PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2 - Destin, FL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 05:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > FL > Destin > McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2
McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2 Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82 / 100
33 Highway 98 East
Destin, FL 32541
United States
(850) 654-0567
Listed Since: August 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Destin, FL
Beer Guide for Florida

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
36 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Henderson Park Inn B & B
2) Veranda
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAY CLUB OF SANDESTIN
2) BEST WESTERN SUMMERPLACE INN
3) COMFORT INN DESTIN
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES DESTIN
5) Destin Inn & Suites
6) EMBASSY STES DESTIN
7) GRAND CARIBBEAN EAST
8) HAMPTON INN DESTIN
9) HILTON SANDESTIN GOLF AND SPA
10) SLEEP INN DESTIN
11) WINGATE DESTIN FL
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Belly Full
2) A Catering By Tapazan
3) A J's Seafood & Oyster Bar
4) A M Cafe Inc
5) A Taste Of Yesterday's Cafe
6) Alatapatatas
7) Ann Gibson & Assoc
8) Back Yard Burgers
9) Beach Walk Cafe
10) Beachcomber Lounge & Pkg Store
11) Bogwalk Restaurant
12) Bonefish Grill
13) Brusters Ice Cream
14) Buffalo Bayou
15) Captain Dave's On The Gulf
16) Cava Blue
17) Chili's Grill & Bar
18) China Taste 2
19) Cold Stone Creamery
20) Crab Trap
21) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
22) Creehan & Cruz
23) Crystal Beach Coffee Co
24) Crystal Beach Pizza & Pasta
25) Cuvee Beach Cellar & Wine Bar
26) Dave's Dogs
27) Destin Commissary
28) Destin Deli & Dogs
29) Dippin' Dots
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Grille At Silver Shells
32) Gulf Freeze Ice Cream Yogurt
33) Gulfstream Cafe
34) Guthrie's
35) Harbor Grille
36) Harbor Seafood & Grill
37) Hard Rock Cafe
38) Heavenly Ham
39) Hershey's-The Ice Cream Co Inc
40) Hog's Breath Boss Hog Barbecue
41) Hog's Breath Intl
42) Johnny Rockets
43) Kangaroo Jacks Outback Pub
44) LA Rocco's Italian Restaurant
45) Lenny's Sub Shop
46) Longhorn Steakhouse
47) Marble Slab Creamery
48) Mc Alister's Deli
49) Mellow Mushroom
50) Minato Teriyaki
51) Moe's Southwest Grill
52) Mulhollow's Sidewalk Cafe
53) New Dragon
54) Nico's
55) O'Charley's
56) Osaka Japanese Steak House
57) Outback Steakhouse
58) Panera Bread
59) Papa John's Pizza
60) Pelican Beach Resort & Cnfrnc
61) Pizza Hut
62) Quiznos Sub
63) Rainbow Frost Ice Cream Inc
64) Red Lobster
65) Ruby Tuesday
66) Ruperts Billiards Blues & Bar
67) Rutherfords 465 At Regatta Bay
68) Scoops Ice Cream
69) Seavility
70) Shake's Frozen Custard
71) Sonic Drive-In
72) Southern Restaurant Dev LLC
73) Southern Restaurant Group
74) Starbucks
75) Steak-Out
76) Studio 824
77) Surfside Subs
78) Tgi Friday's
79) Tony's Pasta By The Sea
80) Twisted Palm Bar and Grill
81) Vc's Sandwich Shoppe
82) Veranda
83) Waffle House
84) Wahoo's
85) Yesterday's
86) Yesterday's
87) Zoes Kitchen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
One of the most overrated places ever. Crowded, loud, oversized portions. The beer is pathetic - I've been to microbrews around the world. The hamburger didn't taste bad, but the steak was chewy and they couldn't get it cooked right. I really don't know what people are raving about. I run a dozen marathons a year, and the proportions were even large for me. Should have only ordered one burger for two of us. I've also eaten around the world, and I found this establishment to be one of the most over-rated. People that like this place must have only eaten at McDonald's or Burger King. The bar area doesn't even feel like a bar - it's an overly crowded waiting room for the restaurant. Oh, and our waitress was rude on top of it - seemed like she had somewhere more important to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marvin Marvin, New York, NY
(11/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Went there twice on a recent visit to Destin. Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Colorado Springs, CO
(04/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Most enjoyable - had an Irish Ale and a Porter. What struck me being Scottish was that one of the tunes they played as background was 'Scotland the Brave', the de facto national anthem of Scotland - thought it was pretty 'brave' of them especially being an Irish brewpur - I stood up to salute the Scottish flag - and there wasn't one. All in all, a good time had by all. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from colin harding colin harding, fairfax station, VA
(08/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
McGuire's in Destin is an enigma as it is one of the very few brew pubs located in NW Florida, the other is McGuire's in Pensacola. The steaks are mouth watering, the Shepherd's Pie is to die for, and the Farmer's Sandwich (an atery clogging portion of liverwurst) is my favorite as it comes with a free pint of beer. Tom, the brewmaster, does a better than average job of brewing the IPA and Stout. It is too bad that neither are available for sale by the growler. Both beers are true to style and sure to quench even the most discerning beer drinkers thirst. The beer selections pair nicely with the menu. Some of the waitresses are very well educated in guiding the patron to making the correct pairing while some are clueless as to the type of beers on tap. The biggest downfall of McGuire's is the wait staff. A few are fantastic while most are slow at best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Weis Michael Weis, Niceville, FL
(08/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place for food and beer. The steak was one of the best I've had. The seasonal pale ale and porter ale was also great. This place has become one of my favorite restaurants. Hopefully the pale ale will become a normal selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tate Tate, Cartersville, GA
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is a great brew pub that I found while on vacation. The Atmosphere is AWESOME with over 300,000 one dollar bills hanging from everything in sight! The brew was very satisfying! I had the seasonal Hefe'Weizen which didn't need the slice of fruit that accompied it! I also tried their Red beer that was outstanding! As for the food, I had the Filet which was made to perfection and so tender you hardly needed a knife! You can't go wrong with the .18 cent (yes I said .18 cent) bowl of their homemade bean soup!

I stayed around until Happy Hour where a mug of beer was under $2.00!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dino the Bierman Dino the Bierman, Cincinnati, OH
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
Brewpub with open fermenters in a strip mall. Beer quality was good, with only 2 styles tried, a porter and a scotch ale. The porter was on the light side of the style, but still within the specs. It did seem definitely geared towards the masses, which this place caters to. The scotch ale was a really nice beer, coming in at over 7% alcohol, and full of caramel and nut notes. The quality of the food was very good, with service marginal at best. This place can be extremely busy, especially during the spring break period! Lastly, don't order the "chocolate milk" for kids, unless you want to pay $6.75! We were brought a milkshake, with whipped cream and a cherry on top. We requested milk and chocolate after being brought the milkshake. Our server Vasi, then justified the price by explaining the difference between milk and chocolate vs. sprite and simple syrup with cherry juice (shirley temple). In spite of the service, we will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wausau, WI
(03/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place!! This should be in the top 10!! By far the best in Florida!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Superior beer -- good spread of choices, and well crafted across the board. The porter, the red, and the double red (not on the menu) are the key choices. On St. Patty's, they colour the lite green -- a shame that they sink so low, but hardly a surprise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Gherlone Joe Gherlone, Fredericksburg, VA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The best bet is the brewers choice which seems to be the best each time a new one is produced

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
I have travelled quite a bit in that last year sampling prime rib in various parts of the country. I went to Mcguire's in Destin FL and found that their end cut Blackened Prime Rib served medium was quite possibly the best steak I have had. I could taste hints of the smoke that slowly cooked into its marbling, and spice that complimented the porter well. I recommend the asparagus spears as s side and you have one hell of a meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Alonso Garcia Daniel Alonso Garcia, Austin, TX
(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great seasonal beer selection. Food portions are huge. Great bar tenders.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred B. Fred B., Seagrove Beach, FL
(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great place to go. The Irish Lamb Stew is wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review milton, FL
(09/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Of all the bars I've visited in town, McGuire's is the best equipped to make me happy. The bartenders are friendly and attentive, and they pour generously. As an added bonus, the lighting in the bar area is unusually flattering, encouraging chance encounters between lone strangers. High-ho silver, away!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stacy Stacy, Shalimar, FL
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As always it was great to get back to this fine establishment.I had all the beers and they were excellent and the sesonal was a Kolsch which was also very good.Iwent back one night for the prime rib and it was unbelievably huge.I also bought a ceramic mug for the dollar taps on Wednesday.This is my number one stop every year in Destin and should not be missed by anyone in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mickey Kane Mickey Kane, Amory, MS
(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Not very different than the Pensacola location, does have one unique seasonal in rotation, a Honey Wheat during this visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roach, Plano, TX
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Happiness is sipping a Dewey Destin Dark Porter on a summer evening, on the second floor, open-air Sunset Deck, seated at the bar next to the one you love, while listening to a fellow with a guitar sing classic songs from the 70's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
I would agree about the bartenders - we heard them making comments about customers after they'd left. Beer choice limited, cold and gassy, food not tried but expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sue Sue, Bolton, UK
(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
i visited over new years and was very impressed with overall quality of the beer and food. the seasonal brews were new and unique, as well as flavorful and well brewed. this is now fly by night operation. as for the bartenders, all beach towns will have egos that need to be tamed. everything else offsets any issues. the food was first rate for both lunch and dinner. my only wish is that this type of brwpub was typical of Florida instead of Hops which brews beer for about a nickel a glass and calls it micro.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jwl jwl, miami, FL
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Kilker Rick Kilker, Destin, Fl
(02/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
The beers were outstanding, especially the Christmas Ale. The Porter, Irish Stout, and Irish Red were very good as well. We didn't try the food, but the menu looked good, and the plates that passed by looked plentiful. There were 2 bartenders, but our guy tended to have a bit of an ego. He didn't seem to mind giving us a couple of samples of the available brews though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Esther King Esther King, Elliston, VA
(01/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Great atmosphere inside the whole Pub. Food quality was very good (especially the 1 1/2 lb. Leberwurst sandwich). The Oktoberfest was very good , overall it is a pretty good BrewPub to visit, we will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred, Trish, Joe, Karen Fred, Trish, Joe, Karen, Nashville, TN
(11/01/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Very family friendly - great for kids big and small. We loved it! (The steaks are ex-tra-ord-in-ary!!!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Lettner R. Lettner, St. Louis, MO
(09/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Has a great atmosphere inside and out. Food quality and promptness was very good, but overpriced. The American Pale Ale was very hoppy but lacked flavor after the bitterness wore off, but overall it was pretty good as was the red.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Mellon Bryan Mellon, Peachtree City, GA
(08/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
I had the coffee stout, it was awesome. The wife had the raz. wheat. It was very thin with too much raz. and little wheat. My service was slow but that was MY server. Food was good and servings where large. I highly recomend useing the restrooms, they are very cool!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Janssens Scott Janssens, Cincinnati, OH
(05/10/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.351 seconds) 17:36:16 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS