PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Backcountry Brewery - Frisco, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 09:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Frisco > Backcountry Brewery
Backcountry Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Backcountry Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.4 / 100
720 Main Street
Frisco, CO 80443
United States
(970) 668-BEER
Listed Since: May 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Frisco, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Backcountry Brewery
30 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Creekside Inn
2) Frisco Lodge
3) Galena Street Mountain Inn
4) Hotel Frisco
5) Lark Bed & Breakfast
6) Woods Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEAVER PLAZA CONDOS
2) BEST WESTERN LAKE DILLON LODGE
3) BIGHORN RENTALS FRISCO
4) CARBONATE PROPERTY MANAGEMENT
5) COPPER MOUNTAIN RESORT
6) FRISCO BAY TOWNHOMES
7) FRISCO BAY TWNHOMES CRMR
8) FRISCO LODGE BED AND BREAKFAST
9) HOTEL FRISCO
10) LAGOON TOWNHOMES
11) LAGOON TWNHOUSE CRMR
12) LAKE FOREST CRMR-RB
13) MARINA PARK CONDOS
14) MOUNTAINSIDE CONDOS CRMR
15) RAMADA LTD FRISCO CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Frisco Schoolhouse
2) Wildhack's Grocery Store-Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Train Pizzeria
2) Alexander's On The Creek
3) Blue Moose Pizza
4) Deli Belly's
5) Farleys Chophouse
6) Hacienda Real
7) Mi Zuppa Soup
8) My Thai
9) Peppino's Pizza & Subs
10) Samplings Wine Bar Restaurant
11) Starbucks
12) Upstairs At Jonny G's Sports
13) Windy City Pizza
14) Woody's Old Fashioned Burgers
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
enjoy tasting the beers, good service and great converstation during my visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, C.S., PA
(07/01/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Spend your money elsewhere! This place is not worth your time or money.

I have been to the Backcountry Brewery about 3 times and I will never return based on my last experience there.

Beware that happy hour is used as a scheme there to overcharge customers. I was charged full menu price because I wasn't sitting in the right part of the restaurant for the HH deals. No one told me of this until I questioned why my bill was so high, there was no remorse in thier eyes. They do this on a regular basis.

Not to mention the Breckenridge Brewery and Dillion Dam Brewery have much better food, service, and half price appetizers during happy hour on the right day.

Beer was decent, food was mediocre, and service was craptacular (that's a bad thing). Take my advice and spend your hard earned money at an establishment that truly appreciates your business.

P.S. They tell their customers they have "high speed internet", but you have to steal it from the cafe next door. They'll give you the password and everything. Can you say illegal?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Breckenridge, CO
(02/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The IPA was fine, not excellent but fine. Very nice people who spent several minutes just asking us about our likes. My Nancy-boy friend enjoyed the wheat. Did not try the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, West Des Moines, IA
(09/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Visited Backcountry this past week. Only went for the beer, so sat in the bar area. Decent atmosphere. I tried 4 beers overall, my favorite being the Breakfast Stout (which was also the reason I went in the first place). Out of the maybe 5 coffee flavored beers I've tried this is the best I've had so far. Also tried the Telemark IPA, Peak One Porter, and a season I think was called Spiced English Brown. All good, and all beers I would have again...especially since I bought bottles of them to take home. Only complaint is they've stopped growler sales, and since Breakfast Stout isn't bottled, I couldn't take one of my favorite beers home...and being from out of state, that was quite a dissapointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Prosper, TX
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I have heard of mixed things about the food and the service (all slightly outdated at this point as BCB recently hired a new head chef, a new floor manager and a ton of new staff), but if you're looking for good beer, this is the best that Summit County has to offer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dillon, CO
(02/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
I stopped in this place last year for a beer and was satisfied. This year I took a group of friends in while vacationing in the area. The sign stated "Open", the door was opened, we went inside and saw customers at the bar and customers finishing dinners at their tables. We sat down at the bar to enjoy the advertised Octoberfest and after sitting there for 3-4 minutes were told that they were closed. We asked if we could have a beer since there were still customers in the brewery and were told no and were asked to leave. I will never again take anyone I know to this brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Happy Jack, AZ
(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great
ok, ok, so the food sucked. so do the chicken wings, but i am originally from buffalo, so no wings will please...this is still a must stop in summit county...the telemark ipa is my personal fav..and in season, make sure you get the breakfast stoudt...will not disappoint...if you are hungry, stick to the pizza, thats what they advertise..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So So So
I visited this place twice during my stay at copper mountain. The first visit was wonderful. A few nights later i went with the rest of my skiing buddies to celebrate a birthday. The second visit was absolutely horrible. First, one of our appetizers didn't come out until after all of the meals came out. Second, and probably the most disturbing was that several people at my table ordered New York strips. Well, after a couple of minutes of looking at their "new york strips" one of my friends asked about why it was so fatty and still raw when he ordered it medium. The manager came up and notified us that they had ran out of new york strips, and instead gave them rib eyes, without even asking if that would be okay, even though each of them was billed for a new york strip which was more expensive than the rib eyes. This showed a complete lack of ethics. In addition to the steak incidence, they didn't put any of the side orders on my meal that i had ordered, and they also screwed up another order. I was very embarrassed to have convinced everyone to eat here only to have a really crappy experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review college station, TX
(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Triple B Triple B, Pompton Lakes, NJ
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
real cozy, ski lodge kinda vibe. friendly, ski bum kinda staff. i was there in july, so i guess that's what they do in the off season. fun bunch of people. the ipa and amber weren't really memorable, but were enjoyable none-the-less. warrented me grabbing a four-pack of bombers for the ride into the backwoods of colorado. beautiful area, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Triple B Triple B, Pompton Lakes, NJ
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Finally, was able to arrange my travels to get here while the breakfast stout was on tap. Better than i had remembered, and of course, the ipa is excellent. Something happened this visit that reinforced my opinion that the ownership and staff at backcountry is dedicated in everyway to producing and maintaining a quality product and service. I purchased a couple of bottles to take back home with me and drove two hours back to denver where i was staying. One of the bottles, leaked into the trunk of my rental car...sure did smell good, but i was bummed because now i did not have my ipa to take back home to maryland. Still upset, i wrote the brewery from their website, not to get a refund of the insignificantly low price of $2.75 for their bottle, but to find out if there was anywhere in denver that i could get it replaced before i left (the beer is good, but at that point didn't warrant the 4 hour round trip to get more...)anthony responded that he would be happy to bring me a bottle!! What's that you say?? Where else could you get that kind of response...someone willing to drive 4 hours to replace a bottle of beer (and he actually brought two!)this was certainly above and beyond, but is indicative of the all around great place that backcountry is...a must stop on any travel itinerary

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(05/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in for lunch at the bar on our way back from Arches. Bartender was so attentive and friendly. Sampler was v.good as was the food. Porter and IPA were the standouts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laurel Laurel, Boston, MA
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Like a previous reviewer, we were in town for 4 days and ended up here for 3 of them! The gold-medal winning IPA is certainly worthy of its prize and I did enjoy sampling other flavors, but really came back for the IPA. The service was fine when we were there, helping us to be seated for the NCAA playoffs to watch our home-town team play while we feasted. Had great food every time and the cheese cake was to die for! Don't miss this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, New Kensington, PA
(04/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in for a quick after dinner drink. I was surprised to find a Doppelbock on tap. As an amateur brewer, I realized how challenging a beer this is to make. It was very good. I would place it somewhere between a Paulaner Salvator and an EKU 28 Kulminator. Very good company to be between if you are a Dopplebock. I did not have the chance to sample the other brews, but any brewery that can make a beer like a doppelbock rates high on my list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Jones Kevin Jones, Smyrna, TN
(02/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I visit this place every time we go to Colorado and have not been disappointed yet.I can understand why they got a Gold Medal for their IPA at the Great American Beer Festival.This place is a must stop on any trip near Summit County. R.C.Richmond Va.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.C. R.C., Richmond, VA
(01/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
just can't say enough about this place...nicely nestled in summit county among the ski areas...comfortable place with good and reasonably priced food. the beer is exceptional. the ipa will be a treat even for the most discriminating hop head. other beers are quality too. the breakfast stoudt was not ready when i was last there, but having previously had it, i assume this year's batch will be as good as last years. (beer...it's not just for breakfast anymore!!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner Ric Kempton/Debbie Kistner, Annapolis, MD
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
All the beers were very good. The Black Beer was excellent, and the Barleywine was one of the best I've had. The only food we tried was chips and salsa, so I can't make a judgement on the menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(08/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great place for unwinding after a day of skiing. Great beer and food. Ever our server was from warren, mi. Good stuff...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dwight  Merrill Dwight Merrill, Oxford, MI
(01/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
I thought the beer was good.I didnt try the food.BArtender was distracted by sports on tv.RATMAN Lakewood Colorado

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RATMAN Rossiter RATMAN Rossiter, Lakewood, CO
(12/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I beg to disagree with the review regarding the food. My last visit here I had a number of outstanding dinners and snacks. The beer is terrific and I LOVE THE STOUT. I am looking forward to a return trip this spring.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Coral Gables, FL
(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Livernois Bill Livernois, Belchertown, MA
(03/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
We visited late one night over the holidays. The place was very busy, especially the pool tables. We ordered a sampler and really enjoyed the pale ale (good hops level). The others were OK but not up to the taste levels we experienced at the other brew pubs in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Hammell Joe Hammell, Atlanta, GA
(01/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So
The food was awful. I've talked to others who also thought the same. The beer is not bad, although they could use some more hoppy varieties.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Sullivan Greg Sullivan, Littleton, CO
(12/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
They had an amazing Espresso Stout with a huge coffee bean flavor. The food there was great. My only complaint was that the beers were too cold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris DeVries Chris DeVries, New York, NY
(09/15/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.369 seconds) 09:09:44 54.83.227.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS