PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bow and Arrow - Toronto, ON
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 01:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ON > Toronto > Bow and Arrow
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Bow and Arrow
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
1954 Yonge Street
(at Davisville)
Toronto, ON M4S 1Z4
Canada
(416) 487-2036
Listed Since: July 1998
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Ontario

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(32 within 5 miles)
1) Granite Brewery
(1 mile)

2) The Unicorn Pub - An Irish Rovers Free House
(1 mile)

3) The Abbott on the Hill
(1 mile)

4) Rebel House
(2 miles)

5) The Beer Station
(2 miles)

6) Bishop and the Belcher
(2 miles)

7) Pour House Irish Pub
(2 miles)

8) Volo Birreria
(3 miles)

9) Local 4
(3 miles)

10) The Only Cafe
(3 miles)

11) Pheasant and Firkin Pub
(3 miles)

12) Paupers Pub
(3 miles)

13) The 3 Brewers
(3 miles)

14) The Victory Cafe
(3 miles)

15) Mill Street Brewery
(3 miles)

16) Elephant and Castle
(3 miles)

17) Renaissance Cafe
(4 miles)

18) Sin and Redemption
(4 miles)

19) Ein-stein Cafe and Pub
(4 miles)

20) Village Idiot Pub
(4 miles)

21) Duke of Argyle Pub Incorporated - was Acme Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

22) Smokeless Joe
(4 miles)

23) Steam Whistle Brewing
(4 miles)

24) Al Frisco's
(4 miles)

25) The Strand Restaurant and Brasserie
(4 miles)

26) Beerbistro
(4 miles)

27) Esplanade Bier Markt
(4 miles)

28) Elephant and Castle
(4 miles)

29) Upper Canada Brewing Company
(4 miles)

30) C'est What?
(4 miles)

31) Irish Embassy Pub
(4 miles)

32) Amsterdam Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Tortonto Downtown B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALEXANDRA HOTEL
2) BEST WESTERN PRIMROSE
3) BEST WESTERN ROEHAMPTON HOTEL
4) BOND PLACE
5) BRIDGESTREET 1121 BAY
6) BRIDGESTREET BELLAGIO
7) BRIDGESTREET PINNACLE
8) BRIDGESTREET QWEST
9) BRIDGESTREET RESIDENCES
10) CAMBRIDGE SUITES HOTEL
11) CLARION HOTEL & SUITES SELBY
12) COMFORT HOTEL
13) COMFORT SUITES CITY CENTRE
14) COURTYARD TORONTO DOWNTOWN
15) CROWNE PLAZA DON VALLEY
16) DAYS HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTER
17) DAYS INN TORONTO EAST BEACHES
18) DAYS INN TORONTO EAST LAKEVIEW
19) DAYS INN-TORONTO WEST LAKESHOR
20) DOWNTOWN HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL
21) FOUR SEASONS TORONTO
22) GLEN GROVE RESIDENCES AT 736
23) GLENGROVE SUITES
24) GRANGE APARTMENT HOTEL
25) HILTON TORONTO
26) HOTEL LE GERMAIN TORONTO
27) INN ON THE PARK
28) ISABELLA HOTELS AND SUITES
29) LE ROYAL MERIDIEN KING EDWARD
30) MARRIOTT BLOOR YORKVILLE
31) METROPOLITAN HOTEL
32) MONTE CASSINO HOTEL
33) NOVOTEL TORONTO CENTRE
34) NOVOTEL TORONTO NORTH YORK
35) PARK HYATT TORONTO
36) PEMBROKE RESIDENCE
37) QUALITY HOTEL BLOOR STREET
38) QUALITY HOTEL DOWNTOWN
39) RADISSON HOTEL TORONTO EAST
40) RADISSON PLAZA HOTEL ADMIRAL
41) RAMADA HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
42) RAMADA HOTEL & SUITES DOWNTOWN
43) RENAISSANCE HOTEL AT SKYDOME
44) SHERATON CENTRE TORONTO
45) SIGNATURES ON BLOOR
46) SKYLINE 8 PARK
47) THE CAMBERLEY CLUB HOTEL
48) THE FAIRMONT ROYAL YORK
49) THE GRAND HOTEL
50) THE SUTTON PLACE HOTEL
51) THE WESTIN HARBOUR CASTLE
52) THE WESTIN PRINCE TORONTO
53) TORONTO DON VALLEY HOTEL
54) TORONTO MARRIOTT EATON CENTRE
55) TOWN INN SUITES
56) TRAVELODGE TORONTO DOWNTOWN W
57) VICTORIA HOTEL
58) WINDSOR ARMS
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1311708 Ontario Inc ON/A
2) A&W Area Restaurants
3) Best Z Inc
4) Blockbuster
5) Blockbuster Video
6) Burger J&I
7) Casa Di Giorgio
8) Celestin De Marc Thobor
9) CIBO E Vino
10) Convenience K
11) D&Y Market
12) Dinah E Cafe
13) Double X Discount Store
14) Double X Discount Store
15) Duff's Famous Wings
16) Executive Catering
17) Executive Catering
18) Fermentations Inc
19) Film Fest Dvd Rentals
20) Gidon M S Dr
21) Gracefield Orchard Inc
22) Hannah's Kitchen
23) Hannah's Kitchen
24) Healthwinds - The Health & Wellness Spa
25) Ho Su Bistro
26) Honey`s Beestro 288
27) J J's Cafe & Deli
28) Joso's
29) Kristapsons On Yonge St
30) La Dolce Vita Casaloma Inc
31) La Salumeria
32) La Vecchia
33) Lakes Restaurant & Wine Bar
34) Le Gourmand
35) Le Paradis Brasserie Bistro
36) Le Petit Castor
37) Le Petit Gourmet
38) Lettuce Eatery St Clair Inc
39) Loaf And Ladle
40) M & M Shops
41) M&P Variety
42) M&P Variety
43) Millwood Wine Works
44) Movies 4 U
45) Movies For You
46) N S Convenience
47) Penrose Fish & Chips
48) People S Foods
49) Pisces Gourmet-Seafood Specialty Shop
50) Rajput's Bistro 111
51) Rangoli Haute Indian Cuisine
52) Rangoli Haute Indian Cuisine
53) Revue Video
54) Rogers Plus
55) Rogers Plus
56) Rogers Plus
57) Rogers Plus
58) Rogers Video A Div Of Rogers Cable Communication Inc
59) Sapori Trattoria
60) Sexy Bride Toronto Photography
61) Shawarma`s King Ltd
62) South St Burger Co
63) St Clair Coffee Shop
64) St Clair Ichiban Sushi H
65) St Clare's Multifaith Housing Corp
66) St Clare's Multifaith Housing Society
67) St Louis Bar & Grill
68) Stop N Shop Kiosk Ltd
69) T V Movie Center
70) The Centre
71) The French Spa
72) The Longest Yard Restaurant/Bar
73) Very Video
74) Yonge Eglinton Centre
75) Yonge Eglinton Centre
76) Z & Z European Grill & Deli Ltd
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm curious who the unsigned writer below is. I know every craft beer lover in the Geneseo area who has gone to the Bow over the years. It's a small town and those of us who know cask ale and have been there are very few. Who are you and why didn't you identify yourself?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy Lousy
Things do change and in this case for the worst. What was once a real pub (1992-2003) is a pale image of itself. Gone is the excitement and authentic feel replaced by a Firkin feel and a burned out staff. Too bad I feel we have lost a true Toronto pub landmark. The beer on tap is still good, but always out of something and the cask ale is as bad as I have seen. Sorry folks I would recommend other places to spend your money in Toronto

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geneseo, NY
(07/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Things have changed considerably at the Bow since I posted it on Pubcrawler in 1998 so I'm updating my comments. The managing partner who tended the beer with care and skill was ousted in a coup in '03 and things are different now. The Bow continues to be a good beer bar but it has lost some of the characteristics I raved about in my previous reviews. Alot of the "specialness" left with the ousted partner, Keiron Meaney. I still go there to hear Sandy MaCintyre's band Sunday afternoons and it remains a great experience but I no longer feel like part of a family. It's now merely another Toronto pub I enjoy -- which still says alot. The real ales aren't being kept very well and I can't recommend them any longer. I haven't had what I consider a good one there in several years. I had one over New Years that was so bad I poured it out while on the patio(in the parking lot). Should have mentioned it to the staff but just didn't feel like making an issue. They still have plenty of good regular microbrews to choose from. A huge big screen tv in a rear corner now detracts from the overall atmosphere. Times change and so do pubs, but I really miss the way the Bow & Arrow used to be. Do check out the Sun. p.m. music sessions though -- it's tremendous!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Made my first trip here on a recent Sunday and was quite surprised to find it a very nice place with great food - great live music and a great team at the helm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Craig Knight, Toronto, On
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
+Met Anna/Babs (waitress) who I had the pleasure of knowing years when she was a veritable 'kid'. Quite a coincidence... hadn't seen her in 4-5 years... worked with her on musical productions in Guelph... Anne of Green Gables??? or was it Annie? or both???

This old man had a crush on her then... I think I'm smitten now.

P.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P P, Guelph, ON
(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Not having visited this site for some time,I was interested in seeing if there were any new reviews of my favorite Toronto pub.I'm totally perplexed by the negative comments from the unidentified writer on 9/3/02.You said the Bow has been your "local of choice for several years".No one becomes a regular at any bar unless they really like the beer, atmosphere,food,etc. and the staff is friendly and makes them feel welcome.I must assume this was the case for you over the past few years or you wouldn't have kept returning. I have to accept your description of the situation at face value, but why didn't you say something to one of the managers or the owner? I can't imagine anyone being a regular at the Bow for several years and not getting to know the staff. Customers and staff are family there! Finally,after a couple years of what must have been positive experiences,what motivated you to relate one negative one to Pubcrawler?

My friends and I have been visiting Toronto 5-6 times a year for over 5 years and know it pretty well.The Bow & Arrow continues to be our favorite in a city with many great beer bars.Without exception,we have found everyone who works there to be friendly,courteous,attentive,and above all, professional.I urge Pubcrawler users to ignore the last review and spend an afternoon or evening at the Bow and see for yourselves why we like it so much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(09/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
Ordinarily, I'd be less harsh on this establishment, it having been my local of choice for several years. However, an incident this week has led me to believe that while the pub may have a great selection of beer, if the service sucks, the overall experience is lessened. This week, the service sucked, as we encountered one of the unruliest, abusive, disinterested servers I"ve ever had the misfortune to encounter. He was wholly conveying the attitude that we were a hindrance to his watching the soccer game with his buddies. Menus were tossed at us, with two of them falling to the floor. We were sternly instructed to NOT open the menus until our drink order was placed. Our drinks came, they were incorrect and placed down with such force as to suggest said waiter was having some issues with sobriety - my beer was spilled onto the table. No apologies given. I should add that we were a party of 6 ranging in age from 25 to 60, and were more than willing to spend a large amount of money on drinks and dinner. However, not when the service was that horrible. To note, we went to the pub down the street, were warmly welcomed, and then dropped nearly 300 dollars on dinner and drinks. You may wish to ask for another waiter than the one we had - he's the fellow that looks like maybe he should just stick to security and working the door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, ON
(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
2 cask conditioned ales on tap at all times. Nice selection - probably the broadest I saw in Toronto. Our waiter was a great guy and overall nice place to drink a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(06/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
On our visit the bartender was great with excellent service and some free-bees. The beer too was excellent with a nice assortment of selections. The dart board was in great shape(brand new) and you got to try the buffalo nachos, they were fantastic. A definite stop the next time I come thru.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Scheele Eric Scheele, Montpelier, VA
(06/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Stopped in on my way downtown last Saturday. It was hot and I was thirsty, lucky for me the Bow and Arrow appeared on the horizon. There was only one ale on the hand pump at the time, an ESB from Durham, was a winner. A very good selection of micros from Canada and a very polite and helpful bartender. This place is very large so group visits should not be a problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bubba Bubba, Glen Cove, NY
(06/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Service is great Sunday's are fantastic

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Tait David Tait, Toronto, ON
(03/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Bow & Arrow is simply the best all-around beer bar I've visited in North America, and I've enjoyed some great ones! The beer quality is superb and meticulous care is given to its storage and delivery. Three matched brass handpumps dispense cask-conditioned ales from nearby F&M and Wellington Co. breweries. A great selection of other microbrews, such as Woodbridge White Star is also on tap. The place has the look and feel of an english pub but doesn't try to copy one. The staff immediately make you feel at home and owner Kay and managers Mark and Gail always enjoy meeting new customers who appreciate quality beer. Great, reasonably priced food with daily specials is available. To top it off, a fantastic Celtic/Canadian folk band plays every Sunday from 3-8PM(except 6 weeks in summer). Step dancers from the audience join in and keep the energy high. This place is as good as it gets!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(07/20/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.739 seconds) 01:27:30 50.19.172.0, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS