PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brewery Ommegang - Cooperstown, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 11:40 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Cooperstown > Brewery Ommegang
Brewery Ommegang Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Brewery Ommegang
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.4 / 100
River Road 656
County Highway 33
Cooperstown, NY 13326
United States
(800) 656-1212
Listed Since: February 1998
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Cooperstown, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Brewery Ommegang
37 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Accommodations-Hickory Grove
2) Country Lion
3) J P Sill House
4) Jones House
5) Landmark Inn
6) Main Street Bed & Breakfast
7) Middlefield Guest House
8) Overlook Bed & Breakfast
9) Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
10) Thistlebrook B & B
11) White House Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW INN AND STES AT THE COMMONS
2) GREEN APPLE INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hyde Hall Covered Bridge
2) Middlefield District No. 1 School
3) Otsego County Courthouse
4) US Post Office--Cooperstown
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1819 House
2) Bean
3) Blue Mingo Grill
4) Cafe Milano
5) Carmen Espositos Italian Ice
6) Compass Rose Diner
7) Cooley's Stone House Tavern
8) Danny's Main Street Market
9) Di Maggio's Cooperstown Hotdog
10) L M Townsend Catering
11) O'Hanlan's Steakhouse
12) Pioneer Patio Restaurant
13) Red Nugget
14) Tino's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Well worth a visit particularly since there isn't much else going on, beerwise, in this neck of the woods. The tour is a short one and your not going to power down a pint during the tastings but you get a good taste. And if you like anything,you can pick it up in the gift shop for later. And construction is under way to expand the visitors area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
We did the Ommegang tour on a very hot Wednesday afternoon in early July. Because brewing was going on, we were somewhat limited in what we could see in the brewhouse itself. The bottling line was inactive late in the afternoon, so that part of the operation was included on the tour. The tasting room is small. The beer tasting includes a range of Ommegang beers: Witte, Ommegang Abbey, BPA, Rare Vos, Hennepin, and Three Philosophers. Considering the alcohol content of some of these Belgian-style ales, we felt that the tasting, while informative, was too hurried. The gift shop has both Ommegang beers and a range of souvenirs available. In fairness, this brewery’s popularity has outgrown the capacity of their facilities (expansion projects are planned or underway). As a result, some aspects of a tour and tasting experience may be less than ideal, especially if a lot of visitors are present.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What a great experience!!! This is a first class - and large - operation; we visited there on Sunday in conjunction with a visit to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Take the tour - taste all the beers - they're great!! Then buy some to take home - we did. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from colin harding colin harding, fairfax station, VA
(04/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Every beer was a winner. The Witte is an excellent wheat beer with citrus and spice notes. The Rare Vos is an amber with notes of licorice that puts most other ambers to shame. The Abbey Ale is rich and deep with toffee notes. But our favorites were the Hennepin, a saison that is dangerously easy and pleasant to drink -- citrus, ginger, mild hops, and a full mouthfeel; and the Three Philosophers, with just enough sweetness and berry notes to serve as dessert on its own.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Pleasant, NY
(09/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I always hate it when I see a place that hasn't had any reviews in years, I know places like this are pretty consistent but it doesn't hurt to put another more recent review up. This place has some of the greatest beer of all the places I've been. They have the Belgian style down to a science. The Rare Vos is great, the Three Philosophers will get you going, and the Abbey Ale is a staple. I was in for a visit when they were doing taste testing not just of their regular ales but also when they had their Bretty beers and another time when they had their cave-aged beers. Their Bretty beers are great, a nice spin on their regular recipes. The cave-aged beers are superb, I never knew aging this type of beer would make such a big difference, but wow the young and aged beers are totally different in texture and taste. I even tried my hand at it and bought some Three Philosophers and Abbey to age in my very old and cold basement for a few months and they came out great. I take friends and family here every chance I get to show them not only the process of how beer is made (being a homebrewer myself I love to share the wonders of fermentation) but also to show them that there is great tasting beer out there (not just the MGD and Bud they are used to). I would recommend, if you can, to go for a tour and tasting in the winter during the off-season... we went there this last February and we were the only visitors there and we got a very in depth tour (more than the other times I've been there with big groups of people packing the place), and the tour/beer guide didn't feel rushed so he took his time going through the taste testing of al their regular brews, their cave-aged brews, and their seasonal brew at that time, and he gave us however much we wanted. This is a must if you are anywhere near Cooperstown, NY (or even if you are in Syracuse or Albany)... Their shop has a great variety of their beers in all sorts of mixes, from buying just a single traditional 25 oz bottle or a six pack of 12 oz bottles to a mixed six pack of the 25 oz bottles and great gift boxes with two or three 25 oz bottles and two of glasses to serve it all in. Plus they have cheese dips made with their beers that are great as well... to go with the pretzels and mustards. and if you are a beer lover don't forget to bring a growler of your own for them to fill, because you'll definitely find at least one beer you'll want to take home (if you don't want to buy a bunch of bottles)... I've forgotten so many times and kick myself each time. I haven't made it to the Ommefest (usually in september) but plan on it this next year... and they have other events throughout the year. Rumor has it that they're thinking of putting up a pub at one end of the facility, not sure on this though... but it would be a great addition to this already superb place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Town Greg Town, Prattsville, NY
(12/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
There isn't much to add regarding Ommegang. The beers are first rate, the farmhouse setting is beautiful, the people are friendly. We snaked in about the middle of a tour with no problem and then were treated to samples of all their fine products. True, the sample size is small, but I found no problem asking for (and getting!) pretty much as many of them for each style (within reason) as I wanted. All are super, but my picks that day were the Witte and the Rare Vos. It was sweltering and they both more than hit the spot. Can't wait to hit one of their festivals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The superb quality of Brewery Ommegang's liquid offerings was only exceeded by the fine hospitality we were shown during our visit. From the first moment we stepped into the Belgian-style farmhouse brewery we were treated like royalty. Sure, I've been on plenty of brewery tours before, but the staff at Ommegang made us feel like old friends. The experience was rounded out perfectly with the samplings of Hennepin, Rare Vos, Witte, Ommegang Abbey, and Three Philosophers. I was even able to bring home a couple of bottles of Hennepin from 2005 that were aged in the nearby Howe Caverns (do yourself a favor and pick up a couple if you visit...they are exquisite.) The only thing that could have made the trip better was if we were visiting the next weekend during the Belgium Comes to Cooperstown event, but there is always next year. Special thanks to Eric, Monica and Ken. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Finnaly made it up from Baltimore after TAP New York...one of the best beer fest in the U.S. You cant say enough good things about this brewery BUT the samples after the tour?! Should have been much bigger...I think we got about 2 onces of each beer...come on guys. The folks at the fest said we could "drink a lot". Dont forget Cooperstown BC nearby...$2 for 7 8 ounce beers...nice!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Having traveled to Belgium, and of course being a huge fan of Duvel, I was more than pleased when I discovered the Brewery Ommegang. They brew 6 of the best Belgian style beers that I have had the pleasure of tasting and that include ones from Belgium! The Ommegang story as I understand it goes something like this; brewers of Duvel in Belgium decided to get in on the beer craze here in the USA a number of years ago. They took 6 very good recipes, traveled to the US, and got the Brewery Ommegang going. As I have discovered, you can order Ommegang at your local distributor. I highly recommend doing this as the price of these beers are more than reasonable. Take advantage of going to see the Brewery. They run a first class operation with the advantage of some old world experience, and simply put, they make some damn good beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Peters Michael Peters, Harrisburg, PA
(03/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The center of the Beer Universe was just south of Cooperstown yesterday at the Belgium comes to Cooperstown Festival at Brewery Ommegang. Just like these folks do their beer right, the certainly know how to do a festival right. And the lousy upstate NY weather could not dampen the festivities.

Just about every brewery of substance was in the big tent, with quite a few rolling out a new brew just for the occasion. Not having to drive back the Smallbany as the folks there offered camping at a nominal fee, I was free to sample literally every beer in the tent – some more than once. Some of the folks had beer styles other than Belgian, but that was OK – a nice IPA every so often never hurt anybody. While most of the brewery’s shut down just after four, Brewery Ommegang offered their wares at a nominal fee well into the night. And what a way to end the day. I will not admit how many Rare Vos’ I had, but I do remember putting my head down with a smile on my face. Good beer, great food, and fantastic music – it just doesn’t get any better than that!

The folks at Brewery Ommegang are the best of the best. It was nice to see Brewmaster Randy pressing the crowd and chatting with any and all that wanted his ear. I wanted to make a few purchases in the gift shop and re-stock my ‘fridge with their beer-made cheeses and spreads, but the place was out of control. Oh well – looks like an excuse to go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
This is not your average American craft brewing establishment. There is a definite old world style to this place and you must visit here when you are in town. Even though the brewery was established in the mid to late 1990's, the date on the brewery entrance gives a date in the 1500's(the exact date eludes me, it's been awhile since my visit). To my best recollection, this is due to the recipes handed down through generations. While they don't make an extensive variety of beers, they do make their beer extremely well. They even age some of their brew in Howe Caverns. For my money, they make some of the best Belgian style beer in the Northeast U.S.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
I am not a fan of this style of beer, but even if you don't like beer you should stop in and take the tour. They do good work and put on a good beer "show." While this isn't my 'style of choice' you can tell it is well made. The reputation they've built in such a short period of times speaks well for the quality of the product and the organization.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I love their beer...

Hennepin is sold actually here in Pittsburgh...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I agree that the 3 philosophers is worth the trip to the Brewery. Cave aged (in Howe Caverns)Hennepin is very good as well.Iv've seen Ommegang and Rare Vos elsewhere but I believe 3 Philosophers and Hennepin are sold only at the Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noel Noel, Shelton, CT
(01/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Never been to the brewery but discovered there product while on a business trip to Binghamton N.Y. I wished I'd sampled it before I left town because I'd have brought home a case. The good news is that I found a source in my town and I've been enjoying it ever since!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kentwood, MI
(01/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
a very small brewery...the tour only takes a few minutes but the guides certainly enjoy their jobs. they do get paid to sample the brews with the guests--and thats NOT a bad thing by any means. all the brews are distinctive (especially the somewhat spicy hennepin) but covet the THREE PHILOSOPHERS as it's brewed once a year (if memory serves...), only available at the brewery and worth the trip just for that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review shane, saratoga, ny
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
I have never been to the brewery but I find their beer to have a great taste and has a bit of a kick to it. Its hard to find their beer living in New Jersey, so whenever I make it upstate, I stock up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Gambardella Frank Gambardella, Hoboken, NJ
(02/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Stopped by with the family after a trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Saw a review on, of all places, the Food Network. Brewery tour was advertised as $4, refundable with purchase, but our guide never charged anyone, instead he nicely asked for tips. An interesting tour, but the beer tasting that followed was simply amazing! All of their brews are fabulous for quality and flavor. Full, potent, darn near the perfect beer. Champagne process carbonation may be part of the secret, I don't care, I just want my local retailer to start carrying it. Three Philosopher's Ale, just short of 10% alcohol content, was my favorite. Bought a case and will make the 6 hour trip back for more if I can't get it in the DC area. We also bought a bottle of the Rare Vos, our second favorite. Part of the reason for that was the curiousity of it being stored in Howe Caverns for several months. Being originally from upstate, we couldn't turn down the novelty of that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wes Smith Wes Smith, Annapolis, MD
(10/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I just visited Ommegang for the 7th time last Sunday, toured it with my family and friends. Our tourguide (dunno her name, young woman with red hair) gave us one of the very best brewery tours it has ever been my pleasure to receive in 17 years of touring breweries: informative, complete, and without a speck of BS. Well, not much. But the people on the tour heard more about brewing than they would hear at most tours in larger or longer-established breweries. This is a fantastic place, set aside the exquisitely good beers (the Hennepin just keeps getting better and better). You really owe it to yourself to come and visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
although I have never visited this place, I have drank enough of their bottles to say they have Belgian beer down pretty good...

at $7 a bottle here you get roughly 2 drinks... A real gem of domestic brewing...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
Brewery Ommegang is a great brewery. They brew some of the best traditional Belgian Beers in the country if not the world. The Ommegang Abbey Ale ranks right up there with such legendary Belgian breweries as Chimay and Duvel. The tour guides were very knowledgable and informative. A great brewery with great beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Vacula Scott Vacula, Saratoga Springs, NY
(04/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Nestled in the rolling hills of Cooperstown, Brewery Ommegang is the only Brewery in America dedicated to producing all bottle-conditioned Belgian style ales. Cooperstown, thought of more often as the home to America's favorite pastime, was once the center of a bustling hop economy. Brewery Ommegang was built on the foundation of one of Otsego county's largest hop farm This brewery is in the 607 area code

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review madmike, Sherburne, ny
(01/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Excellent tour,tourguide,tasting and they treat you like you are their best customer.Don't even think about missing Ommegang if in the area.Belgian beer experts they are, beyond a doubt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Sawchuk Don Sawchuk, Canton, MI
(09/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
Visited this place on a recent trip home, to the land of my youth. The brewery offers 3 brews and all were excellant. Friendly people and great beer made for an fun visit. If you're in the area, this is a MUST.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(05/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Great time in Cooperstown. Brewery Ommegang was outstanding. This brewery and their beers are quite unique. Free, informative tour and great atmosphere in and around the brewery. The building is pretty impressive, styled after a Belgian Abbey. Awesome tasting session followed the tour. These are real friendly folks. Picked up a sampler case with Ommegang, Hennepin and Rare Vos. Don't miss this one when in Cooperstown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(05/07/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.04 seconds) 11:40:59 54.234.141.47, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS