PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant - South Orange, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 03:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > South Orange > Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant
Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 73.8 / 100
15 South Orange Avenue
South Orange, NJ 07079
United States
(973) 762-7077
Listed Since: June 1998
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for South Orange, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
201 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Gaffer's Pub
(3 miles)

2) Elephant and Castle
(5 miles)

3) Office Beer Bar and Grill
(5 miles)

4) Tierney's Tavern
(5 miles)

5) Egan and Sons
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) K-Monie Beauty Supply
2) Les Saisons
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ECONO LODGE NEWARK INTL
2) FOUR POINTS NEWARK AIRPORT
3) HILTON NEWARK AIRPORT
4) HILTON SHORT HILLS
5) RESIDENCE INN WEST ORANGE
6) VILLAGER LODGE EAST ORANGE NJ
7) WILSHIRE GRAND HOTEL
8) WYNDHAM NEWARK HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ambrose-Ward Mansion
2) Ampere Station
3) Bloomfield Station
4) Brick Church Station
5) Caldwell Parsonage
6) Carnegie Library
7) Central Avenue Commercial Historic District
8) Central Presbyterian Church
9) Congregational Church
10) Crane, Israel, House
11) East Orange Station
12) Eastward
13) Edison Storage Battery Company Building
14) First Congregation of the Presbyterian Church at Springfield
15) First Methodist Episcopal Church
16) First Presbyterian Congregation of Connecticut Farms
17) Goodwillie, Frank, House
18) Haskell`s Bloomfield Villa
19) House at 21 Stonebridge Road
20) House at 52 Wayside Place
21) House at 53 Lloyd Road
22) House at 67 Warren Place
23) House at 7 South Mountain Terrace
24) House at 80 Lloyd Road
25) House at 97 Warren Place
26) Hutchings Homestead
27) Kelly, Eugene V., Carriage House
28) Miller, George A., House
29) Montclair Art Museum
30) Montclair Railroad Station
31) Mountain Station
32) Mulford House
33) Newark Orphan Asylum
34) Oakes Estate
35) Orange Free Public Library
36) Orange Station
37) Queen of Angels Church
38) Reading, M. F., House
39) Red Gables
40) Schultz, Charles S. House
41) South Orange Fire Department
42) South Orange Station
43) South Orange Village Hall
44) St. Barnabas' Episcopal Church
45) St. Luke`s Church
46) St. Mark's Episcopal Church
47) St. Mary's Abbey Church
48) St. Rocco's Roman Catholic Church
49) Stanley Theater
50) Stone Eagles
51) Stone House by the Stone House Brook
52) Townley, James, House
53) Ward-Force House and Condit Family Cook House
54) Whyman House
55) Wight, Allyn, House
56) Williams-Harrison House
57) Woodruff House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Corner's Food Market
2) 43rd Street Cafe
3) A & D Deli & Liquor Inc
4) A LA Carte Deli
5) Abraham Halal
6) Adam's Tavern
7) Addie's Deli & Payment Ctr Inc
8) All About Flavor Caterers
9) Appian Way
10) Arizona Burrito
11) Arturo's Brick Oven Pizza Co
12) B & A Polish Deli
13) B Hathaway's Meeting Place
14) Bella Italia
15) Bella Italia Ristorante
16) Benny's Coffee Shop
17) Bice' Bar & Grill
18) Big Joe's Pizzaria Rest
19) Bill & Harry's
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Blimpie Subs & Salads
22) Blue Moon Diner
23) Bottoms Up
24) Bouillon Fille
25) Boyden Liquor
26) Breakfast Lunch Stop
27) Briar Hill Coffee & Sandwich
28) Brito Miriam
29) Bruno's
30) Bunny's Restaurant
31) Burger King
32) Burnet Barbeque Corp
33) Cafe Arugula
34) Caffe Roma
35) Campus Sub Shop
36) Caobanico Supermarket
37) Carl & Shirley's Delicatessen
38) Carmelita's Cafe
39) Carribean Cuisine
40) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
41) Casa Mia Pizzeria
42) Casa Nostra
43) Casey's Tavern
44) Celebrated Food-Maplewood Inc
45) Centanni Restaurant
46) Cheng's Garden Chinese Rstrnts
47) China Garden Restaurant
48) China House
49) Chris's Deli
50) Chubbies Deli Mart
51) CIC
52) City Fried Chicken
53) Classic Caterers Sandwich Den
54) Claudia's Creative Catering
55) Clinton Deli I
56) Club 16
57) Club Twenty-Nine
58) Cluck U Chicken
59) Coinamical Caribbean Cuisine
60) Cold Stone Creamery
61) Conway's Deli
62) Corner Shop Deli
63) Creole Restaurant
64) Crown Fried Chicken & Pizza
65) Cryan's Beef & Ale House
66) Crystal International Rstrnt
67) Cucci's Restaurant
68) Dairy Queen
69) Dancing Goat Cafe Gallery
70) Dasti's Restaurante
71) Detroit Fried Chicken
72) Dimoore's Dutchpot
73) Domino's Pizza
74) Domino's Pizza
75) Don's Deli
76) Don's Diner
77) Dunkin Donuts
78) El Bandido Mexican Restaurant
79) El Centro Americano
80) El Greco Pizza
81) Ember's Tavern
82) Espresso Gourmet
83) Essex House Restaurant
84) Express Chicken & Pizza
85) Family Buffet Restaurant
86) Family Buffet Restaurant
87) Family Delicatessen
88) Florian & Bob's Dollhouse
89) Foo Hing Kitchen
90) Fortune Express
91) Foxes
92) G's Barbecue & Grill
93) GAJ Deli Minimarket
94) Galaxy Ice Cream
95) Gas Light Brewery-Restaurant
96) Gino's Of Italy Pizza
97) Giorgio's Ristorante
98) Gitane Catering
99) Giuseppe's Ristorante
100) Good & Plenty West Indians
101) Gourmet House Inc
102) Great Wall
103) Great Wall
104) Guy's Restaurant
105) Halpin's Tavern
106) Heart & Soul Catering Inc
107) Heaven Lunchonette
108) Hong Am Chinese Kitchen
109) Hot Pot Caribbean Restaurant
110) Hunan Garden
111) Hunan Wok
112) International Deli
113) Island Spice
114) J & A Sports Bar
115) J & J Caribbean Restaurant
116) J F Kennedy Fried Chicken
117) J Lances's Catering
118) J T's Deli & Convenience Stre
119) Jacob's Restaurant
120) Jam Rock Restaurant
121) Jasper's
122) Jayamda Corp
123) Jean's Groceries & Deli
124) Jeanettes Kitchen
125) Jenko's Fish & Chicken
126) Jimmy Buff's Restaurant
127) Jin Lin Chinese Kitchen
128) Jocelynes's
129) Johnny's Coney Island Grill
130) Johnny's Pizzeria Ii
131) Jumbo Family Buffet
132) Kee Kee's Soul Food Emporium
133) Kennedy Fried Chicken
134) Kentucky Fried Chicken
135) Kfc
136) Kimberly Deli
137) King Pizza
138) Kless Diner
139) La Kokette Restaurant
140) Labonte Restaurant
141) Laplacita Restaurant
142) Larry's Snack Bar
143) Laurence Craig Catering
144) Lazzara's Caterers
145) Le Jardin Restaurant
146) Liberty Ice Cream & Bbq
147) Libretti's Restaurant
148) Little Shop Of Heros
149) Lot 15 Grill
150) Lotus Garden
151) Lucky Chinese Restaurant
152) Lucky Star Number One Chinese
153) Maple Garden Deli
154) Maple Leaf Diner
155) Maplewood Diner
156) Maplewood Pizzeria & Family
157) Mario's Luncheonette
158) Marion's Restaurant
159) Marlo's Restaurant & Bar Inc
160) Marty's Pizzeria & Family Deli
161) Marty's Snack Bar
162) Mc Donald's
163) Mc Garry's Tavern
164) Melange Restaurant
165) Mill Road Sweet Shop
166) Moncarmel Restaurant
167) Moncarmel Restaurant
168) Moonstar Pizza & Fried Chicken
169) Nat's Deli
170) Neelam Exotic Indian Cuisine
171) New Dragon Gourmet
172) New World Catering Co
173) New York Pizza & Deli
174) Niecy's Southern Cuisine
175) No 1 Chinese Restaurant
176) No 1 Chinese Restaurant
177) Number One Chinese Restaurant
178) Number One Kitchen
179) Number One Of West Orange
180) O'reilly's Pub
181) Odabro African Restaurant
182) Orient Express K Chinese
183) Pacemaker Lounge
184) Palermos Pizza Primo
185) Pampanga's Best Cuisine
186) Panda Chinese Restaurant
187) Panda Chinese Restaurant
188) Panda Garden
189) Papa Moe's Pizzeria & Rstrnt
190) Papillon 25
191) Park Wood Diner
192) Peking House Chinese Rstrnt
193) Pelado's Bar & Grill
194) Pen & Jen's
195) Pepe's Pizza
196) Pepper Pot Restaurant
197) Piccola Italia Ristorante
198) Pickle Barrel Deli
199) Pirates Pizza
200) Pit Stop Barbecue & Rstrnt II
201) Pizza 2000
202) Pizza 2000
203) Pizza Center
204) Pizza Hut
205) Pizza Subwich
206) Pizzarama Italian Restaurant
207) Pop's Deli & Grocery
208) Private Place Lounge
209) Prostruction
210) Quick Chicken
211) Quick Stop-N-Shop
212) Quincy's Place
213) R & Z Grocery & Deli
214) Rah-Rah's Pub
215) Reservoir Restaurant
216) Restaurant Latino Tierras
217) Ricci's Restaurant
218) Rita's Italian Ice
219) Roman Gourmet
220) Romeo Pizzeria In Orange
221) Royal Fried Chicken
222) S Y D's
223) Sabor Centroamericano
224) Sage Diner Inc
225) Saint Cloud Deli and Catering
226) Sal & Tommy's Pizzeria & Subs
227) Samurai Sushi Japanese Rstrnt
228) Sandwiches Unlimited Of Orange
229) Sattenrhite's Catering Svc
230) Savidis Delicatessen
231) Sedu Grocery Inc
232) Solano's Restaurant
233) Soraya Deli & Coffee Shop
234) Soraya Luncheonette
235) South Orange Sub Shop
236) Star Coffee Shop & Deli
237) Star Tavern & Pizzeria
238) Starbucks
239) State Diner
240) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
241) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
242) Sun Wah Kitchen Inc
243) Sunrise Pizzeria
244) Tai Cafee
245) Tao Sai Chen
246) Tara's Gourmet Deli
247) Taste Of Asia
248) Tcb Assoc
249) Texas Weiner
250) Texas Weiner 3
251) Tokyo Restaurant
252) Tomo's Cuisine
253) Toms's Luncheonette
254) Tony's Pizza
255) Toro Loco
256) Towne & Country Banquets
257) Tung Hing Restaurant
258) Tung Tin Chinese Restaurant
259) Valley Deli & Grocery
260) Verjus
261) Vic's Place Inc
262) Village Coffee Shop
263) Village Ice Cream Parlour
264) Village Pizzeria
265) Village Tratoria
266) Voro Restaurant
267) W B Deli
268) Waterlilies Too
269) White Castle
270) World Paradise
271) Yum Yum Pizza & Italian Food
272) Z & G Fine Kosher Catering
273) Z Best Pizza
274) Zako Jamaican Quisine
275) Zheng Chinese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
First thing they did upon us entering was ask us to remove our hats .. I work in a fine-dining restaurant (which is obviously what this place is trying to be) and we'd never even think to ask customers to do something like that. They chided us for having our cellphones out, and our waiter was inatenttive, slow and lazy. They were rude, unhelpful and we will never, ever return. Beer was good, food was Ok, but the service and attitude of the place was just ridiculous.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from homeboy homeboy, livingston, NJ
(11/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy Lousy
This owner needs to go to a mental health professional. One of the nastiest persons that I have ever met in a restaurant! Have warned a number of people about her, but several went there anyhow, and later told me that they should have listened to me. There is NO chance we will ever retrun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review south orange, NJ
(05/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
You may enjoy a great beer with your meal, but dont try to bring your family. They do not want children in the building. We tried to celebrate a Seton Hall Graduation with a 1 yr old in a stroller. When the reservation was booked we were not asked if All adults were attending. When we arrived, we were told No stroller in the back room where they put us. Andd not booster seats And no putting the stroller where a chair may go. Also a 2and a half year old was excited by the fish in a tank, and the mother was told to quiet the child. Half our party left because of this. I will Never ever go near that place and will pass this negative review as much as I could

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ann ann, friendly, US
(05/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
They had a cast apple cider that was done very well and the Oktoberfest was also worth 2 pints of. The 777 was a well done representaion of a Belgium beer but the IPA was not available. The food was really good, full rack of ribs and the sourbrauten is recommended. A bit pricy, $100 for 2 + tip , 1 shared appie, no desserts, just beers. All in all a nice time, the service was friendly, so those of you that got mean and bitter service, I would go back, they must have taken Nice Service 101 and passed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gail Gail, Neshanic Station, NJ
(11/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
The owners are so so rude!!!! They told us last time that if one person in our group did not order dinner they would charge us $15 for the chair! DONT GO...go somewhere that respects the customer! Plus the hamburger was horrible, the only good thing is the beer and fries. They raised all the prices too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review South Orange, NJ
(09/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
best brew pub I've been in friendly knowlegable staff and best menu German, pasta cajun etc great time shufful board and darts

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Springfield, NJ
(03/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy Lousy
On Sunday February 15, 2009. My friends and I were attending an event being held at South Orange Performing Arts Center. Before hand I hand made a reservation at the Gas Light Brewery Restaurant, for dinner.

However I wanted to advise that our dinner was a disaster! The restaurant had the rudest more lazy staff ever!

They never said hi to us or anything when we first came in, we stood there for over 20 minutes, with no one ever acknowledging us. It took forever for them to seat us and then for the waiter to come over, and since we were on a time limit because we had to return to SOPAC for the remaining event this was a very big issue.

I told our waiter flat out we wanted separate bills and that we had a time limit, so to just bring the food whenever it was ready instead of waiting for every ones to be ready and lastly to bring the bills once we had our food (because no one was going to order desert or coffee).

It took him for ever to get our drinks (like 20 minutes) they never even brought poor one of our group members her dinner (she had to cancel it) and it the end he brought one bill saying it was too much trouble to divide it up!

No one in our group of ten will be returning to the Restaurant

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, ON
(02/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
I was so excited to book my wedding rehearsal dinner here, until I encountered extremely rude service from Cindy. My fiance and his mother spoke with her a few times over the course of a few weeks when we were trying to schedule the dinner. First, she claimed to have mailed the only 2 copies of our contract 2 weeks prior to our conversation, which we never received. What kind of business doesn't have a copy of a contract and sends off their only copies? Also I very much doubt that the contract was ever made up in the first place, because she only came up with that answer that the copies were mailed on the 2nd call. On the first phone call, she said she didn't do the contract at all.

After we waited a few more days, we called again midday. She said she would return our call at 3pm. She didn't, so we called back around 5pm, when she had the gall to scold us for calling during dinner. The only reason for our dinnertime call was because she never called us at any other time, especially not 3pm when she promised to call.

So, we resorted to email (at her suggestion) which was also never returned. Asked for the contract to be faxed, never received.

We are still waiting for this so-called "contract" that apparently doesn't exist. Meanwhile, we have given up and are looking for other places to hold the rehearsal dinner this June. Gaslight is not worth the hassle we have gone through when it should have been so simple to book a dinner. We are a family of true beer lovers and Gaslight was our first choice, so this is a huge disappointment. I will not only not recommend Gaslight to friends, but will strongly discourage them from visiting there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chatham, NJ
(01/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy Lousy
I would go for the beer. I would also go if you like the little troll of an owner. I saw a couple get kicked out because their child was crying. Having heard the stories, but never seeing any of it made me go back for happy hour. After the last time, I would recommend everyone to just stay away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean O'Brien Sean O'Brien, Alexandria, VA
(09/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great So So So So
anyone that praises this place definitly has not been to many good high end beer places. the other reviews of rude customer service are 100% true, its never happened to me but ive seen happen to people while i was there. if your looking for great draft beer and great food try the cloverleaf in caldwell. honorable mentions also go to white star in jersey city(owner is cool as hell),egan and son's in montclair, andys corner in bogota(no food but great beer selection that changes every 2 weeks and super friendly bartenders). really if u think this place is good please explore around to others and u will agree with me. prost everybody!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, parsippany, NJ
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You obviously know little about beer... Lager beer is a technique... not a color... There are lager's and ale's in all colors. Lager simply means that it is cold fermented with bottom fermenting yeast... Ales use top fermenting yeast, and are fermented between 65 and 75 or so degrees...

Technically, Miller (beer on training wheels) is a Pilsen, which is in the Lager family.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Wayne, NJ
(05/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Good
SAME HERE! my family's boycotting Gaslight because of the owner's wife, who got quite snippy at us even though we were regulars at the place and have probably spent a couple thousand at the place over the past year. Food is wonderful, but I'm not sure it's worth the rudeness of the owner's wife, who feels entitled enough to snap at the customer's whenever she wants. Gotta admit though--she's a great cook!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review south orange, NJ
(03/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I had my Bday party with 10 guests. The beer received only positive reviews from all the guys and even some gals. Food was delicious and almost everyone commented on how tasty it was. Also, the menu is pretty impressive especially if you consider that this is a brewery. Staff was helpful in setting up the tables, being mindful of all our needs and always being ready. My only complaint is that they kept bringing food at separate times with 5-10 minute delays in between. So half the people had their food and the other half waited and waited. Overall, however, it was a pleasant experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Val Val, West Orange, NJ
(12/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy Lousy
Wow - didn't know that a restuarant which supposedly wants business could be so rude. The food and drink aren't worth the aggravation of the horrific customer service/ Try Trap Rock instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barbara Miller Barbara Miller, South Orange, NJ
(10/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
beware of the owner's wife, she is subject to mood swings and is not interested in customer service or retaining customers. She became very nasty on a recent evening because we didn't want to sit at a high top bar table (and we are semi-regulars!) Despite very good food and good beer, we are crossing Gaslight off our list. There is no shortgae of good food & drink in this area, Mrs. Gaslight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review iselin, NJ
(01/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The restaurant had a nice atmosphere indicative of a family-run establishment. The restaurant staff was very polite and attentive. Our waitress was not very knowledgable about the beer selection. OG or TG or IBU information was not posted. The food was very good and plentiful. I had three dufferent beers. The Pirate Pale Ale was crystal clear with copper hues and was light to medium bodied. Unfortunately any hop or malt aromas were masked by an evident phenolic aroma indicating bacterial contamination. This beer should not have been served. The second beer was the Zum Alt Dorf. The beer was very refreshing, crystal clear with amber tones and had light to medium body. The hop to malt balance was excellent. The third beer was the Oatmeal Stout. The first thing to notice was the dense creamy head and dark opaque color. The beer was medium bodied. Chocolate and coffee tones were very enjoyable with just a hint of malt bitterness. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone interested in fresh brewed beer. MJM- Certified Beer Judge- Feb-2006.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tewlford, PA
(03/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
My wife and I stopped in here with my parents after having lunch at Trap Rock, just a few miles away. We ordered the sampler, which came with eight different beers. The Prince of Darkness was a mediocre dark ale with a slightly oily taste. The Dunkelweizen was quite good; fairly dark with a slight banana-clove flavor. One of my favorites was the really smooth oatmeal stout. The Governator was a very good bock beer; amber colored, not real strong. The Satan Claws was a strong (8.7%) amber colored beer that was very smooth, somewhat bitter with a good deal of malt to back it up. The only beer we could not finish was the pumpkin ale; way too much pumpkin flavor for me. I truly believe that pumpkin and beer should NEVER be mixed together. Next came the Bison Brown; just what I needed to get that pumpkin taste out of my mouth. This was a good, dark brown, light-bodied ale with a nice nutty flavor. Finally we finished off the sampler with the Big Dog Blonde; a mediocre blonde with a medium body and a slightly sour taste. All in all it was a pretty good sampler (except the pumpkin). I’d like to come back sometime in the evening and play some darts while knocking down a few pints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Having a friend in the area allows me the opportunity to visit this always-reliable brewpub. Although I have made only 8 visits, including my most recent, the beers, food, service as always been beyond approach (the decor could use a little update, but pubcrawlers rarely venture into an establishment for reasons of asthetics (spelling?). On my last stop, I enjoyed: Prince of Darkness, a malty scotch ale, their seasonal Satan Claws, which weighs in at a potent 8% (kids, don't try this at home), a guest Cask ESB from Flying Fish and a sampling of the Governator, a marzen. GLB also offers a decent bottle selection and several tapping events throughout the year. To anyone visiting NYC, and not familiar with the area, Gaslight is accessible by NJ Transit, the South Orange station being located a 5 minute walk. FYI: they have an excellent german menu (iff you vant zuch tings.) Auf Wiedersehen!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I can't let this one go by! I have to respond to "a South Orange". He lives in the area and "has kids". I guess this makes a knowledgeable expert on beer. This moron eventually orders a "regular" Miller and offers the opinion that the Gaslight has a very poor beer selection. What this laddie doesn't know about beer could fill volumes. He states that the first brew he was served was "obviously a stout", thinking that just because a brew is dark in color, and wishing to impress his friends with his "expertise" it must be just that, completely ignoring the several different styles of porter, schwartzbier, rauchbier or dunkel which can also be very dark in color. Why anyone would venture into a brewpub and ask for any kind of "Miller" is beyond my wildest dreams. After reading this guy's review I questioned the owner a sto it's validity and will report it here. Any reader can make his own determination after reading both sides. The unhappy patron came in on a Monday night to watch football. From the waitress he ordered a "lager". When questioned by the girl if he wanted a "Black Bear" lager, the current house offering of the dark lager style, he said 'just bring me a lager". When the beer arrived he was displeased and asked for a "Miller", a sure indication that this boy knows his beer. Since the Gaslight's only offering in the Miller line is Miller Lite(admittedly an obnoxious beer) this was presented and also turned down as our connoioseur doesn't drink lite beer. He then complained to bartender who wisely figured he wasn't going to please this guy, and advised him that it would probably be best for both sides that he simply leave. Which he did, thank God, for I stumbled in a few moments later, in search of a couple of pints and probably would have had to listen to this nonsense.I, too, "have kids", and "live in the area" so I have something in common with "a South Orange". But here the similarity stops as I, unlike, him, know something about beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was in the Gaslight the night that a-SO was asked to leave the was a true A**-Hole aathe watress asked him twice if he wanted the Black Bear Lager(a really good Swartz beer) with an attitude he said just bring me a lager. Then with out ever tasting the lager he yeklled to the waitress to bring him a miller She asked him " a Miller lite?" his responce was yeh a miller. When the young girl brought it to him he was very load and said cann't you get any thing right? I'm gald that the basrtender asked him to leave since the game that My friends and I had come to watch was much more enjoyable with out A**holes sitting next to us. I will be telling every oune who I know that If you want to go to a place with great beer and food that tries to keep the scum out go to the Gaslight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from raino raino, orange, NJ
(10/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
just went here...really terrible. lousy beer selection and rude service. avoid like the plague

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott scott, west orange, NJ
(09/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
It's amazing this place is still in business. There are so many negative reviews as well as word of mouth in SO and Mplwd. You have got to hear this story...I swear every word is fact...last night a few friends of mine went to watch the Giants game at Gaslight. We all live in SO, have kids, etc. I ordered a lager (they have a really poor selection of beers) and the waitress brought me what was obviously a stout beer (very dark). I said that I ordered a lager, she insisted it was one, so I asked for her to please bring me a Miller. She deposited a Miller lite on the table and walked away. As I don't drink lite beer and specifically asked for a regular Miller, I walked up to the bar and asked the bartender to please give me a regular Miller. Before I had the words out of my mouth he said..AND I QUOTE "How many times are you going to change your mind?" I couldn't believe it. I said..and I quote "Dude, I only want the beer I ordered"...this moron bartender then said "Don't dude me, and I don't like your attitude...and there's the door if you don't like it". Went back to my table, told my friends, and this jerk follows me to my table and again says to me "There's the door"...I turned around, said "see ya" and left. My friends followed me out...felt bad about stiffing the waitress, but was the only way to communicate our anger. We went over to Bunnys and were greeted warmly. We told the staff at Bunnys the story and they all said that they see alot of this..and get business because people flee from Gaslight..it's obviously well known that the people that work at Gaslight are rude and disrespectful. Simply put - a restaurant or bar is not going to remain in business in a town such as SO with attitude like this. You only get so many legal Seton Hall students and alcoholics to hang out at a place like Gaslight in a town like SO....eventually it will catch up with you and then you depend on the adults with families in the surrounding area. I can tell you that this place is burying itself...I'd be surprised if it is still open a year from now.....it is now my mission to spread the word on Gaslight to all in the area. Last night, they permanently lost 4 families in South Orange. Keep up the good work, guys. And to that bartender - have fun flipping burgers when you're done at Gaslight!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from a a, south orange, NJ
(09/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
For the record, The Beverage Tasting Institute has just (May 2005)awarded three gold medals for outstanding beers to the Gaslight. The three medals are are a record for any brewpub in the tri-state area. Congratulations to the Gaslight's great brewer and all those associated with this excellent establishment. If you know beer and enjoy incredible food this is one pub not to be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Capano Vince Capano, Madison, NJ
(05/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
lousy flat beer, very mean owner cindy, food is bad, poor atmosphere! Will not venture back. cheerio

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review South Orange, NJ
(05/15/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.188 seconds) 03:39:48 54.211.157.103, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS