PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery - Asheville, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 10:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Asheville > Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery
Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
95 Patton Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
United States
(828) 252-5445
Listed Since: March 1998
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Asheville, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery
39 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM -
Mon 04:00PM -
Tue 04:00PM -
Wed 04:00PM -
Thu 04:00PM -
Fri 04:00PM -
Sat

alternatives
(25 within 5 miles)
1) Barley's Taproom
(0 mile)

2) Green Man Brewing Company/ Dirty Jack's
(0 mile)

3) ED Boudreaux's Bayou Bar-B-Que
(0 mile)

4) Scully's Signature Dine and Drink
(0 mile)

5) Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

6) Thirsty Monk
(0 mile)

7) Rankin Vault
(0 mile)

8) Craggie Brewing Company
(0 mile)

9) Wedge Brewing Company
(0 mile)

10) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

11) Scully's
(0 mile)

12) Lexington Avenue Brewery
(0 mile)

13) Highland Brewing Company
(0 mile)

14) Bier Garden
(0 mile)

15) Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

16) French Broad Brewing Company
(0 mile)

17) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

18) Charlotte Street Grill
(0 mile)

19) Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

20) Nine Mile
(4 miles)

21) Fred's Speak Easy
(4 miles)

22) Westville Pub
(4 miles)

23) Root Bar Number One
(4 miles)

24) Burgermeister's Kitchen and Tap
(4 miles)

25) Ruby's Tap House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed of Roses
2) A Hill House Bed & Breakfast
3) Abbington Green B & B
4) Aberdeen Inn
5) Acorn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
6) Albemarle Inn
7) Applewood Manor
8) Beaufort House Victorian Bed
9) Biltmore Village Inn
10) Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast
11) Bridle Path Inn
12) Carolina Bed & Breakfast
13) Cedar Crest A Victorian Inn
14) Chestnut Street Inn
15) Colby House
16) Corner Oak Manor
17) Cumberland Falls B & B Inn
18) Dogwood Cottage Inn
19) Flint Street Inns B & B
20) Inn on Montford
21) Lion & the Rose
22) Miller's Mountain Cabin
23) North Lodge
24) Oakland Cottage B & B
25) Old Reynolds Mansion
26) Scarlett Inn & Cottage
27) Sourwood Inn
28) Sweet Biscuit Inn
29) White Gate Inn & Cottage
30) Wright Inn & Carriage House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT ASHEVILLE BILTMORE EST
2) BW ASHEVILLE BILTMORE
3) BW OF ASHEVILLE BILTMORE EAST
4) COMFORT INN RIVER RIDGE
5) COMFORT STES BILTMORE SQ MALL
6) COUNTRY INN STES ASHEVILLE TUN
7) COUNTRY INN SUITES ASHEVILLE
8) COURTYARD ASHVILLE
9) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE NORTH
10) DAYS INN ASHEVILLE PATTON AVE
11) DAYS INN ASHVILLE MALL
12) DOUBLETREE HOTEL BILTMORE
13) ECONO LODGE BILTMORE ASHEVILLE
14) EXTENDEDSTAY TUNNEL ROAD
15) FAIRFIELD INN STES ASHEVILLE
16) FAIRFIELD INN STES ASHEVILLE S
17) GROVE PARK INN RESORT AND SPA
18) HAMPTON INN ASHEVILLE I26
19) HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL
20) HOWARD JOHNSON ASHEVILLE
21) QUALITY INN AND SUITES SOUTH
22) RAMADA LIMITED CENTRAL
23) RAMADA PLAZA HOTEL - ASHEVILLE
24) RENAISSANCE ASHEVILLE HOTEL
25) RESIDENCE INN ASHEVILLE
26) SLEEP INN BILTMORE
27) SUPER 8 BILTMORE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams, Judge Junius G., House
2) Alexander, Mrs. Minnie, Cottage
3) All Souls Episcopal Church and Parish House
4) Arcade Building
5) Asheville City Hall
6) Asheville Transfer and Storage Company Building
7) B & B Motor Company Building
8) Barker, Clarence, Memorial Hospital
9) Battery Park Hotel
10) Biltmore Estate Office
11) Biltmore Shoe Store
12) Biltmore Village Commercial Buildings
13) Biltmore Village Cottage District
14) Biltmore Village Cottages
15) Biltmore-Oteen Bank Building
16) Breese, William E., Sr., House
17) Bryan, William Jennings, House
18) Building at 130--132 Biltmore Avenue
19) Building at 134--136 1/2 Biltmore Avenue
20) Building at 140 Biltmore Avenue
21) Buncombe County Boys' Training School, (Former)
22) Buncombe County Courthouse
23) Church of St. Lawrence
24) Church of the Redeemer
25) Claxton School
26) Conabeer Chrysler Building
27) Demens-Rumbough-Crawley House
28) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase II)
29) Downtown Asheville Historic District (Boundary Increase)
30) E. D. Latta Nurses' Residence
31) Ellington, Douglas, House
32) Fire Station Number 4
33) First Baptist Church
34) George A. Mears House
35) Grove Park Inn
36) Jarrett, Thomas, House
37) Kenilworth Inn
38) McGeahy Building
39) North Carolina Electrical Power Company Electric Generating Plant
40) Ottari Sanitarium
41) Overlook
42) Ravenscroft School
43) Reed, Samuel Harrison, House
44) Reynolds House
45) Reynolds, Dr. Carl V., House
46) Richbourg Motors Building
47) Richmond Hill House
48) Sawyer Motor Company Building
49) Schoenberger Hall
50) Smith-McDowell House
51) Southern Railway Passenger Depot
52) Spinning Wheel
53) St. Luke's Episcopal Church
54) St. Mary's Church
55) St. Matthias Episcopal Church
56) Wolfe, Thomas, House
57) Young Men's Institute Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 23 Page Catering
2) 9 Pleats Catering
3) Akumi Sushi Saki Bar
4) Ali Baba Middle Eastern Rstrnt
5) Anntony's Caribbean Cafe
6) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
7) Arby's
8) Asheville Pizza & Brewing Co
9) Asheville Take-Out
10) Atlanta Bread Co
11) Back Yard Burgers
12) Barley's Taproom & Pizzeria
13) Beanstreet Coffee
14) Bearly Edible
15) Bier Garden
16) Biltmore Depot Restaurant
17) Biltmore Estate
18) Biltmore Estate Catering
19) Bistro 1896
20) Blimpie's Of Pac Square
21) Blue Ridge To Go
22) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
23) Boston Pizza
24) Boston Way Cafe
25) Bourdreax's Cajun Cafe
26) Broadway's
27) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
28) Burger King
29) Burger King
30) Cafe 445 & Catering
31) Cafe On The Square
32) Cafe Soleil
33) Cahoots Eating & Drinking Emp
34) Capitol Funds Inc
35) Charlotte Street Grill & Pub
36) Chef In Motion
37) Chelseas & The Village Tea
38) Cinjades
39) City Diner
40) College Street Pub
41) Corner Stone Restaurant
42) Cottonwood Cafe
43) Country Kitchen
44) Courtside Cafe
45) Daisy's Diner
46) Damon's The Place For Ribs
47) Decades
48) Denny's
49) Doc Chey's Noodle House
50) Dolores & Jose Mexican Rstrnt
51) Don Pablo's
52) Early Girl Eatery
53) East Buffet
54) Ed Boudreaux's BBQ
55) Ed's Snack Shop
56) Emerald Lounge
57) Excalibur Ventures
58) Fifty-One Grill
59) Five Points Restaurant
60) Flamingo Restaurant
61) Flying Frog Cafe
62) Fred's Speak Easy
63) Frog Bar & Deli
64) Fuddruckers
65) Gabrielle's
66) Gold Hill Espresso & Fine Teas
67) Golden Horn
68) Goodfellas Italian Ristorante
69) Grape Escape
70) Gray Area
71) Greenery Restaurant
72) Grill House Catering
73) Grove Park Inn Resort
74) Grovewood Cafe
75) Gypsy Moon
76) Hannah Flanagan's Pub
77) Hathaway's Cafe Market & Bkry
78) Heiwa Shokudo
79) Horizons
80) Hot Dog King
81) Hot Shot Cafe
82) Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
83) Il Paradiso Steak & Chop House
84) Indigenous
85) Izzy's Coffee Den
86) Jack Of The Wood
87) Jerusalem Garden Cafe
88) Joe's Crab Shack
89) John Henrys
90) Kamm's Custard Shops LLC
91) Kat's Restaruants
92) La Caterina Trattoria
93) La Paz Restaurante & Cantina
94) Laughing Seed Cafe
95) Laurey's Catering
96) Left Bank
97) Lexington Avenue Brewery
98) Limones
99) Little Pigs Bar-B-Que
100) Little Pigs Bar-B-Que
101) Lobster Trap
102) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
103) Long John Silver's
104) Loretta's
105) Magnolia's Raw Bar & Grille
106) Mama's Fast Food
107) Mamacitas
108) Marble Slab Creamery
109) Margie's Battery Park Cafe
110) Market Place
111) Marketplace Cafe
112) Marta's Catering
113) Martin's Creative Catering
114) Max & Rosie's Restaurant
115) Max's Celebrity Deli Grill
116) Mayfel's
117) Mc Donald's
118) Mc Donald's
119) Mc Guffey's Restaurants Inc
120) Mediterranean Restaurant
121) Melanie's
122) Mellow Mushroom Pizza
123) Mexico Lindo Mexican Rstrnt
124) Mikado Japanese Steak House
125) Mo Jazz
126) Mountain City Coffee Roasters
127) Mr Gene's Family Restaurant
128) New French Bar
129) New French Bar Courtyard Cafe
130) Noodle Shop
131) O Henry's
132) O'charley's Restaurant-Lounge
133) Old Europe Coffee House
134) Olive Garden
135) Oliver & Annabelle's
136) On Broadway
137) On Broadway
138) Orange Peel
139) Orchard At Broadmoor
140) Orchards
141) Osaka Japanese Cuisine
142) Outback Steakhouse
143) Peace Of La Paz
144) Peddler Steak House
145) Pedro's Porch
146) Peking Garden Chinese Rstrnt
147) Picnics Bake Shop & Restaurant
148) Pizza Hut
149) Pizza Hut
150) Pizza Hut
151) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
152) Quizno's Classic Subs
153) Rabbits Restaurant
154) Red Lobster Restaurant
155) Richmond Hill Inn
156) Rio Bravo Cantina
157) Rio Burrito
158) Ritz
159) Rosetta's Kitchen
160) Salsa Mexican Caribbean Food
161) Sassafras Cafe & Catering Co
162) Savoy Restaurant
163) Shangri LA Fusion Cafe
164) Shotzy's At The Historic S & W
165) Silver Dollar Restaurant
166) Smokey Tavern
167) Sonic Drive-In District Office
168) Souper Sandwich
169) Specialties Cafe & Catering
170) Starbucks
171) Stella Blue
172) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
173) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
174) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
175) Sweet Heaven Ice Cream & Music
176) Sweeten Creek Pub & Grill
177) Taco Bell
178) Temptations
179) Thaibasil
180) Three Brothers Restaurant
181) Tina Bone Catering
182) Tomatoes
183) Tomo Japanese Cuisine
184) Tressa's Downtown Jazz & Blues
185) Trevi Pasta Seafood & Pizza
186) Trio's Pizzeria
187) Tripps Restaurant
188) Tuna Tini's
189) Tupelo Honey Cafe
190) Twelve Bones Smokehouse
191) Two Guys Original Olde Style
192) Uptown Cafe
193) Village Tea Room
194) Vincent's Ear Coffee House
195) Vincenzo's Restorante
196) Viva Europa
197) Waffle House
198) Wasabi
199) Wendy's
200) Wendy's
201) Wild Wing Cafe
202) Windmill European Grill
203) Yamama's Smaqueria
204) Yoshida Japanese Steak House
205) Zambra
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We bought a pint glass for a gift. Gave it to our friend and all of the picture has washed off. Have bought a lot of beer glass from a bunch of pubs, and have NEVER had this happen. SO DISAPPOINTED !!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Linda Grogan Linda Grogan, Avinger, TX
(09/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
We were here on New Years Eve and since it was New Years Eve they were only serving in plastic and therefore didn't have the beer samplers available. Too bad. I had the IPA and the Pale Ale; they were incredibly similar, the only difference is probably the additional final hop- but they were quite good. I believe they had only 5 beers available at the time. This is a cool place to just hang out, got a lot of character. Worth checking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(01/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Made a return visit during a recent stay, and I'm sorry to say that I was very disappointed. Got a sampler of the 4 house brews that were on tap and was not impressed. All seemed kind of lifeless and boring. Was told by a local that he liked the ESB. I'm guessing that lots of folks do; it was kicked when I stopped. Saving grace were the guest beers, including Pisgah Pale which was very good. Chili cheese fries a huge ungodly amount that no one person should try to finish (no, I didn't), but very tasty. Hope my next visit is a better one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Awesome! Great
stopped in on NYE for lunch and due to the amount of people in town for the 3day concert i went to, much of their beer was kicked and they only had 3 on tap :(

the porter stood out as a wonderful tasting beer and i had a few of them with my meal. its a cool place to go to in asheville with a friendly bartender. i wish i was able to try some of there other brews. it seems like a fun time at night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good
We stopped in for a quick beer near our hotel. The selection is limited to a few big Brit/Euro brands and a few Green Man beers. The porter was good, though fairly sweet. Loved the non-smoking interior.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Chicagoland, IL
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Asheville is indeed a unique place and an unexpected haven for the beer lover. Jack of the Wood is like much of Asheville; Bohemian, arty, borderline Hippie (and these are all GOOD things!). I got to stop by twice during my recent stay--it's very close to a Days Inn hotel. The beer is nice, not over the top, but nice (countdown to repeal of 6% law...). Their beers are varied, and should please almost any palate. Gold for the lighter beer lover, cask for those who enjoy it, Brown, Pale and Oatmeal Stout for all the rest of us. The clientele was varied and friendly. Features music weekends, and bluegrass jams on Thursdays. Nachos were good, and filling. One minor drawback; it seems to attract some suspicious characters out by the entrance--heard two employees talking about how they "chased him out of here twice this week". No problems here, just an observation. A great stop for a great overview of Asheville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
No smoking inside. Our bartender Joe took really good care of us. They had on tap the Imperial Stout, Porter, Oatmeal Stout and IPA which was smooth, mild and had a nice flavor. The Oatmeal Stout we also recommend. We split the shepherd's pie. The portions are huge. The atmosphere was very comfortable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
MUST GO!!!!!!!

Gold and silver Medal winner of 2004 WBC brewer Carl Melissas has taken over as Brewmaster of this fine English style brewpub. MUST try the unique Organic Carob Maple Porter, ESB with Ginseng, as well as finely crafted Belgian style ales!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Asheville, NC
(12/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
Asheville is such a unique place! And what excellent beer. We really enjoy Jack of the Woods and Laughing Seed Cafe every time we visit. Great new signature beers! Moving in the right direction! We heard the new brewer recently won a gold and silver medal in the world beer cup! Way to go! Great beer to match the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Atlanta, GA
(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
This bar blows. I was with a friend who ordered an Irish Car Bomb and finished it and then when he tried to order another beer was told " Just wait that car bomb will hit you in a minute." What kind of bar refuses to serve a patron after their first drink? And dear lord how much hippy stank can one person endure?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glendale, CA
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TexJets TexJets, Cary, NC
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
My husband and I were in Asheville for the night and I had looked up Jack of the Wood online. It looked like a great spot to have some good food, enjoy some live music and drink some good beer.

We were a little disappointed when we arrived because there was no where to sit. We thought our luck had changed when we saw one lone table up in the front near the stage. When we sat down, we noticed a note saying that the table would be taken up at 9 before the band started playing. We were there by 8, so figured that would be okay.

It took 15 minutes before anyone would even talk to us. And the first thing out of her mouth was "You do know the table will be removed at 9?" I politely said "yes, we should be able to eat in about an hour, is that okay? There is no where else to sit, can you help us?" She just looked at us and asked us what we wanted to drink.

Needless to say the rest of the meal was uncomfortable due to the fact that everytime she came by she mentioned we would have to be getting up soon and she hoped the kitchen would have our food in time. We spent most of the time feeling like we were unwanted and looking around for another place to sit in hopes that this would make things better. Our luck wasn't so good, but we did receive our food in time and gulped it down before they took our table and chairs away. We found a couple that was willing to share their table with us so we could finish our beer.

Before we could start to finally enjoy ourselves, a man came up and asked if we were going to stay for the music. We didn't answer at first because we weren't too sure why he would ask. Then he replied "if so, it will be $6 each to stay, otherwise you are to leave". We asked if we could finish our beers and he said that he couldn't stop us.

So we finished our beers and thanked the nice couple for letting us sit with them and vowed never to darken their door again. It is a shame too, because the atmosphere was so quaint and the beer was good, but it was not the most welcoming of places.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nashville, TN
(01/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
My friends and I loved this place especially when The Dappled Grays were playing! Definitely not a place to miss!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelby Shelby, Dahlonega, GA
(11/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
My favorite watering hold in Asheville. Lots of great beer choices and a good menu selection, including very tasty veggie selections. Rustic atmosphere

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Harig, Seneca, SC
(05/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Great
Probably the best pub trivia event in town takes place at JotW every Monday night. The service is good, the food is good (I like the bruschetta and the bread and cheese plate) and the atmosphere is inviting and attitude-free.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Asheville, NC
(04/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Funky comfortable atmosphere. Completely non-smoking with a great vegetarian restaurant upstairs (don't know if under same ownership). Awesome beers, and the appetizers we had were excellent. It doesn't get much better than this. Wish I could move to Asheville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Neat Place with its English/Irish feel. We had the stout, porter and a seasonal beer called Anu. All were very good. Live music on Friday night and smoke free. We'll definitely go back to try to the other beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bullock Bill Bullock, Atlanta, GA
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
A must visit Brew Pub. Even an "out of towner" like myself makes you feel like you belong.Nice atmosphere.Excellent brew quality and selection(some where sold out). Bitters ++.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good N/A N/A
SMOKE FREE! They say bars can't make it smoke free! This place was packed! I would go to more bars if they were smoke free. The House Stout is some of the best anywhere! I took a growler home to my brewing buds and they agreed. There was no Porter or IPA, but the pale ale was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Lowell Dave Lowell, Elkhart, IN
(11/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The only non-smoking bar I've ever seen. I wish there were more (don't implore me to move to that whacko state out West, it ain't gonna happen). The atmosphere was inviting and intimate. The theme was Celtic in origin; but rather than a knock-off British Aisles pub, it seemed to also draw on the local region's Celtic heritage and tie the two together. Think of it as "British Aisles meets Carolina Highlands." Nice touch. They have the coolest logo I've ever seen; there's a nice picture posted here of a stained-glass rendering of the logo located above the bar.

The menu carried the theme, resulting in a limited selection. The food was quite fine, though we ordered small stuff and saved our appetite for a place with a broader menu.

They only brew three of their own beers at any given time. When I went there was an IPA, a brown ale and an ESB. The IPA was very crisp and clean, though not as caramel as the style suggests. A sharp bitterness subsided as the beer got warmer to bring about a good balance. The ESB had an appropriate hop-malt balance but had an aftertaste reminiscent of cheap American mass-brew. (My wife suggested the aftertaste resembled dish soap.) The brown ale had a fantastic nutty, warm roasted flavor--one of the best examples of the style I've had in a long time. Other beers on tap included Guinness, Bass, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Boddington's, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
My wife and brother visited this establishment the night before the 6th Annual Great Smokies Craft Brewers Brewgrass Festival. What a unique and wonderful experience! The cask conditioned bitters was absolutely heavenly. It complemented the outstanding live blue grass music. The decor, the music, the friendly and crowded atmosphere, and outstanding beer made this a totally wonderful experience. We shall return!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tesoriero Tom Tesoriero, Cornelius, NC
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
My wife and I like this place better than any other in town. While it usually has only three of its own brews on tap at once, they're always very good, often including a seasonal. There are renowned non-locals on tap, and a good selection of single-malts, as well. The service and food are unusually good, with hearty satisfying fare. But its atmosphere promotes it into the "Great" category: intimate, Irish/English-like pub, yet smoke-free thank God, right on the main drag, with outdoor seating for sipping on the sidewalk. They often have live Celtic or Bluegrass music on the weekends. It's a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Road Mode Road Mode, Asheville, NC
(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
By-far my favorite of the many excellent brewpubs and tap-houses in Asheville. Only three of their own beers on tap (Porter, Pale Ale, and ESB), but each one was liquid gold. This place looks like a mish-mash of Gaelic: Irish, Scottish, and Welsh trappings abound. Went on a quiet Tuesday night (which was a welcome break from the chaos of other, more crowded places), but could tell that the place would be fun with live music and a bit o' dancing and such. Definately a must-visit...//TB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TBissell TBissell, San Diego, CA
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Right by the university so very busy. music at 9 most evenings. Beers all very good and true to style, especially pale. Food very good also. Lots of veggie selections.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great
The decor and music create a kind of Celtic-Bluegrass feel. They offered 2 beers, a Pale which was good and a Stout that was excellent. The food and service were very good. Definitely worth a visit if you like a relaxed, smoke-free brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(06/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.486 seconds) 22:27:26 54.87.70.14, 199.195.254.57


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS