PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Flying Saucer - Memphis, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 12:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Memphis > Flying Saucer
Flying Saucer Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Flying Saucer
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
130 Peabody Place
Memphis, TN 38103
United States
(901) 523-7468
Listed Since: July 1998
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Memphis, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
23 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Beale Street Tap Room
(0 mile)

2) Boscos Squared
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast in A Castle
2) King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BENCHMARK HOTEL
2) BRIDGESTREET ESTATES RIVER POIN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ashlar Hall
2) Calvary Episcopal Church and Parish House
3) Capt. Harris House
4) Columbian Mutual Tower
5) Crump, E. H., House
6) Ellis, William C., and Sons Ironworks and Machine Shop
7) Fairview Junior High School
8) First Baptist Church
9) Fowlkes-Boyle House
10) Hunt-Phelan House
11) Lee and Fontaine Houses of the James Lee Memorial
12) Lenox School
13) Libertyland Grand Carousel
14) Martin Memorial Temple CME Church
15) Memphis Merchants Exchange
16) Newburger, Joseph, House
17) Patton-Bejach House
18) Peabody Elementary School
19) Peabody Hotel
20) Porter, Dr. D. T., Building
21) Porter--Leath Home
22) Second Presbyterian Church
23) St. Mary's Catholic Church
24) Union Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, South
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & J Diner
2) A & W Family Restaurant
3) A Real Place
4) A Taste Of India Catering
5) A-Tan Chinese Restaurant
6) Al's Tasty Burger Inn
7) Alcenia's Desserts & Preserves
8) Alfred's On Beale
9) Amber Palace Inc
10) Another Roadside Attraction
11) Antonio Gobinellos Two
12) Arby's
13) Arcade Restaurant
14) Automatic Slim's Restaurant
15) B J's Buffalo Style Hot Wings
16) B K's Bites
17) Bach's Lunch
18) Back Yard Burgers
19) Back Yard Burgers
20) Balinese Ballroom
21) Beale Street Tap Room
22) Beb's On The Bluff
23) Bill's Twilight Lounge & Rtrnt
24) Black Diamond
25) Blimpie Subs & Salads
26) Blue City Cafe
27) Blue Monkey
28) Blue Plate Cafe Downtown
29) Bluefin Restaurant
30) Bobo's Catering Svc
31) Bogie's Deli Downtown
32) Bon Ton Cafe
33) Bon-Ton Restaurant
34) Brown's Bar Bq
35) Brown's Chicken & Pizza
36) Buckley's Downtown
37) Burger Bistro
38) Burger King
39) Butcher Shop Steakhouse
40) Cadre Building
41) Cafe 61
42) Cafe Expresso
43) Cafe Francisco
44) Cafe Samovar
45) Cafe Soul Inc Rstrnt & Jazz
46) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
47) Cheers Complete Catering
48) Chelsea Restaurant & Lounge
49) Chez Philippe
50) China Bear Fast Food
51) China Restaurant
52) Church's Chicken
53) Church's Chicken
54) Cici's Pizza
55) Cielo
56) Club 152 On Beale
57) Corky's Bbq
58) Cotton Boll Catering
59) Court House Deli
60) Cozy Corner Restaurant
61) Crump Street Market & Deli
62) Cupboard Too
63) Daily Grind Coffee Bar
64) Dan Mc Guiness Pub
65) Days Inn
66) Delta Bluff LLC
67) Denny's
68) Denny's
69) Dick's Last Resort
70) Domino's Pizza
71) Downtown Shell & Subway
72) Dux Restaurant
73) Dyer's Burgers
74) Earnestine & Hazel's
75) Earnestine & Hazel's Bar & Grl
76) Ebony & Ivory Best Hot Wings
77) Egg Roll House
78) Elliott's Restaurant
79) Elvis Presley's Memphis
80) Empire Coffee Co
81) Erika's German Restaurant
82) F & W Grill Bar
83) F & W Restaurant & Lounge
84) Fat City Beignets
85) Federal Dining Room
86) Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant
87) Field
88) Flying Saucer Draught Emporium
89) Fountain On Union
90) Four Way Restaurant
91) Front Street Delicatessen
92) Gallery Cafe
93) Gay Hawk Restaurant
94) George's Coffee Shop
95) Gli Food Svc Inc
96) Gordon Biersch Brewery Restrnt
97) Grand Central Sub
98) Green Beetle Deli
99) Gridiron Restaurant
100) Gridiron Restaurant
101) Grill 83
102) Gus World Famous Hot & Spicy
103) H & B Home Cooked Meals
104) H & H Deli & Grocery
105) Hamburgers & More
106) Hamburgers & More
107) Hard Rock Cafe Intl
108) Harry's Detour South Main
109) Have A Nice Day Cafe
110) High Point Pinch
111) Holiday Ham & Deli
112) Hot Wings Xpress
113) Huey's
114) Hunt-Phelan Inn
115) Independent Soul Food & Deli
116) Isaac Hayes Music Food Passion
117) Italian Fisherman
118) J & B Lounge
119) Jackson Corned Beef House
120) Jake & Jodies Bake Shop
121) Java Coast
122) Jefferson Square Restaurant
123) Jillian's Memphis
124) Joey's Pizza
125) Justine's
126) K's Restaurant
127) KFC
128) King Of Wings
129) Kings Palace Cafe Inc
130) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
131) Kudzu's
132) Kypos
133) Landry's Seafood House
134) Last Place On Earth
135) Leach Family Restaurant
136) Lees Family Restaurant
137) Lenny's Sub Shop
138) Little Tea Shop
139) Lot A Burger
140) Louisiana Joe Wings & Things
141) Lowe's Place
142) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
143) Main Events At The Broadnax
144) Mallards Bar & Grill-Peabody
145) Mama Kati's Diner
146) Mann & Ebert Hospitality Dev
147) Map Room Inc
148) Marmalade
149) Mc Culley's Country Kitchen
150) Mc Donald's
151) Mc Ewen's On Monroe
152) Medical Center Deli
153) Memphis Grits
154) Memphis Queen Line River Boats
155) Mike Restaurant
156) Mike's Bar-B-Que
157) Mr B's Hot Wings
158) Napoli Pizza New York Style
159) National Pizza Co-Pyramid
160) Neely's Bar-B-Que Restaurant
161) New Club Paradise
162) New Daisy Theatre
163) New Oriental Grill
164) New York Pizza & Pasta
165) North End
166) North End Pizza Pub
167) Obleo's Dog House & Chinese
168) Orchid Club
169) Overstuffed Deli
170) Pancho's
171) Pat O'Brien's
172) Philly Style
173) Pialto Restaurant & Bar
174) Pie In The Sky
175) Pier Restaurant
176) Pig On Beale
177) Pirtle's Fried Chicken
178) Plush Club
179) Poplar Corn Beef House
180) Precious Cargo Coffeehouse
181) Premiere Palace Ballroom
182) Pyramid Cafe'
183) Quiznos Sub
184) R C Cooper's Deli
185) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
186) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
187) Redbird's Cafe
188) Reeba's Snack Shack
189) Rendezvous Charles Vergos
190) Rendezvous Ribs Shipping
191) Renee's Sandwich Shop
192) River City Management Group
193) River Terrace Restaurant
194) Rockapiggies Bar-B-Que
195) Rosita's Deli & More
196) Royal Jasmine Chinese Rstrnt
197) Rum Boogie Cafe
198) Sal's Famous Hot Dogs & Beef
199) Sawaddii Thai Cuisine
200) Sbarro
201) Sekisui Downtown
202) Silky O'sullivan's
203) Simply Fabulous
204) Sleep Out Louies
205) Smooth Moves
206) Somewhere Pizza Cafe
207) Southern Entertainment Mgmt Co
208) Spaghetti Warehouse
209) Spot
210) Starbucks
211) Stella
212) Stop 345
213) Strawberries Restaurant
214) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
215) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
216) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
217) Swig Memphis
218) T J Mulligans
219) T J Mulligans Pinch
220) Taco Bell
221) Taco City
222) Tcby
223) Tcby
224) Texas De Brazil
225) Tgi Friday's
226) Trucker's Lounge
227) Unknown Cafe
228) Wall Street Deli Inc
229) Wang's Mandarin House
230) Wendell's Grille
231) Wendy's
232) Wendy's
233) Westy's
234) Wet Willie's
235) Wild Goose Sports Bar
236) Willie Moore's Restaurant
237) Wilson's Grill
238) Yellow Rose Cafe
239) Yum's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
are you fricken kiding me. everything was top notch. i live in Sioux City Iowa and the closest thing i got is Baffalo Alice. with a open front end to Biel street you all got it going on. love my visit. see you i dont know when.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Gary, Sioux City, IA
(03/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Definitely my place to visit whenever I am in Memphis. Beer selection is absolutely fabulous and the "Beer Godesses" are awsome. They also have a great humidor selection for the cigar buff. You can't beat it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Jurkowski Don Jurkowski, La Mesa, NM
(10/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Two locations to wet your whistle in the Memphis area. Downtown Memphis one block from Beale St., FedEx Forum, Peabody Hotel and many attractions too numerous to mention. Out east is location two in the Cordova area on Germantown Parkway.

Downtown is older. More ambiance. Slightly younger crowd. Noisier. Live bands are electric. Great management team and the waitresses (Beer Goddesses) are gorgeous. All are trained and very knowledgeable on the many styles and nuances of beer. Over 200 different beers to choose from. In ten years of visiting I've always had a good experience.

Cordova opened in early 2006. My home away from home since it's ten minutes from the casa. A little more laid back than downtown yet you still get over 200 beers, beautiful Beer Goddesses and a strong, friendly management team. Live music is acoustic, usually excellent local groups. Food at both is above average, high end pub fare with German pub food overtones.

If you're ready to explore the world of "real" beer, instead of sucking down what Anheuser-Busch tells you to, then The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium is the place to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Taylor Ken Taylor, Memphis, TN
(08/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Great selection of some very unusual beers that cannot be found on draft most other places -- I'm looking forward to a return trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Lutz Bob Lutz, Murrysville, PA
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My husband and I were on our way to New Orleans and spent a nice night in Memphis. Prior to our journey we visited the pubcrawler website to find some fun places to sample. What a wonderful surprise to find the Flying Saucer!! I was amazed at all the tappers and the variety of which to choose from. I think I might have counted 74 on tap. My husband had North Coast Brewery selections and I had Chimay and Belhaven and our "Beer Goddess" Amy was so helpful and full of knowledge. We will definately be back to this establishment as it was the best part of our trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timi Timi, Peoria, IL
(06/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Ditto to the comments below. I can't remember all of the beers that we had. I know that there was a 90min IPA, $2.50(?) Purple Haze, Delirium Noel.... We won third in the trivia game (yeah team Milk Stout Mustache). It wasn't cheap but it was fun. And they have free Wi-Fi if you make it there during work hours (beats the local office)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
What can I say that has not already been said. I found this place on pub crawler and was in Memphis for two nights and made sure to stop in both nights. Absolutely the most beers on tap I have ever seen and also a great selection of bottled beers and the beer goddess are easy on the eyes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Richardson Tim Richardson, Live Oak, FL
(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
The Flying Saucer has a nice selection, including Dogfish Head Chickory Stout. Nice location right off of Beale Street. Good selection with a variety of beers from coast-to-coast and across the world.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Begley Jim Begley, Las Vegas, NV
(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
75 drafts add to a total of 215 beers. Our waitress with "beer Godess" T-shirt really knew her stuff and was able to guide us to some interesting beers. Fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelby Wright Shelby Wright, Livermore, CA
(06/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This is an incredible place! My favorite in Memphis. Over 75 beers on tap and a detailed list with all prices clearly shown. No flat beer here, old reports of that have been fixed. Very comfortable place to watch a game or hang out. Cool decor. Monday night's $2.50/pint. All of the foreign Hefe-W's were excellent! Souv t-shirts for chicks are $15.50. A chain bar/rest without the chain feel. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Clark Heather Clark, Liverpool, NY
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Go here often, usually on Monday for Pint night (2.50 pints) or Brewery night (aka Glass Night) where you keep the logo'd glass with an order of that beer. The glass us usually a regular one, but on occasion you'll get a tall pils. Known fot it's Attractive and friendly wait staff, speed of service is reduced by customers vyeing for their attention during busy times. Can get kinda noisy, but good for a few fine brews. Never had a flat brew there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Fannon John Fannon, Memphis, TN
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I happened upon the Saucer after a dinner at Texas De Brazil (looks like it is built-in to the bottom of the parking garage I parked in). I had a few different pale ales (my favorite) and a couple stouts to balance my experience out. I especially like the little coves set up to resemble your living room at home (nice touch!) complete with counches and coffee tables. I didn't experience any flat beer and I have had many different types. Occasionally, kegs run dry but with the selection they haveit's not impossible to find a suitable alternative. Oh yes...the ladies are beautiful. See ya next Friday night??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Miller Jim Miller, Horn Lake, MS
(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
I've been tot eh Saucer quite a few times now, and it seems each time it just gets worse. The problem with flat beer has been solved. The atomsphere is still geared towards drunk, single, spring-breaker types looking to get lucky. The couple that was with us had a drunk cute little thing drop into his lap, which didn't make his wife happy at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Filipczak Rob Filipczak, Atoka, TN
(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Excellent selection of rare beers. Don't miss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Great home brew. Decent food. Great looking women. Awesome location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review knoxville, TN
(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Great home brew. Decent food. Great looking women. Awesome location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review knoxville, TN
(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A So So So So
Yes indeed, a large selection of beers, but in terrible (for the most part) condition. Lots of favorites, but almost all off them in "dodgy" condition. Its like buying a lottery ticket. Extremely noisy (live band, stiff cover charge)on a Thurs/Fri/Sat evening, so if you must visit do so on a weekday. Memphis should be better than this ! Try the cask conditioned ale at Bosco's instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nigel Wilcox Nigel Wilcox, Vancouver, BC
(07/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
As with my last visit just about all the tap beers I had were flat.Seemed like the bartender expected it as he would wait for you to drink then ask if it was ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mickey Kane Mickey Kane, Amory, MS
(11/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
A lot has changed since my last review.Most of the beer is indeed flat and the selection is dwindling as the previous reviewer stated.All in all a great place for hard to find brew if they have it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mickey Kane Mickey Kane, Amory, MS
(10/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I've been to the Flying Saucer several times this past summer ('99) and have the following comments to add to my review. The tap selection is almost totally devoid of any domestic ESB's or IPA's. If english ales, brown ales or belgian whites are your favorites, then this place won't disappoint. Too often however, the displayed taps are empty of a selection you may want. The taps themselves can, depending upon the beer, have a "flat" quality. OK, so what's to like? Well, lots. The open windows for the dining room and pool table are great for people- watching as they stroll on down to Beale Street. There are cool tee- shirts for sale plus great cigars. Good looking women too. There is a neat gimmick currently running on Wednesday nights to "buy a pint of an offered beer and keep the glass with said beer manaufacturer on it. Additional note, the name flying saucer comes from the fact that the entire emporium is cover wall to ceiling with dinner plates, most from all over the world.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Big Daddy Big Daddy, reading, MA
(10/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gareth Gareth, Martin, TN
(02/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Ok, at first I didn't know I was in a Draught Emporium. We had already been drinking beer somewhere else, so I asked for a boiler maker. He says, 'We don't have liquor here. We carry over 200 beers on tap and have other imports in bottles'.. So I say, Gimme a Steinlager, and he says, "We don't have that one." Joking aside, this is a beer lovers dream. Live music and great women were bonuses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom M. Tom M., Decatur, AL
(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
A nice place with big windows that open to the street corner.Lots of beers on tap and in bottles!They also have German specialties like brockwurst and knockwurst.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Kane Michael Kane, Amory, MS
(07/03/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.635 seconds) 12:48:06 174.129.76.87, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS