PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mad Anthony Brewing Company - Fort Wayne, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 16, 2014 @ 06:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Fort Wayne > Mad Anthony Brewing Company
Mad Anthony Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Mad Anthony Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
2002 Broadway Avenue
Broadway & Taylor
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
United States
(260) 426-2537
Listed Since: May 1998
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fort Wayne, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
42 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) O'Brien's Pub
(0 mile)

2) Granite City Food and Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carole Lombard House
2) Roebuck Inn
3) Worthington Mansion B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICAS BEST INN FORT WAYNE
2) AMERISUITES FORT WAYNE
3) BEST VALUE INN-FORT WAYNE
4) COUNTRY INN STES FT WAYNE N
5) COURTYARD FORT WAYNE
6) DAYS INN FT WAYNE IN
7) DAYS INN FT WAYNE IN
8) DON HALLS GUESTHOUSE
9) FAIRFIELD INN FORT WAYNE
10) FORT WAYNE NEW HAVEN
11) KNIGHTS INN FORT WAYNE IN
12) LEES INN & SUITES FORT WAYNE
13) MARRIOTT FORT WAYNE
14) RED ROOF FORT WAYNE
15) RESIDENCE FORT WAYNE
16) SUPER 8 FT WAYNE IN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen County Courthouse
2) Bass, John H., Mansion
3) Blackstone Building
4) Brown, John, Stone Warehouse
5) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
6) de Richardville, Chief Jean-Baptiste, House
7) Edsall, William S., House
8) Embassy Theater and Indiana Hotel
9) Engine House No. 3
10) Fairfield Manor
11) Fort Wayne City Hall
12) Fort Wayne Printing Company Building
13) Journal-Gazette Building
14) Keplinger, Harry A., House
15) Kresge--Groth Building
16) Masonic Temple
17) McColloch--Weatherhogg Double House
18) McCulloch, Hugh, House
19) Mohr, Louis, Block
20) Pennslyvania Railroad Station
21) Peters, John Claus, House
22) Randall Building
23) Robinson, Horney, House
24) Saint Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
25) Schmitz Block
26) Strunz, Christian G., House
27) Swinney, Thomas W., House
28) Trinity Episcopal Church
29) Wells Street Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 7th Floor Cafe
2) After Dark
3) Alberto's Mexican Grill
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Baker Street Train Station
8) Bangladoon's
9) Bentley's On Broadway
10) Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Boxed Delites
14) Brass Rail
15) Broadway Development Group
16) Broadway Grill
17) Burger King
18) Cafe Parkside
19) Casa D'angelo
20) Catablu
21) Central America Restaurant
22) Chappell's Coral Grill
23) Cindy's Diner
24) Classic Cafe Inc
25) Club Soda
26) Columbia Street West
27) Coney Island Wiener Stand
28) Cottage Deli
29) Curly Armstrong's Village Inn
30) Deli 620 Inc
31) Dog-Out
32) Double Dragon
33) Down Town Pizza
34) Dug Out
35) Durnell's Food & Spirits
36) Eatza Pizza
37) El Charro Restrnt
38) El Rey Restaurante
39) Ellington's On Broadway
40) Flashback On The Landing
41) Four Twelve Club
42) Go Pizza With Tony O's
43) Grand Slam Pizza
44) Green Frog Inn
45) Hainan House
46) Hartley's Place
47) Henry's Restaurant
48) Hoosier Tavern
49) Hungry For Home
50) Indiana Mexican Bakery
51) Italian Connection
52) Java Bean Cafe
53) Julians Gourmet Pizzeria
54) KFC
55) King Gyros
56) Klemm's Kafe
57) LA Cosina Restaurante
58) La Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
59) Laredo Restaurant & Grocery
60) Las Lomas
61) Lester's Banquet Hall
62) Lexy's Pizza
63) Library Tavern
64) Lincoln Tower Fountain
65) Loaf & Laddle
66) Lombardo's Lounge
67) Mad Anthony Brewing Co
68) Mannie's Place
69) Mc Donald's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mi Pueblo IV Mexican Restaurnt
72) Munchie Emporium
73) O'Brien's Pub
74) Original Drive In
75) Oyster Bar
76) Palace Restaurant
77) Park Place Grill
78) Paula's Seafood & Mangy Moose
79) Poor Johns'
80) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
81) Powers Hamburger Shop
82) Queenie's Bakery & Cafe
83) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
84) Redwood Inn Pizza
85) Rock Tavern
86) Saigon Restaurant
87) South Side Cafe
88) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
89) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Taco Bell
92) Taco Bell
93) Taco Taco
94) Tasty Pizza
95) Tiny Tim Diner
96) Todd's Olde Towne Tavern
97) Tom's Donuts
98) Trax Reception Hall
99) Up The Street
100) Wendy's
101) Wendy's
102) Wine Cellar Restaurant
103) Zoli's Family Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Located near downtown the room had lots of tables, and a long wooden bar. Behind the bar were mugs for the locals. You could see the fermenting tanks through glass partitions. Some old Sinclair and Standard Oil signs were on the walls, and ceiling fans turned slowly while a competent musician sat on a stool and played the guitar and sang. Very nice atmosphere. As a beer geek I went here for the beer. My wife and I sat at the bar, and got excellent service. I ordered samplers, and was served all 10. They only charged for six, telling me the last four "were on the house". A nice touch.

The food was good (my wife had a Southwestern salad and I had a Shroom and swiss burger). Both were just fine.

None of the beers were exceptional, but all were decent. I had the Blond Ale, Auburn, Pale Ale, Blueberry, Irish Stout, Black Lager, ESB, Summer Daze, Replicale, and Creme Stout. My favorites were the Irish Stout and Replicale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Kuhnel Ron Kuhnel, Eureka, CA
(08/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I love Mad Anthony Brewing Company SO MUCH! It's my favorite place to go when in town. Great food selection and great beer selection. I would have to say my favorite beer is the Gabby Blonde. Best food pick? Chicken Madskins. Reasonable prices, and $1.50 pint nights are Monday! Check this place out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hudson, IN
(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ecclectis, Unique and a awesomly fun place to be!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Wayne, IN
(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is my weekly destination for $1.50 pint night on Mondays. I've tried most all the beers, but my favorites are the auburn, irish red (when in season), and a rasberry stout (half ruby rasberry and half irish stout). Rasberry by itself is too tart for my taste, but the stout cuts the sweetness to create a smoother flavor. The unique menu offerings are another great part about this place. The Brewery Basket is deepfried pickles, ravioli, zucchinni, and mushrooms. I never would have thought to deepfry ravioli but it is awesome. Also the Scotch Eggs, which are hard boiled eggs packed in breakfast sausage and deepfried, are another deepfried innovation. The house favorites are probably the Scooby Snacks, which are just seasoned fries with a cucumber sauce, but they taste great. Definitely a must see for visitors of Fort Wayne, and a great place to hang for locals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeremy H Jeremy H, Fort Wayne, IN
(10/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kate Malinowski Kate Malinowski, South Bend, IN
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
On vacation from WI. Stopped here on a busy Friday night. Had no trouble getting seated or waited on. Our server was very knowlageable about the beers. We never waited too long for anything or felt rushed. Had a great time, thanks. Brwbier

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert A. Krepsky Robert A. Krepsky, Sheboygan, WI
(06/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I never miss this place when I'm in Ft Wayne. Try the Ruby Raspberry and Stout mixed (A Black and Red).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deke Deke, Kent, OH
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was there in May, but feel compelled to write this: Ol' Woody is terrific. Why aren't they selling it WEST of US 31?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Lafayette, IN
(09/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
I've been here a few times, and usually the beer is good. One time, it was all completely flat. The waitress told me it was supposed to be that way, mildly suggesting that I might not be very familiar with real beer. That was really bizarre, because it was not just a *little* flat, it was completely flat, gone. That was a one-time thing, and I'd've hunted for the brewer if I wasn't there with my whole family in the dining room. The food there is actually pretty good, but the standards of cleanliness are on the frightening side. Do not plan to use the bathroom. That said, the beer is (usually) enjoyable, and I often go when visiting Ft. Wayne.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A don't miss Brew Pub!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I would like to re-review Mad Anthony as much has improved since my July 2003 review. Since last fall Mad Anthony has done a decent job of keeping their specialty beers on tap. Through the winter they had an " Imperial IPA" which was outstanding. Very drinkable, with a nice fruity (pears?) finish. At 9% one needed to drink with caution however. They now are offering both their 2004 Barr St Bock ( very tasty indeed), and an Imperial Stout, which while also very potent, was very good as well. Mad Anthony is to be commended for their recent, improved, beer selection. Heck the last couple of times I was there the service had even improved.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Churubusco, IN
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is the better of the two Ft. Wayne brewpubs in terms of beer. I was in town for business for almost a week and ended up going back several times. The Pale Ale was outstanding, the IPA was pretty good and the others were ok. Certainly worth going to. Had the food one night which was actually pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, OTHER
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stopped in for the first time in a few years, and not much has changed. The beer is decent (I thought the Auburn was tastier this time around, the Porter was good, and the Woody Pale was ok), and the service and food were both passable. I was amused, however, by the legions of skateboarding punk-wannabes outside the window while I was there...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Lousy Great
We were thrilled with the beer, food and service were very disappointing. Our server disappeared after taking our order never to return. Finally after a long wait MOST of our order was brought by a few other servers. Waited a long time for the forgotten items after asking twice. Waited a long time for check. Waited a long time for pickup of credit card. Waited a long time for receipt. Food was lukewarm, didn't taste fresh. Next time will stick with beer, eat elsewhere. Menu looked great, too bad service so lousy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Meant to type "Auburn" in the review below,not Amber.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Churubusco, IN
(07/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
Too bad to see Mad Anthony's bow to the watery beer pressure of the area.Their Amber is still a classic,but the rest of their beers are only the average middle of the road types.But who can blame them,thats what most people in this area want.On the last few trips I have made to Mad Anthony's, gone were the small batch stronger brews they used to serve with regularity.They seem content to just keep brewing the same 4 or 5 beers they have made for years.

The food is very good.The service is always poor,but I have gotten used to it.It is part of the "charm" of going to Mad Anthonys.In my 30-40 trips to Mad Anthony's I dont think I have once had a server who knew the first thing about the beers they were serving.Oh well,this IS Indiana.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Churubusco, IN
(07/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
This review may be a bit biased, as I consider this to be "my bar" - it's the first stop I make with any friends from out of the area. The beer is great (the Ruby Raspberry is my favorite, but don't overlook the others), as is the food (if you avoid the Mediterranian Penne). Service can be a bit slow at times, but the friendliness of the staff more than makes up for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Waffle Man Dan, Columbia City, IN
(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
When my girlfriend and I visit her parents in Indiana, we have to make a trip here. The beer is good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lance, Austin, TX
(04/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Well maybe this don't count for me but I work in the mad anthony in Auburn and I think the service is great the people are great and the owners really care about making people happy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from keith keith, auburn, in
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My husband & I ate dinner here both nights that we stayed in Fort Wayne on a recent weekend getaway. The Winter Ale was delicious!! So was the Barley Wine and the ESB. We had great service both nights and enjoyed our meals very much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Hayes Connie Hayes, Kokomo, IN
(02/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I have been to about 80 Brew Pubs in the past 10 years and this one ranks in the top 5 of those I've been to. The pale has a perfect balance of hops and grains. Ample amounts of Cascade. The Amazin' Blazin' Redfish was excellent. Not to hot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Lowell Dave Lowell, Elkhart, IN
(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
A recent Monday detour to Fort Wayne found us at a crowded Mad Anthony's. Why so crowded? Dollar pints! Couldn't believe our luck! All the beers tried were really good, especially the pale. It was very hoppy - as hoppy as most people's IPAs. The Scooby Snacks were underdone, but so what - they had $1 pints!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
Mad Anthony's is a proud sponsor of the Fort Wayne Rugby club, and one of our favorite locations to hoist a pint. Its specialty beers, specifically the Porter and ESB, are excellent. The food is not for the meat and potatoes crowd, but offers good sandwiches, good wings and bizarre pizza combinations. Definitely worth the stop if you find yourself in the Fort.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cheeks Cheeks, warsaw, IN
(11/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
I love the Ol' Woody Pale Ale. I can sit here at work and sometimes taste it if I think about it hard enough. Check this place out on Monday nights for $1 pints. Best deal I have ever heard of at a brewpub.

Good selection of beers that are true to their own distinctive styles. The ESB and IPA are seasonal but well worth the wait.

In Fort Wayne, there is no better place in town for casual dining with decent service and wonderful sandwiches! The '60's theme gives the place a real laid back peace/love vibe where everyone is your friend when you leave.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeffrey Jeffrey, New Haven, IN
(08/08/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.406 seconds) 06:30:00 54.211.157.103, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS