PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Wilmington, DE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 09:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > DE > Wilmington > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 78.2 / 100
[Closed - 2005]
303 Rocky Run Road
Wilmington, DE 19803
United States
(302) 477-6965
Listed Since: April 1998
Last Updated: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilmington, DE
Beer Guide for Delaware

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Stoney's British Pub
(0 mile)

2) Kelly's Logan House
(3 miles)

3) Buckley's Tavern
(4 miles)

4) Twin Lake Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast of Delaware
2) Fairville Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BRANDYWINE VALLEY
2) BRANDYWINE SUITES
3) COURTYARD WILMINGTON DOWNTOWN
4) DAYS INN WILMINGTON NEWARK
5) DOUBLETREE HOTEL WILMINGTON
6) HOMEWOOD SUITE WILMINGTON
7) HOTEL DU PONT
8) MCINTOSH INN OF WILMINGTON
9) SHERATON SUITES WILMINGTON
10) WYNDHAM WILMINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brandywine Manufacturers Sunday School
2) Braunstein's Building
3) Brown, Dr. John A., House
4) Carpenter-Lippincott House
5) Center Meeting and Schoolhouse
6) Cloud, Abner, House
7) Continental Army Encampment Site
8) Crosby and Hill Building
9) Delaware Avenue Historic District
10) Delmarva Power and Light Building
11) Dingee, Jacob, House
12) Dingee, Obadiah, House
13) Dupont, P. S., High School
14) Ferris, Zachariah, House
15) Fort Christina
16) Friends Meetinghouse
17) Gibraltar
18) Glynrich
19) Govatos'/McVey Building
20) Grace United Methodist Church
21) Gray, Charles, Printing Shop
22) Harlan and Hollingsworth Office Building
23) Holy Trinity
24) Howard High School
25) Ivyside Farm
26) Keil, Max, Building
27) Keil, Max, Building
28) Kingswood Methodist Episcopal Church
29) Laurel
30) Logan House
31) Lombardy Hall
32) Lore, Charles B., Elementary School
33) Louviers
34) Main Office of the New Castle Leather Company
35) Marcus Hook Range Rear Light
36) Masonic Hall and Grand Theater
37) McLane, Louis, House
38) Mount Lebanon Methodist Episcopal Church
39) Mount Pleasant Methodist Episcopal Church and Parsonage
40) New Castle Leather Raw Stock Warehouse
41) New Century Club
42) Old Asbury Methodist Church
43) Old Customshouse
44) Old First Presbyterian Church of Wilmington
45) Old Town Hall
46) Philips-Thompson Buildings
47) Postles House
48) Public School No. 19
49) Pyle, Howard, Studios
50) Pyle, Joshua, House and Wagon Barn
51) Reynold's Candy Company Building
52) Rodney Court
53) Schagrin, Charles, Building
54) Schoonover, Frank E., Studios
55) St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Church
56) St. Hedwig's Roman Catholic Church
57) St. Joseph's on the Brandywine
58) St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Church
59) St. Mary's School
60) Starr House
61) STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA (steamboat)
62) Talley, William, House
63) Torbert Street Livery Stables
64) Townsend, Henry, Building
65) Trinity Episcopal Church
66) U.S. Post Office, Courthouse, and Customhouse
67) Walker's Mill and Walker's Bank
68) Wilmington Amtrak Station
69) Wilmington Savings Fund Society
70) Wilmington YMCA
71) Woodward Houses
72) Woolworth, F. W., Company Building
73) Young, William, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Arby's
3) Asian Palace
4) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
5) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
6) Boston Market
7) Brantwyn
8) Brass Bass
9) Burger King
10) Burger King
11) Cafe Riviera
12) Casapulla's North Steak & Sub
13) Catering By Harry P Berbee
14) Celebrity Kitchens Inc
15) Charcoal Pit
16) Chardog
17) Chick-Fil-A
18) Chili's Grill & Bar
19) China Express
20) China Inn Restaurant
21) Chuck E Cheese's
22) Cinnabon
23) Coffee Creations
24) Concord Gallery
25) Cozco Inc
26) Damon's
27) Flavour Of Britain
28) Foulkstone Cafe
29) Golden Castle Diner Restaurant
30) Grotto Pizza
31) Ground Round
32) Howard Johnson
33) Imperial Inn Chinese Rstrnt
34) Imperial International Deli
35) J D's Cafe
36) Jasmine Restaurant
37) Jeenwong Thai Cuisine
38) John Harvard's Brew House
39) Kfc
40) LA Tolteca Mexican Restaurant
41) La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant
42) Licketysplit
43) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
44) Luby's Limited Partner Inc
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mc Donald's
47) Melting Pot Restaurant
48) Nirvana Fine Indian Cuisine
49) Nosh
50) Olive Garden
51) Panera Bread
52) Pappy's
53) Paris Pizzeria
54) Pat's Pizzeria
55) Piccolo Mondo Restaurant
56) Pickles & Chip's
57) Ranch House Restaurant
58) Red Lobster Restaurant
59) Romano's Macaroni Grill
60) Ruby Restaurant
61) Ruby Tuesday
62) Sbarro
63) Scrimmages Restaurant & Pub
64) Seasons Pizza
65) Stoney's British Pub
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Taco Bell
68) Takeout Taxi
69) Talleyville Exxon
70) TCBY
71) Tgi Friday's
72) Utage Japanese Restaurant
73) Vincente's Restaurant
74) Wendy's
75) Wing Wah
76) Wings To Go
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Surprised this wasn't updated. THEY HAVE CLOSED DOWN. No longer open.

Not surprising, as I have never seen it remotely crowded, unlike Iron Hill or McKenzies

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B John B, Elmsford, NY
(10/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Eight beers on tap when I visited; all well above average with one, the Steam, simply outstanding. This was a version of the stle that even Anchor would be proud of. Was also impressed by the knowledge of the bartender (Jimmy?)and the overall atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Capano Vince Capano, Madison, NJ
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
When I come to this or any of the other John Harvard's, I usually sample the seasonal offerings. There are good beers in the regular lineup, but often there is something special that merits a taste. I especially enjoy their schwarzbier, it's perhaps my favorite of all their offerings I've had. Surprisingly, because it's not one of my favorite styles, the pumpkin beer last year hit my taste buds just right as well. Of the regular offerings, I tend to go for the Pale Ale, unless an IPA is on at the time. I never venture too far away from soup/salad/apps when I order food, but it's usually not bad either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
While I cannot vouch for the service the previous reviewer received, I was at the same place two hours later and can only agree with the assessment of the beer--it is very good. Otherwise, I had a very different experience. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable; the service was prompt without being intrusive; the food was excellent (have the Louisiana Fried Chicken covered in shrimp, Cajun cream sauce, and artichoke hearts). Calling this place a dump is a staggering mischaracterization unless perhaps you are used to dining at Five Star restaurants. I would gladly dine and drink here on a regular basis if I lived in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(07/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy N/A
The beer as always is very good, with a nice balance of styles. This is probably my most favorite micro-brewed beer in DE, but one of the worst atmospheres. I had the Union Jack Nachos, & they appeared to have been napalmed. The place was dead, I was the only one at the bar around 2:00pm, & the bartender was never to be found. It is ashamed that such good beer is wasted on such a dump. I think next time around Ill grab some growlers of scottish & pale to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Ray, Media, PA
(07/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Great Selection of Beers! The Darker beers seemed to be the specialty. Stoudts and Nut Browns were umong the best I have had here in the states. Food quality and and quantity was more then expected for a Pub. Servers were fast and friendly. We definately will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Cassey Jr. Rich Cassey Jr., Trooper, PA
(01/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Visited this Pub twice, and will not be back. First visit was nice, though we didn't really try out the service. 2nd time around was horrible. $12 pitcher of beer! I understand it is fresh, but Holy Chr*st! Then we were seated in a spot obviously meant for a live band, and when they arrived, they were setting up their equipment all around us, and staring at us as we ate. Service was not up to par either. Not satisfied at all with last experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
First visit to one of the John Harvard brewery chain. The beers were good - not great - but the Scottish ale was a cut above. Food was good as was the service. Not sure what I expected, but the restaurant had the overall feel of a chain with a nod to fresh brewed beer. Unfortunately the repetitive pattern of operations for Outback, Olive Garden, Ruby Tuesday, etc, et al., makes the various operations seem interchangeable. We could have been in a Olive Garden that had fresh beer on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LeRoy Strohl LeRoy Strohl, Fredericksburg, VA
(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Mix a beer savy bartender, eight well crafted beers, nicely prepared food, and typically attractive John Harvard decor, and you have the makings of a pub well worth visiting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review VinceC, Madison, NJ
(04/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Very consistent quality and selection. Pleasant drinking, though somewhat plain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M.J. M.J., Midwest, IN
(03/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
With the service & the beer being of the same level of PERFECTION why go anywhere else? Awesome beer selection & each server can be heard singing the praises of Head Brewer Bill Dunn. His extrodinary Stouts & his willlingness to have acutal beer history linked to his brews are exactally what those North Wilmington socialites come to love from this down to earth oasis located in a strip of over proccessed restaurants & food chains. The bar is always welcoming & the staff is far superior to the competition up the road in that Iron Hill in West Chester. If you go, Please request Missy or Keenan & you will feel right at home in their ample seating & hardly ever a wait. Lovely ladies at the door if there ever is... I give it the best rating...why? Cause I can be seen spending my hard earned money every weekend there...it's my second home :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelly Baxter Kelly Baxter, Wilmington, DE
(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
A typicle J. Harvards. Great beer and nice decor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Just like most other John Harvard's. Very Good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great
Pale ale was excellent. Nice to see a brewer NOT afraid to use hops. Wish IPA was available. Guess I'll have to go back. Presidential ale was also great. Did not try the food. Next trip for that also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Jim Thorpe, PA
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
This is surely the best brew pub in the state. I have been to all of them several times each. They have many beers on line at all times. There is always something different on tap. All the beers that I have had are true to style and really great brews. They have one beer on cask, it is always outstanding. The food is really good and the service is as well. Next to the beers being so good, the best thing about this place is that everytime I go here, there is something new on line and I always find something that is what I consider a great brew. The cascade IPA and the AAA Gold are my favorites. They make great stouts too, when on cask they are nothing less than excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Sam, Bridgeton, NJ
(01/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
First time I've seen a brewpub with a) salted malt as a bar snack (???--I munched, but my jury is still out), and b) review cards to give your beer critiques to the brewmaster (gotta ask or be an obvious beer snob to get it). Enough beers that anyone will find something pleasing or stupendous; hand pump cask-conditioned available (one style at a time); recommend their GABF-winning Alt and their IPA, but disappointed by "smoked" Scottish ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Nice restaurant with good beer. For a short review of each recipe visit my brew review page at: http://www.geocities.com/~petenjen/brewreviewindex.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Wolf Pete Wolf, Falls Church, VA
(07/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Right in line with the other John Harvard's I've been to... except this one seemed a little less upscale and more friendly than the one in DC. All the beers I tried were well brewed. This is a good chain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Grage Don Grage, Arlington, VA
(04/16/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.911 seconds) 21:18:17 54.145.183.169, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS