PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bernardsville Stone Tavern and Brewery - Bernardsville, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 03:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Bernardsville > Bernardsville Stone Tavern and Brewery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Bernardsville Stone Tavern and Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 65.9 / 100
1 Mill Street
Bernardsville, NJ 07924
United States
(908) 766-6575
Listed Since: August 1998
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bernardsville, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Station Pub and Grub
(0 mile)

2) Stirling Hotel
(4 miles)

3) The Olde Mill Inn and Grain House Restaurant
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) NORTH MAPLE INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alward Farmhouse
2) Basking Ridge Classical School
3) Bernardsville Station
4) Coffee House
5) Far Hills Station
6) Kemble, Peter, House
7) Lyons Station
8) Millington Station
9) Parker, John, Tavern
10) Presbyterian Church in Basking Ridge
11) Ralston Historic District
12) Stirling, Lord, Manor Site
13) Thompson, David, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Waiter To Go
2) Basking In Java
3) Bernards Deli & Cafe
4) Bernards Inn
5) Bernardsville Depot Deli
6) Bernardsville Stone Tavern
7) Buona Pizza
8) Burger King
9) Cafe Josephine Inc
10) China Palace
11) Coffee Shoppe
12) Eccoqui Italian Bistro
13) Friendly's Restaurant
14) Le Petit Chateau
15) Mine Brook Diner
16) Mino's Cafe
17) Station
18) Tokyo Delight
19) Tsuki Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
RADICALLY IMPROVED OVER THE LAST YEAR!!!! The Stone has been around for years under various different names. The last couple of years have seen a serious decline in the quality of everything. They have now removed their beer-brewing equipment, and instead have setup a very nice darts area. I have had to give up beer, but I know from past experience that they always have something good on tap, but not a hops-a-topia. However, the food quality has increased dramatically. A year ago, some of their dishes were nearly inedible, whereas now they are great. New chefs and new management. They've developed a poor reputation in the area due to the declining quality of things starting a couple of years ago. TIME FOR ANOTHER LOOK! They have a great pub atmosphere, and the bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable, while the quality of the food has increased by leaps and bounds. They also have some good tournaments, including pool, darts, and poker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Welton Barker Welton Barker, Bernardsville, NJ
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
To bad they screwed up with the brewing. Nice historic building, but without them brewing, it's just more Pub Grub in another bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian harto brian harto, milltown, NJ
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Still not brewing but bottle selection is not bad. Had the Jambalaya for lunch, it was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob M, West Milford, NJ
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
I would look long and hard before going there....too bad great town nice location.....think twice....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chester, NJ
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Still not brewing its own beer, but does have Climax,Flying Fish and Ramstein on offer.Service was good and for those who like manly food portions this is the place to go

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, Nj
(07/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Understand they will get permit to brew again within a month.At present micros are available on draft.Certainly worth support and another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
I was informed by a previous bartender there that they would serve Flying Fish Beer as their microbrewed beer since they lost their brewmasters. This was over a year ago, and I heard they got in trouble for pulling this scam. Believe it or not, I'm heading down there today for lunch...I'll post an updated review....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from .. .., Liberty Corner, NJ
(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I didn't this place was bad at all. When I walked into the par I was the only one there on a Tuesday night. I ordered a Ramsten Lager and the bartender told me they've lost a lot of business since September 11th. He was a friendly lad who told me the former owners didn't take care of the place and lost a lot of customers within the last year. They haven't brewed their own beer, he added, for over a year but the new owners (since December 2001) want to start brewing again. The bar is looking for a few good brewmasters. Any takers? My one complaint was that the food was overpriced. A cheeseburger with Fries for $8.99?!?!? Pints are $4.25

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Connie, Pemberton, NJ
(02/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The food was decent for a pub and the service was not too bad. The beer selection was a little on the low side though. Rumor has it that the place will be under new ownership as of January 1, 2002 and they will start brewing their own beer shortly thereafter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Basking Ridge, NJ
(11/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Poor food. One microbrew on tap. Not worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Paterson, NJ
(10/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
My wife and I used to stop by when they first started brewing. In subsequent visits, it became obvious that the owner has no interest in catering to beer people. Their staff knows nothing about beer; we've been served infected (i.e. "band-aid" smelling) beers more than once; they don't even brew their own anymore. The last time we were there, the place was deserted but the owner refused to give my wife and I a booth because he was expecting a big crowd (that never materialized while we were there). He also served us using paper plates & plastic cups figuring that he expected crowd would overtax his dishwasher. It sucked and we haven't been back since. If you love beer, avoid this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Stopped brewing beer,I am the brewer,the equipment is trashed and the owner refused to fix it.If you call at anytime of day they will tell you I am out of the building,also if you ask who is brewing you will be lucky if you get a name..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review new jersey, nj
(02/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Good So So So So
I stopped in for lunch, and found only a golden ale and a cream ale on tap, Cut me a break, that stuff is for Bud drinkers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Jones Dave Jones, Bloomfield, NJ
(11/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
The beer is average and the quality of the food has declined over the last year. At one time, this was a favorite place to visit on Friday nights; however, I no longer visit this brew-pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Basking Ridger, NJ
(06/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Good
Service was good yet the host was very unpersonable. bar service was excellant, and the pale ale was delicious

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jeff jeff, montclair, NJ
(03/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Nice casual pub in a large stone and beam mill building. Had six varieties of house beer on tap, the best of which was a cream ale; redefining smooth. Pale ale was also good, in the mild British style. Samplers and growlers available, mug club.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I've stopped in for a beer and a bite a few times and have always been satisfied. Their beer selections are average, the IPA is good. The food was on average for a "bar". No complaints here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian S. Ricker Brian S. Ricker, Manville, NJ
(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I've stopped in for a beer and A bit a few times and have always been satisfied. Their beer selections are average, the IPA is good. THe food was on average for a "bar". No complaints here

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian S. Ricker Brian S. Ricker, Manville, NJ
(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
Food was good, beer was acceptable but not great. Had the sampler, and there was nothing on tap that was worth having a pint of.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, birdsboro, PA
(03/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The beer was very drinkable,well balanced and served my pallet nicley.I was impressed with how this pub has turned around in the last year

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry McSweeny Terry McSweeny, Bishopstown, IR
(02/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The Tavern definetly had some problems last year, but it seems to have them solved. The food was very good, especially the Chicken Francaise. If you've been there before, go again. It's a whole new place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danny Franken Danny Franken, Millington, NJ
(02/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
I wish they still called this place Freddy's. Maybe then the beer would taste better!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stan Stan, Mendham, NJ
(01/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy So So
I stopped for a quck sandwich and a couple of pints. There were only two styles available: IPA and brown ale. Both were very good. I tasted nothing like the strange aftertastes that previous reviewers have talked about. However, the sandwich never arrived, despite repeated queries. On this particular evening the bartender was tremendously overworked. They need two. I might stop back for a pint but I don't wish to pack an overnight bag in order to wait for a sandwich!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(07/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Had the Weissbeir and it was very good and true to style. Food was good. I would go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So
When they first started brewing the beers were pretty good. However, since about a year ago, each of them has the same strange adhesive-like taste. Do you know the smell of a freshly-opened Band-Aid? - that's what the beer tastes like. I'd stick to the commercial bottles or drafts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bernardsville, NJ
(07/09/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.305 seconds) 03:55:44 54.196.215.114, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS