PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sebago Brewing Company - South Portland, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 23, 2014 @ 12:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > South Portland > Sebago Brewing Company
Sebago Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Sebago Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
150 Philbrook Avenue
South Portland, ME 04106
United States
(207) 879-2537
Listed Since: June 1998
Last Updated: November 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Portland, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sebago Brewing Company
52 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Sea Dog Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Novare Res Bier Cafe
(3 miles)

3) Bunker Brewing
(3 miles)

4) Bunker Brewing
(3 miles)

5) Lion's Pride
(3 miles)

6) Peak Organic Brewing Company
(3 miles)

7) Prost International Tap House
(3 miles)

8) Brian Boru
(3 miles)

9) Bleachers
(3 miles)

10) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

11) Sail Loft Tavern
(3 miles)

12) Three Dollar Dewey's
(3 miles)

13) The Stone Coast Brewing Company
(3 miles)

14) Shipyard Brewing Company
(3 miles)

15) Great Lost Bear
(3 miles)

16) Gritty McDuff's
(3 miles)

17) The Maine Beer Company
(5 miles)

18) Allagash Brewing Company
(5 miles)

19) Casco Bay Brewing
(5 miles)

20) Geary D L Brewing Company, Incorported
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Back Cove Inn
2) Breakers
3) Carleton Inn Bed & Breakfast
4) Chadwick
5) Danforth
6) Fleetwood House Bed/Breakfast
7) Higgins Beach Inn
8) Inn At Parkspring
9) Inn At St John
10) Parkside Parrot Inn
11) Percy Inn
12) Pomegranate Inn
13) West End Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MERRY MANOR INN
2) COMFORT INN AIRPORT
3) DAYS INN SOUTH PORTLAND
4) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
5) EASTLAND PARK
6) EMBASSY STES PORTLAND
7) EXTENDEDSTAY SCARBOROUGH
8) FAIRFIELD INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
9) HGI PORTLAND DWNTN WATERFRONT
10) HLTN GRDN INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
11) HOWARD JOHNSON HTL PORTLAND S
12) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA PORTLAND
13) PORTLAND HARBOR HOTEL
14) PORTLAND REGENCY HOTEL
15) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
16) RAMADA LTD PORTLAND ME
17) RESIDENCE INN PORTLAND MAINE
18) SABLE OAKS SUITES
19) SHERATON SOUTH PORTLAND HOTEL
20) TOWNEPLACE SUITES PORTLAND
21) WILD IRIS INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baxter Summer Home
2) Brown, Harrison B., House
3) Brown, J. B., Memorial Block
4) Butler, A. B., House
5) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
6) Chapman, Leonard Bond, House
7) Chestnut Street Methodist Church
8) Clapp, Charles Q., Block
9) Clapp, Charles Q., House
10) Dow, Gen. Neal, House
11) Dyer, Nathaniel, House
12) Eastern Cemetery
13) First Baptist Church
14) First Parish Church
15) Fort Gorges
16) Gothic House, The
17) Green Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
18) Greenough, Byron, Block
19) Griffin House
20) Hamblen Block
21) Hamblen Development Historic District
22) Hanson, Asa, Block
23) Harris, Nathan, House
24) How Houses
25) How, Daniel, House
26) Hunniwell, Richard, House
27) Ingraham, Joseph Holt, House
28) Lancaster Block
29) Leighton, Adam P., House
30) Lincoln Park
31) Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, Monument
32) Maine Central Railroad General Office Building
33) Maine Eye and Ear Infirmary
34) Maine Historical Society
35) Maine Publicity Bureau Building
36) Marine Hospital
37) Mariner's Church
38) Masonic Temple
39) McLellan-Sweat Mansion
40) Mechanics' Hall
41) Minott, William, House
42) Morse-Libby Mansion
43) North School
44) Park Street Row
45) Porteous, Mitchell and Braun Company Building
46) Portland Breakwater Light
47) Portland City Hall
48) Portland City Hospital
49) Portland Club
50) Portland High School
51) Portland Observatory
52) Portland Packing Company Factory
53) Portland Soldiers and Sailors Monument
54) Portland Stove Foundry
55) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
56) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
57) Rackleff Building
58) Reed, Thomas Brackett, House
59) Russwurm, John B., House
60) Seavey--Robinson House
61) Smith, F.O.J., Tomb
62) Sparrow House
63) Spring Point Ledge Light Station
64) Spurwink Congregational Church
65) St. Lawrence Church
66) St. Paul's Church and Rectory
67) Stevens, John Calvin, House
68) Tate House
69) Thompson Block
70) Tracy--Causer Block
71) U.S. Courthouse
72) U.S. Customhouse
73) US Post Office--Portland Main
74) Vallee Family House
75) Wadsworth-Longfellow House
76) Walker Memorial Library
77) Warren Block
78) Westbrook High School
79) Williston-West Church and Parish House
80) Woodman Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A G Ice Cream
2) A T & T
3) Amato Sandwich Shops Inc
4) Amato's Sandwich Shops
5) Anania's
6) Angie's
7) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
8) Aromas
9) August Moon Cafe
10) Aurora Provisions
11) Back Bay Grill
12) Bangkok Thai Restaurant
13) Barb's
14) Beal's Ice Cream
15) Bella Cucina
16) Ben & Jerry's
17) Benny's
18) Bibo's Madd Apple Cafe
19) Bintliff's American Cafe
20) Bombay Club
21) Bubba's Sulky Lounge
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Cafe Stroudwater
25) Cafe Uffa
26) Campbell's Market
27) Carricom Restaurant
28) Cinnabon
29) Clubhouse At Sable Oaks Golf
30) CVC Catering Group
31) D'Andrea Pizza & Sandwiches
32) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
33) Daily Grind
34) Dairy Queen
35) Deb's Sandwich Shop
36) Denny's
37) Domino's Pizza
38) Eggspectatiion Restaurant
39) Evelyn's Tavern
40) Fresh Mareket Pasta
41) Friendship Cafe Inc
42) Gladieux Corp
43) Gloria Jean's Gourmet Coffees
44) Governor's Restaurant
45) Grill Sportman's
46) Hms Host
47) House Of Pizza-South Portland
48) Inca Roots
49) J P Thornton's
50) Jan Mee Restaurant
51) Kitchen
52) Lang's Express
53) Margaritaville Mexican Rstrnt
54) Mc Donald's
55) Mc Donald's
56) Mesa Verde
57) Mr Bagel-Mall Plaza
58) Norm's Bar & Grill
59) Olivia's Salad
60) Outback Steakhouse
61) Patricio's Cafe
62) Pizza Joint
63) Pizza Time Of Scarborough
64) Pizza Villa
65) Plaza 29 Convenience Store
66) Portland Pie Co
67) Red's Dairy Freeze
68) Ricetta's Brickoven Pizzeria
69) Right Sub
70) Riverdale Cafe & Bakery
71) Roma Cafe
72) Ruby Tuesday
73) Rudy's Diner
74) Saigon Thinh Thanh
75) Sam Di Pietro Market
76) Seafood Classics
77) Seng Thai Food 2
78) Simple Simon's
79) Spirited Gourmet Cafe
80) Starbucks
81) Starbucks
82) Thai Taste
83) Thatcher's Restaurant
84) Thomas Room
85) Tony Roma's
86) Uncle Andy's Cafe
87) Vinny T Buca Inc
88) Vinny T's Of Boston
89) Whits End
90) Willows Pizza & Restaurant
91) Wok Inn
92) Yankee Ribs Inc
93) York's Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
First good sign: there is a separate beer menu. Second: it's accurate and up to date with no "I'm sorry we're out of's..." Third, the server is conversant and knowledgable.

The Frye's Leap IPA is well hopped and refreshing. The Lake Trout Stout is creamy and evenly finished. The Mid-Night Porter is smooth and has a great finish. I enjoyed the Slick Nick Winter Ale last night at the Great Lost Bear rather than here, but it is great: solid, smooth, just a BIG ale. Finally, try the whiskey cask finished special porter: not too sweet, smooth, a light roasted caramel finish and moderate in ABV. All they need now is a well crafted Belgian and I could winter here....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(12/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
We went last week. We were thrilled to see a microbrewery ( it appears they brew just off site)so near our hotel. I had a brown and the spouse a seasonal stout. Both were really below average. they were served too cold and tasted kind of soapy. the servers seemed to be having a miserable day and were all scowls. the atmosphere was also not the greatest-dreary and mallish, kind of like an Applebee's, I am guessing. I actually can forgive service and atmoshere for product, but nothing was matching up. the good news is if you are in Maine, you may be able to hunt down some of the Bar Harbor brews, all we had were delicious (esp the Cadillac Mountain stout)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynlee Lynlee, Cleveland, OH
(10/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
There's a brewpub at the Maine Mall now, right where the turnpike lets you off. The trick is not getting back on the pike when you leave the place. It's open late (1 AM), has free wi-fi and a good selection of beers. The menu is varied and everything we had was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
No brewing done here. All brewing done by their production brewery at 48 Sanford Drive in Gorham, Maine. This should be removed as a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great upscale brewpub that offers everything people of all ages will be pleased with.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brad monarch brad monarch, portland, ME
(11/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Must try the Frye's leap, what an IPA should taste like. Had a chipoltle chicken sandwich, pretty tastey. Nice place to stop for lunch or just a break from shopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jorg Jorg, bowdoin, ME
(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Had been to the downtown location years ago, noticed the much better ratings for this site, and decided to try it on my trip through the area. While it was a quiet Sunday afternoon (except for those yelling at the Red Sox), I found the beers to be of much higher quality than those I experienced downtown. The server was pleasant, and we chatted about beer, Maine, and music. I especially enjoyed the Frye's Leap IPA and the Lake Trout Stout. Both were well balanced and tasty. Didn't hav any food, but those who were seemed to be enjoying that too. It's located in a stand-alone building near the Maine Mall, just off the interstate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Rather than add anything else I will just agree with Jim Hanlon, the previous reviewer since I think he has said it all. This was my second time in and the first was just as memorable. Great beers and food in the downtown South Portland area. Food is a little more upscale( lobster quesadillas,seared Ahi tuna,seafood fra diavalo etc, plus your favorite pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The combination of excellent brew, fine food and atmosphere make this our favorite stop when we're in town. Keep up the good work Kai!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kim Peaslee Kim Peaslee, Croydon, NH
(06/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I was staying at the Hampton Inn across the street from the restaurant and as I was walking Sebago was the choice for me! The food, beer and people were A+.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kennebunkport, ME
(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Let's face it: running a brewery, any brewery, is hard. Not just because of the sheer amount of heavy lifting required, but there's also the 24/7 burdens of running a small, service oriented business. Add to this the classic pitfalls of running a restaurant, and it's no wonder that most brewpubs emphasize the quality of their brews rather than their grub. There are exceptions, of course: the Palo Alto Gordon Biersch is a fine restaurant even for nondrinkers. But for the most part, it's best not to expect too much in the way of fine dining at a brewpub.

That's why I was pleasantly surprised in a recent visit to the Sebago Brewing Co in South Portland, Maine. It was a quiet Sunday evening, and the compact dining area was largely empty when I arrived. But the bar was busy, and I elected to grab an open seat. The attractive barmaid was very pleasant, and was agreeable when I asked for a sampler of all their brews [Some brewpubs are reluctant to do this. Why?]. She promptly delivered the beers, recited their names, left me the beer menu, and let me begin my tasting.

I got a 4-flite: IPA, lite ale, brown ale, stout (I forget the adjectives they used), plus a porter. I started with the porter, for no particular reason. What was immediately noticeable was the balanced picture the drink presented: fresh malt, hint of hops, good mouthfeel, pleasing finish. It was served somewhat cooler than optimum for a porter, I thought; but that problem quickly solved itself as the beer warmed in the smallish tasting glass. A good beginning, I thought. Let's see how they do up a stout.

The stout looked good: black, creamy head; had a nice aroma of roasted grains. First taste was delicious, espresso-like, deepening as it warmed and expanded in my mouth. An excellent stout.

But there was more. I thought I remembered which of the two light beers was the IPA. But when I tasted it, the familiar hop attack never materialized. Instead, it gave a refined, almost floral impression. Like a fine wine, it continued to deliver after swallowing, almost a glow. Nice balance of hops, malt, carbonation, and alcohol. Thinking I had chosen the lite ale first, I tried the other lite beer. No, the first was definitely the IPA. Hmmm.

At that point, the brewmaster happened by. Noticing my puzzled look, he introduced himself, and proceeded to give me a mini-lecture on philosophies of brewing and combining beer with food. Thanks, Kai.

As for food, stting as we were a stone's throw from the Atlantic Ocean, I scanned their menu for seafood. Let's see how they do scallops, I thought. Minutes after I finished the salad, the scallops arrived. Piping hot, in a lite cream sauce, grilled veggies and garlic potatoes on the side. Very generous helpings of all. The scallops were medium size, sauted, lightly breaded. Moist and very tasty. Sebago passed the scallop test.

I could continue, but you get the picture. The beers of Sebago are professionally crafted, well-balanced, and easy to drink. The food is tasty. The atmosphere is friendly. If you find yourself in Portland (the Maine one), swing by Sebago Brewing. And savor a fine IPA and a great stout. Or both.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hanlon Jim Hanlon, Chicago, IL
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
My wife and I have ben going here - the South Portland restaurant, that is - at least once a week since it opened in '98 or so. The regular beer lineup is great in quality (if somewhat limited in breadth), but I'm especially fond of their seasonal Porter and "Roundabout Red" Ale. If these were on tap year round, I'd never bother to go home!

My wife's aunt and uncle from England joined us at Sebago once while they were here in the colonies on "holiday" and proclaimed Sebago's brews to be proper "loopy juice". Why anyone would come here and order a Coors Light is beyond my comprehension, but some do; they don't know what they're missing!

Even though the beer is great, the entire establishment immaculate (including the restrooms; very important), the atmosphere pleasant and the food terrific (although not inexpensive), the best feature of SBC is its staff. I'm a professional consumer and in this regard highly critical, but I cannot recall another place in all my years or all my travels where the staff is so consistently friendly, attentive and professional. These people are the best, and if you haven't been here yet, you owe it to yourself to go for this reason alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Shaw Brian Shaw, Falmouth, ME
(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just tried the beer at seaside rest. It was the Pale ale, I liked it!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cj cj, lake tahoe, CA
(08/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Food, Service and Beer really great.Must admit to being very pleasantly suprised

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warren, NJ
(06/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I could survive on Sebago's seafood-stuffed mushrooms and Frye's Leap IPA! I Love the "new" Portland location...great atmosphere and cool spot(love the balcony). And I also heard that Kai holds the record for being able to carry the most doughnuts at the nudist colony in Standish...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Portland, ME
(01/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
Both So. Portland and Old Port locations are sudies in how to do it right. The waitstaff is attentive without being overbearing. The food is great and the beers are second to none!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denmark, ME
(01/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I really liked the beers. They have the coolest and most unique sampler servings I've seen. Off hours are cheap too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RIch RIch, Portsmouth, NH
(11/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Awesome!
The cleanist and most comfortable bar in Portland. I really enjoy the beer, and the food is the best! Friendly quality service, generally speedy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelly S Kelly S, Portland, ME
(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Good
Fresh beer and a friendly service is what this place has....& awesome wings too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Van Olden Glen Van Olden, Fair Lawn, NJ
(08/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I visited your downtown location on a a bustling, Saturday summer's night and must say that your beer ,Pilsner and IPA, were superb. I especially would like to compliment your gracious staff. I was with some friends from the mid west and had not tried your locations. After a few beers, my Chris Farley persona emerged and I managed to basically knock over a tray, holding some precious brews and drinks I believe, carried by one of your exceptional waitresses!! She was very polite and assured me that it was not a problem. I was so taken by the politeness and graciousness of your crew that I returned the following Monday with some more "out ah staters" We enjoyed some great brews and had a great meal to boot!! Again, your waitstaff was accomodating, pleasant and prompt. Having heard that your establishment was expensive and just another brew pub, and having worked for a brewery in the Seattle area , I was pleasantly surprised by both the exceptional quality, reasonable pricing and remarkable service that your establishment provided. Keep up the good work and be assured that you have secured a good word of mouth advertisement in myself and my guests. Sincerely, Brian Bernier

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Bernier Brian Bernier, Portland, ME
(08/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Sebago's got an atmosphere you can't find anywhere else. Both patio and bar are awesome place to spent time. Beers are has good as the one we find in Europe !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emily Emily, Paris, FRANCE, FR
(07/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Great beer, but ambience appeals more to the upscale, docksiders-with-no-socks crowd than most brewpubs. Come here first with your blazer, then dress down and go to Gritty's and the Great Lost Bear.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Yarmouthport, MA
(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I live in Mass, and every time I come up to Maine I always eat here! It's unbelievable! The wait staff is always on hand when you need service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam Adam, Hudson, MA
(05/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I can't say enough good things about this place !! Keep up the tremendous work !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Buxton, ME
(05/11/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.281 seconds) 00:45:15 54.235.227.60, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS