. It is an easy to drink light lager with a hint of sweetness.

White Rabbit- typical wit beer with a thick feel to it, some spiced noted with coriander and orange

Careless love- I really enjoyed this smooth vanilla ale. Out of all the beers on the sampler, I just had to dive into another one. It was not overly controlled by vanilla, but just enough to love it from first to last sip as opposed to many vanilla type beers that just get old halfway through.

Brown sugar- a dark, sweet and fairly enjoyable stout, had I had more time, I would have had one of these.

Naughty nurse- I thought this English style pale ale was so so. It was mildly hopped and could have used a bit more on the bittering side.

Metzino-07- easy to drink pilsner but not what I would choose at all. Most pilsners fall in the line of tasting the same old no really taste to it all.

Green Eyes and Red Hair- wow, from the first smell of it I detected a campfire feel and knew it was smoked. I really do not come across smoked beers at brewpubs and saw that it was a smoked Scottish. I thoroughly enjoyed it and the smoky feel did not dominate the rest of the flavors.

Old Wethersfield- An IPA that had a distinct hoppy taste to it. I would not say it was the greatest, nor would I say it was the worst. It is an easy to drink IPA that lacked the powerful hit of hop feel which I so love out of IPA’s

City Steam Ale- If I had more time I would have also ordered one of these. This English Mild was dark with a very nice well balanced taste. After a long day of work, a few pints would be perfect.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stopped in for lunch and tried their "sampler". You actually get to pick 5 of the 8 beers they had on tap to make up the sampler. Was not knocked out by any one of the beers that I selected. I did follow up with a pint of the Belgium white that they had and it was pretty good. I thought that the beers were a little dumbed down and not really to style. There aren't a lot of brew pubs in the region and this one is worth a stop. As noted in other reviews, it is a pretty neat building and interesting to watch the bust stop crowd wander by. Food was not exceptional, but ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
First off I have to comment on the excellent service. It was a crowded workday both for lunch and when I want back for happy hour and no one was left to want. Your glasses were refilled within seconds of them being emptied as the barkeep (working by himself) was fully cognizant of the entire bar and the pace that people were quaffing.

The Export Blonde was a Dortmund-Style Lager, but didn’t follow the spicy mustard I had on my sandwich before arriving so I’ll leave it alone. I got good-bad-good from start to finish on this one. My notes are a few weeks old and the Hop Venom is no longer on tap, but it was a hop-head’s delight and did a very nice job cleaning my palate. It was a refreshing change from the usual Cascade-hopped IPA’s as it featured “new crop” Columbus and Amarillo’s. You really had to work to smell or taste a modicum of malt as this was all hops and nothing but hops. The good news is I wasn’t driving and was able to put the seatbelt on and enjoy the afternoon, but the bad news (review-wise) is I couldn’t get past the Hop Venom to sample any of the others from their very impressive lineup. Nothing like an excuse to go back . . . !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great food and great beer!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I don't go anywhere else when in CT. The Naughty Nurse rocks. I've been there three times any loved it everytime. The multi-level floors adds to the ambiance. Really nice place that I look forward to frequenting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Lombard Ray Lombard, Magnolia, NJ
(01/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Went to CT on business and stopped here...one of the only brewpubs in the Hartford area that isn't part of a chain. They had a nice, large selection on tap. 8 or so, I believe. Tried to Scottish Ale....interesting, it was smoked style. While not my favorite, it was different and I give them credit for that. The Milk Stout was great...their best. It brought me back the following evening. The Naughty Nurse dark ale was also pretty good.

On the Tuesday night I was there, they had a $5 special where you buy a pint glass, it is filled with a beer and every beer afterwards is $2. Excellent deal.

It looks like this place got some mixed past reviews, but I think it was really good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Nutley, NJ
(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
We stopped in for lunch on our way from New York to Boston. It was a pretty cool building, with multi levels. I tried their signature beer...City Steam Ale. I have no idea what the brewer was trying to do. It didn't taste like any beer I have ever tried before. The Irish Stout, however, was very good. Food was ok, nothing to go out of your way for. Next time I am passing through town, I'll try a different brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(09/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So
Tried one of the IPAs, naughty nurse I believe, the City Steam I think it was called and the Irish stout. The first two were bad, the City Steam tasted more like root beer than beer. The Irish stout was decent. The chicken sandwich was dry and overcooked. I asked the girl behind the bar about it and she said it was the style and asked if I wanted another one which didn't make sense if that was how the sandwich is supposed to be. Lots of four letter words coming from behind the bar from the staff. If I'm ever in Hartford again, I'll won't be going to City Steam.

-Steve C (not Pat)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Huge! Neat architecture. Apparently it used to be a turn of the century department store. Lots of stairs and little landings on multiple levels. Pool tables in the back room. Large screen TV with huge , comfortable couches for watching the game. The place was empty when we were there at 8:00 PM on a Friday night, but so was most of Hartford.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Ott Bob Ott, Bedminster, PA
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Despite some of the recent lousy reviews, I decided to give this establishment a chance. I will say that I was left without much positive or negative to say. The beer was OK, not great and the food was good, but again, not great. Service was good. Overall, not knowing anything else in the area, I can say I had a decent meal and a decent beer here and would tell others to give it a shot. The Wit beer was nice and refreshing as it should be, while the IPA was definately well hopped but the beer itself cloudy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Oxford, NJ
(06/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
Had a burger, which finally came almost 30 minutes later, during a slow time of the afternoon, with no lettuce/tomato on it, medium well after I asked for medium rare. Had to ask for ketchup to make it palatable. No dark beers (porter or stout), only an average barley wine. The Steam beer tastes pretty good, as does the mild. On another visit, the wait staff last wednesday night was inattentive: I sat there for 10 minutes with an empty beer glass when there was only one other group in the bar. They were too busy talking to each other to notice that I wanted a refill. The glasses are not filled up (nearly an inch of foam), and I got a funny look from the waitress when I asked her to fill it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cap'n Mike Cap'n Mike, Anaheim, CA
(01/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
City Steam is worth a visit. Although I am sure that the time of day and day of week you visit will determine your overall impression of this pub. It is downtown and right in the center of Hartford's activities.

There is sure to be a beer for every taste. The Colt Light is - indeed - light, but very flavorful. The Dry Stout was very balanced and very nice. Each of the Pale Ales are delicious and each have a very different appeal. My favorite was the scotch ale, quite nice with a nice smokey flavor.

The food was good, but most of the menu was a bit pricey for a brewpub. I am sure it suits the tastes of the after-5 crowd in Hartfords financial center.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William William "Chip" Potter, Richmond, VA
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Lousy
There use to be a good restaurant here, but CS took over. The food is standard pub fare, but overpriced. The beers are mostly lighter with little flavor. The owner and wait staff tends to diss every other place in town. Near 3 hotels the place is full of out of towners. Avoid it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jan Jan, Enfield, CT
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So N/A Good
nothing impressive beer-wise. I guess if you are passing thru Hartford and are thirsty, it won't kill you to stop in. It is right downtown, so parking can be a pain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(06/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
Beer selection is lacking in my opinion. It is too bad this place does better business then Troutbrook. The food was average. The highlight of this place is the comedy show and the night scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Scott T, Dayville, CT
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I don't know if this place is worth the detour. Respectable selection of beers, but nothing outstanding about the quality. Food was pretty mediocre. If you need a brewpub in Hartford, I'd go to Troutbrook first.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
The beer is excellent! Especially the IPA and the Blonde on Blonde. Pizza is great. Other food is so so. Service leaves something to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hartford, CT
(03/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Great almost straight across the board. The homemade chips were fantastic as was the homemade mac n cheese. The beer was pretty good. Had the sampler which included a porter, IPA, a brown, a golden and an amber. The IPA was the best followed by the golden. The brown and amber were not quite maltly enough but better than a macro any day. I would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gman, West Bend, WI
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I've visited 100+ BPs from Portland,Maine to Portland,Oregon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JT, Middletown, NY
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
We hung out in the bar area on a Saturday night with a fun cover band playing tunes. The Naughty Nurse (their flagship brew) was just ok, but I settled on the Unfiltered IPA, which was awesome and my wife enjoyed the Amber. Cool atmosphere in a nice old building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(07/01/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.729 seconds) 14:54:29 54.145.182.50, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS