PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Firestation 8 Bar and Cue was OldeTowne Firehouse - Gaithersburg, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 18, 2014 @ 09:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Gaithersburg > Firestation 8 Bar and Cue was OldeTowne Firehouse
Firestation 8 Bar and Cue was OldeTowne Firehouse Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Firestation 8 Bar and Cue was OldeTowne Firehouse
Overall: Great    Score: 72 / 100
[Closed - 2008]
317 East Diamond Avenue
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
United States
(301) 977-7665
Listed Since: April 1998
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gaithersburg, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
36 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) The End Zone Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Buffalo Wings and Beer
(3 miles)

4) Hard Times Cafe
(3 miles)

5) Gordon Biersch Brewery and Restaraunt
(3 miles)

6) The Vyne American Bistro
(3 miles)

7) Baying Hound Aleworks
(3 miles)

8) Guapo's
(4 miles)

9) Dogfish Head Alehouse
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Reynolds of Derwood B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) B W WASHINGTON GATEWAY HOTEL
2) COMFORT INN SHADY GROVE
3) COURTYARD ROCKVILLE
4) HILTON WASH. DC N/GAITHERSBURG
5) HOMESTEAD GAITHERSBURG
6) MARRIOTT WASHINGTONIAN CENTER
7) OAKWOOD GAITHERSBURG
8) QUALITY SUITES SHADY GROVE
9) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC ROCKVILL
10) SLEEP INN SHADY GROVE
11) SPRINGHILL SUITES GAITHERSBURG
12) STUDIOPLUS GAITHERSBURG
13) SUMMERFIELD SUITES GAITHERSBRG
14) TWNPL STES GAITHERSBURG
15) WOODFIN SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Beall-Dawson House
2) Belt, J. A., Building
3) Bingham-Brewer House
4) Gaithersburg B & O Railroad Station and Freight Shed
5) Gaithersburg Latitude Observatory
6) Ridge, The
7) Rockville Railroad Station
8) Third Addition to Rockville and Old St. Mary's Church and Cemetery
9) Thomas and Company Cannery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Y Jalisco Restaurant
2) Acajutla Mexican Restaurant
3) Aloha Inn Restaurant
4) Always A Sensation
5) American Cafe
6) Armand's Chicago Pizzeria
7) Atlantic Seafood Market Inc
8) Bare Bones
9) Bare Bones
10) Basil's Pizza
11) Bethel Tea Room
12) Blanca Restaurant
13) Boston Market
14) Bread & Kabab
15) Broadwalk Fries
16) Broadway Pizza
17) Buffalo Billiards
18) Buffalo Wings & Beer
19) Bugaboo Creek Steakhouse
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Campus Cups
24) Canton Delight
25) Caribbean Cafe
26) Cedar Italian Cafe
27) Cedar Italian Cafe
28) Charcoal Chicken El Carbon
29) Charley's Steakery
30) Checkers Restaurant
31) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
32) Chick-Fil-A
33) Chicken Basket
34) Chicken Out Corporate
35) Chicken Out Rotisserie
36) Chicken Out Rotisserie
37) Chicken Out Rotisserie
38) Chicken Place
39) Chili's Grill & Bar
40) China Jade Restaurant
41) China King Carry Out
42) China Star Restaurant
43) Chinese Express II Inc
44) Chipotle Mexican Grill
45) Cho Catering Svc
46) Chop Stix Of Muddy Branch
47) Chris' Steak House
48) Chuck E Cheese's
49) City Lite Buffet
50) Clubhouse Restaurant
51) Corner Bakery
52) Dairy Queen
53) Diamond Deli
54) Diamond Pizza Inc
55) Dippin' Dots
56) Domino's Pizza
57) El Mexicano
58) Fingers & Claws Restaurant
59) Food Lion
60) Fountain Cafe
61) Fu Shing Cafe
62) Gallagher's Catering
63) Gallagher's Catering
64) Germaine Catering
65) Golden Bull Grand Cafe
66) Great China Restaurant
67) Guapos Cantina
68) Hershey's Ice Cream & Cake
69) Hershey's Restaurant
70) House Fortune II
71) House Of Chinese Delights
72) Hunan Best Restaurant
73) Hunan Palace Restaurant
74) Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
75) Il Forno Pizzeria
76) India Kitchen
77) International House-Pancakes
78) Italian Pines
79) Jamaica Sunrise Caterers
80) Java Junction
81) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
82) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
83) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
84) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
85) Jj Muldoon's
86) Joe's Crab Shack
87) Joe's Place Pizza & Pasta
88) Juanita's Restaurant
89) Junior's Chicken
90) Kenny's Sub Shop
91) Kfc
92) Koo Koo Roo
93) L' Academie De Cuisine North
94) La Frontera Restaurant
95) Las America
96) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
97) Lunch Corner
98) Masci Restaurants Inc
99) Mc Donald's
100) Mc Donald's
101) Mc Donald's
102) Mc Donald's
103) Mediterranean Cafe
104) Metro Dhaba
105) Mi Bue Blito Restaurant
106) Mi Peru
107) Mo's Pizza & Subs
108) Momo Taro Sushi Japanese Rest
109) Mr Smoothie
110) Natraj Indian Food Caterers
111) New Fortune
112) Nick's Chop House
113) Old Country Buffet
114) Old Siam
115) Old Town Cafe
116) Panda Express
117) Panera Bread
118) Pastelandia
119) Peking Eastern House
120) Perkins Family Restaurant
121) Philadelphia Mike's
122) Pho Nam Restaurant
123) Pho Viet
124) Pizza Hut
125) Pizza Hut
126) Planet Pizza & Subs Restaurant
127) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
128) Prime Choice Caterers
129) Prime Grill
130) Quiznos Sub
131) Rainbow Restaurant
132) Ramino's Restaurant
133) Red Hot & Blue
134) Red Lobster Restaurant
135) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
136) Redland Grill
137) Ricky's Rice Bowl Ii
138) Rico Y Rico
139) Rio Entertainment Ctr
140) Romano's Macaroni Grill
141) Roy Rogers
142) Roy's Place
143) Royal Carry Out Ii
144) Ruby Tuesday
145) Sams Pizza
146) Sbarro
147) Silver Diner Inc
148) Sir Walter Raleigh Inns
149) Song Toy Restaurant
150) Spinnaker's Restaurant
151) Starbucks
152) Starbucks
153) Starbucks
154) Starvin Marvin Pizza Shop
155) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
156) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
157) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
158) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
159) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
160) Summit Station Restaurant
161) Sun Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
162) Taco Bar
163) Taco Bell
164) Tartufo Ristorante
165) Tea Room
166) Texas Barbecue Factory
167) Thai Jasmine Bistro
168) Tippy's Taco House
169) Tonys Carryout
170) Vie De France Restaurant
171) Village Green Restaurant
172) Waiter On The Way Inc
173) Wendy's
174) Wendy's
175) Wendy's
176) Wok Express Chinese Restaurant
177) Woodlands Indian Restaurant
178) Ziggy Deli
179) Zio's Italian Restaurant
180) Zodiac Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place closed in 2008 - It re-opened in October 2008 as "The End Zone" sports bar. http://www.theendzonebargrill.com/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ale hound ale hound, gaithersburg, md
(06/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I went there on a Wednesday night at around 9 and it was closed; looked like it might be closed permanently.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hank Miller Hank Miller, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
This place must be violating a lot of health codes. The entire pool area smells like poop. The bathrooms are in poor condition...one container of Softsoap, toilet paper and paper towels are laying around and not in dispensers. They have a decent selection of beer. But I've been there on occasion when they have not had soda or clean glasses. I don't know how you can be out of glasses when there are only 5-6 customers in the whole place. Outdoor area is really big and nice...it would do wonders if they just wiped the pollen off the tables. I sat at a picnic table and my friend had to pull a 1" splinter out of my back. They don't post hours on the door...so sometimes when you show up at 3 or 4 in the afternoon, they are closed. I used to really like this place when it was Buffalo Billiards. Now I'm not sure what's going on. They say they are catering to people who want free live music. I'd rather have a place that's open and clean and looks like someone takes pride in the joint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beerme beerme, g-town, MD
(05/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I probably been here 5 or 6 times to support some local bands. I'm not a picky person but this place is a real dump. Restrooms are horribly dirty. Almost everywhere is dirty. I usually drink beers on tap but there's no way i'll be ordering draft beer and drink from their glasses. The bartenders are very slow, and i don't think they're lazy, they seem like they themselves don't want to be there. I ordered food the first time i went there and paid cash but i never got my order (blessing in disguise). It such a shame 'cause the place is big and seems like it has a great potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(04/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I DO KNOW THE OWNER PERSONALLY ... AND I KNOW ALL HER EVIL DEEDS. ALL I'M ASKING FOR IS TO CLEAN THE PLACE UP ... I'D LUV TO RETURN BUT WHEN YOU WALK IN AND IT FEELS AND SMELLS AS IF YOU JUST ENTERED A PORTA-JOHN...FORGET IT. FYI...THERE ARE SOME GOOD BEER CHOICES...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review rockville, MD
(09/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Contrary to previous reports, this place is a pit and will always be a pit. I don't give a hoot about the owner "doing" anyone, the fact of the matter is this joint is dirty, loud, and should not really be on this website anyway. Perhaps a proper website would be stupiddrunkfucks.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(09/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
this is hands down the best place around for local music. don't judge a book by its cover (by the way they never charge cover at the door). they are going through a transition in staff and are doing their best to make improvements. if you don't know the owner personally, don't judge her. for everyone who has something bad to say, there are a dozen others who appreciate her and all the sacrifices she makes every day to support music. if you can't see the big picture, this isn't the place for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Friend and Regular Customer Friend and Regular Customer, Gaithersburg, MD
(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
PubCrawler is a web site for people looking for quality beer. Can anyone comment in that regard? Should this venue be listed here?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am not here to bash your support of local bands. I am just asking that you clean the place up. I frequented this bar when it was Buffalo Billiards but the place was just so dirty the last time I visited I decided i had had my fill. It's a shame too ...there are some good bands there. The owner is not in a band...she just does the band members...oops did I say that. No one is asking for perfection....just a half clean bathroom that isnt't covered in puke and urine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review rockville, MD
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
our main focus is the music. not only do we support local music 150 percent, we are also proud to have had nationally touring bands from all over the country on our stage, and we NEVER sell tickets or charge at the door, it's always a FREE SHOW! so if our place is a dump, so be it. we're the only true music venue in the entire county, and most of our staff, including managers, are musicians, and most are in local bands. we don't try or pretend to be perfect, nor do we expect anyone else to be. if you want perfection, go somewhere corporate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FIRESTATION 8 Bar & Cue FIRESTATION 8 Bar & Cue, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Great Zippy. Just be sure to hurl in the containers provided.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great
I've been a regular patron since February 2006.

Sure, it's not perfect. If you want a perfect, hoity-toity, trendy bar, go to Tommy Joes with all the other trend whores, and leave Firestation 8 to its own devices.

Firestation hosts some GREAT metal bands, and supports a lot of local musicians. So, sorry if they aren't covering your favorite 311, Weezer or Dave Matthews Band songs, but this is my favorite place to hang.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zippy Zippy, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I second that...this place is not worth the time or effort. They may have a few good beers but otherwise...it's a DUMP. It's dark and dirty. I even met the owner...how unprofessional can one person be? And it reflects in the staff, as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(08/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
This place is a pit. They should route the Limited to take this place out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(08/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Name changed, again. Web site reads, "Firestation 8 Bar & Cue, formerly Olde Towne Firehouse Cue (No change in ownership or management! Still the same fun place.)"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Web site reads, "Firestation 8 Bar & Cue, formerly Olde Towne Firehouse Cue (No change in ownership or management! Still the same fun place.)"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
This place is sooooo dirty. I've been to concerts where the bathrooms are cleaner. The owner is all about fitting in with the young crowd and is OFTEN very nasty with the customers. There is very limited outdoor seating. The beer and the selection is good...for a small town bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review petersburg, VA
(05/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Lotsa taps, lotsa macros, lotsa repeats (I counted at least 3 Coors Light). Other taps a variety of typical imports and micros, with a few locals (B-more, Frederick) thrown in. Located on the lower level of businesses; cavernous. Many bands advertised, some looked to be pretty hardcore. Would imagine it gets rather interesting once the music starts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
No bbq yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Silver Spring, MD
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You should check it out again. There's a new huge stage and live music every day. The bands are awesome and the place really rocks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gaithersburg, MD
(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
The Bar is now called Firehouse Cue. Supposedly this place was headed downhill because of the Thuggish clientell. Since It changed management it seems to get a decent crowd without the thuggish atmosphere. The Bands are so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Gardner Dan Gardner, Gaithersburg, MD
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Lousy
Everything about this bar used to be great! The bartenders ROCK! Live bands are awesome, but the new ownership is driving this place into the ground! They are looking to turn Buffalo Billiards into a place called Firehouse Que... Went in on a Sat night and there were like 15 people in the whole place, with the exception on the ton of people who went to see the band play! I give the new owners a year. BYE BYE Buffalo Billiards!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reston, VA
(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
This was a great place I liked to go. I hadn't come back for a while....when I did, I have to say, that everytime I do -- It just keeps getting better. they have incredible bands, entertainment, decor, billiards, food....and a great selection and wonderful service. All in a pretty neat location too....you'll have to visit to see what I mean.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rockville, MD
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
First of all, I don't see why I had to pay to get in to buy a few drinks. The food sucked and the place seemed full of people who just turned 21. Would be nice if there was more of a mixed crowd. At 27 I felt like the oldest person in the joint. I guess if you're into blueberry beer or something it might be good for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gburg, MD
(06/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Went there with some freinds and a local band was playing (Double Dog Dare). The band made th evening. THey rock. Try to make it there when they are playing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Meat, Riverdale, MD
(02/23/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.281 seconds) 21:15:52 54.81.134.175, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS